DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment and Argument
Applicant’s amendment and argument with respect to pending claims 1-2 and 4-20 filed on 05/20/2026 have been fully considered. Examiners response to the applicant’s argument follows below.
Double Patenting
In view of a terminal disclaimer filed on 05/20/2026, the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of the pending claim is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Regarding claim 3, in view of the amendment of the claim to cancel the claim, the rejection under 35 USC § 112(a) of the claim is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Summary of Arguments:
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that “Hynecek merely discloses a protective case (10) for a mobile device. As expressly described in Hynecek, the back wall 14 is merely a portion of the protective case 10 rather than a structural component of the mobile device itself. Accordingly, Hynecek's back wall 14 is not comparable to Applicant's back shell of the in-vehicle display device.” Furthermore, Hynecek neither discloses nor suggests any port opening structure located adjacent to and offset from the first region, as recited in claim 1.
Examiner’s Response:
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The current claim 1 relates to an in-vehicle display that mounts on a vehicle console using magnets.
Hynecek discloses a magnetic mounting system for mobile devices which includes magnetic array arranged on the back wall 14 of the case 10, and is configured to be attached to the mount 20 as illustrated in FIGS. 1-8. The mount 20 as part of an apparatus used to mount a mobile device 30 in a vehicle. ¶0029
Thus, Hynecek's back wall 14 teaches back shell of the in-vehicle display device, as recited in claim 1. Furthermore, Hynecek teaches port opening structure located adjacent to and offset from the first region, See Fig. 1 of Hynecek reproduced and annotated below, illustrating a plurality of holes formed the back wall 14.
Accordingly, the rejection of the pending claim is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hynecek et al. (US 20240063838 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hynecek teaches the claim as follows:
An in-vehicle display, configured to be mounted on a center console of a vehicle, the in-vehicle display comprising: a display device (Figs.1-2, 8, ¶0029: mount 20 as part of an apparatus used to mount a mobile device 30 in a vehicle), having a back shell (¶0021: a case 10 constructed with a back wall 14) and a screen shell (See Fig. 2 dotted line representing the body of mobile device 30), wherein the back shell and the screen shell are connected to each other to define a receiving space therebetween (¶0021: the mobile device 30 enclosed by the cavity of case 10. See e.g., Fig. 2 the back wall 14 incorporating the magnetic array 11); the device back shell (case 10) has a first magnetic attracting area and a connecting recess which is located at an outer face of the back shell and surrounds the first magnetic attracting area (Figs. 8: a hole 12 surrounding magnetic attachment arrays 11/31), wherein the connecting recess is recessed towards the receiving space (hole 12); a first magnetic attracting element, arranged inside the display device, wherein the first magnetic attracting element is received in the receiving space at a position corresponding to the first magnetic attracting area (¶0031: the magnetic attachment arrays 11 or 31 located in the case or the mobile device. See also Figs. 1-2); and a support bracket (mount 20), configured to support the display device and comprising a second magnetic attracting area (¶0031: See Fig. 8, the circular region correspond to the magnetic array 21, as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4B, surrounded by a pin 22) and arranged with a connecting protrusion (pin 22), wherein the second magnetic attracting area (¶0031: See Fig. 8, the circular region correspond to the magnetic array 21, as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4B, surrounded by a pin 22) is capable of being magnetically connected to and attached to the first magnetic attracting area (magnetic attachment arrays 11/31); the connecting protrusion surrounds the second magnetic attracting area and is protruding with respect to the second magnetic attracting area (pin 22); and when the first magnetic attracting area is magnetically attached to the second magnetic attracting area, the connecting protrusion is inserted into the connecting recess (¶0031: with magnetic arrays 11 and 31 disposed in proximity to hole 12 so that the magnetic field is strong enough to cause pin 22 to extend into hole 12); wherein the back shell has an inner face facing towards the receiving space (i.e., the opposite face of a back wall 14 of the case 10 shown in Figs. 1-2, 8); the inner face has a first region, a second region, and a third region (See Figs. 7-8 reproduced below and annotated for illustration purpose: “1st region”, “2nd region” and “3rd region”); the second region of the inner face is located at the position corresponding to the first magnetic attracting area and configured to receive the first magnetic attracting element (See Figs. 7-8 reproduced below, “2nd region”); the third region of the inner face protrudes towards the receiving space with respect to the first region and surrounds the first magnetic attracting element (See Figs. 7-8 reproduced below, “3rd region”), wherein a plurality of port openings are defined in the back shell, the plurality of port openings being located adjacent to and offset from the first region (See Fig. 1 reproduced and annotated below: “hole”)
Regarding claim 2, Hynecek teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 1, wherein the third region of the inner face serves as a bottom of the connecting recess (See Fig. 8, a ring shaped hole 12).
Regarding claim 3, Hynecek teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 2, wherein a protruding flange protrudes from the second region towards the receiving space, the first magnetic attracting element is encased and surrounded by the protruding flange (¶0031, See Fig. 8, the circular region correspond to the magnetic array 21, as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4B, surrounded by a pin 22).
Regarding claim 6, Hynecek teaches wherein the connecting recess is in an annular shape, and the connecting protrusion is in an annular shape (Fig. 8: a pin 22 and a hole 12); and the connecting recess surrounds the first magnetic attracting area (see Fig. 8: a hole 12 surrounding magnetic attachment arrays 11/31), the connecting protrusion surrounds the second magnetic attracting area (¶0031, See Fig. 8, the circular region correspond to the magnetic array 21, as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4B, surrounded by a pin 22).
Regarding claim 7, Hynecek teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 1, wherein an area of the first magnetic attracting area is equal to an area of the second magnetic attracting area (See Fig. 8: magnetic attachment arrays 11/31 and a the circular region surrounded by the pin 22 appear to have similar area).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynecek et al. (US 20240063838 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Hynecek discloses the magnetic attachment arrays 11/31 (See Figs. 1-2, 8) having smaller area than the mobile device 30, however does not explicitly disclose wherein a length of the first magnetic attracting area is in a range of one-fifth to one-third of a length of the display device.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by modifying Hynecek’s mobile device mounting apparatus to arrive at the claimed invention of “wherein a length of the first magnetic attracting area is in a range of one-fifth to one-third of a length of the display device”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 20, Hynecek teaches wherein the first magnetic attracting area is located at a central portion of the back shell (Figs. 1-2, 8, magnetic attachment arrays 11/31), however, Hynecek does not explicitly disclose a width of the first magnetic attracting area is in a range from one-quarter to three-fifths of a width of the back shell; a length of the first magnetic attracting area is in a range from one-fifth to one-third of a length of the back shell.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by modifying Hynecek’s mobile device mounting apparatus to arrive at the claimed invention of “a width of the first magnetic attracting area is in a range from one-quarter to three-fifths of a width of the back shell; a length of the first magnetic attracting area is in a range from one-fifth to one-third of a length of the back shell”, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 4, 9-18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynecek et al. (US 20240063838 A1) in view of “ULDIGI Phone Stand Car Mount Dash Phone Holder Car Phone Charger Holder Magnetic Car Phone Holder Phone Holder for Car Vent Mobile Phone Holder Cell Phone Mount Car Stand Phone Support” https://www.amazon.co.uk/ULDIGI-Holder-Charger-Magnetic-Support/dp/B0D988X4Z6?th=1
Date first available 11 July 2024, hereinafter referred to as “ULDIGI Phone Stand”.
Regarding claim 4, Hynecek teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 1, wherein the support bracket comprises: a magnetic connecting element, wherein the second magnetic attracting area is located on the magnetic connecting element, and when the first magnetic attracting area is magnetically attached to the second magnetic attracting area, the magnetic connecting element is attached to the back of the display device (¶0031, See Fig. 8, the circular region correspond to the magnetic array 21, as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4B, surrounded by a pin 22); a mounting base, configured to be mounted on the center console of the vehicle (¶0029: mount 20 as part of an apparatus used to mount a mobile device 30 in a vehicle).
Hynecek does not teach a support rod, wherein a first end of the support rod is connected to the magnetic connecting element, and a second end of the support rod is connected to the mounting base.
However, ULDIGI Phone Stand discloses a support rod, wherein a first end of the support rod is connected to the magnetic connecting element, and a second end of the support rod is connected to the mounting base (See the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand, FIGS. 1 and 2 reproduced below- a magnetic phone colder for a car).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hynecek’s mobile device mounting apparatus by incorporating the teaching of ULDIGI Phone Stand, in order to improve the range of motion and positional flexibility of the support, thereby enhancing user convenience.
FIG. 1 FIG. 2
Regarding claim 9, Hynecek teaches the in-vehicle display according to claim 1, wherein the support bracket comprises: a second magnetic connecting element (Fig. 8, a mount 20), wherein the second magnetic attracting area is located on the magnetic connecting element (¶0031, See Fig. 8, the circular region correspond to the magnetic array 21, as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4B, surrounded by a pin 22), and when the first magnetic attracting area is magnetically attached to the second magnetic attracting area, the second magnetic connecting element is attached to the back of the display device (Fig. 8, ¶0031: the mount 20 configured to magnetically attached to the case 10); a mounting base, configured to be mounted on the center console of the vehicle (mount 20).
Hynecek does not teach a support rod, wherein a first end of the support rod is spherical and is movably connected to the magnetic connecting element, and a second end of the support rod is spherical and is movably connected to the mounting base; wherein the spherical first end of the support rod is connected to a central region of a rear side of the magnetic connecting element away from the display device; an orthographic projection of the spherical first end towards the display device is located inside the first magnetic attracting area.
ULDIGI Phone Stand teaches a support rod, wherein a first end of the support rod is spherical and is movably connected to the magnetic connecting element, and a second end of the support rod is spherical and is movably connected to the mounting base; wherein the spherical first end of the support rod is connected to a central region of a rear side of the magnetic connecting element away from the display device; an orthographic projection of the spherical first end towards the display device is located inside the first magnetic attracting area (See the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand, Figs. 1 and 2 reproduced above, meets this limitation). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 4 applies here.
Regarding claim 10, Hynecek teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 9, wherein the magnetic connecting element comprises a connecting plate and a first connecting portion (Figs. 8: hole 12 and magnetic attachment arrays 11/31), wherein the second magnetic attracting area is defined on the connecting plate (¶0031, See Fig. 8, the circular region correspond to the magnetic array 21, as illustrated in Figs. 4A-4B, surrounded by a pin 22), and the first connecting portion is arranged on a side of the connecting plate away from the second magnetic attracting area (pin 22).
Hynecek does not teach the first end of the support rod is arranged in spherical, and the first end of the support rod is connected to the first connecting portion in a ball-hinged manner.
However, ULDIGI Phone Stand teaches the first end of the support rod is arranged in spherical, and the first end of the support rod is connected to the first connecting portion in a ball-hinged manner. (See the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand, Figs. 1 and 2 reproduced above, meets this limitation). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 4 applies here.
Regarding claim 11, Hynecek in view of ULDIGI Phone Stand teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 10. ULDIGI Phone Stand further teaches wherein the first connecting portion comprises a plurality of first connecting blocks connected to the connecting plate, and the plurality of first connecting blocks are arranged in a circumferential distribution and enclosed to form a first ball-jointed groove; the first end of the support rod is arranged in the first ball-jointed groove and ball-hinged to the first connecting portion, and an outer wall of each of the plurality of first connecting blocks is arranged with an external thread; the support bracket further comprises a first locking element in a shape of a ring, the first locking element is arranged with an internal thread, an inner wall of the first locking element has a taper, the first locking element sleeves an outer side of the first connecting portion and is screwed with the first connecting portion; when the first locking element rotates and approaches the connecting plate, the plurality of first connecting blocks are forced to move inward and tighten the first end of the support rod (See the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand, FIGS. 1 and 2 reproduced above- the mobile phone support system having a ball and socket type joint). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 4 applies here. Note that even though the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand does not show the external/internal thread portion. However, it is commonly known that the connecting blocks of the ULDIGI Phone Stand has a threaded connection mechanism.
Regarding claim 12, Hynecek in view of ULDIGI Phone Stand teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 9. Hynecek teaches wherein the mounting base comprises a mounting plate (mount 20) and a second connecting portion (pin 22), the mounting plate is configured to be attached to the center console of the vehicle (¶0029: mount 20 as part of an apparatus used to mount a mobile device 30 in a vehicle), and the second connecting portion is arranged on a side of the mounting plate away from the center console (pin 22). Furthermore, ULDIGI Phone Stand teaches the second end of the support rod is arranged in a spherical structure, and the second end of the support rod is connected to the second connecting portion in a ball-hinged manner (See the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand, FIGS. 1 and 2 reproduced above- the mobile phone support system having a ball and socket type joint). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 4 applies here.
Regarding claim 13, Hynecek in view of ULDIGI Phone Stand teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 12. ULDIGI Phone Stand further teaches wherein the second connecting portion comprises a plurality of second connecting blocks connected to the mounting plate, and the plurality of second connecting blocks are arranged in a circumferential distribution and enclosed to form a second ball-jointed groove; the second end of the support rod is arranged in the second ball-jointed groove and is ball-hinged to the second connecting portion, and an outer wall of each of the plurality of second connecting blocks is arranged with an external thread; the support bracket further comprises a second locking element in a shape of a ring, the second locking element is arranged with an internal thread, an inner wall of the second locking element has a taper, and the second locking element sleeves an outer side of the second connecting portion and is screwed with the second connecting portion; when the second locking element rotates and approaches the mounting plate, the plurality of second connecting blocks are forced to move inward and tighten the second end of the support rod (See the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand, FIGS. 1 and 2 reproduced above- the mobile phone support system having a ball and socket type joint). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 4 applies here.
Regarding claims 14-17, Hynecek in view of ULDIGI Phone Stand teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 12. ULDIGI Phone Stand further teaches wherein the mounting plate is made of a flexible material, wherein the mounting plate defines a plurality of cut slots extending along a plate face of the mounting plate, wherein each of the plurality of cut slots is in a “V” shape, wherein a bottom of the mounting plate is arranged with an adhesive layer (See the base of the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand in FIGs. 1- 2 above, and FIG. 3, reproduced blow. ULDIGI Phone Stand discloses the phone holder includes adhesive base). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 4 applies here.
FIG. 3
Regarding claim 18, Hynecek in view of ULDIGI Phone Stand teaches the in-vehicle display as claimed in claim 4. ULDIGI Phone Stand further teaches wherein the support rod is bent (See the image of ULDIGI Phone Stand, FIGS. 1 and 2 reproduced above, meets this limitation). The motivation statement set forth above with respect to claim 4 applies here.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynecek (US 20240063838 A1) in view of Ma et al. (US 20230051385 A1).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hynecek et al. (US 20240063838 A1) in view of “ULDIGI Phone Stand Car Mount Dash Phone Holder Car Phone Charger Holder Magnetic Car Phone Holder Phone Holder for Car Vent Mobile Phone Holder Cell Phone Mount Car Stand Phone Support” https://www.amazon.co.uk/ULDIGI-Holder-Charger-Magnetic-Support/dp/B0D988X4Z6?th=1
Date first available 11 July 2024, hereinafter referred to as “ULDIGI Phone Stand” as applied to claim 4, and further in view of Ma et al. (US 20230051385 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Hynecek does not teach wherein the support rod has a telescopic rod structure.
However, Ma teaches wherein the support rod has a telescopic rod structure (Figs. 1-2, ¶0168).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hynecek’s mobile device mounting apparatus by incorporating the teaching of Ma as noted above, in order to allow different viewing angle of the mobile device.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 5, the prior arts of record fail to teach the feature of “…the magnetic connecting element comprises a first shell, a second shell, and a second magnetic attracting element, wherein the first shell is fixedly connected to the second shell, the connecting protrusion is arranged on a face of the first shell facing the display device, the support rod is connected to the second shell, and the second magnetic attracting element is disposed between the first shell and the second shell; the second magnetic attracting element is attached to the first shell, and the second magnetic attracting area is formed on the face of the first shell facing the display device,” as recited in claim 5.
The following is he prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al. (US 20090185341 A1) discloses a plurality of openings on the rear case 70 of a display panel. See FIGS. 1-6. ¶0049.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NATHNAEL AYNALEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488