DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 07/02/2026. As directed by the amendment: no claims have been amended. Thus, claims 1-20 are presently pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
In light of the amendment to claims 1, 9, 10-14 and 17-18 to address the previous 112(b) rejection for lack of antecedent basis, the examiner has withdrawn the 112(b) rejections as the claims now provide proper antecedent basis for the limitation.
The examiner has maintained the nonstatutory double patenting rejection from the non-final office action since applicant has not amended to overcome the double patenting rejection or submitted a terminal disclaimer.
Applicant's arguments filed 07/02/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 7, the prior art Marchand is silent about how to use laser cutting to achieve any of its detailed embodiments. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Marchand discloses the anchoring device may be a mesh that is braided from one strand or in alternative, the anchoring device 1 (as seen in Figure 3 below) may be a continuous mesh obtained by the means of laser cutting (see paragraphs [0141] and [0196]). The claim only required that the stent frame is formed from a laser cut expanded tube and did not include any specific number of struts or undulations that form said laser cut mesh which would impart structural differences.
Applicant argues on page 8, a person of skill in the art would not look to combine references comprising fundamentally distinct stent structures, Marchand comprises a braided mesh wire strand design while McLean uses a laser cut tube design. This argument is not persuasive. Marchand discloses a double walled anchoring device that is a mesh, braided from one strand or in alternative, the anchoring device 1 (as seen in Figure 3 below) may be a continuous mesh obtained by the means of laser cutting (see paragraphs [0141] and [0196]). Marchand further discloses the double walled anchoring device includes an inner wall and an outer wall. McLean et al. also teaches a double walled anchoring member in the same field of endeavor for anchoring a prosthetic heart valve inside a heart, the anchoring member 110 comprises a mesh, including a braided mesh formed from a plurality of flexible wires or filaments (paragraph [0197]). McLean et al. teaches the double walled anchoring member includes an inner wall and an outer wall. McLean et al. was used to modify the coupling of the transition wall to be upstream versus downstream.
Applicant argues on page 9, the prior art McLean et al. discloses the anchoring member 110 can be integrally formed with posts 122 of the valve support 120, but then states that “a plurality of separate bands or wires 358 extend around the circumference 150 of the anchoring member 110” thus, the depicted wires 358 are clearly not integrally formed. This argument was not persuasive. Claim 15 in which the McLean et al. reference was applied to was used to teach a plurality of control apertures and at least one suture applied to the control aperture to permit the outer wall to be collapsed inwardly to a low-profile delivery (see rejections below). The recitation was not used to teach integrally extending posts. Furthermore, the claim never recite any structure on the anchor member to be “integrally formed” as argued.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 3, 7-8, 10 and 14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,759,319 in view of Marchand et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0216027.
Regarding claim 1, the Patent discloses a replacement heart valve (column 24, line 29), comprising: a unibody stent frame formed from a laser cut expanded tube (column 24, line 30), the unibody stent frame having a folded double-wall (column 24, lines 30-31) and comprising: an outer wall comprising an open enlarged diameter region, a middle reduced diameter region, and a closed enlarged diameter region opposite the open enlarged diameter region (column 24, lines 34-36); a tubular inner wall with a central lumen (column 24, line 37); a transition wall between the closed enlarged diameter region of the outer wall and the inner wall (column 24, lines 38-39); a replacement leaflet valve located in the central lumen of the inner wall (column 24, line 41). However, the Patent does not expressly disclose wherein: the central lumen includes an opening at the transition wall, and the diameter of the central lumen is less than or equal to the diameter of the opening at the transition wall along the length of the central lumen. Marchand et al. discloses a replacement heart valve 1, comprising: a unibody stent frame formed from a laser cut expanded tube (as seen in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0141-0142] and [0196]), the unibody stent frame having a folded double-wall (abstract and paragraphs [0015-0016], [0051] and [0100]) and comprising: an outer wall 4 comprising an open enlarged diameter region, a middle reduced diameter region, and a closed enlarged diameter region opposite the open enlarged diameter region (as seen in the annotated Figure 3B and see Figure 11 and paragraph [0110]); a tubular inner wall 5 with a central lumen and a transition wall (see annotated Figure 3B), wherein the diameter of the central lumen is equal to the diameter of the opening at the transition wall for the purpose of creating a continuous lumen forming a cylindrical cross section (paragraph [0116-0117]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Patent’s central lumen to have a diameter equal to the diameter of the opening at the transitional wall along the length of the central lumen as taught by Marchand for the purpose of creating a continuous lumen forming a cylindrical cross section.
Regarding Claim 3, the Patent discloses wherein the tubular outer wall is an everted portion of the laser cut expanded tube (column 24, lines 30-31).
Regarding Claim 7, the Patent discloses wherein the open enlarged diameter region is a downstream open enlarged diameter region (column 24, lines 34-35).
Regarding Claim 8, the Patent discloses the closed enlarged diameter region is an upstream closed diameter region (column 24, line 36).
Regarding Claim 10, the Patent discloses wherein the plurality of circumferential struts includes a circumferential strut in the tubular inner wall (column 24, lines 43-48).
Regarding Claim 14, the Patent discloses wherein the plurality of circumferential struts includes at least 3 circumferential struts in the tubular outer wall (column 25, lines 11-12).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Marchand et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0216027.
Regarding Claim 1, Marchand et al. discloses a replacement heart valve 1, comprising:
a unibody stent frame formed from a lasercut expanded tube (as seen in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0141-0142] and [0196]), the unibody stent frame having a folded double-wall (abstract and paragraphs [0015-0016], [0051] and [0100]) and comprising: an outer wall 4 comprising an open enlarged diameter region, a middle reduced diameter region, and a closed enlarged diameter region opposite the open enlarged diameter region (as seen in the annotated Figure 3B above and see Figure 11 and paragraph [0110]); a tubular inner wall 5 with a central lumen; a transition wall between the closed enlarged diameter region of the outer wall and the inner wall; a replacement leaflet valve 13 located in the central lumen of the inner wall 5 (abstract, paragraph [0158]), wherein: the central lumen includes an opening at the transition wall (see annotated Figure 2), and a diameter of the central lumen is less than or equal to the diameter of the opening at the transition wall along the length of the central lumen (as seen in the annotated Figure 2 above).
Regarding Claim 2, Marchand et al. discloses wherein the tubular inner wall 5 is an inverted portion of the laser cut expanded tube (see annotated Figure 2 and 3B).
Regarding Claim 3, Marchand et al. discloses wherein the tubular outer wall 4 is an everted portion of the laser cut expanded tube (see annotated Figure 2 and 3B).
Regarding Claim 4, Marchand et al. discloses wherein the diameter D2, D3, D4 of the central lumen varies along the length of the central lumen (as seen in the annotated Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 19, Marchand et al. discloses a replacement heart valve 1, comprising:
a unibody stent frame formed from a laser cut expanded tube (as seen in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0141-0142] and [0196]), the unibody stent frame having a folded double-wall (abstract and paragraphs [0015-0016], [0051] and [0100]) and comprising: an outer wall 4 comprising an open enlarged diameter region, a middle reduced diameter region, and a closed enlarged diameter region opposite the open enlarged diameter region (as seen in the annotated Figure 3B above and see Figure 11 and paragraph [0110]); a tubular inner wall 5 with a central lumen; a transition wall between the closed enlarged diameter region of the outer wall and the inner wall; a replacement leaflet valve 13 located in the central lumen of the inner wall 5 (abstract, paragraph [0158]), wherein the tubular inner wall 5 is an inverted portion of the laser cut expanded tube (as seen in the annotated Figure 2 and 3B).
Regarding Claim 20, Marchand et al. discloses a replacement heart valve 1, comprising: a unibody stent frame formed from a laser cut expanded tube (as seen in Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0141-0142] and [0196]), the unibody stent frame having a folded double-wall (abstract and paragraphs [0015-0016], [0051] and [0100]) and comprising: an outer wall 4 comprising an open enlarged diameter region, a middle reduced diameter region, and a closed enlarged diameter region opposite the open enlarged diameter region (as seen in the annotated Figure 3B above and see Figure 11 and paragraph [0110]); a tubular inner wall 5 with a central lumen; a transition wall between the closed enlarged diameter region of the outer wall and the inner wall; and a replacement leaflet valve 13 located in the central lumen of the inner wall 5 (abstract, paragraph [0158]); wherein the outer wall is an everted portion of the laser cut expanded tube (as seen in the annotated Figure 2 and 3B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchand et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0216027.
Regarding Claim 5, in the embodiment used in the rejection above, Figures 2-3B does not expressly disclose wherein the central lumen extends beyond the open enlarged end of the outer wall. In an alternative embodiment as seen in Figures 7A-B, Marchand et al. teaches the tubular inner wall having a central lumen extends beyond the open enlarged end of the outer wall for the purpose of aiding in anchoring the device downstream of the replacement valve (paragraph [0194] and [0199]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Figures 2-3B to further include inner wall having a central lumen extends beyond the open enlarged end of the outer wall as taught in Figures 7A-7B for the purpose of aiding in anchoring the device downstream of the replacement valve.
Claim(s) 6-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marchand et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0216027 in view of McLean et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0328002.
Regarding Claim 6, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the transition wall is upstream of the replacement leaflet valve. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 1600 in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent frame with a folded double-wall (as seen in Figure 71) having an outer wall comprising an open enlarged diameter region (portion by 110), a closed enlarged diameter (portion by the replacement heart valve), a tubular inner wall with a central lumen and a replacement leaflet valve 130 located in the central lumen of the tubular inner wall 120 and a transition wall 1610 between the closed enlarged diameter region of the outer wall and the tubular inner wall, wherein the transition wall is upstream of the replacement valve (as seen in Figure 71) for the purpose of retaining the prosthetic valve within the valve support (e.g. inner tubular wall) and having the transition wall 1610 to be mechanically isolated from the valve support such that the forces generated at the native valve are absorbed or translated by the transition wall to allow the valve to remain substantially undeformed (paragraph [0344]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s transition wall to be upstream from the replacement valve as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of having a transition wall that is mechanically isolated from the valve support such that the forces generated at the native valve are absorbed or translated by the transition wall to allow the valve to remain substantially undeformed.
Regarding Claim 7, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose the open enlarged diameter region is a downstream open enlarged diameter region. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 1400 in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent frame with a folded double-wall (as seen in 69C), the stent frame includes a tubular inner wall 120 and an outer wall 110 having an open enlarged diameter that is a downstream open enlarged diameter region 115 (as seen in Figure 69C), wherein McLean et al. teaches coupling the outer wall to the inner wall at an upstream end can prevent the device from migrating in an upstream direction and allow the outer wall that is uncoupled (downstream) can mechanically isolate the tubular inner wall from radially compressive forces exerted on the device from the heart valve tissue (paragraph [0342]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s outer wall to be coupled at upstream end to the tubular inner wall as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of mechanically isolating isolate the tubular inner wall from radially compressive forces exerted on the device from the heart valve tissue and prevent migration of the device in an upstream direction.
Regarding Claim 8, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose the closed enlarged diameter region is an upstream closed diameter region. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 1600 in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent frame with a folded double-wall (as seen in Figure 71) having an outer wall comprising an open enlarged diameter region (portion by 110), a closed enlarged diameter (portion by the replacement heart valve) and a transition wall 1610 between the closed enlarged diameter region of the outer wall and the tubular inner wall, wherein the closed enlarged diameter is an upstream closed diameter region 121 for the purpose of having an enlarged closed region that can be an extension of the upstream end to mechanically isolate the tubular inner wall from forces generated at the native valve and further allowing the enlarger diameter be able to engage tissue at or near the native annulus (paragraph [0344]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s outer wall to be coupled to the tubular inner wall at an upstream region and have a closed enlarged diameter at an upstream region as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of having an enlarged closed region that can be an extension of the upstream end to mechanically isolate the tubular inner wall from forces generated at the native valve and further allowing the enlarger diameter be able to engage tissue at or near the native annulus.
Regarding Claim 9, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose wherein [the tubular inner wall comprises a plurality of longitudinal struts], the plurality of longitudinal struts includes at least 3 longitudinal struts. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 1400 in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent frame with a folded double-wall (as seen in 69C), the stent frame includes a tubular inner wall 120 and an outer wall 110, wherein Figures 11B and 11D teaches the tubular inner wall 120 can comprise of a plurality of longitudinal struts 128 which includes at least 3 longitudinal struts 128 for the purpose of forming commissural attachment structures that align with the prosthetic valve commissures to facilitate attachment of the prosthetic valve 130 to the tubular inner wall 120 (as seen in Figures 11B and 11D and paragraph [0203]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s tubular inner wall to further include 3 longitudinal struts as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of forming commissural attachment structures that align with the prosthetic valve commissures to facilitate attachment of the prosthetic valve to the tubular inner wall.
Regarding Claims 10, 11, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the unibody stent frame further comprises a plurality of circumferential struts, wherein the plurality of circumferential struts comprises at least one circumferential strut in the tubular inner wall, wherein the plurality of circumferential struts includes at least 3 circumferential struts in the tubular inner wall. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 1400 in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent frame with a folded double-wall (as seen in 69C), the stent frame includes a tubular inner wall 120 and an outer wall 110, wherein Figures 11B and 11D teaches the tubular inner wall 120 can comprise of a plurality of circumferential struts 124 (undulating struts), including at least 3 circumferential struts (see Figures 11B and 11D) for the purpose of creating a geometrical pattern that can expand and provide sufficient resilience and column strength for maintaining the integrity of the prosthetic valve 130 (as seen in Figures 11B and 11D and paragraph [0198]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s tubular inner wall to further include a plurality of circumferential struts as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of creating a geometrical pattern that can expand and provide sufficient resilience and column strength for maintaining the integrity of the prosthetic valve.
Regarding Claim 12, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the plurality of circumferential struts includes at least one circumferential strut in the transition wall. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 1600 in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent frame with a folded double-wall (as seen in Figure 71) having an outer wall comprising an open enlarged diameter region (portion by 110), a closed enlarged diameter (portion by the replacement heart valve) and a transition wall 1610 between the closed enlarged diameter region of the outer wall and the tubular inner wall, wherein the transition wall 1610 comprises at least one circumferential strut (see curved strut in Figure 71) for the purpose of creating a transition wall that forms an extension of the upstream end 121 of the valve support 120 and that is curved for the purpose of deforming under radial forces exerted on the transitional wall while the valve support remains substantially undeformed (paragraph [0344]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s transition wall that comprises at least one circumferential strut as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of having a transition wall that is curved and capable of deforming under radial forces exerted on the transitional wall while the valve support remains substantially undeformed.
Regarding Claims 13, 14, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the unibody stent frame comprises a plurality of circumferential struts, wherein the plurality of circumferential struts comprises a circumferential strut in the outer wall, wherein the plurality of circumferential comprises at least 3 circumferential struts in the outer wall. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 1400 in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent frame with a folded double-wall (as seen in 69C), the stent frame includes a tubular inner wall 120 and an outer wall 110, wherein Figure 10A teaches the outer wall 110 includes a plurality of undulations, including at least 3 circumferential struts for forming a framework for the outer wall that serves as an anchoring member that can prevent the device from migrating in an upstream direction (paragraphs [0341-0342]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s outer wall to further include a plurality of circumferential struts as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of forming a framework for the outer wall that serves as an anchoring member that can prevent the device from migrating in an upstream direction
Regarding Claim 15, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose wherein the unibody stent frame further comprises a plurality of control apertures and at least one suture coupled to at least one control aperture of the plurality control apertures. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 100 comprising a tubular inner wall 120 and an outer wall 110 and a transitional wall 356, wherein the stent frame comprises a plurality of control apertures 360 and at least one suture 358 coupled to the at least one control aperture 360 for the purpose of permitting the outer wall 110 to be collapsed inwardly to a low-profile delivery configuration and limiting the outward deflection of the outer wall struts when in the expanded configuration (paragraph [0250]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s outer wall to further include a plurality of control apertures and at least one suture coupled to at least one control aperture as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of permitting the outer wall to be collapsed inwardly to a low-profile delivery configuration and limiting the outward deflection of the outer wall struts when in the expanded configuration.
Regarding Claim 16, Marchand does not expressly disclose a suture extending over the exterior of the outer wall. McLean et al. teaches a sealing member 140 can be disposed on the outer wall 142 or disposed on the inner wall 141 and can be fixed and coupled to any surface of the anchoring member via a suture (paragraph [0223]) for the purpose of attaching and adhering the skirt between the anchoring member and valve support to promote in-growth of adjacent tissue (see Figures 19A-19B, paragraph [0240]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand to further include a skirt covering an outer surface and inner surface of the open enlarged diameter region and having the skirt be attached via a suture as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of attaching and adhering the skirt between the anchoring member and valve support to promote in-growth of adjacent tissue.
Regarding Claim 17, Marchand et al. does not expressly disclose wherein commissures of the replacement leaflet valve are sutured to the plurality of longitudinal struts. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 1400 in the same field of endeavor comprising a stent frame with a folded double-wall (as seen in 69C), the stent frame includes a tubular inner wall 120 and an outer wall 110, wherein Figures 11B and 11D teaches the tubular inner wall 120 can comprise of a plurality of longitudinal struts 128 for the purpose of forming commissural attachment structures that align with the prosthetic valve commissures to facilitate attachment of the prosthetic valve 130 to the tubular inner wall 120 (as seen in Figures 11B and 11D and paragraph [0203]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand’s tubular inner wall to further include longitudinal struts as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of forming commissural attachment structures that align with the prosthetic valve commissures to facilitate attachment of the prosthetic valve to the tubular inner wall.
Regarding Claim 18, Marchand does not expressly disclose wherein commissures of the replacement leaflet valve are sutured to the plurality of circumferential struts. McLean et al. teaches a replacement heart valve 100 as seen in Figures 10A-19C in the same field of endeavor comprising an tubular inner wall 120 and tubular outer wall 110, wherein the inner wall comprises a plurality of circumferential struts (the undulations forming peaks and valleys) and a replacement leaflet valve 130, wherein the commissure of the replacement leaflet valve is sutured to the plurality of circumferential struts using a sealing member 140 disposed on the inner wall 120 and can be fixed and coupled to any surface of the anchoring member via a suture (paragraph [0223] and [0240]) for the purpose of securing the replacement leaflet valve to the plurality of circumferential struts of the inner wall using a sealing member for the purpose of coupling the replacement leaflet valve to the inner wall and provide a blood flow-inhibiting seal between the inner wall and the native tissue (see Figures 19A-19B, paragraph [0240]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Marchand to further include a plurality of circumferential struts on the inner wall and suturing the replacement leaflet valve to the plurality of circumferential struts as taught by McLean et al. for the purpose of securing the replacement leaflet valve to the plurality of circumferential struts of the inner wall using a sealing member for the purpose of coupling the replacement leaflet valve to the inner wall and provide a blood flow-inhibiting seal between the inner wall and the native tissue.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEEMA MATHEW/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774