DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The applicant is advised the instant application is only entitled to priority as of the filing date of the instant application, 8/13/2024, as opposed to the filing dates of the multiple parent applications for which the instant application seeks priority since neither of the parent applications disclose the subject matter claimed in the instant application (please see the 35 USC 112 rejections below).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/433,106 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,653 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,657 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,660 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/439,665 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,662 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,727 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,729 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-6 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of copending Application No. 19/452,732 (reference application). Any differences between the application’s claims the patent claims are not patentably distinct as shown by the rejections below.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations “obtaining, from a bitstream, information indicating a number of objects in the filtered image; obtaining, from a bitstream, information related to regions on the objects based on the information indicating the number of objects; and derive the regions based on the information indicating the number of the objects and the information related to the regions”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose these limitations. The examiner notes [0143] of the applicant’s originally filed specification distinguishes block -based encoding from object-based encoding, thus differentiating an object (i.e. such as a physical object which is detected in an image) from a block (i.e. a prediction unit (PU block), a coding unit (CU block), a transform unit (TU block) or any combination of such blocks or units such as partitions, slices, and/or regions).
Claims 2-4 are rejected based on their respective dependencies upon claim 1.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “wherein a size of the filtered image is smaller than a size of an image indicated by encoding information”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “based on a value of a flag obtained from the bitstream, the information related to the regions is determined depending on information included in a previous SEI message”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose this limitation.
Claims 5 and 6 recite the limitations “determining objects in the filtered image” and “generating information related to regions on the objects based on the number of the objects”. The applicant’s originally filed specification fails to disclose these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (Choi) (US 2020/0236377).
Regarding claim 1, Choi discloses a method of decoding an image, comprising:
predicting blocks in the image to generate prediction blocks of the blocks ([0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated and stored);
generating residual blocks of blocks of the image ([0058], [0064], [0115], the image is reconstructed using stored prediction blocks; [0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
reconstructing the image based on the prediction blocks and the residual blocks ([0058], [0064], [0115], the image is reconstructed using stored prediction blocks; [0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
filtering the reconstructed image to generate a filtered image ([0065] loop filtering is applied to the image);
obtaining, from a bitstream, information indicating a number of objects ([0121], tiles; please see the 35 USC 112(a) rejection regarding interpretation of the word “objects” above) in the filtered image ([0114], tile information generated by the encoder in FIG. 3, is passed to a decoder 433 after loop filter 356; [0121], a number of tile rows and columns in an image is signaled; [0122] a number of tile groups is signaled);
obtaining, from a bitstream, information related to regions on the objects based on the information indicating the number of objects ([0114], tile information generated by the encoder in FIG. 3, is passed to a decoder 433 after loop filter 356; [0121], a number of tile rows and columns in an image is signaled; [0122] a number of tile groups is signaled); and
derive the regions based on the information indicating the number of the objects and the information related to the regions (FIG. 7, [0115], the decoder generates tile groups based on tile characteristic information signaled by the encoder; FIG. 8, step 802, the tile group is reconstructed),
wherein the residual block is generated by decoding information on the residual block included in the bitstream ([0065], residual data is parsed to reconstruct image blocks), and
wherein the information related to the regions include information indicating sizes of the regions ([0015], [0018], [0104], tile group size info is signaled and [0121] a number of tile groups (regions) is signaled) and information indicating positions of the regions ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0020], [0122], tile group position information is signaled).
Regarding claim 3, Choi discloses wherein the information indicating the number of the objects and the information related to the regions are obtained from a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message of the bitstream ([0058], syntax is signaled in a SEI).
Regarding claim 5, Choi discloses a method of encoding an image, comprising:
predicting blocks in the image to generate prediction blocks of the blocks ([0064] samples used for prediction are stored);
generating residual blocks of blocks of the image ([0064], a residual is generated);
reconstructing the image based on the prediction blocks and the residual blocks ([0058], [0064], [0115], the image is reconstructed using stored prediction blocks; [0064] samples used for prediction (i.e. prediction blocks) are generated using residual data and stored);
filtering the reconstructed image to generate a filtered image ([0065] loop filtering is applied to the image);
determining objects in the filtered image ([0121], tiles; please see the 35 USC 112(a) rejection regarding interpretation of the word “objects” above);
generating information indicating a number of the objects in the filtered image ([0114], tile information generated by the encoder in FIG. 3, is passed to a decoder 433 after loop filter 356; [0121], a number of tile rows and columns in an image is signaled; [0122] a number of tile groups is signaled);
generating information related to regions on the objects based on the number of the objects ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0121], [0122], a number of tile groups is signaled, [0122], tile position information is signaled),
wherein the residual block is encoded into the bitstream by encoding information on the residual block ([0065], residual data is parsed to reconstruct image blocks), and
wherein the information related to the regions include information indicating sizes of the regions ([0015], [0018], [0104], tile group size info is signaled and [0121] a number of tile groups (regions) is signaled) and information indicating positions of the regions ([0018], [0104], tile size info is signaled, [0020], [0122], tile group position information is signaled).
Regarding claim 6, the limitations of claim 6 are rejected in the analysis of claim 5 above. Choi further discloses transmitting the bitstream (FIG. 4, the bitstream is transmitted via channel 460).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (Choi) (US 2020/0236377) in view of Seregin et al. (Seregin) (US 2021/0051341).
Regarding claim 2, Choi discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1 above).
Choi is silent about wherein a size of the filtered image is smaller than a size of an image indicated by encoding information.
Seregin from the same or similar field of endeavor discloses wherein a size of the filtered image (FIG. 9, filter unit 91 filters the output image) is smaller than a size of an image indicated by encoding information ([0128], [0163], a size of a current image and a desired different output image size is signaled where the output picture size is determined by a signaled conformance window size).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Seregin into the teachings of Choi for adapting an image size to a desired image size.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ratner et al. (Ratner) (US 2017/0078664) ([0028]-[0030], [0033], objects are counted to generate a mask and the frame is partitioned based on the generated mask).
Park et al. (Park) (US 2018/0139453) ([0147], split direction information is signaled; [0152], [0157], partition location and size information is signaled).
/JEFFERY A WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488