DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay et al. (US 2019/0086674).
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891
An optical system, comprising:
a light-transmitting substrate having at least two major surfaces deployed with a first of the major surfaces in facing relation to an eye of a viewer for guiding light by internal reflection between the two major surfaces of the light-transmitting substrate;
a first optical coupling configuration associated with the light-transmitting substrate operative to:
collimate reflected light from the eye to produce collimated light, and couple the collimated light into the light-transmitting substrate so as to propagate within the light-transmitting substrate by internal reflection;
a second optical coupling configuration associated with the light-transmitting substrate configured to couple the collimated light out of the light-transmitting substrate as coupled-out light;
focusing optics associated with the second optical coupling configuration and operative to convert the coupled-out light into converging beams of captured light;
an optical sensor deployed for sensing the captured light;
and at least one processor in communication with the optical sensor and configured to process signals from the optical sensor to derive a current gaze direction of the eye.
An optical system, comprising:
a light-transmitting substrate having at least two major surfaces deployed with a first of the major surfaces in facing relation to an eye of a viewer for guiding light by internal reflection between the two major surfaces of the light-transmitting substrate;
an optical coupling-out configuration associated with the light-transmitting substrate for coupling image light corresponding to a collimated image, guided by internal reflection between the two major surfaces, out of the light-transmitting substrate for viewing by the eye of the viewer;
a first optical coupling configuration comprising a curved surface embedded within the light-transmitting substrate, the curved surface being reflective to at least one wavelength of light reflected from the eye, the curved surface having a curvature sufficient to collimate light reflected from the eye to produce collimated light, and being oriented to couple the collimated light into the light-transmitting substrate so as to propagate within the light-transmitting substrate by internal reflection;
a second optical coupling configuration associated with the light-transmitting substrate configured to couple the collimated light out of the light-transmitting substrate as coupled-out light;
an optical sensor deployed for sensing the coupled-out light;
and at least one processor in communication with the optical sensor and configured to process signals from the optical sensor to derive a current gaze direction of the eye.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 fails to explicitly disclose a focusing optics associated with the second optical coupling configuration and operative to convert the coupled-out light into converging beams of captured light.
In the same field of endeavor, Sinay discloses an optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein a focusing optics associated with the second optical coupling configuration and operative to convert the coupled-out light into converging beams of captured light (the imaging device 920 may be a detector array with one or more lenses to focus the image on the pixels of the doctor array to form the image of the eye 210, figures 10 and 12E, [0101, 0111, 0121 and 0122]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of Instant Application and the teachings of Sinay, such that the focusing optics associated with the second optical coupling configuration were provided as disclosed by Sinay, with motivation to reduce the sizes of the constituent parts of the display systems and thus to reduce the sizes of display systems generally (Sinay [0006]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 4 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 5 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 6 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 7 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 8 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 9 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 10 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 11 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 12 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 13 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 14 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 15 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 16 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 17 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 18 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim 19 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891
Claim 20 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891
Claim 21 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,529,891 in view of Sinay.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sinay et al. (US 2019/0086674).
As to claim 1, Sinay discloses an optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), comprising:
a light-transmitting substrate having at least two major surfaces deployed with a first of the major surfaces in facing relation to an eye of a viewer for guiding light by internal reflection between the two major surfaces of the light-transmitting substrate (a waveguide 920 transmits light via total internal reflection between the opposing surfaces with one side facing towards eye 210; figures 2, 10, 11A-11 E and 12E; [0092, 0093, 0095, 0107, 0121]);
a first optical coupling configuration associated with the light-transmitting substrate (coupling optical element 944 may both the output coupler and input coupler for waveguide 940 with respect to the eye; figures 10 and 12A-12E; [0092, 0118, 0123, 0124]) operative to: collimate reflected light from the eye to produce collimated light (coupling optical element 944 may collimate the light 910; figures 10 and 12A-12E; [0092, 0118, 0123, 0124]), and couple the collimated light into the light-transmitting substrate so as to propagate within the light-transmitting substrate by internal reflection (coupling optical element 944 may collimate the light 910 and couple it into the waveguide 940 as in-coupled light 914 to propagate towards the imaging device 920; figures 10 and 12A-12E; [0092, 0118-0119]);
a second optical coupling configuration associated with the light-transmitting substrate configured to couple the collimated light out of the light-transmitting substrate as coupled-out light (outcoupling optical element 952 can be configured to couple light guided within waveguide 940 out of the waveguide and direct collimated light 924 towards an imaging device 920; figures 10 and 12A-12E; [0092, 0121]);
focusing optics associated with the second optical coupling configuration and operative to convert the coupled-out light into converging beams of captured light; an optical sensor deployed for sensing the captured light (the imaging device 920 may be a detector array with one or more lenses to focus the image on the pixels of the doctor array to form the image of the eye 210, figures 10 and 12E, [0101, 0111, 0121 and 0122]); and
at least one processor in communication with the optical sensor (images of the eye 210 are received by a processing and data module 140; figures 2, 10 and 13A; [0049, 0128, 0129, 0132]) and configured to process signals from the optical sensor to derive a current gaze direction of the eye (images of the eye 210 are received by a processing and data module 140 to be used to determine a user's eye gaze based on the retinal image and track the gaze direction I real time; figures 2, 10 and 13A; [0128, 0129, 0132, 0138]).
As to claim 2 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), further comprising:
an optical coupling-out configuration associated with the light-transmitting substrate for coupling image light corresponding to a collimated image, guided by internal reflection between the two major surfaces, out of the light-transmitting substrate (coupling optical element 944 may be a reflective grating on the surface of the waveguide 944 towards the eye 210; figures 10; [0096, 0097, 0099]).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the light from the eye is in a first optical spectrum, and wherein
the image light is in a second optical spectrum (light from the one or more illumination sources 930 and 960 may be configured to emit both visible and infrared light, with images projected to the user in visible light and invisible light reflected off the eye to be defected; figures 10 and 11A-11E; [0103, 0104, 0109, 0110]).
As to claim 4 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), further comprising:
an image projector for generating the collimated image (image projector 930 for producing an image for the eye; figure 10; [0093]).
As to claim 5 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the second optical coupling configuration is further configured to couple the image light corresponding to the collimated image into the light transmitting substrate so as to propagate within the light-transmitting substrate by internal reflection (image projector 930 produces an image for the eye and incoupler 942 may include transmissive/reflective polarizer which allows polarized incoming light to enter the waveguide 944 to be transmitted via TIR, while the same reflective polarizer may redirect light 926 outwards towards camera 920; figures 10 and 15A-15B; [0160, 0163, 0165-0167]).
As to claim 6 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), further comprising:
an optical coupling-in configuration associated with the light-transmitting substrate for coupling the image light corresponding to the collimated image into the light-transmitting substrate so as to propagate within the light-transmitting substrate by internal reflection (incoupling optical element 942 couples the light from the image projector 930 into the waveguide 940 where it is totally internally reflected; figures 10 and 11A-11E; [0098, 0106-0108, 0113]).
As to claim 7 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), further comprising:
optics deployed in an optical path from the second optical coupling configuration to the optical sensor for forming at least one image of at least a portion of the eye on the optical sensor (the imaging device 920 may be a detector array with one or more lenses to focus the image on the pixels of the detector array to form an image of the eye 210; figures 10 and 12E; [0101, 0111, 0121, 0122]).
As to claim 8 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the first optical coupling configuration reflects light from the eye and transmits the image light corresponding to the collimated image (coupling optical element 944 may both the output coupler and input coupler for waveguide 940, able to both reflect and transmit light to and from the image; figures 10 and 12A-12E; [0102, 0118, 0110, 0123, 0124]).
As to claim 9 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the first optical coupling configuration includes a curved surface having a curvature sufficient to collimate the light from the eye to infinity (a curved transmissive optical element 996 is able to collimate light reflected from the eye 210 at any angle, fig. 17 [0174 – 0176]).
As to claim 10 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the first optical coupling configuration is deployed within the light-transmitting substrate obliquely to the two major surfaces of the light transmitting substrate (coupling optical element 944 can be an off-axis layer on the waveguide 940, as well as a grating; figures 10 and 23; [0096, 0099, 0236, 0235]).
As to claim 11 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), further comprising:
a second light-transmitting substrate having at least two major surfaces (waveguide 940 may comprise one or more waveguides and form a stack of waveguides; figures 10; paragraphs [0092, 0093, 0100]), wherein
one of the two major surfaces of the second light-transmitting substrate is associated with one of the two major surfaces of the light transmitting substrate (waveguide 940 may comprise one or more waveguides and form a stack of waveguides with a side of each facing the light 210; figures 10; [0092, 0093, 0100]), and wherein
at least one optical element of the first optical coupling configuration is deployed within the second light-transmitting substrate (one or more coupling optical element 944 may be gratings in the one or more waveguides 940; figures 10; [0092, 0093, 0096, 0097, 0100]).
As to claim 12 (dependent on 11), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the at least one optical element of the first optical coupling configuration is deployed in a region of the second light-transmitting substrate that is located in front of the eye such that a normal to the at least one optical element of the first optical coupling configuration reaches approximately the center of the pupil of the eye (one or more coupling optical element 944 may be gratings in the one or more waveguides 940 which couple the light at near normal towards the eye and on to the retina, figures 10 and 11E; [0092, 0093, 0096, 0097, 0100, 0117]).
As to claim 13 (dependent on 11), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the two major surfaces of the light transmitting substrate are parallel to each other (the waveguide 940 may comprise a sheet with two major surfaces opposite each other; figures 10; [0095]), and wherein
the two major surfaces of the second light-transmitting substrate are parallel to each other and are parallel to the two major surfaces of the light transmitting substrate (waveguide 940 may comprise one or more waveguides and form a stack of waveguides with each sheet stacked on top of each other, making their surfaces parallel; figures 10; [0092, 0093, 0095, 0100]).
As to claim 14 (dependent on 11), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
at least one of the major surfaces of the second light-transmitting substrate is a curved surface (system 900 may include a curved transmissive optical element 996; figure 17; paragraphs [0174-0176]).
As to claim 15 (dependent on 11), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the second light-transmitting substrate is formed as a lens for applying optical power to light from a real-world scene (system 900 may include a lens 980; figure 16; paragraphs [0168]).
As to claim 16 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), further comprising:
a second light-transmitting substrate having at least two major surfaces including a first major surface and a second major surface (waveguide 940 may comprise one or more waveguides and form a stack of waveguides; figures 10; [0092, 0093, 0100]), wherein
the first major surface of the second light-transmitting substrate is associated with the second major surface of the light-transmitting substrate (waveguide 940 may comprise one or more waveguides and form a stack of waveguides with a side of each facing the light 210; figures 10; [0092, 0093, 0100]), and wherein
the first optical coupling configuration includes:
at least one collimating element deployed within the second light-transmitting substrate, and a partial reflector deployed within the light-transmitting substrate obliquely to the two major surfaces of the light- transmitting substrate (one or more coupling optical element 944 may be gratings in the one or more waveguides 940; figures 10; [0092, 0093, 0096, 0097, 0100]), the partial reflector:
transmitting light from the eye toward the at least one collimating element such that the at least one collimating element produces collimated light from the light from the eye (a reflective optical element 996 may be partially reflective/transmissive and collimate light coupled to the waveguide 940; figures 17; paragraphs [0174-0177]), and reflecting the collimated light, produced by the at least one collimating element, so as to couple the collimated light into the light-transmitting substrate so as to propagate within the light transmitting substrate by internal reflection (reflective optical element 996 may be partially reflective/transmissive and collimate light coupled to the waveguide 940 which is then transmitted via internal reflection within the waveguide; figures 17; [0174-0177]).
As to claim 17 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), further comprising:
a second light-transmitting substrate having at least two major surfaces including a first major surface and a second major surface (waveguide 940 may comprise one or more waveguides and form a stack of waveguides; figures 10; [0092, 0093, 0100]), wherein
the second major surface of the second light-transmitting substrate is associated with the first major surface of the light-transmitting substrate (waveguide 940 may comprise one or more waveguides and form a stack of waveguides with a side of each facing the light 210; figures 10; [0092, 0093, 0100]), and wherein
the first optical coupling configuration includes:
at least one collimating element deployed within the second light-transmitting substrate for collimating light from the eye to produce collimated light (a reflective optical element 996 may collimate the light 940 reflected off the eye; figures 17; [0174-0177]), a first reflector deployed within the second light-transmitting substrate obliquely to the two major surfaces of the light-transmitting substrate (a reflective optical element 996 may be reflective and have surfaces oblique to the waveguide 940; figures 17; [0174-0177]), the first reflector deflecting the collimated light out of the second light-transmitting substrate and into the light-transmitting substrate (a reflective optical element 996 may be reflective and have surfaces oblique to the waveguide 940; figures 17; [0174-0177]), and a second reflector deployed within the light-transmitting substrate obliquely to the two major surfaces of the light-transmitting substrate (reflective optical element 996 may reflect towards outcoupling optical element 952 which are reflective diffractive grating on waveguide 940 which reflect light back internally within the waveguide 940 towards the outcoupler path 960; figures 17; [0101, 0102, 0174]), the second reflector deflecting light from the first reflector so as to couple the collimated light into the light-transmitting substrate so as to propagate within the light-transmitting substrate by internal reflection (reflective optical element 996 may reflect towards outcoupling optical element 952 which are a reflective diffractive grating on waveguide 940 which reflect light back internally using TIR within the waveguide 940 towards; figures 17; [0101, 0102, 0174]).
As to claim 18 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), further comprising:
an illumination arrangement deployed to illuminate the eye with illumination light such that the eye reflects the illumination light as reflected light (light from the one or more illumination sources 930 and 960 may be configured to emit both visible and infrared light, with images projected to the user in visible light and invisible light reflected off the eye to be defected; figures 10 and 11A-11E; [0103, 0104, 0109, 0110]), wherein
the reflected light corresponds to the light from the eye that is collimated by the first optical coupling configuration (coupling optical element 944 couples the in coupled light 904 which is being totally internally reflected within the waveguide 940 onto the eye 210 as light 908, the light being a collimated image; figures 10 and 11A-11E; [0096, 0111, 0113, 0116, 0117]).
As to claim 19 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the second optical coupling configuration includes a reflecting surface that deflects the collimated light out of the light-transmitting substrate (outcoupling optical element 952 is a reflective diffractive grating on waveguide 940 for outcoupling the collimated light; figures 10; paragraphs [0101, 0102]).
As to claim 20 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the second coupling configuration includes a planar open end of the light-transmitting substrate (outcoupling optical element 952 is a surface relief grating formed on the waveguide 940; figures 10; [0101, 0102]), wherein
the open end is formed by cutting the light-transmitting substrate along a plane that is orthogonal to the two major surfaces of the light transmitting substrate (outcoupling optical element 952 is a surface relief grating formed on the waveguide 940 via patterning the surface of the waveguide; figures 10; [0101, 0102]).
As to claim 21 (dependent on 1), Sinay discloses the optical system (imaging system 900 of figs. 2, 10, 12E [0092]), wherein
the at least one processor is configured to receive the signals from the optical sensor over one or more communication networks (images of the eye 210 are received by a processing and data module 140 and may work with a remote data repository 160 accessed via the internet; figures 2, 10 and 13A; [0049, 0050, 0092,0129]).
Conclusion
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623