DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zheng et al. (EP 4147726 A1) (hereafter, “Zheng”).
Regarding claim 1, Zheng discloses a fluid sterilization module (100 Figs. 1a-e and 2a), comprising: an outer shell (111 Fig. 1a; [0026]), a control mainboard (142 Figs. 1d and 2a; a circuit is present on the ceramic or metal substrate…[0042]), a light-blocking sleeve (130 Figs. 1b, 1e and 2a; [0038]: element 130 is opaque and acts to scatter ultraviolet rays in various areas of a hollow pipe 112 thus ensuring the irradiation is limited to the area of element 112), and a transparent flow tube (112 Figs. 1b and 2a; [0038]: element 112 is a transparent hollow pipe); one end of the transparent flow tube is a water inlet of the fluid sterilization module (the end of element 112 adjacent to element 1121 of element 111 Figs. 1b and 2a; [0026]: 1121 is a liquid inlet end); another end of the transparent flow tube is a water outlet of the fluid sterilization module (the end of element 112 adjacent to element 1122 of element 111 Figs. 1b and 2a; [0026]: 1121 is a liquid outlet end); the light-blocking sleeve sleeves around a peripheral side of the transparent flow tube (see Figs. 1b and 2a; element 130 sleeves around a peripheral side of element 112), and the outer shell sleeves around a peripheral side of the light-blocking sleeve (see Figs. 1b and 2a; element 111 sleeves around a peripheral side of element 130); the control mainboard is installed on the outer shell (Fig. 2a: see that the circuit 142 is disposed on a side of element 114 where elements 141 are disposed (Fig. 1d), and as illustrated in Fig. 2a, element 114 is installed in 113 of element 111 (outer shell)) and comprises a plurality of sterilization lamps (141 Figs. 1b, 1d and 2a; ); the light-blocking sleeve is provided with a plurality of light-transmitting zones (1131/131 Figs. 1b and 1e; [0026]: 1131 is second light transmitting hole and 131 is first light transmitting hole) corresponding to the plurality of sterilization lamps (141 Figs. 1b and 2a) to allow the sterilization lamps to irradiate fluid inside the transparent flow tube for sterilization ([0055]: element 1131 is at a position corresponding to element 131 so that the ultraviolet light emitted by the ultraviolent light source is incident into hollow pipe 112 after passing elements 1131 and 131).
Regarding claim 2, Zheng discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Zheng further discloses the claimed invention, wherein the transparent flow tube (112 Figs. 1b and 2a) is an elongated tube extending vertically (see Figs. 1b and 2a); the plurality of sterilization lamps (141 Figs. 1b and 2a) are positioned along an axial direction (see Figs. 1b and 2a; a direction from the light inlet end to the liquid outlet end) of the transparent flow tube and being spaced apart from one another (Figs. 1b and 2a: see that elements 141 are spaced apart from one another).
Regarding claim 4, Zheng discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Zheng further discloses the claimed invention, wherein one side of the outer shell comprises an installation slot (113 Figs. 1a-b and 2a) in which the control mainboard (142 Fig. 2a) is mounted (see Fig. 2a); the installation slot comprises a plurality of lamp holes (1131 Fig. 1a) in communication with an inner cavity of the outer shell ([0055]: element 1131 corresponds to element 131 and in communication with an inner cavity (the space where element 130 is contained) thus allowing the light from the ultraviolet light source to reach element 112); the plurality of sterilization lamps are inserted through the plurality of lamp holes ([0051-55]: see that element 141 are designed to correspond and engage the lamp holes as illustrated in Figs. 1b and 2a); the light-blocking sleeve (130 Figs. 1b and 2a) is positioned in the inner cavity (see Figs. 1b and 2a).
Regarding claim 5, Zheng discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Zheng further discloses the claimed invention, wherein the outer shell (111 Fig. 2a) comprises an upper opening (an opening with an internal threading that engages with the external threading of element 150; see Fig. 1a ) in communication with an inner cavity of the outer shell (see annotated Fig. 2a), and a bottom of the inner cavity forms an installation stepped portion (see annotated Fig. 2a); the transparent flow tube and the light-blocking sleeve are inserted into the inner cavity from the upper opening (the only detachable end of element 111 is the end with the threaded portion that engages element 150 thus it must be the end via which elements 112 and 130 are inserted into the inner cavity of element 111); lower ends of the transparent flow tube and the light-blocking sleeve abut against the installation stepped portion (see annotated Fig. 2a; see that elements 112 and 130 abuts against the annotated installation stepped portion); the installation stepped portion comprises a lower hole
connected to an external environment (see annotated Fig. 2a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (EP 4147726 A1) (hereafter, “Zheng”) in view of Tang et al. (CN 115211988 A) (hereafter, “Tang”).
Regarding claim 3, Zheng discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Zheng further discloses that the plurality of light-transmitting zones (1131 Fig. 1e) of the light-blocking sleeve (130 Figs. 1b, 1e, and 2a) are through holes penetrating through the light-blocking sleeve (see Fig. 1e). Zheng does not disclose that the transparent flow tube is made of high-temperature-resistant glass.
Tang teaches an analogous device (Fig. 4) comprising an outer shell (41 Fig. 9), a control mainboard (12 Fig. 8), and a transparent flow tube (10 Fig. 9; page 8). Tang further teaches that the transparent flow tube is made of high-temperature-resistant glass (element 10 is a quartz glass tube (page 8) which is a type of high-temperature-resistant glass).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the transparent flow tube of the device of Zheng to be made of high-temperature-resistant glass, as taught by Tang, in order to provide a device with a transparent that would not be damaged by radiation irradiation thus prolonging the service life of the transparent tube.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (EP 4147726 A1) (hereafter, “Zheng”) in view of Wolf (WO 9410932 A1).
Zheng discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Zheng further discloses the claimed invention, wherein the outer shell (111 Fig. 2a) comprises an upper opening (an opening with an internal threading that engages with the external threading of element 150; see Fig. 1a) in communication with an inner cavity of the outer shell (see annotated Fig. 2a) and in communication with the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module at said another end of the transparent flow tube (see that the upper opening of the element 111 is in communication with the end of element 112 proximate element 1122 as water flow from the upper opening can flow freely to the end of element 112 proximate element 1122). Zheng does not teach that the upper opening is connected with an adapter; the adapter has a check valve that allows one-way water flow from the fluid sterilization module to an external environment.
Wolf teaches a fluid sterilization module (122 Fig. 8) wherein an upper opening (passage 131 and element 133 (at the end proximate element 111 as shown in Fig. 8) best illustrated in Fig. 13 and also shown in Fig. 16, although element 131 is not annotated in Fig. 16, it is depicted in the Figure) is connected with an adapter (158 Fig. 8); the adapter has a check valve (158 (Fig. 8), a spring-biased valve, identical to bead valve 166; Fig. 16. Note that element 158 has substantially the same structure as element 157 and has the same spring-biased valve as element 157; page 18 lines 9-18) that allows one-way water flow from the fluid sterilization module to an external environment (page 18 lines 20-23: element 158 allows for purified water to flow into tube 11 from the sterilization module/cartridge 122).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zheng to be configured such that the upper opening of the device is configured with an adapted including a check valve that allows one-way water flow from the sterilization module to an external environment, as taught by Wolf, in order to create a device with a controlled directional liquid flow path thus preventing sterilized water from being contaminated by the unsterilized water on the other end of the flow path.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (EP 4147726 A1) (hereafter, “Zheng”) in view of Tang et al. (CN 115211988 A) (hereafter, “Tang”) and further in view of Liang (CN 217696930 U).
Regarding claim 7, Zheng discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 1. Zheng does not teach a dental cleaning device wherein the disclosed fluid sterilization module is contained within, and the device cleaning device further comprising a dental cleaning device body, a pump spray module, and a nozzle.
Tang teaches a dental cleaning device (Fig. 1), comprising an analogous fluid sterilization module (4/10 Fig. 1). Tang further teaches the dental cleaning device further comprising a dental cleaning device body (see annotated Fig. 1), a pump spray module (6/7/8 Fig. 1), and a nozzle (2 Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1); the dental cleaning device body comprises an equipment chamber (see annotated Fig. 1) and a water storage chamber (3 Fig. 1) independent from each other (see annotated Fig. 1; and Fig. 1); the pump spray module (6/7 Fig. 1) and the fluid sterilization module (4/10 Fig. 1) are installed in the equipment chamber (see annotated Fig. 1); the water storage chamber is configured to store fluid for dental cleaning (see that element 3 is a box body and as illustrated in Fig. 1 can store fluid. Furthermore, the limitation as stated is functional, while Tang does not need to state the limitation as claimed, the box body 3 of Tang is capable to perform the function as claimed); the nozzle (2 Fig. 1) is mounted at one end of the dental cleaning device body (the end of the annotated dental cleaning device body proximate element “a”) and connected to a water outlet (see annotated Fig. 1) of the pump spray module (6/7 Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1) (see that the nozzle 2 is connected to the annotated water outlet of 6/7 via elements 9/10/4 wherein water flow from the pump module is able to flow to the nozzle as depicted by the directional arrow in Fig. 1); a water inlet of the pump spray module is connected to the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module, and the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water storage chamber; the pump spray module draws the fluid from the water storage chamber, through the fluid sterilization module in which the fluid is sterilized, and then ejects the fluid through the nozzle (see annotated Fig. 1; while Tang does not teach the fluid sterilization module to be displaced between the pump spray module and the water storage chamber wherein the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water inlet of the pump spray module and the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water storage chamber, the device of Tang teaches the pump spray module being located between the fluid sterilization module and the water storage chamber wherein the water outlet of the pump spray module is connected to the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module and the water inlet of the pump spray module is connected to the water storage chamber. It has been held in re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) that mere reversal of parts would be an obvious modification. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to an ordinary artisan to have the fluid sterilization modules disposed between the pump spray module and the water storage chamber and connected as claimed, and it would be apparent that the pump spray module drawing the fluid from the water storage chamber (page 11: pump 6 draws water from element 3) would result in the fluid flowing through the sterilization module in which the fluid is sterilized, and then ejects the fluid through the nozzle, for the purpose of instantaneously sterilizing the water before it is reaches the nozzle, since applicant has not disclosed that having the fluid sterilization modules disposed between the pump spray module and the water storage chamber and connected as claimed, provides an advantage, solves any stated problem, or is used for a particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water inlet of the pump spray module and the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water storage chamber, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement.
In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fluid sterilization module of Zheng to be incorporated into a dental cleaning device, as taught by Tang, in order to provide a device wherein a sterilization module is set in the flow path of a dental cleaning device for instantaneous sterilizing and inactivation operation, thus realizing a good cleaning effect.
Furthermore, Zheng/Tang does not teach a dental cleaning device wherein the disclosed fluid sterilization module is contained within, and the device cleaning device further comprising a nozzle that is detachably mounted at one end of the dental cleaning device.
Liang teaches a dental cleaning device (Fig. 1), comprising a sterilization module (UV sterilizing lamp [abstract]) and a nozzle (2 Fig. 1) mounted at one end of the dental cleaning device (the end of the device wherein element 110 is located; Fig. 1). Liang further teaches that the nozzle is detachably mounted at the one end of the dental cleaning device (page 3: …the washing nozzle is detached from the connecting port…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combined device of Zheng and Tang to be configured with a detachable nozzle, as taught by Liang, in order to provide a device that allows for the components to be detached and stored away neatly when not in use.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (EP 4147726 A1) (hereafter, “Zheng”) in view of Tang et al. (CN 115211988 A) (hereafter, “Tang”) and Liang (CN 217696930 U) and further in view of Wood et al. (US 11109950 B2).
Regarding claim 8, Zheng as modified by Tang and Liang discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 7. The combination device of Zheng as modified by Tang and Liang discloses the dental cleaning device of claim 7, wherein Tang further teaches that the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to one end of a water inlet tube (see annotated Fig. 1); another end of the water inlet tube is inserted into the water storage chamber (3 Fig. 1) (see annotated Fig. 1); the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module (4/10 Fig. 1) is connected to one end of an adapter; another end of the adapter is connected to the water inlet of the pump spray module (see annotated Fig. 1; while Tang does not teach the fluid sterilization module to be displaced between the pump spray module and the water storage chamber, wherein the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to one end of an adapter; another end of the adapter is connected to the water inlet of the pump spray module, the device of Tang teaches the pump spray module being located between the fluid sterilization module and the water storage chamber wherein the water outlet of the pump spray module is connected to one end of an adapter (8 annotated Fig. 1); another end of the adapter (8 annotated Fig. 1) is connected to the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module (see that the annotated end of the adapter 8 is connected to the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module via the annotated water inlet tube). It has been held in re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) that mere reversal of parts would be an obvious modification. This may also be considered a mere rearrangement of parts. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to an ordinary artisan to have the fluid sterilization modules disposed between the pump spray module and the water storage chamber and connected as claimed, wherein the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to one end of an adapter (8 annotated Fig. 1); another end of the adapter (8 annotated Fig. 1) is connected to the water inlet of the pump spray module, for the purpose of instantaneously sterilizing the water before it is reaches the nozzle, since applicant has not disclosed that having the fluid sterilization modules disposed between the pump spray module and the water storage chamber, wherein the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to one end of an adapter; another end of the adapter is connected to the water inlet of the pump spray module, provides an advantage, solves any stated problem, or is used for a particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality that the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to one end of an adapter; another end of the adapter is connected to the water inlet of the pump spray module, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a
particular arrangement. In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975)).
The combination of Zheng, Tang, and Liang does not disclose the dental cleaning device, wherein said another end of the water inlet tube has an inclined section that extends to an inner bottom surface of the water storage chamber; an edge of a free end of the inclined section touches the inner bottom surface of the water storage chamber; the free end of the inclined section is positioned right below the nozzle.
Wood teaches an analogous dental cleaning device (Fig. 2) comprising a nozzle (22/2 Fig. 2) and a water inlet tube (16 Fig. 2) having another end (the end adjacent element 20; Fig. 2). Wood further teaches that said another end of the water inlet tube (the end adjacent element 20; Fig. 2) has an inclined section (see annotated Fig. 2) that extends to an inner bottom surface of the water storage chamber (see annotated Fig. 2); an edge of a free end of the inclined section touches the inner bottom surface of the water storage chamber (see annotated Fig. 2); the free end of the inclined section is positioned right below the nozzle (Annotated Fig. 2: see that the annotated free end is positioned right below element 22/2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the water inlet tube of Zheng/Tang/Liang to be configured such that another end of the water inlet tube has an inclined section that extends to an inner bottom surface of the water storage chamber; an edge of a free end of the inclined section touches the inner bottom surface of the water storage chamber; the free end of the inclined section is positioned right below the nozzle, as taught by Wood, in order to provide a device configured with an water inlet tube that is always in a position or orientation to receive water thus improving the efficacy of the device.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zheng et al. (EP 4147726 A1) (hereafter, “Zheng”) in view of Tang et al. (CN 115211988 A) (hereafter, “Tang”) and Liang (CN 217696930 U) and further in view of Luettgen et al. (US 20160151133 A1), Thomas et al. (US 20080008979 A1) and JP 3246513 U.
Regarding claim 9, Zheng as modified by Tang and Liang discloses the claimed invention substantially as set forth in claim 7. The combination device of Zheng as modified by Tang and Liang discloses the dental cleaning device of claim 7, wherein Tang further teaches that the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to one end of a water inlet tube (see annotated Fig. 1); wherein the pump spray module comprises a spray pump (6 Fig. 1), a motor (7 Fig. 1), a dental cleaning control board (12 Fig. 5); the motor drives the spray pump to operate (page 11: opening first switch 18 starts the motor 7 which causes element 6 to operate); a water inlet of the spray pump is connected to the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module, and a water outlet of the spray pump is connected to the nozzle ((see annotated Fig. 1; while Tang does not teach the spray pump to be located between the fluid sterilization module and the nozzle wherein the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water inlet of the spray pump and the water outlet of the spray pump is connected to the nozzle, the device of Tang teaches the fluid sterilization module being located between the spray pump and the nozzle wherein the water outlet of the pump spray module is connected to the water inlet of the fluid sterilization module and the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the nozzle. It has been held in re Gazda, 219 F.2d 449, 104 USPQ 400 (CCPA 1955) that mere reversal of parts would be an obvious modification. This may also be considered a mere rearrangement of parts. Furthermore, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to an ordinary artisan to have the spray pump to be located between the fluid sterilization module and the nozzle wherein the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water inlet of the spray pump and the water outlet of the spray pump is connected to the nozzle, for the purpose of instantaneously sterilizing the water before it is reaches the nozzle, since applicant has not disclosed that having the spray pump to be located between the fluid sterilization module and the nozzle wherein the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water inlet of the spray pump and the water outlet of the spray pump is connected to the nozzle, provides an advantage, solves any stated problem, or is used for a particular purpose and it appears that the device would perform equally well with either designs. Furthermore, absent a teaching as to criticality for the spray pump to be located between the fluid sterilization module and the nozzle wherein the water outlet of the fluid sterilization module is connected to the water inlet of the spray pump and the water outlet of the spray pump is connected to the nozzle, this particular arrangement is deemed to have been known by those skilled in the art since the instant specification and evidence of record fail to attribute any significance (novel or unexpected results) to a particular arrangement In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553,555,188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975)); the dental cleaning control board controls the motor to operate (page 8: element 14 electrically sends acting signal to the circuit board 12, which triggers the starting of the motor subsequently resulting in the driving of the pump); and the equipment chamber and water storage chamber are arranged side by side inside the dental cleaning device body (annotated Fig. 1; see that the annotated equipment chamber is arranged at a side of the water storage chamber (3)).
The combination of Zheng/Tang/Liang does not teach the dental cleaning device, wherein the pump spray module comprises a housing and a battery; the spray pump and the motor are installed inside the housing; the motor and the battery are electrically connected to the dental cleaning control board; the battery is configured to power the motor.
Luettgen teaches an analogous dental cleaning device (Figs. 1-10) comprising a nozzle (106 Figs. 1-3), a water inlet tube (202/206 Fig. 3; [0075]), and a pump spray module (176 (pump assembly) [0088]). Luettgen further teaches that the pump spray module comprises a housing (182/184 Fig. 7; [0077]: The two housings 182, 184 define interior compartments for receiving various elements of the oral irrigator…), a spray pump (200 Fig. 7; [0088]), a dental cleaning control board (204/196 Fig. 6; [0080-81] and [0120]), and a battery (412a/b Fig. 3); the spray pump (200 Fig. 7; [0088]) and the motor (172 Fig. 10A; [0087]) are installed inside the housing ([0077]: The two housings 182, 184 define interior compartments for receiving various elements of the oral irrigator… see Fig. 9: see that elements 200 and 172 are installed inside the housings 182/184); the motor (172 Fig. 10A; [0087]) and the battery (412a/b Fig. 3) are electrically connected to the dental cleaning control board ([0120]: …the circuit board 196 may be electrically connected to the motor 172 and batteries 412a, 412b by one or more wires connected to the various components within the lower housing 182…); the battery is configured to power the motor ([0120]: the batteries are connected to circuit board 196 which is connected to first circuit board 204 ([0081]); [0140]: compression of element 186 contained on first circuit board 204, transmits an activation signal to activate the motor 172. The only source of power is the batteries 412a/b which are electrically connected to element 196 and must be the power source that powers the motor when element 186 is compressed by a user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the combination of Zheng/Tang/Liang to be configured such that the pump spray module comprises a housing and a battery; the spray pump and the motor are installed inside the housing; the motor and the battery are electrically connected to the dental cleaning control board; the battery is configured to power the motor, as taught by Luettgen, in order to provide a dental cleaning device with portable drive and power assembly components for the activation and functioning of the device while providing a device that is not too bulky to be held in a user’s hand thus improving overall user experience during use.
Furthermore, the combination of Zheng/Tang/Liang does not teach the dental cleaning device, wherein the dental cleaning control board also comprises a charging port for charging the battery.
Thomas teaches an analogous dental cleaning device (10 Fig. 1) comprising a nozzle (20 Fig. 1), a battery (80 Fig. 23; the embodiment of Figs. 23 and 24 is the same as the embodiment of Fig. 10 and 11 except shown in an alternate configuration [0041 and 0042]), and a dental cleaning control board (see Fig. 23; the board (110) on which the controls (52 and 54) and other components are localized on). Thomas further teaches the dental cleaning control board also comprises a charging port (6 Figs. 10 and 23; see that element 6 corresponds to element 63 (a charging plug exit [0059]) as best illustrated in the annotated Fig. 9; [0059]: The charging plug 63 is used to place an external power source in electrical communication with an internal power source (e.g., battery) located within the handle portion 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of the combination of Zheng/Tang/Liang to be configured such that the dental cleaning control board also comprises a charging port for charging the battery, as taught by Thomas, in order to create a dental cleaning device with a rechargeable internal power source that can be easily charged using a conventional charging means like plugging to an external power source.
Also, the combination of Zheng/Tang/Liang does not teach the dental cleaning device, wherein the dental cleaning device body comprises an upper cover; the upper cover seals top sides of both the equipment chamber and the water storage chamber; one side of the upper cover comprises a water inlet hole in communication with the water storage chamber; the water inlet hole is removably covered by a sealing cap; a retaining ring is provided inside the water storage chamber below the water inlet hole to hold and store the nozzle inside the water storage chamber when the nozzle is not in use.
JP 3246513 U teaches an analogous dental cleaning device (Fig. 3) comprising a nozzle (5 Fig. 3), an equipment chamber (see annotated Fig. 3), and a water storage chamber (113/4 Fig. 3; see annotated Fig. 3). JP 3246513 U further teaches that dental cleaning device body comprises an upper cover (12 Fig. 3 and annotated Fig. 3); the upper cover seals top sides of both the equipment chamber and the water storage chamber (see annotated Fig. 3); one side of the upper cover comprises a water inlet hole (see Fig. 7 and page 4: element 122 is a water injection area which has a through opening) in communication with the water storage chamber (see Fig. 3 and page 4: see that the opening (212, small end opening) of in the water injection area (122) of the water injection mechanism (2) is in communication with element 113 (water injection chamber) which is open to the water storage chamber (4)); the water inlet hole is removably covered by a sealing cap (22 Fig. 4; hole sealing cover); a retaining ring (31 Figs. 4 and 5) is provided inside the water storage chamber below the water inlet hole (see Fig. 4: element 31 is below 212) to hold and store the nozzle inside the water storage chamber when the nozzle is not in use (see Fig. 6; page 5: The ceiling water injection structure of the oral irrigator further includes a nozzle storage structure (3),the nozzle storage structure (3) includes a nozzle hanging member (31) and a nozzle storage chamber, the nozzle hanging
member (31) is provided on the hollow wall of the water injection funnel(21)…).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Zheng/Tang/Liang to be configured such that the dental cleaning device body comprises an upper cover; the upper cover seals top sides of both the equipment chamber and the water storage chamber; one side of the upper cover comprises a water inlet hole in communication with the water storage chamber; the water inlet hole is removably covered by a sealing cap; a retaining ring is provided inside the water storage chamber below the water inlet hole to hold and store the nozzle inside the water storage chamber when the nozzle is not in use, as taught JP 3246513 U, in order to provide a device with a sealing cover to protect the inner compartments of the device from the external environment and create a means to fill the water storage without the need to remove the entire cover.
Conclusion
/C.A./ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772 /ERIC J ROSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772