DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed 9/1/2026. As directed, claims 1, 3, 9, 13, 14, 18, and 19 have been amended, claims 20-27 have been added, and claims 5, 6, 10-12, 15, and 17 have been canceled. Thus claims 1-4, 7-9, 13, 14, 16 and 18-27 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-9, 13, 14, 16, 18-20, 22, and 24-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hampton et al. (2004/0226102) in view of Arthurs et al. (2020/0390641).
Regarding claim 1, Hampton discloses an air inflatable massage cushion (10) configured to be connect with a control box (80) via a plurality of air tubes (36, 38), the air inflatable massage cushion (10) comprising: at least one body comprising an inflation portion (32, 34, 42, 44) and an edge portion (perimeter edges) surrounding the inflation portion, wherein the inflation portion comprises a first inflating structure (32) and a second inflating structure (34) , and the first inflating structure is airtight sealed from the second inflating structure as shown, the networks are independent and not fluidly connected; [0032] lines 1-5), the first inflating structure comprises a first air inflation unit (i.e. 32) having at least two first airbags interconnected with each other (as shown the network 32 includes multiple airbags connected), and the second inflating structure (34) comprises a second air inflation unit having at least two second airbags interconnected with each other (as shown unit 34 includes multiple airbags connected), the at least two first airbags are airtight sealed from the at least two second airbags (as shown, the networks 32, 34 are fluidly isolated from each other), and the at least two first airbags and the at least two second airbags are arranged in a staggered manner (as shown in fig. 2, the airbags are staggered from vertical top to bottom), each body of the at least one body further comprises: at least one first cushion layer (22) and a second cushion layer (24) stacked with the first cushion layer, wherein each of the first air inflation unit and the second air inflation unit is formed by the first cushion layer protruding away from the second cushion layer ([0036] lines 1-8); a first air orifice (inlet for bags 32) positioned corresponding to the first inflating structure in one of the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer, and configured to be in air communication with a first airbag of the at least two first airbags; a second air orifice (inlet for bags 34) positioned corresponding to the second inflating structure in one of the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer, and configured to be in air communication with a second airbag of the at least two airbags ([0032] lines 1-10).
Hampton teaches the air orifices and air tubes (36,38) connected to the control box (80) are not in air communication with each other (as shown in fig. 2, the orifices and tubes are fluidly isolated) such that any nozzles at the orifices would also not be in air communication with each and respective air tubes and substantially teaches the claimed invention except for a first air nozzle arranged at the first air orifice; and a second air nozzle arranged at the second air orifice. However, Arthur teaches first and second nozzles (i.e. 182, 262) arranged at respective orifices ([0091] lines 1-10, [0095] lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the orifices of Hampton with nozzles as taught by Arthur to provide the advantage of enhanced airflow dynamics for efficient flow.
Regarding claim 2, Hampton discloses the first inflating structure further comprises a first air passage (i.e. passage between consecutive airbags) extending along one side of the inflation portion, the at least two first airbags are in air communication with the corresponding air tube (36) via the first air passage, the second inflating structure further comprises a second air passage (i.e. passage between consecutive airbags) extending along another side of the inflation portion, the at least two second airbags are in air communication with the corresponding air tube via the second air passage (as shown, the air passages extend on opposite left and right sides).
Regarding claim 3, Hampton discloses the first air inflation unit (32, 42) comprises a plurality of first airbag groups arranged in parallel, each of the plurality of first airbag groups comprises at least one first airbag connected in series (as shown, the airbags connected in series are arranged in parallel rows), the second inflating structure comprises a plurality of second airbag groups (34, 44) arranged in parallel, each of the plurality of second airbag groups comprises at least one second airbag connected in series(as shown, the airbags connected in series are arranged in parallel rows), the plurality of first airbag groups and the plurality of second airbag groups are alternately arranged (as shown, the rows are alternatively arranged in parallel top to bottom), the first airbags of the plurality of first airbag groups are in air communication with the corresponding air tube via the first air passage, and the second airbags of the plurality of second airbag groups are in air communication with the corresponding air tube via the second air passage ([0033] lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 4, Hampton discloses the at least one body further comprises at least one arrangement unit (arrangement pattern), a configuration of the at least one arrangement unit is a repeated layout, each of the arrangement unit includes M groups of the first airbag groups and N groups of the second airbag groups, M and N are each integers greater than or equal to 1 (as shown, the rows of airbags are alternatively arranged therein at least one row of each).
Regarding claim 5, Hampton discloses the first airbags in each of the plurality of first airbag groups (32, 42) is arranged along a first direction (i.e. horizontal) and the second airbags in each of the plurality of second airbag groups (34, 44) is arranged along the first direction (horizontal), the first direction is parallel to an extending direction of at least a portion of the first air passage or is parallel to an extending direction of at least a portion of the second air passage (as shown, the air passages also extend horizontally), or is oblique relative to the extending direction (as shown, some air passages are also perpendicular).
Regarding claim 6, Hampton discloses at least one of the pluralities of first airbag groups and at least one of the plurality of second airbag groups are arranged in a non-linear manner (as shown, some airbags are arranged perpendicularly and thus not in a straight line).
Regarding claim 7, Hampton discloses the at least one first airbag is arranged adjacent to the second airbag on at least two sides, which are selected from two sides of the first airbags in a second direction and two sides of the first airbags in a third direction perpendicular to the second direction (as shown, the airbags can be arrange perpendicularly and thus on two sides), and the at least one second airbag is arranged adjacent to the first airbag on at least two sides, which are selected from two sides of the second airbag in the second direction and two sides of the second airbag in the third direction(as shown, the airbags can be arranged perpendicularly and thus on two sides), the second direction is arranged parallel to an first arrangement direction of the first airbags in each of the first airbag groups or intersected with the first arrangement direction (as shown, some airbags are arranged horizontally and perpendicular to others).
Regarding claim 8, Hampton discloses the inflation portion comprises a plurality of first airbag groups (32, 42) in air communication with the first air passage (air passages) and at least one second airbag group (34, 44) not in air communication with the plurality of first airbag groups (as shown, the groups are fluidly isolated), at least one of the plurality of first airbag groups comprises a primary airbag (i.e. first) of the at least two first airbags connected to the first air passage, and at least one secondary airbag (second or more) of the at least two first airbags connected to the primary airbag.
Regarding claim 9, Hampton discloses the first inflating structure further comprises a plurality of first and second air guide channels (i.e. 46, 48, 56, 58), and each of the plurality of first and second air guide is between two adjacent first and second airbags of the at least two first and second airbags (as shown, the air channels extend between at least two airbags); wherein the first air orifice is positioned in the second cushion layer corresponding to a first airbag of the at least two first airbags, and the second air orifice positioned in the second cushion layer corresponding to a second airbag of the at least two second airbags ([0036] lines 1-10), the first airbag corresponding to the first air orifice is adjacent to the second airbag corresponding to the second air orifice (as show, the airbags and orifices are adjacent; the first and second air orifice (inlet) is positioned in the first and second air passage or in one first or second air guide channel of the plurality of first air guide channels; the first airbag corresponding to the first air orifice and the second airbag corresponding to the second air orifice are proximate to an edge portion of the second cushion layer (as a sown the inlets are proximate the edge).
Regarding claim 13,Hampton discloses the first and second air orifice (inlet) is at a side wall of one first and second airbag of the at least two first airbags on the first cushion layer (as shown, the inlet enters the side), and the modified Hampton teaches (see fig. 11B of Arthurs) one end of the first and second air nozzle is in the first air orifice, and another end of the first air nozzle extends out of the first airbag to an external environment (as shown, the nozzle has one end extending the outside and one end within he air inlet and passage).
Regarding claim 14,Hampton discloses each body of the at least one body comprises two first cushion layers at two opposite surfaces of a corresponding body of the at least one body ([0037] lines 1-10), respectively, the second cushion layer is between the two first cushion layers, each of the two first cushion layers protrudes away from the second cushion layer to form the first inflating structure and the second inflating structure, respectively ([0037] lines 1-10 disclose cushion layers which form the first and second air bladder networks).
Regarding claim 15, Hampton discloses each of at least part of the first air passage and at least part of the second air passage is a linear air channel (as shown, at least part of the air passage and channel extend its taught line).
Regarding claim 16, Hampton discloses the first air passage comprises a plurality of first sub-airbags (network 32, 42, 54 include a plurality of sub air bags) and a plurality of first sub-air channels (46, 56), each of the plurality of first sub-air channels is correspondingly connected to two adjacent first sub-airbags of the plurality of first sub-airbags (as shown, they are fluidly connected), and the second air passage comprises a plurality of second sub-airbags (34, 44, 54) and a plurality of second sub-air channels (48, 58), each of the plurality of second sub-air channels is correspondingly connected to two adjacent second sub-airbags of the plurality of second sub-airbags, wherein the plurality of first sub-airbags is interconnected, and the plurality of second sub-airbags is interconnected (as shown, the first and second airbag networks are connected and fluidly isolated from one another).
Regarding claim 17, Hampton discloses the at least two first airbags, the at least two second airbags, the first air passage and the second air passage are integrated structure ([0037] lines 1-10 disclose integration into the layers).
Regarding claim 18, Hampton discloses Hampton discloses an air inflatable massage cushion (10) configured to be connect with a control box (80) via a plurality of air tubes (36, 38), the air inflatable massage cushion (10) comprising: at least one body comprising an inflation portion (32, 34, 42, 44, 52, 54) and an edge portion (perimeter edges) surrounding the inflation portion, a first air channel (i.e. 46) extend along one side and a second air channel (58) extending along another side, wherein the inflation portion comprises a first inflating unit (32) and a second inflating unit (34) , and the first inflating structure is airtight sealed from the second inflating structure as shown, the networks are independent and not fluidly connected; [0032] lines 1-5), the first inflating structure comprises a first air inflation unit (i.e. 32) having at least two first airbags interconnected with each other (as shown the network 32 includes multiple airbags connected) via first group of air guide channels (46.56), and the second inflating structure (34) comprises a second air inflation unit having at least two second airbags interconnected with each other (as shown unit 34 includes multiple airbags connected) with second air guide channels (48, 58), the at least two first airbags are airtight sealed from the at least two second airbags (as shown, the networks 32, 34 are fluidly isolated from each other), and the at least two first airbags and the at least two second airbags are arranged in a staggered manner (as shown in fig. 2, the airbags are staggered from vertical top to bottom), each of the first air inflation unit and the second air inflation unit is configured to be connected to the control box (80) via a corresponding air tube of the plurality of air tubes (36), and in response to one of the first air inflation unit and the second air inflation unit is inflating, another one of the first air inflation unit and the second air inflation unit is deflating ([0037] lines 1-10), the inflation portion dynamically changes height in a staggered manner ([0037] lines 1-10), each body of the at least one body further comprises: at least one first cushion layer (22) and a second cushion layer (24) stacked with the first cushion layer, wherein each of the first air inflation unit and the second air inflation unit is a hollow structure of protrusion of the first cushion layer protruding away from the second cushion layer ([0036] lines 1-8); a first air orifice (inlet for bags 32) positioned corresponding to the first inflating structure in one of the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer, and configured to be in air communication with a first airbag of the at least two first airbags; a second air orifice (inlet for bags 34) positioned corresponding to the second inflating structure in one of the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer, and configured to be in air communication with a second airbag of the at least two airbags ([0032] lines 1-10).
Hampton teaches the air orifices and air tubes (36,38) connected to the control box (80) are not in air communication with each other (as shown in fig. 2, the orifices and tubes are fluidly isolated) such that any nozzles at the orifices would also not be in air communication with each and respective air tubes and substantially teaches the claimed invention except for a first air nozzle arranged at the first air orifice; and a second air nozzle arranged at the second air orifice. However, Arthur teaches first and second nozzles (i.e. 182, 262) arranged at respective orifices ([0091] lines 1-10, [0095] lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the orifices of Hampton with nozzles as taught by Arthur to provide the advantage of enhanced airflow dynamics for efficient flow.
Regarding claim 19, Hampton discloses an air inflatable massage cushion (10) configured to be connect with a control box (80) via a plurality of air tubes (36, 38), the air inflatable massage cushion (10) comprising: at least one body comprising an inflation portion (32, 34, 42, 44) and an edge portion (perimeter edges) surrounding the inflation portion, the first inflating structure further comprises a first air passage (i.e. passage between consecutive airbags) extending along one side of the inflation portion, the at least two first airbags are in air communication with the corresponding air tube (36) via the first air passage, the second inflating structure further comprises a second air passage (i.e. passage between consecutive airbags) extending along another side of the inflation portion, the at least two second airbags are in air communication with the corresponding air tube via the second air passage (as shown, the air passages extend on opposite left and right sides); the first air inflation unit (32, 42) comprises a plurality of first airbag groups arranged in parallel, each of the plurality of first airbag groups comprises at least one first airbag connected in series (as shown, the airbags connected in series are arranged in parallel rows), the second inflating structure comprises a plurality of second airbag groups (34, 44) arranged in parallel, each of the plurality of second airbag groups comprises at least one second airbag connected in series(as shown, the airbags connected in series are arranged in parallel rows), the plurality of first airbag groups and the plurality of second airbag groups are alternately arranged (as shown, the rows are alternatively arranged in parallel top to bottom), the first airbags of the plurality of first airbag groups are in air communication with the corresponding air tube via the first air passage, and the second airbags of the plurality of second airbag groups are in air communication with the corresponding air tube via the second air passage ([0033] lines 1-10); the first air passage comprises a plurality of first sub-airbags (network 32, 42, 54 include a plurality of sub air bags) and a plurality of first sub-air channels (46, 56), each of the plurality of first sub-air channels is correspondingly connected to two adjacent first sub-airbags of the plurality of first sub-airbags (as shown, they are fluidly connected), and the second air passage comprises a plurality of second sub-airbags (34, 44, 54) and a plurality of second sub-air channels (48, 58), each of the plurality of second sub-air channels is correspondingly connected to two adjacent second sub-airbags of the plurality of second sub-airbags, wherein the plurality of first sub-airbags is interconnected, and the plurality of second sub-airbags is interconnected (as shown, the first and second airbag networks are connected and fluidly isolated from one another); each body of the at least one body further comprises: at least one first cushion layer (22) and a second cushion layer (24) stacked with the first cushion layer, wherein each of the first air inflation unit and the second air inflation unit is a hollow structure of protrusion of the first cushion layer protruding away from the second cushion layer ([0036] lines 1-8); a first air orifice (inlet for bags 32) positioned corresponding to the first inflating structure in one of the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer, and configured to be in air communication with a first airbag of the at least two first airbags; a second air orifice (inlet for bags 34) positioned corresponding to the second inflating structure in one of the first cushion layer and the second cushion layer, and configured to be in air communication with a second airbag of the at least two airbags ([0032] lines 1-10).
Hampton teaches the air orifices and air tubes (36,38) connected to the control box (80) are not in air communication with each other (as shown in fig. 2, the orifices and tubes are fluidly isolated) such that any nozzles at the orifices would also not be in air communication with each and respective air tubes and substantially teaches the claimed invention except for a first air nozzle arranged at the first air orifice; and a second air nozzle arranged at the second air orifice. However, Arthur teaches first and second nozzles (i.e. 182, 262) arranged at respective orifices ([0091] lines 1-10, [0095] lines 1-15). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the orifices of Hampton with nozzles as taught by Arthur to provide the advantage of enhanced airflow dynamics for efficient flow.
Regarding claims 20, 24, and 26, the modified Hampton discloses the first air nozzle and the second air nozzle are components independent of the body (figs. 5 and 23 of Arthur show the nozzles are separate from the body with air bladders) and coupled to the first and second air orifices, respectively ( as shown, the nozzles are fluidly coupled; [0091] lines 1-10, [0095] lines 1-15).
Regarding claims 22 and 27, Hampton discloses wherein one of the first air passage and the second air passage is arranged in an L-shape or an inverted-L-shaped (as shown, the passages are arranged perpendicularly), and a majority of the plurality of first airbag groups and a majority of the plurality of second airbag groups are oblique to the first air passage and the second air passage, respectively (as shown in fig. 2, air bags arranged from outside to inside are arranged obliquely to an outer perpendicularly arranged passage).
Regarding claim 25, Hampton discloses the first air inflation unit (32, 42) comprises a plurality of first airbag groups arranged in parallel, each of the plurality of first airbag groups comprises at least one first airbag connected in series (as shown, the airbags connected in series are arranged in parallel rows), the second inflating structure comprises a plurality of second airbag groups (34, 44) arranged in parallel, each of the plurality of second airbag groups comprises at least one second airbag connected in series(as shown, the airbags connected in series are arranged in parallel rows), the plurality of first airbag groups and the plurality of second airbag groups are alternately arranged (as shown, the rows are alternatively arranged in parallel top to bottom), the first airbags of the plurality of first airbag groups are in air communication with the corresponding air tube via the first air passage, and the second airbags of the plurality of second airbag groups are in air communication with the corresponding air tube via the second air passage ([0033] lines 1-10) and a majority of the plurality of first airbag groups and a majority of the plurality of second airbag groups are oblique to the first air channel and the second air channel, respectively (as shown in fig. 2, air bags arranged from outside to inside are arranged obliquely to an outer perpendicularly arranged channels).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21 and 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/1/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 16 2nd paragraph that Arthur teaches nozzles fluidly connected. However, it is noted that the combination of Hampton and Arthur teaches this limitation. Hampton already teaches the air orifices and air tubes (36,38) connected to the control box (80) are not in air communication with each other (as shown in fig. 2, the orifices and tubes are fluidly isolated) such that any nozzles at the orifices would also not be in air communication with each and respective air tubes. Arthur teaches first and second nozzles (i.e. 182, 262) arranged at respective orifices ([0091] lines 1-10, [0095] lines 1-15). Thus, the combination of references teaches this limitation as claimed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LaToya M Louis/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785