Notice of AIA Status
Election/Restrictions
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wells et al. USPN 5,239,808 (hereinafter Wells).
Regarding claim 1, Wells discloses a modular sealing apparatus (fig.1:col 2 lines 63-68), comprising: a cap module comprising a central portion (seal bar assembly 18:figs 2-7) on which a heating wire is located (30; fig.2; col.3 lines 3-10,34-52), the heating wire being configured to heat based on receipt of an electrical power (col.4 lines 61-col.5 line 2; the sealing wire is heated by the flow of electricity by a conventional power source); an actuation box (body 10) detachably coupled to the cap module (col.5 lines 14-23; seal bar assembly 18 is removable from the body of the vacuum sealer), the actuation box (10) comprising an actuator disposed in the actuation box (pistons 50 actuate the seal bar assembly 18); col.4 lines 3-45); an interface module configured to detachably couple the actuation box to a lid member (clips 20 may be removed from the lid to permit access to the body of the apparatus allowing a removable interface to attach the control panel of body 10 to the whole of the vacuum packaging machine) of a vacuum packaging machine, the interface module defining a modular utility interface configured to provide detachable routing of one or more utilities between the vacuum packaging
machine and the actuation box (col.5 lines 3-45); and
a main controller (control switches activate pistons 50 to control sealing wire 30) communicably coupled to the actuation box (10), the interface module (20), and the cap module (18), the main controller configured to transmit a control signal to the actuator, the control signal configured to operate an actuation assembly of the actuator to generate a linear displacement of an actuation member associated with the actuator (linear movement/displacement of the pistons 50), wherein the linear displacement moves the cap module (18 seal bar) towards a counterpart (82) during a sealing operation (fig.4; operable control switches are provided on the body 10 for permitting operator control and movement of the seal bar assembly; col.3 lines 3-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8,12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. USPN 5,239,808 (hereinafter Wells) in view of Owens et al US 2014/0196405 (hereinafter Owens).
Regarding claim 2, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein the actuation box (10) and the cap module (18) are mounted to the lid member (16) of the vacuum packaging machine, Wells fails to explicitly teach wherein the counterpart (82) is mounted inside a cavity of a lower compartment of the vacuum packaging machine.
However Owens teaches a vacuum sealer with a seal bar and actuation box mounted to the lid member 202 with actuating seal bar and counterparts (figs 7-8; par 0054-0056).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the vacuum sealing apparatus with the sealing bar in the lid and the counterpart sunken into the body of the lower compartment as taught by Owens as a simple substitution in locations of the seal assembly and counterpart.
Regarding claim 3, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 2, wherein the actuation box (10) and the cap module (18) are mounted to the lid member (16), and buts fails to teach the counterpart (82), being mounted inside the cavity of the lower compartment of the vacuum packaging machine, conforms to an inverted mounting configuration of the modular sealing apparatus.
However Owens teaches a vacuum sealer with a seal bar and actuation box mounted to the lid member 202 with actuating seal bar and counterparts inside the lower compartment conforms to an inverted mounting configuration (figs 7-8; par 0054-0056).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the vacuum sealing apparatus with the sealing bar in the lid and the counterpart sunken into the body of the lower compartment as taught by Owens as a simple substitution in locations of the seal assembly and counterpart.
Regarding claim 4, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein, Wells teaches actuating pistons to move the seal assembly in a linear displacement but fails to teach in the inverted mounting configuration of the modular sealing apparatus, the actuator disposed within the actuation box is configured to generate the linear displacement via the actuation member to
operate the cap module downward toward the counterpart during the sealing operation.
However Owens teaches a vacuum sealer with a seal bar and actuation box mounted to the lid member 202 with actuating seal bar and counterparts inside the lower compartment conforms to an inverted mounting configuration (figs 7-8; par 0054-0056).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the vacuum sealing apparatus with the sealing bar in the lid and the counterpart sunken into the body of the lower compartment as taught by Owens as a simple substitution in locations of the seal assembly and counterpart.
Regarding claim 5, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein Wells further discloses the lid (16) member is configured with one or more cavities for receiving the actuation box (10; figs 1-2; col.5 lines 14-23).
Regarding claim 6, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 3, wherein Wells further teaches electrical power to the heating wire is routed through a conduit extending through a hinge of the lid member (col.4 lines 61-col.5 line 2; the sealing wire 30 is heated by the flow of electricity by a conventional power source).
Regarding claim 7, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, wherein Wells further teaches the actuator is selected from a group consisting of a pneumatic actuator, an electronic actuator, and an electromechanical actuator (Pistons 50 move the seal bar between retracted and extended positions with elongated rods 66 and compression spring 68 to bias the seal bar assembly towards and away from counterpart 82 on the lid 16; col.4 lines 3-45).
Regarding claim 8, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 7, wherein the actuation assembly of the pneumatic actuator comprises a piston and cylinder assembly configured to
provide the linear displacement of the actuation member to operate the cap module towards the
counterpart during the sealing operation (Pistons 50 move the seal bar between retracted and extended positions with elongated rods 66 and compression spring 68 to bias the seal bar assembly towards and away from counterpart 82 on the lid 16; col.4 lines 3-45).
Regarding claim 12, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus for a vacuum packaging machine (fig.1; col.2 lines 63-68), comprising: a cap module (seal bar assembly 18; figs.2-7) comprising a central portion on which a heating wire is located (30 ;fig.2; col.3 lines 3-10, 34-52), the heating wire being configured to heat based on receipt of an electrical power (col.4 lines 61-col.5 line 2; the sealing wire 30 is heated by the flow of electricity by a conventional power source);
an actuation box (10) detachably coupled to the cap module (18), the actuation box comprising an
actuator disposed in the actuation box (col.5 lines 14-23; seal bar assembly 18 is removable from the body of the vacuum sealer), and wherein the actuation box and the cap module are
mounted to a lid member (16) of the vacuum packaging machine, and wherein a counterpart (82) of the
vacuum packaging machine; an interface module configured to detachably couple the actuation box to the lid member of the vacuum packaging machine, the interface module defining a modular utility interface
configured to provide detachable routing of one or more utilities between the vacuum packaging
machine and the actuation box; and
a main controller communicably coupled to the actuation box, the interface module (clips 20 may be removed from the lid to permit access to the body of the apparatus allowing a removable interface to attach the control panel of body 10 to the whole of the vacuum packaging machine), and
the cap module, the main controller configured to transmit a control signal to the actuator (Pistons 50 move the seal bar between retracted and extended positions with elongated rods 66 and compression spring 68 to bias the seal bar assembly towards and away from counterpart 82 on the lid 16; col.4 lines 3-45), the control signal configured to operate an actuation assembly of the actuator to generate a linear
displacement of an actuation member associated with the actuator, wherein the linear
displacement moves the cap module towards the counterpart during a sealing operation (col.4 lines 3-45),
wherein the actuation box and the cap module (18) are mounted to the lid member (16)
However Owens teaches a vacuum sealer with a seal bar and actuation box mounted to the lid member 202 with actuating seal bar and counterparts (figs 7-8; par 0054-0056).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the vacuum sealing apparatus with the sealing bar in the lid and the counterpart sunken into the body of the lower compartment as taught by Owens as a simple substitution in locations of the seal assembly and counterpart.
Regarding claim 13, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein, in the inverted mounting configuration of the modular sealing apparatus, the actuator disposed within the
actuation box is configured to generate the linear displacement via the actuation member to
operate the cap module downward toward the counterpart during the sealing operation.
but fails to teach in the inverted mounting configuration of the modular sealing apparatus, the actuator disposed within the actuation box is configured to generate the linear displacement via the actuation member to
operate the cap module downward toward the counterpart during the sealing operation.
However Owens teaches a vacuum sealer with a seal bar and actuation box mounted to the lid member 202 with actuating seal bar and counterparts inside the lower compartment conforms to an inverted mounting configuration (figs 7-8; par 0054-0056).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the vacuum sealing apparatus with the sealing bar in the lid and the counterpart sunken into the body of the lower compartment as taught by Owens as a simple substitution in locations of the seal assembly and counterpart.
Regarding claim 14, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the lid member (16) is configured with one or more cavities for receiving the actuation box (10; figs 1-2; col.5 lines 14-23).
Regarding claim 15, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the electrical power to the heating wire is routed through a conduit extending through a hinge of the lid member (col.4 lines 61-col.5 line 2; the sealing wire 30 is heated by the flow of electricity by a conventional power source).
Regarding claim 16, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 12, wherein the actuator is selected from a group consisting of a pneumatic actuator, an electronic actuator, and an electromechanical actuator (Pistons 50 move the seal bar between retracted and extended positions with elongated rods 66 and compression spring 68 to bias the seal bar assembly towards and away from counterpart 82 on the lid 16; col.4 lines 3-45).
Claim(s) 9- 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. USPN 5,239,808 (hereinafter Wells) in view of Liu et al. US 2012/0060447 (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 9, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 1, further comprising an auxiliary controller communicably coupled to the main controller, the main controller is
configured to operate the auxiliary controller to control one or more parameters for operating the
cap module towards the counterpart during the sealing operation.
Wells fails to teach an auxiliary controller configured to sense at least one temperature value in an upper portion of the cap module.
However Liu teaches a vacuum packaging machine comprising temperature sensors (90) for control of the heat sealing element 420 temperature (fig.7; par 0066).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the seal bar assembly and heating wire as taught by Wells with the sensors and temperature control and taught by Liu in order to maintain the correct temperature at the sealing line to reduce damage and have a better formed seal, and prevent overheating of the device (Liu par 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 10, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 9, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a sealing force, sealing duration, displacement of the cap module, and temperature of the heating wire.
However Liu teaches a vacuum packaging machine comprising temperature sensors (90) for control of the heat sealing element 420 temperature (fig.7; par 0066).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the seal bar assembly and heating wire as taught by Wells with the sensors and temperature control and taught by Liu in order to maintain the correct temperature at the sealing line to reduce damage and have a better formed seal, and prevent overheating of the device (Liu par 0007-0008).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wells et al. USPN 5,239,808 (hereinafter Wells) Owens et al US 2014/0196405 (hereinafter Owens).in further view of Liu et al. US 2012/0060447 (hereinafter Liu).
Regarding claim 17, Wells as modified by Owens discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 12, further comprising an auxiliary controller communicably coupled to the main controller, the main controller is
configured to operate the auxiliary controller to control one or more parameters for operating the
cap module towards the counterpart during the sealing operation.
Wells fails to teach an auxiliary controller configured to sense at least one temperature value in an upper portion of the cap module.
However Liu teaches a vacuum packaging machine comprising temperature sensors (90) for control of the heat sealing element 420 temperature (fig.7; par 0066).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the seal bar assembly and heating wire as taught by Wells with the sensors and temperature control and taught by Liu in order to maintain the correct temperature at the sealing line to reduce damage and have a better formed seal, and prevent overheating of the device (Liu par 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 18, Wells discloses the modular sealing apparatus as claimed in claim 17, wherein the one or more parameters comprise a sealing force, sealing duration, displacement of the cap module, and temperature of the heating wire.
However Liu teaches a vacuum packaging machine comprising temperature sensors (90) for control of the heat sealing element 420 temperature (fig.7; par 0066).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to have modified the seal bar assembly and heating wire as taught by Wells with the sensors and temperature control and taught by Liu in order to maintain the correct temperature at the sealing line to reduce damage and have a better formed seal, and prevent overheating of the device (Liu par 0007-0008).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 11 and 19 the prior art alone or in proper combination fail to teach or disclose a set of coupling members, the set of coupling members disposed on at least the actuation box and the interface module, the set of coupling members configured to enable detachable pneumatic
coupling of the actuation box and the interface module.
Conclusion
/MARY C HIBBERT-COPELAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3731
/VERONICA MARTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731