Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 (Figures 1-44) in the reply filed on 8/31/2026 is acknowledged. In the reply, Applicant indicated that claims 1-20 read on the elected species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sirota (US 2011/0155684).
Regarding claim 1, Sirota discloses a container (at 10 in Fig. 1) for a bottle assembly, the container defining a liquid chamber (chamber within 10) and comprising an exterior surface (See Fig. 3 labeled below), an interior surface (See Fig. 3 labeled below), a closed bottom (See Fig. 3 labeled below), an open top (shown in Fig. 4 within 20), a side wall (See Fig. 3 labeled below) extending from the closed bottom, and at least one vent (vents at 25 – See Figs. 1 and 4) for allowing air to enter the liquid chamber upon vacuum pressure within the liquid chamber reaching a predetermined threshold (See [0022], [0037] and [0041]).
Regarding claim 2, Sirota discloses a shoulder, a neck, and a rim defining the open top, the at least one vent being disposed on the neck (See Fig. 3 labeled above and also Figs. 1 and 4).
Regarding claim 6, Sirota discloses a vent passage is formed at least in part in the neck for facilitating air flow to the at least one vent (at 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirota (US 2011/0155684) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Zhang (CN 208229123). As described above, Sirota discloses the claimed invention except for the vents comprising duckbill valves. However, Zhang teaches a feeding bottle (See Fig. 1) comprising duckbill valves (at 102/700) on opposing sides of the feeding bottle, for the purpose of providing one way valves for anti-flatulence purposes (See [0069]-[0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vents of Sirota to comprise duckbill valves as taught by Zhang in order to provide better air flow for anti-flatulence.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirota (US 2011/0155684) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Driver et al. (US 2010/0193460). As described above, Sirota discloses the claimed invention except for the specific material of the container. However, Driver teaches a feeding bottle comprising a collapsible, silicone material for the purpose of allowing the liquid chamber to collapse while in use such that the bottle will not twist or crinkle which may result in the supply of feed being cut off ([0038]-[0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sirota to have a collapsible, silicone portion as taught by Driver in order to prevent the bottle from twisting or crinkling which may result in the supply of feed being cut off.
Claims 9-13 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirota (US 2011/0155684) in view of Zhou (US 2016/0067146).
Regarding claims 9-12, Sirota discloses a nursing bottle assembly (See Fig. 1) comprising: a container (at 10) defining a liquid chamber (as labeled in Fig. 3 above) and comprising an exterior surface (as labeled in Fig. 3 above), an interior surface (as labeled in Fig. 3 above), a closed bottom (as labeled in Fig. 3 above), an open top (shown in Fig. 4 within 20), a side wall (as labeled in Fig. 3 above) extending from the closed bottom, and at least one vent (at 25) for allowing air to enter the liquid chamber upon vacuum pressure within the liquid chamber reaching a predetermined threshold (See [0022], [0037] and [0041]). Sirota discloses the claimed invention except for the sleeve and collar.
However, Zhou teaches a feeding bottle assembly (See Figs. 1 and 2) comprising a container (at 5), a sleeve (at 6) for overlying and supporting the container (as shown in Fig. 2), a collar assembly (collar 2 and nipple 3) adapted for selective attachment to the sleeve for closing the nursing bottle assembly (as shown in Fig. 2), a lower support (at 8), and cap (at 1) that is selectively attachable to and detachable from the collar assembly to selectively cover and uncover the nipple (as shown in Fig. 2), for the purpose of protecting the container from damage ([0037]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the container of Sirota with the sleeve assembly as taught by Zhou in order to better protect from damage.
Regarding claims 13 and 16, Sirota discloses a shoulder, a neck, and a rim defining the open top, the at least one vent being disposed on the neck (See Fig. 3 labeled above and also Figs. 1 and 4); and a vent passage is formed at least in part in the neck for facilitating air flow to the at least one vent (at 25).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirota (US 2011/0155684) in view of Zhou (US 2016/0067146) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Zhang (CN 208229123). As described above, Sirota-Zhou discloses the claimed invention except for the vents comprising duckbill valves. However, Zhang teaches a feeding bottle (See Fig. 1) comprising duckbill valves (at 102/700) on opposing sides of the feeding bottle, for the purpose of providing one way valves for anti-flatulence purposes (See [0069]-[0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vents of Sirota to comprise duckbill valves as taught by Zhang in order to provide better air flow for anti-flatulence.
Claim 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirota (US 2011/0155684).
Regarding claim 18, Sirota discloses a container (at 10 in Fig. 1) for a bottle assembly, the container defining a liquid chamber (chamber within 10) and comprising an exterior surface (See Fig. 3 labeled above), an interior surface (See Fig. 3 labeled above), a closed bottom (See Fig. 3 labeled above), an open top (shown in Fig. 4 within 20), a side wall (See Fig. 3 labeled above) extending from the closed bottom, and at least one vent (vents at 25 – See Figs. 1 and 4) for allowing air to enter the liquid chamber upon vacuum pressure within the liquid chamber reaching a predetermined threshold (See [0022], [0037] and [0041]), but does not expressly disclose the specific predetermined threshold. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vents of Sirota to allow to enter the liquid chamber upon vacuum pressure within the liquid chamber reaching between 2 and 30 millimeters of mercury vacuum pressure since where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would have been to open the vents at pressures below atmospheric pressures so that air will flow from the outside atmosphere into the chamber.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sirota (US 2011/0155684) as applied to claim 18 above, in view of Zhang (CN 208229123). As described above, Sirota discloses the claimed invention except for the vents comprising duckbill valves. However, Zhang teaches a feeding bottle (See Fig. 1) comprising duckbill valves (at 102/700) on opposing sides of the feeding bottle, for the purpose of providing one way valves for anti-flatulence purposes (See [0069]-[0071]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vents of Sirota to comprise duckbill valves as taught by Zhang in order to provide better air flow for anti-flatulence.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/STEVEN A. REYNOLDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3735