DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 11, and 13 recite the limitation: “determining whether the number of the pieces of the comparative information is two or greater than a predefined number”. The limitation fails to clearly define the relationship between the number of pieces of comparative information, the value two, and the predefined number. It is unclear whether the limitation requires the number of pieces of comparative pieces to be two, alternatively greater than the predefined number, or whether the predefined number itself requires to be two or greater. The specification further indicates at paragraph [0109] that the intended determination is whether the number Ninf is “equal to or greater than the predefined number Nth”, wherein Nth is “2 or greater”, and paragraph [0110] performs the statistics calculating process when Ninf is equal to or greater than Nth. Accordingly, the metes and bounds of the claimed numerical condition are unclear.
Appropriate correction is required. The rest of the claims are rejected by virtue of their dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1 (The Statutory Categories): Is the claim to a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter? MPEP 2106.03.
Per Step 1, claim 1 is directed to a system (i.e., a machine), claim 11 is directed to a device (i.e., machine), and claim 13 is directed to a method (i.e., a process). Thus, the claims are directed to statutory categories of invention. However, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because they are directed to an abstract idea, a judicial exception, without reciting additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The analysis proceeds to Step 2A Prong One.
Step 2A Prong One: Does the claim recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon? MPEP 2106.04.
The abstract idea of claims 1, 11, and 13 (claim 1 being representative) is:
stor[ing] a number of pieces of appraisal information that includes appraisal ratings of used vehicles linked to category information on the used vehicles,
the category information includes categories to which the used vehicles belongs, wherein the categories include:
a category of used vehicle model; and
a category of elapsed period since production of a vehicle until an appraisal of the vehicle,
the appraisal ratings are for at least two of main items for appraisal including used vehicle exterior, used vehicle interior, engine or motor in the used vehicle, used vehicle frame, used vehicle tire wear rate, and used vehicle air conditioning,
a determining process for determining a category of the used vehicles, an elapsed period of which is the same as a target vehicle, as a category to which the target vehicle belongs based on information on the elapsed period regardless of model years of the used vehicles;
an extracting process for extracting pieces of comparative information that corresponds to pieces of the appraisal information on the used vehicles that belongs to the category from the appraisal information stored and determining whether the number of the pieces of the comparative information is two or greater than a predefined number;
in response to determination of the number of the pieces of the comparative information greater than the predefined number, a statistics calculating process for calculating statistics of the appraisal ratings of the used vehicles linked to the pieces of the comparative information based on the pieces of the comparative information for the main items, respectively;
an information generating process for generating information on comparisons between the appraisal ratings of the target vehicle and the statistics for the main items, respectively; and
in response to determination of the number of the pieces of the comparative information less than the predefined number, a halting process for halting the statistics calculating process and the information generating process.
The abstract idea steps italicized above recite providing a used vehicle appraisal service in connection with buying and selling used vehicles by categorizing a target vehicle and generating comparative appraisal information for dealers and potential buyers, which constitutes a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), covers commercial activity. This is further supported by [0024] of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers commercial interactions, including contracts, legal obligations, advertising, marketing, sales activities or behaviors, and/or business relations, then it falls within the Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity – Commercial or Legal Interactions grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Additionally and alternatively, the claim recites determining a category to which the target vehicle belongs, selecting comparable vehicle information, comparing appraisal ratings, and deciding whether to continue the appraisal, which could be performed mentally, including with pen and paper. This is further supported by [0095], [0108] – [0109], [0111] of applicant’s specification as filed. If a claim limitation, under its BRI, covers performance of the limitation in the mind, including observations, evaluations, judgements, and/or opinions, then it falls within the Mental Processes – Concepts Performed in the Human Mind grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Does the claim recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application? MPEP §2106.04.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, as described in MPEP §2106.05(f).
Claims 1 recites the following additional elements: a used vehicle appraisal system comprising: a memory; and an information processing device that is communicably connected to the memory.
Claims 11 recites the following additional elements: an information processing device that performs appraisals of used vehicle based on information stored in a memory.
Claims 13 recites the following additional elements: a used vehicle appraisal system that includes a memory and a processor.
These elements are merely instructions to apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP §2106.05(f). Applicant has only described generic computing elements in their specification, as seen in [0025] – [0029], and [0143] – [0144] of applicant’s specification as filed, for example. Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system.
Accordingly, these additional elements, alone and in combination, do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claim is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B (The Inventive Concept): Does the claim recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception? MPEP §2106.05.
Step 2B involves evaluating the additional elements to determine whether they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.
The examination process involves carrying over identification of the additional element(s) in the claim from Step 2A Prong Two and carrying over conclusions from Step 2A Prong Two on the considerations discussed in MPEP §2106.05(f).
The additional elements and their analysis are therefore carried over: applicant has merely recited elements that facilitate the tasks of the abstract idea, as described in MPEP §2106.05(f).
Further, the combination of these elements is nothing more than a generic computing system. When the claim elements above are considered, alone and in combination, they do not amount to significantly more.
Therefore, per Step 2B, the additional elements, alone and in combination, are not significantly more. The claims are not patent eligible.
Further, the analysis takes into consideration all dependent claims as well:
Regarding claims 2-8, 10, 12, and 14, applicant further narrows the abstract idea with additional step(s). There are no further additional elements to consider, beyond those highlighted above. This further narrowing of the abstract idea, similar to above, is also not patent eligible.
Claim 9 includes further additional elements: user terminals. Similar to above, these additional elements do no more than apply the abstract idea to a computer, per MPEP 2106.05(f). When viewed alone or in combination, this does not integrate the abstract idea into practical application and is not significantly more.
Accordingly, claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 USC § 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3, 10-11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Yano (US 20030105728) in view of Sharpe (WO 2007002754 A2).
Claims 1, 11, and 13
Yano discloses:
(claim 1) A used vehicle appraisal system comprising: {“A first mode for carrying out the present invention provides a vehicle resold price analysis system which estimates information concerning a sold price, a remaining price, or a remaining value rate of a vehicle before resale.” [0021]}
(claim 1) a memory; and {“An eighth mode for carrying out the invention provides a storage medium for storing data used for a vehicle resold price analysis system.” [0034]}
(claim 1) an information processing device that is communicably connected to the memory, {“The distribution data reception/updating function 121 can receive new vehicle type data, vehicle sold extraction data and remaining value calculation related data of CSV file prepared by the server side system 110 by WEB using the Internet circuit, and updates the data based on the received data. Among the file distributed here, only difference data of vehicle sold extraction data and new vehicle type data is object, the entire content of the remaining value calculation related data is object, and they are renewed. The new vehicle mode data is registered into the database as vehicle type data.” [0221]}
(claim 11) An information processing device that performs appraisals of used vehicle based on information stored in a memory, {“The distribution data reception/updating function 121 can receive new vehicle type data, vehicle sold extraction data and remaining value calculation related data of CSV file prepared by the server side system 110 by WEB using the Internet circuit, and updates the data based on the received data. Among the file distributed here, only difference data of vehicle sold extraction data and new vehicle type data is object, the entire content of the remaining value calculation related data is object, and they are renewed. The new vehicle mode data is registered into the database as vehicle type data.” [0221]}
(claim 13) A method used for a used vehicle appraisal system that includes a memory and a processor {“FIG. 2 is a processing flowchart showing the obtaining method of the remaining value calculation equation according to the embodiment of the invention.” [0067]}
wherein the memory stores a number of pieces of appraisal information that includes appraisal ratings of used vehicles linked to category information on the used vehicles {The resold vehicles database stores records concerning previously resold vehicles including assessment evaluation at the time of resale. The vehicle sold data likewise includes vehicle type information together with resale data and assessment evaluation. [0090] – [0091]}
the category information includes categories to which the used vehicles belongs, wherein the categories include: a category of used vehicle model; and {Vehicles are classified according to vehicle type and model. [0090], [0135]}
a category of elapsed period since production of a vehicle until an appraisal of the vehicle, {“analysis object period is classified according to lease period and classified into some category… a lease expiration vehicle of three, four or five years is selected from the past sold data, and data having elapsed period of 35 to 37 months.” [0112]}
the appraisal ratings are for at least two of main items for appraisal including used vehicle exterior, used vehicle interior, engine or motor in the used vehicle, used vehicle frame, used vehicle tire wear rate, and used vehicle air conditioning, {“The data extracted here is data concerning… displacement volume”. [0106]; “The actual use data concerning goods is data concerning the use state concerning a subject article, and in the case of a vehicle, the use data is situation data such as a crack, a hollow, a paint state in addition to besides mileage.” [0108]}
the information processing device performs: a determining process for determining a category of the used vehicles, an elapsed period of which is the same as a target vehicle, as a category to which the target vehicle belongs based on information on the elapsed period regardless of model years of the used vehicles; {The system supports selecting a representative elapsed period category and extracting historical vehicles falling within that elapsed period range. It separately recognizes model year as another variable. [0112], [0114], [0174]}
an extracting process for extracting pieces of comparative information that corresponds to pieces of the appraisal information on the used vehicles that belongs to the category from the appraisal information stored in the memory and determining whether the number of the pieces of the comparative information is two or greater than a predefined number; {The system supports extracting resale records that satisfy predetermined category conditions and using those matching records for statistical calculations and display. It makes statistical processing dependent on there being a sufficient number of records and excludes a category when it contains fewer than five records. [0105] – [0107], [0217], [0227]}
in response to determination of the number of the pieces of the comparative information greater than the predefined number, a statistics calculating process for calculating statistics of the appraisal ratings of the used vehicles linked to the pieces of the comparative information based on the pieces of the comparative information for the main items, respectively; {For categories having sufficient data, the system calculates statistics including average values, standard deviations, score values, regression values, and popularity index statistics. [0162], [0215] – [0217]}
in response to determination of the number of the pieces of the comparative information less than the predefined number, a halting process for halting the statistics calculating process and the information generating process. {The system supports removing categories having fewer than five records from the statistical processing population. [0107], [0217]}
Yano does not disclose, however, Sharpe, in a similar field of endeavor directed to the valuation of a tangible good, such as an automotive vehicle teaches:
an information generating process for generating information on comparisons between the appraisal ratings of the target vehicle and the statistics for the main items, respectively; and {The system supports generating comparison information for multiple vehicle appraisal factors by comparing vehicle values against values derived from YMM transactions. [00119] – [00128], [00138] – [00148]}
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to modify the mileage categorization and statistical comparison features of Yano to include the vehicle appraisal and valuation features of Sharpe, to improve the accuracy and usefulness of used vehicle valuations for decision making purposes. (See [0051] of Sharpe).
Claim 3
The combination of Yano and Sharpe teaches the limitations set forth above. Yano further discloses:
the category of used vehicle model is classified based on used vehicle models for every major change or for every minor change, and {The system supports classifying historical vehicles according to vehicle type/model and treats a change in a vehicle’s form authorization number as a new vehicle type. Different revisions of the same general vehicle model can be maintained as different vehicle type categories when the model authorization changes. [0101], [0142], [0218]}
in the determining process, the information processing device determines a category to which the used vehicles with the same model as the target vehicle for every major change or for every minor change. {The system identifies a specific vehicle type and retrieves or groups historical vehicle data corresponding to that vehicle type. Because a changed authorization is treated as a new vehicle type, the retrieval determination can distinguish different revisions of an otherwise related model. [0135], [0177], [0223], [0227]}
Claim 10
The combination of Yano and Sharpe teaches the limitations set forth above. Yano further discloses:
wherein the information processing device does not perform the statistics calculating process and the information generating process if the number of pieces of the comparative information that is extracted is less than a predefined number even if the information process device is able to calculate the statistics. {When fewer than five data records exist for a category, those records are eliminated from the statistical analysis object and the multi regression processing is not performed for that category. [0217]}
Claims 2, 9, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yano and Sharpe, in further view of Breed (US 20130124366).
Claims 2, 12, and 14
While the combination of Yano and Sharpe teaches the limitations set forth above, it does not explicitly teach, however, Breed, in a similar field of endeavor directed to providing information regarding the history or other aspects of a purchasable item, teaches:
the memory stores pieces of the appraisal information related to appraisals that have been performed on the same used vehicle for multiple times in the past an include the appraisal information with different elapsed periods, and {The system supports storing vehicle information by VIN, including records from previous sales of the same vehicle and completed reports that may be retrieved and updated during later sales of that vehicle. It further supports maintaining long term historical information and successive reports for the same vehicle generated at different sales and updated with subsequent information. [0042], [0050], [0053], [0096] – [0097]}
in the extracting process, the information processing device extracts the comparative information from the appraisal information that incudes pieces of the appraisal information with the different elapsed periods for the same used vehicle stored in the memory. {The system supports retrieving historical information for the same vehicle by VIN and comparing historical pictures, VIN data, odometer readings, and stored information to identify differences in the vehicle’s condition and history. [0053], [0065], [0093], [0096]}
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to modify the combination of Yano and Sharpe to include the appraisal rating comparison features of Breed, to improve the usefulness and readability of vehicle appraisal reports. (See [0051] of Breed).
Claim 9
The combination of Yano and Sharpe teaches the limitations set forth above. Yano further discloses:
the user terminals include input units that are operated by the operators to input the appraisal information in the used vehicle appraisals, {“by inputting the vehicle type name "Corolla", specification "diesel DX 4FAT 2WD", lease period "60" months, registration scheduled day "00/05/15", and estimated mileage "100"000 km, ranking "3" and the new vehicle price of "1, 272"000 yen, the following information is output and displayed” [0173]}
the user terminals performs: an appraisal information obtaining process for obtaining the appraisal information inputted through an input units with which input operations are performed; and {The system receives the user assessment information for use in its calculation. The assessment evaluation entered through the interface is used as a vehicle condition input in determining remaining value. [0173] – [0176], [0224] – [0227]}
The combination of Yano and Sharpe does not teach, however, Breed, in a similar field of endeavor directed to providing information regarding the history or other aspects of a purchasable item, teaches:
further comprising user terminals that are operated by operators who perform used vehicle appraisals and communicably connected to the information processing device {Client devices are communicably connected to the report generation server, and a third party physically inspects the vehicle and reports vehicle condition information. [0032], [0059], [0097]}
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Breed is the same as set forth previously.
Claims 4-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Yano and Sharpe, in further view of Anspach (US 20110270706).
Claims 4 and 5
The combination of Yano and Sharpe teaches the limitations set forth above. Yano further discloses:
the category information includes the used vehicle total mileage information, {The resold vehicle database stores mileage for resold vehicles, and the disclosed mileage may be total mileage. Mileage can also be used as an input and analysis variable for determining vehicle value. [0091], [0106], [0234]}
The combination of Yano and Sharpe does not teach, however, Anspach, in a similar field of endeavor directed to generating one or more reports comprising vehicle data and comparison data related to pricing information of a particular vehicle, teaches:
in the determining process, the information processing device: calculates a total mileage range with a total mileage of the target vehicle as a median, and {The system supports selecting comparable vehicles according to a similar mileage range and comparing their mileages with the mileage of the target vehicle. [0046], [0059] – [0060]}
determines a category to which the used vehicles having total mileages within the total mileage range belong. {The system supports forming a group of comparable used vehicles by selecting vehicles satisfying qualifiers including similar mileage range. [0046], [0059] – [0060]}
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art to modify the combination of Yano and Sharpe to include the vehicle grouping and comparison features of Anspach, to provide an immediate comparison that better enables a user to evaluate the relative value of a vehicle against comparable vehicles. (See [0059] of Anspach).
Claim 6
The combination of Yano and Sharpe teaches the limitations set forth above. Sharpe further teaches:
wherein the memory stores the appraisal information on the target vehicle, {Database 52 provide long term data storage and contain vehicle valuation information and previous marketplace transactions. [0036], [0040]. For the target vehicle, the inspection retrieves vehicle history from the central database using the target vehicle’s VIN, and the inspection produces vehicle information used in appraisal. [00177] – [00180]}
the category information includes: a category of used vehicle model year; and {Each transaction record includes model year field 112. [0066]}
a category of used vehicle total mileage, {Each transaction record includes mileage field 134. [0066]}
in the information generating process, the information processing device generates information based on the appraisal information on the target vehicle stored in the memory and the statistics, {The system uses stored transaction information to calculate current base and constituent values and then adjusts those values according to the characteristics of the target vehicle to produce a target valuation. [0062] – [0064]}
the information that is generated includes: the target vehicle model, model year, and total mileage; {“Block 260 is configured to provide information to regression block 258 corresponding to the year, make, model (YMM) and the presence or absence of a variety of options, as well, mileage, expected reconditioning cost, any history value adjustment.” [00177]}
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Sharpe is the same as set forth previously.
The combination of Yano and Sharpe does not teach, however, Anspach, in a similar field of endeavor directed to generating one or more reports comprising vehicle data and comparison data related to pricing information of a particular vehicle, teaches:
at least one of a table and a graph that indicate comparison between appraisal ratings of the target vehicle and the statistics for main items, respectively; and {The system includes a graphical display comparing a value of the target vehicle with an average calculated for similar vehicles and comparative sections presenting difference in price, mileage, and value indicators. [0047], [0051] – [0053], [0059] – [0060]}
a comment that describes results of a comparison of the target vehicle relative to the used vehicles in the category. {The system supports generated textual comments identifying the target vehicle as “priced below average”, “low mileage”, or a “great price” relative to similar vehicles. [0054], [0056] – [0057], [0075]}
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Anspach is the same as set forth previously.
Claim 7
The combination of Yano, Sharpe, and Anspach teaches the limitations set forth above. Sharpe further teaches:
calculates differences between the appraisal ratings of the target vehicle and the statistics for the main items, respectively; and {The system supports calculating differences between vehicle values and statistical reference values for corresponding vehicle characteristics. [0124], [00133] – [00148]}
includes information generated based on the differences in the comment that describes the results of the comparison, wherein the information includes numerical expressions that indicates how much the target vehicle is greater than the used vehicles in the category. {The system supports deriving numerical comparison results describing them in comparative terms. It also supports numerical expressions quantifying the amount by which a vehicle differs from a category value. [00126], [00138], [00147] – [00151]}
The motivation and rationale to include the additional features of Sharpe is the same as set forth previously.
Claim 8
The combination of Yano, Sharpe, and Anspach teaches the limitations set forth above. Yano further discloses.
wherein in the statistics calculating process, the information processing device calculates means for the statistics. {“As the average value, an average value of calculation variable items is calculated according to category. The average value is obtained by "SUM according to category (value of calculation variable item)/the number of data according to category.” [0215]}
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure (additional pertinent references can be found on attached form PTO-892):
US 20130103597 A1, which teaches: Automatically rating appraisal quality and evaluating comparables listed on the appraisal. A comparable selection model selects control comparables using transaction data and property characteristics relative to a subject from a database. An evaluation model compares the control comparables to the listed comparables to generate a quality rating for the appraisal based on category scores that result from an appraisal evaluation over a set of categories.
US 20140258044 A1, which teaches: Vehicle pricing such as used vehicle pricing is improved by supplementing statistical modeling techniques with additional algorithms to accommodate factors such as geography and dealer reputation that do not readily yield to regression analysis or similar tools that might be used to characterize a population.
US 20100174657 A1, which teaches: A method for providing appraisal reference information from a computer based system includes receiving description of a target item for appraisal in the system, defining a geographic area for the appraisal in the system, searching price information of the target item within the geographic area based on the description of the target item in the system, and generating appraisal reference information for the target item based on the price information in the system.
“Valuation of Used Vehicles: A Computational Intelligence Approach” (NPL attached), which teaches: In most of the countries in the world, the number of vehicles has increased exponentially in the past decade. As a result, the used vehicle trade has flourished. In order to determine the resale value of a vehicle or for financial requirements such as vehicle leasing services, used vehicle valuation is paramount. In order to meet the future demand, a proper mechanism using computational intelligence is needed for vehicle valuation in order to overcome the inefficiencies of conventional and subjective valuation mechanisms. This paper focuses on discussing aspects regarding used vehicle valuation, previous work related to the domain as well as the proposed solution. The proposed solution intends to use real-time web scraping and machine learning in order to determine the value of a given vehicle.
/C.F.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3629 /SARAH M MONFELDT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3629