Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 8, 21-23, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wiese (US 2024/0240895).
Re claims 1, 3, 21-23, and 25, Wiese discloses a firing assembly for a firearm, the firing assembly comprising a trigger pull selector assembly comprising a trigger pull selector (Fig 2, 101), the trigger pull selector comprising a first firing position and a second firing position, the first firing position providing a first trigger pull (111) and the second firing position (111) providing a second trigger pull, the second trigger pull being less than the first trigger pull.
Re claim 4, 5, and 7, Wiese (Fig 5A) discloses the firing assembly of claim 3, wherein a compression spring (120) acts between the trigger pull selector and the trigger assembly, and in the first firing position has a first degree of compression, and in the second firing position has a second degree of compression, the second degree of compression being less than the first degree of compression.
Re claim 8, Wiese (Fig 5A) discloses the firing assembly of claim 7, wherein the trigger pull selector comprises first (120) and second (124) elastomeric compression springs, the first and second elastomeric compression springs contacting a trigger assembly upon selective movement of the trigger pull selector, with the first elastomeric compression spring being in contact with the trigger assembly when the trigger pull selector is in the first firing position, and the second elastomeric compression spring being in contact with the trigger assembly when the trigger pull selector is in the second firing position.
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Malina (US 11,015,894).
Re claims 1 and 7, Malina (Fig 1) discloses a firing assembly for a firearm, the firing assembly comprising a trigger pull selector assembly comprising a trigger pull selector (5), the trigger pull selector comprising a first firing position (9) and a second firing position (9), the first firing position providing a first trigger pull and the second firing position providing a second trigger pull, the second trigger pull being less than the first trigger pull.
Re claim 10, Malina (Fig 1) discloses the firing assembly of claim 1, wherein the trigger pull selector (5) has an axis of rotation, and an outer surface (outer surfaces of 9) of the trigger pull selector has a graduated distance from the axis of rotation.
Re claims 11 and 12, Malina discloses the firing assembly of claim 1, wherein the firing assembly comprises a trigger assembly with a trigger (2) and a trigger arm (12), the trigger arm comprising a trigger pull selector engagement surface (3), and wherein the trigger pull selector has an axis of rotation and a plurality of trigger arm engagement surfaces (9s) circumferentially disposed about an outer surface of the trigger pull selector, wherein rotation of the trigger pull selector about the axis of rotation aligns a different one of the plurality of trigger arm engagement surfaces with the trigger pull selector engagement surface of the trigger arm, at least one of the trigger arm engagement surfaces being a high trigger pull engagement surface, and another of the trigger arm engagement surfaces being a low trigger pull engagement surface (Fig 3).
Claim(s) 1-3, 14, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Larson et al. (US 9,869,522), hereinafter (“Larson”).
Re claims 1-3, 14, and 24, Larson discloses a firing assembly for a firearm, the firing assembly comprising a trigger pull selector assembly comprising a trigger pull selector (Fig 15), the trigger pull selector comprising a first firing position and a second firing position, the first firing position providing a first trigger pull and the second firing position providing a second trigger pull, the second trigger pull capable of being less than the first trigger pull.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 9, 13 and 15-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/REGINALD S TILLMAN, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3641