Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “internal retention feature” has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because it uses/they use a generic placeholder “feature” coupled with functional language “internal retention” without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Since the claim limitation(s) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, claim(s) 9 has/have been interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification that achieves the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation: one or more of end caps 170 (Fig. 4a), sealing members (Fig. 4b), heat-formed closures (Fig.4c), interference fits, snap-fit structures, or combinations thereof.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huot (CH 597788 A5)
Regarding claim 1, Huot discloses a heatless hair curler, comprising: an elongated support assembly (3,4, and leather or other flexible material sheathed thereover) having a longitudinal axis, the support assembly comprising a bend-retentive element (3,4) configured to be manually deformable and to retain a selected configuration, and a surrounding structural body (leather or other flexible material sheath) operatively associated with the bend-retentive element; and a curling body (1) formed of a compressible material (cellular elastomer) and disposed radially outward of the support assembly along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis, wherein the heatless hair curler is configured such that hair is wrappable around the curling body and the support assembly is manually deformable to establish a retained configuration through cooperative deformation of the bend-retentive element and the surrounding structural body (Refer to Figures 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, Huot discloses opposing end portions of the support assembly are configured to be bent toward a common direction relative to the longitudinal axis to establish the retained configuration (Refer to Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Huot discloses the surrounding structural body is formed from a deformable material (leather or other flexible material are deformable materials) configured to bend in response to manual force while transmitting retention force from the bend-retentive element to the curling body.
Regarding claim 6, Huot discloses the bend-retentive element has an elongated configuration and is formed from a material (iron) and cross-section selected to exhibit a deformation response sufficient to provide shape retention under repeated manual bending, such that, upon manual bending into a non-linear configuration, the bend-retentive element retains the non-linear configuration with a restoring torque sufficient, during normal use, to resist rotational unwinding of hair wrapped around the curling body (Refer to Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Huot discloses wherein the curling body comprises a flexible, compressible body having a surface structure and material compliance selected, during normal use, to resist axial slippage and rotational unwinding of hair wrapped therearound (Refer to Figures 1 and 2, body is made of cellular elastomer).
Regarding claim 8, Huot discloses the curling body comprises a material system selected, during normal use, to provide compressibility and surface compliance (Refer to Figures 1 and 2, body is made of cellular elastomer).
Regarding claim 9, Huot discloses the support assembly comprises an internal retention feature (5,6) configured to secure the bend-retentive element within the surrounding structural body (Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, Huot discloses the support assembly is enclosed within the curling body (a portion of the support assembly is enclosed in the axial hole 2 of the curling body 1, Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, Huot discloses opposing end portions (portions of 3,4 extending beyond curling body 1) of the support assembly are positioned substantially at corresponding end regions of the curling body (the end portions are positioned at the corresponding end regions of the curling body, Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 12, Huot discloses at least one end portion (portion of 3,4 extending beyond curling body 1) of the support assembly extends beyond an end region of the curling body to facilitate direct manual manipulation of the support assembly (Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, Huot discloses the heatless hair curler is configured to establish the retained configuration without requiring applied heat or separate fastening elements (intended to be worn during sleep, no heat is applied and no separate fastening occurs as the support assembly fastens the hair to the device).
Regarding claim 14, Huot discloses a method for using a heatless hair curler as claimed in claim 1, comprising: (a) winding at least a portion of a strand of hair onto the curling body (“After the hair has been wrapped around the body 1”); (b) bending opposing end portions of the support assembly toward a common direction to establish a retained configuration of the curler (“the wires are folded against the body (fig. 2) and tighten the lock of hair which thus remains in place despite the movements of the head”); (c) maintaining the curler in the retained configuration for a duration sufficient to impart a curled configuration to the hair (the curlers are worn during sleep, thus allowing for sufficient time); and (d) unbending the support assembly to release the hair from the curling body (in order to remove the hair from the curler after sleep, the support assembly needs to be unbent).
Regarding claim 17, Huot discloses the steps (a)–(d) are performed without applying heat and without using clips, ties, elastic bands, or separate fastening components. The curlers are worn during sleep, where there is no disclosure to application of heat and the device is unable to impart heat as configured (no heating means provided). The only fastening element disclosed in the support assembly and the device is specifically designed to be used without additional fasteners to improve comfort.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huot and Voeva-Kolev (US 20180177275).
Regarding claim 15, Huot discloses the method of using a heatless hair curler of claim 14; however, Huot is silent regarding in step (a), the curling body is rolled such that the longitudinal axis of the support assembly is substantially perpendicular to a lengthwise extension direction of the wound hair strand. Huot explains the hair is wound about the curler. Although Huot doesn’t specify the exact orientation, it is well-known and conventional for the curler body to be rolled in a direction substantially perpendicular or parallel to the length direction of the wound hair. For example, Voeva-Kolev demonstrates the perpendicular arrangement is well-known (Refer to Figure 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hout such that the curling body be rolled such that the longitudinal axis of the support assembly be substantially perpendicular to a lengthwise extension direction of the wound hair strand as Hout teaches such winding but is silent regarding the direction/orientation and Cleef demonstrates it is well-known and conventional for the winding to occur in the direction/orientation claimed (perpendicular).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huot and Cleef (US 254601)
Regarding claim 16, Huot discloses the method of using a heatless hair curler of claim 14; however, Huot is silent regarding in step (a), the curling body is rolled such that the longitudinal axis of the support assembly is substantially parallel to a lengthwise extension direction of the wound hair strand. Huot explains the hair is wound about the curler. Although Huot doesn’t specify the exact orientation, it is well-known and conventional for the curler body to be rolled in a direction substantially perpendicular or parallel to the length direction of the wound hair. For example, Cleef demonstrates the parallel arrangement is well-known (Refer to Figures 1 and 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Hout such that the curling body be rolled such that the longitudinal axis of the support assembly be substantially parallel to a lengthwise extension direction of the wound hair strand as Hout teaches such winding but is silent regarding the direction/orientation and Cleef demonstrates it is well-known and conventional for the winding to occur in the direction/orientation claimed (parallel).
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huot (CH 597788 A5) and McClaire (US 15363).
Regarding claim 1, Huot discloses a heatless hair curler, comprising: an elongated support assembly (3,4, and leather or other flexible material sheathed thereover) having a longitudinal axis, the support assembly comprising a bend-retentive element (3,4) configured to be manually deformable and to retain a selected configuration; and a curling body (1) formed of a compressible material (cellular elastomer) and disposed radially outward of the support assembly along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis, wherein the heatless hair curler is configured such that hair is wrappable around the curling body and the support assembly is manually deformable to establish a retained configuration through cooperative deformation of the bend-retentive element and the surrounding structural body (Refer to Figures 1-2).
However, Huot does not disclose a surrounding structural body (leather or other flexible material sheath) operatively associated with the bend-retentive element where the surrounding structural body is formed from a deformable material configured to bend in response to manual force while transmitting retention force from the bend-retentive element to the curling body.
McClaire discloses a similar heatless hair curler where an elongated support assembly is provided and the assembly includes a bend-retentive element in the form of a wire or rod, a pliable inner lining 7 immediately surrounding the wire and a fibrous/fabric sheath 4 disposed over the lining 7, where the sheath 4 is analogous to the leather or other flexible material sheath disclosed by Huot. McClaire was published in 1922 and demonstrates it is conventional practice and well-known in the art to provide a surrounding structural body (lining 7) over the bend-retentive element/wire 5 as such sheaths protect the wire from exposure to moisture and other compositions, abrasion, etc. while still allowing the wire to bend as designed. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the curler of Huot such that the wires be surrounded by a structural body as taught by McClaire to protect the wires and extend the useable life of the device.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, the combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses the support assembly further comprises a surface modifying layer (leather or other flexible material sheath) associated with an outer region of the support assembly, wherein the surface-modifying layer comprises a low friction barrier layer formed form at least one of a textile, woven, non-woven, knit, coated, laminated or composite material configured to reduce friction between hair and the curling body .
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses opposing end portions of the support assembly are configured to be bent toward a common direction relative to the longitudinal axis to establish the retained configuration (Refer to Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses the bend-retentive element has an elongated configuration and is formed from a material (iron) and cross-section selected to exhibit a deformation response sufficient to provide shape retention under repeated manual bending, such that, upon manual bending into a non-linear configuration, the bend-retentive element retains the non-linear configuration with a restoring torque sufficient, during normal use, to resist rotational unwinding of hair wrapped around the curling body (Refer to Figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses wherein the curling body comprises a flexible, compressible body having a surface structure and material compliance selected, during normal use, to resist axial slippage and rotational unwinding of hair wrapped therearound (Refer to Figures 1 and 2, body is made of cellular elastomer).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses the curling body comprises a material system selected, during normal use, to provide compressibility and surface compliance (Refer to Figures 1 and 2, body is made of cellular elastomer).
Regarding claim 9, combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses the support assembly comprises an internal retention feature (5,6) configured to secure the bend-retentive element within the surrounding structural body (Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses the support assembly is enclosed within the curling body (a portion of the support assembly is enclosed in the axial hole 2 of the curling body 1, Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 11, combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses opposing end portions (portions of 3,4 extending beyond curling body 1) of the support assembly are positioned substantially at corresponding end regions of the curling body (the end portions are positioned at the corresponding end regions of the curling body, Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 12, combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses at least one end portion (portion of 3,4 extending beyond curling body 1) of the support assembly extends beyond an end region of the curling body to facilitate direct manual manipulation of the support assembly (Refer to Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, combination of Huot and McClaire disclose the curler of claim 1, Huot further discloses the heatless hair curler is configured to establish the retained configuration without requiring applied heat or separate fastening elements (intended to be worn during sleep, no heat is applied and no separate fastening occurs as the support assembly fastens the hair to the device).
Conclusion
/TATIANA L NOBREGA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799