DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (hereinafter “Zhang” US 2023 / 0017056) in view of Flowers et al. (hereinafter “Flowers” US 2015 / 0277545).
As pertaining to Claim 1, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) a method, applied to an electronic device (210; see Page 3, Para. [0034]-[0038]), the method comprising:
obtaining, by a second processor (214, 216) of the electronic device (210), a first push message (i.e., an instant application message) that is received by the electronic device (210) in an off state (i.e., a sleeping mode) and that is from a server (220), wherein the second processor (214, 216) serves as a coprocessor or a microprocessor of the electronic device (210), a first processor (212) of the electronic device (210) runs an operating system (i.e., processing functionality), and the operating system (i.e., the processing functionality) comprises a push client (i.e., a means for receiving instant application messages) and a user interface (UI) display module (i.e., see (2124); and see Page 3, Para. [0040]); and
performing the following:
parsing (i.e., processing), by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) to obtain a processed first push message (i.e., a processed instant application message), and sending the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message) to a display module (again, see (2124)) of the electronic device (210); and controlling, by the display module (2124), a display of the electronic device (210) to display the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message) in an off manner (i.e., a sleeping manner; again, see Page 3, Para. [0040]); or
caching (see (2184)), by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message), and sending the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) to the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages in first processor (212)) when determining that the electronic device (210) is switched from the off state (i.e., the sleeping mode) to an on state (i.e., an awake mode); parsing (i.e., processing), by the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) to obtain a processed first push message (i.e., a processed instant application message), and sending the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message) to the UI display module (again, see (2124)); and controlling, by the UI display module (2124), the display (again, see (2124)) to display the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message; see Page 3, Para. [0040] and [0043]; Page 4, Para. [0045] and [0057]).
While Zhang discloses that the electronic device can function in an off state (i.e., the sleeping mode), Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the off state comprises a screen-off state. Further, in this regard, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the display module comprises an always on display (AOD) module such that the second processor sends the processed first push message to an always on display (AOD) module. In addition, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the second processor sends the first push message to the push client when determining a switch from a screen-off state to a screen-on state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Flowers discloses an electronic device architecture (see Fig. 1B and Fig. 6) in which the electronic device comprises a first processor (100) that runs an operating system comprising a push client (i.e., a means for receiving messages and/or notifications) and a user interface (UI) display module (i.e., a touchscreen display module; see (103, 105, 107)), and a second processor (120) which serves as a coprocessor or microprocessor of the electronic device (see Page 3, Para. [0029]-[0031]). Flowers discloses that the display module (107) comprises an always on display (AOD) module (see Fig. 2A) such that the electronic device operates in a screen-off state (i.e., a sleeping mode) in which push messages are displayed in a screen-off manner, and a screen-on state (i.e., a normal or awake mode) in which push messages are displayed in a screen-on manner (see Page 1, Para. [0014] and Page 4, Para. [0035]). In this regard, Flowers further suggests an electronic device, analogous to that disclosed by Zhang, in which, in a screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode), the second processor (120) parses messages and/or display data and sends the processed messages and/or display data to an AOD module for display, and in which, in a screen-on state (i.e., a normal or wake state), the first processor (100) parses the messages and/or display data and sends the processed messages and/or display data to the display (see (108) in Fig. 1B; and see Fig. 6; also see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0043] and [0045]-[0048]; Page 8, Para. [0066]-[0067] and [0069]; and Page 9, Para. [0078]). In the same manner suggested by Zhang, it is a goal of Flowers to provide a means for implementing a primary processor and a secondary processor in combination to allow for low-power operation of an electronic device, as particularly relating to the control of a display device implementing an AOD module to display messages and/or notifications received by the electronic device (see Page 1, Para. [0002]-[0004] and [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Flowers, such that the off state of Zhang comprises a screen-off state, as suggested by Flowers, and the display module comprises an always on display (AOD) module such that the second processor sends the processed first push message to an always on display (AOD) module and the second processor sends the first push message to the push client when determining a switch from a screen-off state to a screen-on state, as suggested by Flowers, in order to allow for low-power operation of the electronic device, as particularly relating to the control of the display device implementing an AOD module to display messages and/or notifications received by the electronic device.
As pertaining to Claim 2, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that before obtaining, by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) that is received by the electronic device (210) in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode) and that is from the server (220), sending a connection request to the server (220) via the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages), wherein the connection request is a request to establish a connection to the server (220; see Fig. 3);
receiving a connection response from the server (220) via the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages), wherein the connection response is used to determine to establish the connection (again, see Fig. 3); and
performing the following:
establishing the connection to the server (220) via a modem (214) of the electronic device (210); and sending a heartbeat packet (see Fig. 3) to the server (220) based on a heartbeat period via the modem (214) of the electronic device (210), and receiving a heartbeat reply packet (again, see Fig. 3) corresponding to the heartbeat packet sent by the server (220); or
establishing the connection to the server (220) via the second processor (214, 216; see Fig. 2); and sending a heartbeat packet (see Fig. 2) to the server (220) based on a heartbeat period via the second processor (214, 216), and receiving a heartbeat reply packet (again, see Fig. 2) corresponding to the heartbeat packet sent by the server (220; see Page 1, Para. [0005]-[0006]; and see Page 3, Para. [0039]-[0040] and [0042]; and see Page 4, Para. [0058]).
As pertaining to Claim 3, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that sending the heartbeat packet to the server (220) based on the heartbeat period via the second processor (214, 216) comprises:
sending the heartbeat packet to a communication module (i.e., see (230)) of the electronic device (210) based on the heartbeat period via the second processor (214, 216); and
forwarding the heartbeat packet to the server (220) via the communication module (230) of the electronic device (210; see Page 3, Para. [0035]).
As pertaining to Claim 4, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) after receiving the connection response from the server (220) via the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages via first processor (212)), and before establishing the connection to the server (220) via the modem (214) of the electronic device (210; i.e., the connection to the server via the second processor (214, 216), for example), determining to establish the connection to the server (220) via the modem (214) of the electronic device (210; again, via the second processor (214, 216), for example; again, see Page 3, Para. [0039]-[0040] and [0042]; and see Page 4, Para. [0058]).
As pertaining to Claim 5, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) after receiving the connection response from the server (220) via the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages via first processor (212)), and before establishing the connection to the server (220) via the second processor (214, 216), determining to establish the connection to the server (220) via the second processor (see (214, 216); again, see Page 3, Para. [0039]-[0040] and [0042]; and see Page 4, Para. [0058]).
As pertaining to Claim 6, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that before parsing (i.e., processing), by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message), or before caching (see (2184)), by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message), determining, by the second processor (214, 216), that the electronic device (210) is in a mode (i.e., a sleeping mode) in which a notification is received without turning on a screen (i.e., without exiting the sleeping mode and entering the waking mode), wherein the mode (i.e., the sleeping mode) in which a notification is received without turning on a screen is a mode (i.e., the sleeping mode) in which screen-on display of push messages (i.e., the instant application messages) is not allowed after the push messages (i.e., the instant application messages) are received in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode state; see Page 3, Para. [0040] and [0043]).
As pertaining to Claim 7, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that after controlling, by the AOD module (see (2124) of Zhang corresponding to (107) of Flowers), the display (again, see (2124)) to display the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message) in the screen-off manner (i.e., the sleeping state manner), or after controlling, by the UI display module (again, see (2124)), the display (2124) to display the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message), obtaining, by the second processor (214, 216), a second push message (i.e., a second instant application message) that is received by the electronic device (210) in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping state) and that is from the server (220);
determining, by the second processor (214, 216), that a current scenario meets a preset condition (i.e., when a number of instant application messages exceeds a threshold);
sending, by the second processor (214, 216), the second push message (i.e., the second instant application message) to the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages in first processor (212)), and parsing (i.e., processing), by the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages in first processor (212)), the second push message (i.e., the second instant application message) to obtain a processed second push message (i.e., a processed second instant application message), and sending the processed second push message (i.e., the processed second instant application message) to the UI display module (2124); or parsing (i.e., processing), by the second processor (214, 216), the second push message (i.e., the second instant application message) to obtain a processed second push message (i.e., a processed second instant application message), and sending the processed second push message (i.e., the processed second instant application message) to the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages in first processor (212)), and sending, by the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages in first processor (212)), the processed second push message (i.e., the processed second instant application message) to the UI display module (2124); and
controlling, by the UI display module (2124), the display (again, see (2124)) to display the processed second push message (i.e., the processed second instant application message; again, see Page 3, Para. [0040] and [0043]; Page 4, Para. [0045] and [0057]).
As pertaining to Claim 8, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) receiving, by a communication module (i.e., see (230)) of the electronic device (210), the first push message (i.e., the first instant application message) from the server (220), and determining that the electronic device (210) is in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode); and
wherein obtaining, by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the first instant application message) that is received by the electronic device (210) in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode) and that is from the server (220) comprises:
receiving, by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the first instant application message) sent by the communication module (230; see Page 3, Para. [0035]; and see Page 3, Para. [0040]).
As pertaining to Claim 9, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the communication module (i.e., see (230)) is a modem (i.e., see (214)) or a wireless fidelity (Wi-Fi) communication component (see (230)) of the electronic device (210; again, see Page 3, Para. [0035]).
As pertaining to Claim 10, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that before obtaining, by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) that is received by the electronic device (210) in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode) and that is from the server (220), determining, by the second processor (214, 216), that the electronic device (210) is in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode; again, see Page 3, Para. [0040] and [0043]).
As pertaining to Claim 11, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) comprises a plurality of push messages (i.e., any arbitrary number of instant application messages), and a priority of each of the plurality of push messages (i.e., the instant application messages) is lower than or equal to a preset priority (i.e., an emergency message priority; see Page 3, Para. [0040] and [0043]).
As pertaining to Claim 12, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that a quantity (i.e., an arbitrary quantity) of the plurality of push messages (i.e., the instant application messages) is a preset value (i.e., as determined by the application sending the push messages; again, see Page 3, Para. [0040] and [0043]).
As pertaining to Claim 13, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the first processor (212) is a larger-core processor (i.e., a high-power processor), and the second processor (214, 216) is a smaller-core processor (i.e., a low-power processor; see Page 3 through Page 4, Para. [0038] and Para. [0044]).
As pertaining to Claim 14, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that the second processor (214, 216) is an intelligent sensor hub or a microcontroller unit (i.e., a processor; see Page 3, Para. [0038]).
As pertaining to Claim 15, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 with Fig. 8) an electronic device (210; see Page 3, Para. [0034]-[0038]), comprising:
memory storing instructions (see (812) in Fig. 8; see Page 5 through Page 6, Para. [0071]); and
a first processor (212) coupled to the memory (812), a second processor (214, 216) coupled to the memory (812), a display module (i.e., see (2124)), and a display (2124), wherein the first processor (212) is configured to run an operating system (i.e., processing functionality), the operating system (i.e., the processing functionality) comprises a push client (i.e., a means for receiving instant application messages) and a user interface (UI) display module (i.e., again, see (2124)), and the second processor (214, 216) is configured to serve as a coprocessor or a microprocessor (see Page 3, Para. [0040]); and
wherein when executed by the second processor (214, 216), the instructions cause the electronic device (210) to:
obtain, by the second processor (214, 216), a first push message (i.e., an instant application message) that is received by the electronic device (210) in an off state (i.e., a sleeping mode) and that is from a server (220); and
perform the following:
parse (i.e., processing), by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) to obtain a processed first push message (i.e., a processed instant application message), and send the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message) to the display module (again, see (2124)); and control, by the display module (2124), the display to display the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message) in an off manner (i.e., a sleeping manner; again, see Page 3, Para. [0040]); or
cache (see (2184)), by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message), and send the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) to the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages in first processor (212)) when determining that the electronic device (210) is switched from the off state (i.e., the sleeping mode) to an on state (i.e., an awake mode); parse (i.e., processing), by the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) to obtain a processed first push message (i.e., a processed instant application message), and send the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message) to the UI display module (again, see (2124)); and control, by the UI display module (2124), the display (again, see (2124)) to display the processed first push message (i.e., the processed instant application message; see Page 3, Para. [0040] and [0043]; Page 4, Para. [0045] and [0057]).
While Zhang discloses that the electronic device can function in an off state (i.e., the sleeping mode), Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the off state comprises a screen-off state. Further, in this regard, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the display module comprises an always on display (AOD) module such that the second processor sends the processed first push message to an always on display (AOD) module. In addition, Zhang does not explicitly disclose that the second processor sends the first push message to the push client when determining a switch from a screen-off state to a screen-on state.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Flowers discloses an electronic device architecture (see Fig. 1B and Fig. 6) in which the electronic device comprises a first processor (100) that runs an operating system comprising a push client (i.e., a means for receiving messages and/or notifications) and a user interface (UI) display module (i.e., a touchscreen display module; see (103, 105, 107)), and a second processor (120) which serves as a coprocessor or microprocessor of the electronic device (see Page 3, Para. [0029]-[0031]). Flowers discloses that the display module (107) comprises an always on display (AOD) module (see Fig. 2A) such that the electronic device operates in a screen-off state (i.e., a sleeping mode) in which push messages are displayed in a screen-off manner, and a screen-on state (i.e., a normal or awake mode) in which push messages are displayed in a screen-on manner (see Page 1, Para. [0014] and Page 4, Para. [0035]). In this regard, Flowers further suggests an electronic device, analogous to that disclosed by Zhang, in which, in a screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode), the second processor (120) parses messages and/or display data and sends the processed messages and/or display data to an AOD module for display, and in which, in a screen-on state (i.e., a normal or wake state), the first processor (100) parses the messages and/or display data and sends the processed messages and/or display data to the display (see (108) in Fig. 1B; and see Fig. 6; also see Page 4 through Page 5, Para. [0043] and [0045]-[0048]; Page 8, Para. [0066]-[0067] and [0069]; and Page 9, Para. [0078]). In the same manner suggested by Zhang, it is a goal of Flowers to provide a means for implementing a primary processor and a secondary processor in combination to allow for low-power operation of an electronic device, as particularly relating to the control of a display device implementing an AOD module to display messages and/or notifications received by the electronic device (see Page 1, Para. [0002]-[0004] and [0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zhang with the teachings of Flowers, such that the off state of Zhang comprises a screen-off state, as suggested by Flowers, and the display module comprises an always on display (AOD) module such that the second processor sends the processed first push message to an always on display (AOD) module and the second processor sends the first push message to the push client when determining a switch from a screen-off state to a screen-on state, as suggested by Flowers, in order to allow for low-power operation of the electronic device, as particularly relating to the control of the display device implementing an AOD module to display messages and/or notifications received by the electronic device.
As pertaining to Claim 16, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that before obtaining, by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message) that is received by the electronic device (210) in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode) and that is from the server (220), send a connection request to the server (220) via the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages), wherein the connection request is a request to establish a connection to the server (220; see Fig. 3);
receive a connection response from the server (220) via the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages), wherein the connection response is used to determine to establish the connection (again, see Fig. 3); and
perform the following:
establish the connection to the server (220) via a modem (214) of the electronic device (210); and send a heartbeat packet (see Fig. 3) to the server (220) based on a heartbeat period via the modem (214) of the electronic device (210), and receive a heartbeat reply packet (again, see Fig. 3) corresponding to the heartbeat packet sent by the server (220); or
establish the connection to the server (220) via the second processor (214, 216; see Fig. 2); and send a heartbeat packet (see Fig. 2) to the server (220) based on a heartbeat period via the second processor (214, 216), and receive a heartbeat reply packet (again, see Fig. 2) corresponding to the heartbeat packet sent by the server (220; see Page 1, Para. [0005]-[0006]; and see Page 3, Para. [0039]-[0040] and [0042]; and see Page 4, Para. [0058]).
As pertaining to Claim 17, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) sending the heartbeat packet to a communication module (i.e., see (230)) of the electronic device (210) based on the heartbeat period via the second processor (214, 216); and
forward the heartbeat packet to the server (220) via the communication module (230) of the electronic device (210; see Page 3, Para. [0035]).
As pertaining to Claim 18, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) after receiving the connection response from the server (220) via the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages via first processor (212)), and before establishing the connection to the server (220) via the modem (214) of the electronic device (210; i.e., the connection to the server via the second processor (214, 216), for example), determine to establish the connection to the server (220) via the modem (214) of the electronic device (210; again, via the second processor (214, 216), for example; again, see Page 3, Para. [0039]-[0040] and [0042]; and see Page 4, Para. [0058]).
As pertaining to Claim 19, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) after receiving the connection response from the server (220) via the push client (i.e., the means for receiving instant application messages via first processor (212)), and before establishing the connection to the server (220) via the second processor (214, 216), determine to establish the connection to the server (220) via the second processor (see (214, 216); again, see Page 3, Para. [0039]-[0040] and [0042]; and see Page 4, Para. [0058]).
As pertaining to Claim 20, Zhang discloses (see Fig. 2 and Fig. 3) that before parsing (i.e., processing), by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message), or before caching (see (2184)), by the second processor (214, 216), the first push message (i.e., the instant application message), determine, by the second processor (214, 216), that the electronic device (210) is in a mode (i.e., a sleeping mode) in which a notification is received without turning on a screen (i.e., without exiting the sleeping mode and entering the waking mode), wherein the mode (i.e., the sleeping mode) in which a notification is received without turning on a screen is a mode (i.e., the sleeping mode) in which screen-on display of push messages (i.e., the instant application messages) is not allowed after the push messages (i.e., the instant application messages) are received in the screen-off state (i.e., the sleeping mode state; see Page 3, Para. [0040] and [0043]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
DeVries et al. (US 2015 / 0082255) discloses an always on display (AOD) utilizing first and second processors to control the display of push messages in different states of an electronic device.
/JASON M MANDEVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623