Detailed Action
Priority
It is noted for Applicant that claims 2-9, 12-13 and 17-20 contain subject matter not disclosed in the parent application and therefore these claims do not receive the priority date of the parent application.
Information Disclosure Statement
It is noted for Applicant that the IDS dated 01/26/2026 is blank.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 reads “wherein the door bottom portion a door stopper to prevent sliding of the
shade beyond a specific point” which should read “wherein the door bottom portion includes a door stopper to prevent sliding of the shade beyond a specific point” or “wherein the door bottom portion comprises a door stopper to prevent sliding of the shade beyond a specific point.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capodice (US-11044894-B2) in view of Zhan (CN-217088624-U).
Regarding claim 1, Capodice discloses a plant pot (see fig 2 and background) comprising:
a base (20) having a base upper portion (topside of base 20) and a base lower portion (lower side of base 20), wherein the base is circular in shape (see fig 1);
a pot body (61 and 30) attached to a first predefined part of a perimeter (61 attached to half of the perimeter of 20, see figs 1-2) of the base upper portion, wherein the pot body comprises a pot body top portion (30) and a pot body bottom portion (20, see figs 1-2), and
wherein the pot body top portion comprises a slot (31);
a transparent window (62) attached to a second predefined part of the perimeter of the base upper portion (62 attached to half of the perimeter of 20, see figs 1-2),
wherein the transparent window (62) engages with the pot body (61) to define a housing (internal compartment 50, see fig 2) of the plant pot, and
wherein the transparent window (62) is configured to engage with the slot (31) located at the pot body top portion when the transparent window engages with the pot body (see figs 1-3).
Capodice fails to disclose a door attached to the pot body, wherein the door is configured to move between a door open state and a door closed state to cover or uncover the transparent window.
Zhan teaches a door (3, see fig 3) attached to the pot body (1), wherein the door is configured to move between a door open state (see fig 3) and a door closed state (see figs 1-2) to cover or uncover the transparent window (Capodice as modified with the door of Zhan teaches a door covering the transparent window portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention o have modified the pot of Capodice with the door of Zhan with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for increased protection from sunlight and other elements as desired based on the needs of the contents of the pot.
Regarding claim 2, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 1, and Capodice further discloses wherein the pot body top portion (30) comprises a lip (see annotated fig 2a below) that is formed as a continuous projection extending along an entire perimeter of the pot body (see fig 3).
Annotated fig 2
Regarding claim 3, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 2, and Capodice further discloses wherein the pot body top portion further comprises a retainer (32O) that extends vertically from the lip to form the slot (slot 32, see fig 2A).
Regarding claim 4, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 3, and Capodice further discloses wherein the retainer is located in proximity to a pot body side edge (see figs 2a-3).
Regarding claim 6, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 4, and Capodice further discloses wherein the retainer and the lip forms an inverted U-shaped slot (see fig 2a) at the pot body side edge (see figs 2-3).
Regarding claim 7, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 6, and Capodice further discloses wherein the transparent window is configured to be inserted inside the inverted U-shaped slot (32, see fig 2a) to engage the transparent window (62) with the pot body (see annotated fig 3 above and figs 1-2A).
Regarding claim 8, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 6, and Capodice further discloses wherein the transparent window is configured to rest against the inverted U-shaped slot to form a ventilation channel along the pot body side edge (ventilation channel made by space between 62 and wall 32l, see fig 2a and col 8, lines 39-51).
Regarding claim 9, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 8, and Capodice further discloses wherein the transparent window is configured to rest against an exterior surface of the retainer to form the ventilation channel (see fig 2a and ventilation channel made by space between 62 and wall 32l, see fig 2a and col 8, lines 39-51).
Regarding claim 10, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 1, and Capodice further discloses wherein the transparent window is removably attached to second predefined part of the perimeter of the base upper portion (transparent window 62 can be slidably removed, see figs 1-3 and 14-15).
Regarding claim 11, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 1, and Capodice further discloses wherein the pot body comprises a pot body side edge and the transparent window comprises a transparent window side edge (see figs 1-2), and wherein the pot body side edge overlaps with the transparent window side edge when the transparent window engages with the pot body (see fig 1-2, overlap between 61 and 62 in fig 1).
Regarding claim 12, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 11, and Capodice further discloses wherein the base upper portion (topside of 20) comprises a stopper configured to define a maximum insertion distance of the transparent window side edge in the pot body (62D, also 62F, see fig 16-17 and col 13, lines 6-24).
Regarding claim 13, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 12, and Capodice further discloses wherein the stopper (62D) is located in proximity to the pot body side edge (see fig 16).
Regarding claim 19, Capodice discloses a plant pot (see fig 2 and background) comprising:
a base (20) having a base upper portion (topside of base 20) and a base lower portion (lower side of base 20), wherein the base is circular in shape (see fig 1);
a pot body (61 and 30) attached to a first predefined part of a perimeter (61 attached to half of the perimeter of 20, see figs 1-2) of the base upper portion, wherein the pot body comprises a pot body top portion (30) and a pot body bottom portion (20, see figs 1-2), and
wherein the pot body top portion comprises a slot (31);
a transparent window (62) attached to a second predefined part of the perimeter of the base upper portion (62 attached to half of the perimeter of 20, see figs 1-2)
wherein the transparent window (62) engages with the pot body (61) to define a housing (internal compartment 50, see fig 2) of the plant pot, and
wherein the transparent window (62) is configured to engage with the slot (31) located at the pot body top portion when the transparent window engages with the pot body (see figs 1-3); and
wherein the base upper portion (topside of 20) comprises a stopper configured to define a maximum insertion distance of the transparent window side edge in the pot body (62D, also 62F, see fig 16-17 and col 13, lines 6-24).
Capodice fails to disclose a door attached to the pot body, wherein the door is configured to move between a door open state and a door closed state to cover or uncover the transparent window.
Zhan teaches a door (3, see fig 3) attached to the pot body (1), wherein the door is configured to move between a door open state (see fig 3) and a door closed state (see figs 1-2) to cover or uncover the transparent window (Capodice as modified with the door of Zhan would teach a door covering the transparent window portion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the pot of Capodice with the door of Zhan with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for increased protection from sunlight and other elements as desired based on the needs of the contents of the pot.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capodice (US-11044894-B2) in view of Zhan (CN-217088624-U) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Meinig (US-2732199-A).
Regarding claim 5, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 3.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the retainer does not extend continuously along the entire perimeter of the pot body.
Meinig teaches wherein the retainer does not extend continuously along the entire perimeter of the pot body (element 10, see figs 1-2 and 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the retainer to not extent continuously along the entire perimeter as taught by Meinig with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a smaller window retaining mechanism, thereby ensuring a lighter and more concise pot construction, and allowing for easier movement of the transparent window when needed for plant removal or cleaning of the pot.
Claim(s) 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capodice (US-11044894-B2) in view of Zhan (CN-217088624-U) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon (KR-20160004412-U).
Regarding claim 14, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 1.
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the door comprises a cut-out.
Kwon teaches wherein the door (130) comprises a cut-out (131, see figs 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the plant pot with the cut out of Kwon with a reasonable expectation of success because this will allow the user to view the soil to determine water retention and root health.
Regarding claim 15, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 14.
The modified reference fails to teach further comprising a shade configured to uncover or cover the cut-out.
Kwon teaches further comprising a shade configured to uncover or cover the cut-out (shade member 133, slides on rails 132, see figs 8-9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the pot door with the shade of Kwon with a reasonable expectation of success because this will ensure the roots have periods of darkness as needed by the plant type for health and growth.
Regarding claim 16, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 15, and Kwon further teaches wherein the shade is configured to slide between a shade open state and a shade closed state to uncover or cover the cut-out (shade member 133, slides on rails 132, see figs 8-9).
Regarding claim 17, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 15, and Zhan further teaches wherein the door (3) comprises a door upper edge and a door lower edge (door 3 with top and bottom edges, see figs 1-4).
The modified reference fails to teach wherein the door lower edge comprises a door stopper to prevent sliding of the shade beyond a specific point.
Kwon teaches wherein the door comprises a door stopper to prevent sliding of the shade beyond a specific point (door stopper left rails of 132, see annotated fig 7 below).
Annotated fig 7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the door with the door stopper of Kwon with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the shade does not slide off the door and become dislodged.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the door stopper in on the lower edge of the door. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stopper for the shade to be on the lower edge of the door with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a convenient stopper location for the user, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Regarding claim 18, the modified reference teaches the plant pot of claim 15, and Kwon further teaches wherein the door comprises a second detent (indent of rails 132) to enable the shade to be positioned at a center portion of the door to cover the cut-out (see fig 7).
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the shade comprises a first detent. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to modify the shade of the above-modified reference to have a detent such as a cooperative notching on the shade to give the user tactile feedback to ensure the window is completely covered by the door, and since the Examiner takes Official Notice that providing detents for cooperating elements is exceedingly well known in the art.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Capodice (US-11044894-B2) in view of Zhan (CN-217088624-U) and Kwon (KR-20160004412-U).
Regarding claim 20, Capodice discloses a plant pot (see fig 2 and background) comprising:
a base (20) having a base upper portion (topside of base 20) and a base lower portion (lower side of base 20), wherein the base is circular in shape (see fig 1);
a pot body (61 and 30) attached to a first predefined part of a perimeter (61 attached to half of the perimeter of 20, see figs 1-2) of the base upper portion, wherein the pot body comprises a pot body top portion and a pot body bottom portion (see figs 1-2), and
wherein the pot body top portion comprises a slot (31);
a transparent window (62) attached to a second predefined part of the perimeter of the base upper portion (62 attached to half of the perimeter of 20, see figs 1-2);
wherein the transparent window (62) engages with the pot body (61) to define a housing (internal compartment 50, see fig 2) of the plant pot, and
wherein the transparent window (62) is configured to engage with the slot (31) located at the pot body top portion when the transparent window engages with the pot body (see figs 1-3).
Capodice fails to disclose a door attached to the pot body, wherein the door is configured to move between a door open state and a door closed state to cover or uncover the transparent window, wherein the door comprises a cut-out; and a shade configured to slide between a shade open state and a shade closed state to uncover or cover the cut-out, wherein the door comprises a door top portion and a door bottom portion, and wherein the door bottom portion a door stopper to prevent sliding of the shade beyond a specific point.
Zhan teaches a door (3, see fig 3) attached to the pot body (1), wherein the door is configured to move between a door open state (see fig 3) and a door closed state (see figs 1-2) to cover or uncover the transparent window (Capodice as modified with the door of Zhan would teach a door covering the transparent window portion), wherein the door (3) comprises a door top portion and a door bottom portion (door 3 with top and bottom portions, see figs 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the pot of Capodice with the door of Zhan with a reasonable expectation of success as this will allow for increased protection from sunlight and other elements as desired based on the needs of the contents of the pot.
Kwon teaches wherein the door (130) comprises a cut-out (131, see figs 8-9), wherein the shade is configured to slide between a shade open state and a shade closed state to uncover or cover the cut-out (shade member 133, slides on rails 132, see figs 8-9), wherein the door bottom portion a door stopper to prevent sliding of the shade beyond a specific point (door stopper left rails of 132, see annotated fig 7 below).
Annotated fig 7
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of
the claimed invention to have modified the door with the door stopper of Kwon with a reasonable expectation of success as this will ensure the shade does not slide off the door and become dislodged.
The modified reference teaches the claimed invention except wherein the door stopper in on the bottom edge of the door. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the stopper for the shade to be on the bottom edge of the door with a reasonable expectation of success as this will provide a convenient stopper location for the user, and since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. In re Japiske, 86 USPQ 70.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Those references cited on the attached 892 form, but not referenced in the rejection above, exhibit similarities to the present invention, particularly, Croteau (US 11006585 B2) which discloses a planting pot with a transparent window inserted into a top pot body.
/K.A.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MAGDALENA TOPOLSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642