DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) mental processes and/or mathematical concepts of setting a delay time and estimating an emission amount including mere data gathering steps of collecting sensor information to perform the calculations. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the data gathering steps do not add meaningful limitations to the method as they are insignificant extra solution activities. (See MPEP 2106(g)). The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because (to determine subject matter eligibility a two step process analysis is required outlined in MPEP 2106):
In Reference to Claims 1-6
a. Step 1: is the claim a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter?
-Yes
b. Step 2A prong 1: is the claim directed to an abstract idea?
-Yes, because it falls under the grouping of a mental process of determining/comparing values. Specifically, the steps of ‘setting’ and ‘estimate an emissions amount’ which are based on comparison of the values output by the retrieved sensors, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, falls within the mental processes grouping of abstract ideas. A person can identify, in their mind, a difference based on two values. Additionally, the data is merely gathered and evaluated and then nothing is done with this information (i.e.-no active step as a result of the estimation).
c. Step 2A prong 2: Does the claim recited additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application?
-No, because the data gathering steps do not add meaningful limitations as they are insignificant extra solution activities. (See MPEP 2106(g)). Additionally, “the processing circuitry” is recited with a high level of generality. The processing circuitry and associated components do not add meaningful limitation to the abstract idea because they amount to simply implementing the abstract idea on a computer. (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
d. Step 2B asks whether the claim is drawn to significantly more and since it does not apply this judicial exception in a meaningful way it cannot be said to be significantly more.
Accordingly, claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka et al. (US 2021/0017924).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Tanaka, Figures 1-8)
Tanaka et al. (Tana) discloses:
An exhaust monitoring apparatus mounted on a vehicle including an exhaust purification device (31) that is disposed in an exhaust passage (24) of an engine (10) (See Tana, Paragraph [0021]), the exhaust purification device (31) being configured to remove nitrogen oxides contained in exhaust gas (See Tana, Paragraph [0024]), the exhaust monitoring apparatus comprising:
a nitrogen oxide sensor (34) disposed downstream of the exhaust purification device (31) in the exhaust passage (24) and configured to measure a concentration of nitrogen oxides contained in exhaust gas (See Tana, Paragraph [0024]);
an air flow meter (13) disposed in an intake passage (11) of the engine (10) and configured to measure an amount of air flowing through the intake passage (11); and
processing circuitry (40) configured to:
set a transport delay time, the transport delay time spanning from when air passes through a portion of the intake passage (11) where the air flow meter (13) is provided to when exhaust gas derived from the air that has passed through the air flow meter (13) reaches the nitrogen oxide sensor (34) (See Tana, Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]); and
estimate an emission amount of nitrogen oxides based on an output value of the nitrogen oxide sensor (34) and an output value of the air flow meter (13) that was output earlier than a point in time at which the nitrogen oxide sensor (34) output the output value by the transport delay time. (See Tana, Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Tanaka, Figures 1-8)
Tana discloses:
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set the transport delay time based on the output value of the air flow meter (13). (See Tana, Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 2021/0017924) in view of Bush et al. (US 5,535,135).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Tanaka, Figures 1-8)
Tana discloses:
Wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set the transport delay time based on a rotational speed of the engine (10). (See Tana, Paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
Tana discloses the claimed invention except:
Wherein the processing circuitry is configured to set the transport delay time based on a load of the engine.
Bush discloses an exhaust gas monitoring device. (See Bush, Abstract). Bush discloses additionally using engine load to set transport delay time. (See Bush, Column 22, Line 38 – Column 23, Line 48).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have also used engine load to set the transport delay time of Tana, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas monitoring devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that utilizing the additional data point of engine load would have enhanced the accuracy of the transport delay time calculation resulting in an improved efficiency and control of emissions. (See Bush, Column 1, Lines 19-25).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tanaka et al. (US 2021/0017924) in view of Komoriya et al. (US 5,505,174).
In Reference to Claim 4
Tana discloses:
wherein the vehicle includes a recirculation passage configured to recirculate exhaust gas to the intake passage. (See Tana, Paragraph [0036] w/respect to EGR).
The device of Tana discloses at least that an EGR passage/connection exists via an EGR valve control.
Tana discloses the claimed invention except:
the processing circuitry is configured to correct the transport delay time based on an EGR rate, the EGR rate being a ratio of an amount of exhaust gas that has flowed into the intake passage through the recirculation passage to a sum of an amount of air drawn into the intake passage and the amount of the exhaust gas.
Komoriya et al. (Komo) discloses an exhaust gas monitoring system. (See Komo, Abstract). Komo discloses processing circuitry is configured to correct the transport delay time based on an EGR rate, the EGR rate being a ratio of an amount of exhaust gas that has flowed into the intake passage through the recirculation passage to a sum of an amount of air drawn into the intake passage and the amount of the exhaust gas. (See Komo, Column 11, Lines 50-51 & Column 8, Lines 25-35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have corrected the transport delay time by the EGR rate, as both references are directed towards exhaust gas monitoring systems. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that correcting the transport delay time by the EGR rate would enhance the accuracy of the transport delay time improving the overall monitoring device. (See Komo, Column 11, Lines 44-47).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Yoshikawa, Gady, Osburn, and Glugla show exhaust monitoring devices within the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746