This action is in response to the application filed on 01/20/26.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/16/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Elger et al. (2011/0056714).
Regarding claim 1, Elger discloses an anvil (46) for use with an impact tool, the anvil comprising: an impact receiving portion having a lug (98a, 106) configured to be impacted to rotate the anvil about an axis; a drive portion (66) opposite the impact receiving portion (98a), the drive portion configured for coupling to a tool bit (18; Fig. 1); a shank (58a; Fig. 7) extending between the impact receiving portion (98a) and the drive portion (66a); and a flat shoulder (94a; Fig. 7) oriented perpendicular to the axis, the flat shoulder (94a) configured to provide planar contact with an end of a tool bit (Fig. 1) when the tool bit is coupled to the drive portion, wherein the drive portion, the shank, and the flat shoulder are integrally formed together as a single body (note that the flat shoulder 94a could be welded; par. 23).
Regarding claim 2, Elger discloses wherein the drive portion (66) includes a plurality of drive surfaces (70), and wherein the flat shoulder (94) is oriented perpendicular to the plurality of drive surfaces (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Elger discloses wherein the plurality of drive surfaces (70) defines a square drive.
Regarding claim 4, Elger discloses an annular channel (86) located adjacent the plurality of drive surfaces (70).
Regarding claim 5, Elger discloses wherein the drive portion (66) includes a plurality of beveled transition surfaces (74; Figs. 3 and 5) extending between adjacent drive surfaces of the plurality of drive surfaces (70).
Regarding claim 6, Elger discloses wherein each drive surface (70) of the plurality of drive surfaces is planar and extends from a front end (78; Fig. 3) to a rear end (at the vicinity of 74), the rear end proximate the shank (58), and wherein the anvil further comprises a curved surface (not shown numerically between 74 and 54 in Fig. 3) extending from the rear end of at least one drive surface.
Regarding claim 7, Elger discloses wherein the flat shoulder (94) has an annular shape.
Regarding claim 8, Elger discloses an anvil for use with an impact tool, the anvil comprising: an impact receiving portion (106) having a plurality of lugs configured to be impacted to rotate the anvil about an axis; a drive portion (66) opposite the impact receiving portion and configured for coupling to a tool bit (18; Fig. 1), the drive portion including a first side (70), a second side (70) extending perpendicular the first side (Fig. 3), and a beveled surface (820) between the first side and the second side, the drive portion configured for coupling to a tool bit; a shank (58) extending between the impact receiving portion and the drive portion; and a shoulder (94) oriented perpendicular to the axis, the shoulder configured to contact an end of the tool bit when the tool bit is coupled to the drive portion (Fig. 1), wherein the drive portion, the shank, and the shoulder are integrally formed together as a single body (e.g. welded; par. 23).
Regarding claim 9, Elger discloses wherein the shoulder (94) is oriented perpendicular to the first side and the second side (70).
Regarding claim 10, Elger discloses an annular channel (86) located adjacent the first side and the second side.
Regarding claim 11, Elger discloses wherein the first side (70) is planar and extends from a front end to a rear end, the rear end of the first side being located proximate the shank, and wherein the anvil further comprises a curved surface (Fig. 3) extending from the rear end of the first side.
Regarding claim 12, Elger discloses wherein the shoulder (94) has an annular shape.
Regarding claim 13, Elger discloses wherein the drive portion includes a recess (Figs. 6-6a) in the first side.
Regarding claim 14, Elger discloses wherein the shank (58) is cylindrical (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 15, Elger discloses an anvil for use with an impact tool, the anvil comprising: an impact receiving portion having a lug (106) configured to be impacted to rotate the anvil about an axis; a drive portion (66) located forward of the impact receiving portion, the drive portion configured for coupling to a tool bit (18; Fig. 1), the drive portion including drive surfaces (70) defining a square drive (par. 24; Fig. 3); a shank (58) extending between the impact receiving portion and the drive portion; a flat shoulder (94) configured to provide planar contact with an end of a tool bit when the tool bit is coupled to the drive portion; and a curved surface (Fig. 3) extending rearwardly from the drive surfaces, wherein the drive portion, the shank, the flat shoulder, and the curved surface are integrally formed together as a single body (i.e. welded; par. 23).
Regarding claim 16, Elger discloses wherein the drive surfaces (70) are planar, and wherein the flat shoulder (94) is oriented perpendicular to the drive surfaces.
Regarding claim 17, Elger discloses wherein the drive portion includes beveled transition surfaces (82) extending between adjacent drive surfaces.
Regarding claim 18, Elger discloses wherein the curved surface defines an annular channel (86; Fig. 5) positioned between the shank and the drive portion.
Regarding claim 19, Elger discloses wherein the tool bit is configured to extend over the annular channel (86) to contact the flat shoulder.
Regarding claim 20, Elger discloses a bore (Figs. 6-6a).
Conclusion
/MICHELLE LOPEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731