DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species 1 directed to a phone having an air flow generating device in the reply filed on July 16, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not require a serious burden to examine all the Species. This is not found persuasive because each of the inventions represented by the different species requires a different field of search. Further, the applicant’s reasoning is not a proper traversal to an Election of Species requirement which requires an admission that the various species are obvious variants or clearly admit this on the record.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lo et al (USPAP 2023/0209241) .
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
With regards to claim 1 Lo et al disclose an airflow generating device (see Figs. 1, 11 & 12 at least), comprising: a first flap (112(110)) and a second flap (114(110)), wherein the first flap and the second flap are opposite to each other in a top view viewing along a top-view direction (see Fig. 11); a first actuator (122(120)) disposed on the first flap and a second actuator (124(120)) disposed on the second flap; and an anchor structure (see the bodies 140 at the opposite outside ends on the flaps in Figs. 11 & 12); wherein the first flap comprises a first anchored edge (AE1(AE)) anchored on the anchor structure, and the first flap comprises first free edges (130C, 130d, 130e, FE1 in Fig. 11) other than the first anchored edge which are non-anchored; wherein the second flap comprises a second anchored edge (AE2(AE)) anchored on the anchor structure, and the second flap comprises second free edges(130a, 130b, FE2 in Fig. 11) other than the second anchored edge which are non-anchored.
With regards to claim 24 Lo et al disclose an electronic device (see Figs. 1 & 7), comprising: the airflow generating device of claim 1 (see Fig. 1 and the above rejection of claim 1); wherein a flow channel (from HO2 to HO1 in Fig. 1) is formed within the electronic device (this is a broad limitation and the actuators 122, 124 of Fig. 1 are electronic making the full device an electronic device and Fig. 7 also discloses an electronic device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-9 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al (USPAP 2022/0312631) in view of Lo et al.
With regards to claim 2, Xi et al disclose a phone (see [0014]) having an airflow generating device (see 140, labeled in annotated Fig. 2 below) but does not disclose that the airflow generating device is constructed as set forth in claim 1. As set forth in the above Lo et al disclose an airflow generating device for creating an airflow in a flow channel of an electronic device.
At the time of the effective filing date of the application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the airflow generating device as taught by Lo et al for the airflow generating device of Xi et al since each of these airflow generating devices are recognized as equivalence for their use in the airflow generation art in a low profile air channel and selection of either of these known equivalents to create an airflow would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (Note MPEP 2144.06).
With regards to claim 3, Xi et al in view of Lo et al disclose the phone as set forth in claim 2 and Xi et al additionally teach of the phone comprising: a flow guide (labeled in the annotated figure above) configured to guide or direct an airflow (see the arrows in Fig. 2) toward or through a flow channel (labeled in the annotated figure above); wherein the airflow is generated by the airflow generating device and flows through the flow channel (clearly understood from Fig. 2).
With regards to claim 4, Xi et al in view of Lo et al disclose the phone as set forth in claim 3 and Xi et al additionally Xi et al teach of the phone comprising a sub-guiding structure (labeled in the annotated figure above).
With regards to claim 5, Xi et al in view of Lo et al disclose the phone as set forth in claim 4 and Xi et al additionally Xi et al teach wherein the sub-guiding structure comprises a ramped section (labeled in the annotated figure above); wherein the ramped section is configured to guide or direct the airflow toward the flow channel (as shown in Fig. 2 the airflow from the ramped section is directed to the downstream portion of the flow channel which enters and exits the airflow generating device).
With regards to claim 6, Xi et al in view of Lo et al disclose the phone as set forth in claim 3 and Xi et al additionally teach of the phone comprising a heat spreading component (122, labeled in the annotated figure above), disposed by the flow channel (as shown in Fig. 2 a portion of the flow channel is directly below the heat spreading component); wherein the airflow flows through the flow channel and removes a heat away from the heat spreading component (see abstract).
With regards to claim 7, Xi et al in view of Lo et al disclose the phone as set forth in claim 6 and Xi et al additionally teach wherein the heat spreading component comprises a vapor chamber (labeled in the annotated Fig. above and located between the heat spreading device and the airflow generating device).
With regards to claim 8, Xi et al in view of Lo et al disclose the phone as set forth in claim 2 and Xi et al additionally teach of the phone comprising: a back cover (labeled in the annotated figure above); wherein an inlet 113, labeled in the annotated figure) is formed on the back cover and the outlet is formed on a side of the phone. The Examiner gives official notice the phones having an outlet in the back cover are well-known and that at the time of the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to locate or move the outlet to the back cover as a well-known outlet location as desired or required for a particular application. Further, it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art; see In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70. Please note that the instant applicant has not disclosed any criticality for the claimed limitation.
With regards to claim 9, Xi et al in view of Lo et al disclose the phone as set forth in claim 1 wherein the inlet (113) and the outlet (144) are connected to a flow channel formed within the phone (clearly shown in the annotated figure above).
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xi et al in view of Lo et al as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Liao et al (USPAP 2018/0240734).
As set forth above Xi et al in view of Lo et al disclose the phone substantially as claimed but do not disclose that there are a plurality of fin-type structures and that the airflow flows through the flow channel and the fin-type structures. Liao et al discloses a similar electronic device as shown in fig. 3 that has fin-type structures 25a located within a flow channel where airflow from the airflow generating device 21 flows.
At the time of the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to provide fin-type structures, as taught by Liao et al, in the flow channel of Xi et al in order to increase the heat exchange and cooling ability of the cooling system of Xi et al.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 13 of U.S. Patent No. 12,546,303. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations set forth in claim 1 of the instant application are present in claim 13 of the ‘303 patent but claim 1 has broadened the claimed “air pump” in the preamble of claim 13 in the patent to be an “airflow generating device” in claim 1 of the instant application. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art having possession of the device set forth in claim 13 of the patent would also have possession of claim 1 in the instant application.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Lee discloses a phone having an airflow generating device mounted therein.
Conclusion
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
CGF
August 7, 2026