DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Provisional Application No. 63/747,060, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
The provisional application provides support only for “performing medical diagnostics on a patient’s pancreas further comprising determining, based on the AI processing and analysis
of the EUS-images, a type of pancreatic focal lesions corresponding to the detected pancreatic lesions” (provisional claim 2) but does not provide support for any details of the independent claims including acquisition/receipt of at least gray-scale data and elastography data representing tissue stiffness, identifying a region of interest, segmenting the identified region from surrounding tissue, generating a characterization of the segmented region of interest using a plurality of imaging modalities including elastography, and generating a display with a graphical overlay.
Therefore, the claimed invention is entitled only to the filing date of 01/20/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because figures 1 and 3 contain a substantial amount of text that is too small to be legibly reproduced and is entirely unreadable. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 13-18 are objected to because of the following informalities: claim 13, and all dependent claims thereof, includes the text “Based on the provided excerpt from the patent application, here are several suggestions to improve clarity, completeness, and enforceability.” It appears that this text has been inserted into the claims in error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 7 and 13, and all dependent claims thereof, recite a system and a method in the same claim (claims 7-12) or a product (CRM) and a method in the same claim (claims 13-18). A single claim which claims both an apparatus and the method steps of using the apparatus is indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1318, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1748-49 (Fed. Cir. 2011). See MPEP 2173.05(p)(II).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gheorghe et al. (WO 2024/180385 A1, Sep. 6, 2024) (hereinafter “Gheorghe”).
Regarding claim 1: Gheorghe discloses a computer-implemented method for real-time analysis of pancreatic tissue (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning enabled systems and methods for detecting, marking, and differentiating pancreatic lesions and pancreatic parts from endoscopic images; Abstract), the method comprising: receiving, at a computing device (page 4, lines 104-107; FIG. 1), a real-time endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) video stream of a pancreas of a patient (page 24, lines 678-682), wherein the EUS video stream comprises a plurality of imaging modalities including at least grey-scale data (page 24, lines 678-682) and elastography data representing tissue stiffness (page 24, lines 678-682); processing, by one or more processors using an artificial intelligence (Al) model (page 25, lines 691-694), the EUS video stream to: identify a region of interest within the pancreas (page 22, lines 601-608); segment the identified region of interest from surrounding tissue (page 23, lines 647-652); and generate a characterization of the segmented region of interest based on an analysis of the plurality of imaging modalities (page 28, lines 782-786), including the elastography data (page 24, lines 678-682); and generating, for display on a user interface in real-time, a visual output comprising the EUS video stream with a graphical overlay (FIG. 16; page 22, lines 601-608), wherein the graphical overlay includes a visual indicator delineating the segmented region of interest and a classification label corresponding to the generated characterization (FIG. 16; page 22, lines 601-608).
Regarding claim 2: Gheorghe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of imaging modalities further comprises one or more of color doppler data (page 23, lines 635-642 and page 24, lines 678-682), contrast-enhanced arterial phase data, or contrast-enhanced venous phase data.
Regarding claim 3: Gheorghe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the classification label indicates that the segmented region of interest is one of a solid mass, a cystic lesion, or normal tissue (page 24, lines 674-677).
Regarding claim 4: Gheorghe discloses the method of claim 1, wherein processing the EUS video stream by the Al model is performed on one or more remote servers in a cloud-computing environment, and wherein the computing device receives the visual output from the one or more remote servers (page 4, lines 104-107; page 13, lines 346-349; and page 20, lines 552-557 all refer to using remote cloud servers for storage and processing of data; FIG. 3 shows cloud 310 being used to process data in a loop which has output to AI Monitor 306; FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 5: Gheorghe discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: accessing a set of non-imaging patient data from an electronic medical record, the non-imaging patient data comprising at least one of laboratory test results, genomic data, or pathology reports (page 26, lines 725-726 describes using histopathology results); and wherein the Al model refines the characterization of the segmented region of interest based on the accessed non-imaging patient data (page 27, lines 745-748).
Regarding claim 6: Gheorghe discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising generating, based on the characterization of the segmented region of interest, a recommendation for further procedures to be conducted on the segmented region of interest based on the characterization of the segmented region of interest (page 27, line 765 to page 28, line 781 describes using the method for determining feasibility of various treatment options).
Regarding claim 7: Gheorghe discloses a system for real-time analysis of pancreatic tissue (Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning enabled systems and methods for detecting, marking, and differentiating pancreatic lesions and pancreatic parts from endoscopic images; Abstract), the system comprising: one or more processors (page 4, lines 104-107; FIGS. 1 and 8); and a memory (page 4, lines 104-107; FIGS. 1 and 8) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform a method comprising: receiving, at a computing device, a real-time endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) video stream of a pancreas of a patient (page 24, lines 678-682), wherein the EUS video stream comprises a plurality of imaging modalities including at least grey-scale data (page 24, lines 678-682) and elastography data representing tissue stiffness (page 24, lines 678-682); processing, by one or more processors using an artificial intelligence (Al) model (page 25, lines 691-694), the EUS video stream to: identify a region of interest within the pancreas (page 22, lines 601-608); segment the identified region of interest from surrounding tissue (page 23, lines 647-652); and generate a characterization of the segmented region of interest based on an analysis of the plurality of imaging modalities (page 28, lines 782-786), including the elastography data (page 24, lines 678-682); and generating, for display on a user interface in real-time, a visual output comprising the EUS video stream with a graphical overlay (FIG. 16; page 22, lines 601-608), wherein the graphical overlay includes a visual indicator delineating the segmented region of interest and a classification label corresponding to the generated characterization (FIG. 16; page 22, lines 601-608; page 23, lines 647 - 656).
Regarding claim 8: Gheorghe discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the plurality of imaging modalities further comprises one or more of color doppler data (page 23, lines 635-642 and page 24, lines 678-682), contrast-enhanced arterial phase data, or contrast-enhanced venous phase data.
Regarding claim 9: Gheorghe discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the classification label indicates that the segmented region of interest is one of a solid mass, a cystic lesion, or normal tissue (page 24, lines 674-677).
Regarding claim 10: Gheorghe discloses the system or claim 7, wherein processing the EUS video stream by the Al model is performed on one or more remote servers in a cloud-computing environment, and wherein the computing device receives the visual output from the one or more remote servers (page 4, lines 104-107; page 13, lines 346-349; and page 20, lines 552-557 all refer to using remote cloud servers for storage and processing of data. FIG. 3 shows cloud 310 being used to process data in a loop which has output to AI Monitor 306; FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 11: Gheorghe discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the method further comprises: accessing a set of non-imaging patient data from an electronic medical record, the non- imaging patient data comprising at least one of laboratory test results, genomic data, or pathology reports (page 26, lines 725-726 describes using histopathology results); and wherein the Al model refines the characterization of the segmented region of interest based on the accessed non-imaging patient data (page 27, lines 745-748).
Regarding claim 12: Gheorghe discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the method further comprises generating, based on the characterization of the segmented region of interest, a recommendation for further procedures to be conducted on the segmented region of interest based on the characterization of the segmented region of interest (page 27, line 765 to page 28, line 781 describes using the method for determining feasibility of various treatment options).
Regarding claim 13: Gheorghe discloses a non-transitory computer-readable media have instructions stored thereon that, when executed by one or more computer processors, cause the one or more processors to perform a method (detection system 100 including computer system 101, EUS system 102, interface module 104, etc. for performing the method; FIG. 1; page 4, line 103-page 6, line 153; Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning enabled systems and methods for detecting, marking, and differentiating pancreatic lesions and pancreatic parts from endoscopic images; Abstract) comprising: receiving, at a computing device (page 4, lines 104-107; FIGS. 1 and 8), a real-time endoscopic ultrasound (EUS) video stream of a pancreas of a patient (page 24, lines 678-682), wherein the EUS video stream comprises a plurality of imaging modalities including at least grey-scale data (page 24, lines 678-682) and elastography data representing tissue stiffness (page 24, lines 678-682); processing, by one or more processors using an artificial intelligence (Al) model (page 25, lines 691-694), the EUS video stream to: identify a region of interest within the pancreas (page 22, lines 601-608); segment the identified region of interest from surrounding tissue (page 23, lines 647-652); and generate a characterization of the segmented region of interest based on an analysis of the plurality of imaging modalities (page 28, lines 782-786), including the elastography data (page 24, lines 678-682); and generating, for display on a user interface in real-time, a visual output comprising the EUS video stream with a graphical overlay (FIG. 16; page 22, lines 601-608), wherein the graphical overlay includes a visual indicator delineating the segmented region of interest and a classification label corresponding to the generated characterization (FIG. 16; page 22, lines 601-608); Based on the provided excerpt from the patent application, here are several suggestions to improve clarity, completeness, and enforceability.
Regarding claim 14: Gheorghe discloses the media of claim 13 wherein the plurality of imaging modalities further comprises one or more of color doppler data (page 23, lines 635-642 and page 24, lines 678-682), contrast-enhanced arterial phase data, or contrast-enhanced venous phase data.
Regarding claim 15: Gheorghe discloses the media of claim 13, wherein the classification label indicates that the segmented region of interest is one of a solid mass, a cystic lesion, or normal tissue (page 24, lines 674-677).
Regarding claim 16: Gheorghe discloses the media of claim 13, wherein processing the EUS video stream by the Al model is performed on one or more remote servers in a cloud-computing environment, and wherein the computing device receives the visual output from the one or more remote servers (page 4, lines 104-107; page 13, lines 346-349; and page 20, lines 552-557 all refer to using remote cloud servers for storage and processing of data. FIG. 3 shows cloud 310 being used to process data in a loop which has output to AI Monitor 306; FIG. 8).
Regarding claim 17: Gheorghe discloses he media of claim 13, wherein the method further comprises: accessing a set of non-imaging patient data from an electronic medical record, the non- imaging patient data comprising at least one of laboratory test results, genomic data, or pathology reports (page 26, lines 725-726 describes using histopathology results); and wherein the Al model refines the characterization of the segmented region of interest based on the accessed non-imaging patient data (page 27, lines 745-748).
Regarding claim 18: Gheorghe discloses the media of claim 13, wherein the method further comprises generating, based on the characterization of the segmented region of interest, a recommendation for further procedures to be conducted on the segmented region of interest based on the characterization of the segmented region of interest (page 27, line 765 to page 28, line 781 describes using the method for determining feasibility of various treatment options).
Conclusion
/CAROLYN A PEHLKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799