Detailed Action
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: ROTARY COMPRESSOR AND REFRIGERATION APPARATUS WITH DRIVE SHAFT OIL PASSAGES
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JPH0718425B2 (‘425).
Claim 1: ‘425 discloses a rotary compressor (Figs. 1-4) comprising a casing (1) having an oil reservoir (14) at its bottom; a compression mechanism (4) housed in the casing; a drive shaft (6) configured to drive the compression mechanism into rotation; an oil pump (22) configured to suck up oil from the oil reservoir toward a storage space (21) provided at a lower portion of the drive shaft; a first sliding member (see Figure below) slidable on an outer circumferential surface of the drive shaft; and a second sliding member (see Figure below) slidable on the outer circumferential surface of the drive shaft, the second sliding member being spaced from the first sliding member in an axial direction (see Figure below), the drive shaft having a first oil supply passage including a first axial passage (20) configured to be offset from a center of rotation of the drive shaft in a radial direction, the first axial passage extending from the storage space in the axial direction (Fig. 2), and a first connection passage (note perpendicular connection passage at end of 20) configured to connect the first axial passage and a sliding surface of the first sliding member (Figs. 1-4), and a second oil supply passage (19) including a second axial passage configured to be offset from the center of rotation of the drive shaft in the radial direction (Fig. 2), the second axial passage extending from the storage space in the axial direction at a position spaced from the first axial passage (Figs. 1-4), and a second connection passage (note perpendicular connection passages at end of 19) configured to connect the second axial passage and a sliding surface of the second sliding member (Figs. 1-4).
Claim 2: ‘425 further discloses that the oil pump has a suction port that is open downward to suck oil (see Figs. 1-7, and at least part of an opening of each of the first axial passage and the second axial passage closer to the storage space is located radially outward of a periphery of the suction port (as can be appreciated from Fig. 1-7).
Claim 7: ‘425 further discloses that a length of the first axial passage is different from a length of the second axial passage (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH0718425B2 in view of Murphy (US 3,016,183).
Claim 9: ‘425 discloses the previous limitations but is not explicit about the refrigeration apparatus further comprising a refrigerant circuit through which a refrigerant compressed by the rotary compressor flows. However, Murphy teaches a rotary compressor in the context of a refrigerant circuit through which a refrigerant compressed by the rotary compressor flows (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the compressor of ‘425 in the circuit context taught by Murphy in order to fully utilize the compressor’s capabilities.
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamikawa (JP2015197044A) in view of JPH0718425B2.
Claim 1: Kamikawa discloses a rotary compressor (Figs. 1-5) comprising a casing (21/22a-b) having an oil reservoir (L) at its bottom; a compression mechanism (note mechanism near S1/S2) housed in the casing; a drive shaft (40) configured to drive the compression mechanism into rotation; an oil pump (80) configured to suck up oil from the oil reservoir toward a storage space (note space at bottom of 81) provided at a lower portion of the drive shaft; a first sliding member (note one of 70/56/57/60/52a/54a) slidable on an outer circumferential surface of the drive shaft; and a second sliding member (note another of 70/56/57/60/52a/54a) slidable on the outer circumferential surface of the drive shaft, the second sliding member being spaced from the first sliding member in an axial direction (Fig. 1), the drive shaft having a first oil supply passage including a first axial passage (81), the first axial passage extending from the storage space in the axial direction (Fig. 1), and a first connection passage (note perpendicular connection passages at end of 20) configured to connect the first axial passage and a sliding surface of the first sliding member (Figs. 1-4).
Kamikawa is not explicit about the first axial passage configured to be offset from a center of rotation of the drive shaft in a radial direction or a second oil supply passage including a second axial passage configured to be offset from the center of rotation of the drive shaft in the radial direction, the second axial passage extending from the storage space in the axial direction at a position spaced from the first axial passage, and a second connection passage configured to connect the second axial passage and a sliding surface of the second sliding member. However, ‘425 teaches a rotary compressor which utilizes a first oil supply passage including a first axial passage (20) configured to be offset from a center of rotation of the drive shaft in a radial direction, the first axial passage extending from the storage space in the axial direction (Fig. 2), and a first connection passage (note perpendicular connection passage at end of 20) configured to connect the first axial passage and a sliding surface of the first sliding member (Figs. 1-4), and a second oil supply passage (19) including a second axial passage configured to be offset from the center of rotation of the drive shaft in the radial direction (Fig. 2), the second axial passage extending from the storage space in the axial direction at a position spaced from the first axial passage (Figs. 1-4), and a second connection passage (note perpendicular connection passages at end of 19) configured to connect the second axial passage and a sliding surface of the second sliding member (Figs. 1-4). As incorporated into Kamikawa, a skilled artisan would be able to divide the lubricant load given to one main delivery passage and thereby provide at least a backup lubrication pathway to some of the compressor even if one of the passages becomes blocked. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the additional lubrication passages of ‘425 in the apparatus of Kamikawa in order to provide a level of redundancy in the lubrication.
Claim 3: Kamikawa and ‘425 teach the previous limitations. Kamikawa further discloses that the drive shaft includes a main shaft portion and an eccentric portion (42a/b) that is eccentric from an axis of the main shaft portion by a predetermined amount, and the rotary compressor further comprises an upper bearing member (note 56/60) slidable on an upper bearing surface of a portion of the main shaft portion above the eccentric portion; a lower bearing member (note 57/70) slidable on a lower bearing surface of a portion of the main shaft portion below the eccentric portion; and a piston (note piston near 52/54) slidable on an outer circumferential surface of the eccentric portion, the first sliding member is one of the upper bearing member, the lower bearing member, and the piston (Figs. 1-2), the second sliding member is one of the upper bearing member, the lower bearing member (Figs. 1-2), and the piston, different from the first sliding member; Kamikawa, modified by the teachings of ‘425, would further provide a first oil supply passage communicates with at least one of the upper bearing surface of the main shaft portion, the lower bearing surface of the main shaft portion, and the outer circumferential surface of the eccentric portion (Figs. 1-2), and the second oil supply passage communicates with at least one of the upper bearing surface of the main shaft portion, the lower bearing surface of the main shaft portion, and the outer circumferential surface of the eccentric portion (Figs. 1-2), that is different from the surface with which the first oil supply passage communicates (Figs. 1-2, as would be the case when incorporating the dual passages from ‘425).
Claim 4: Kamikawa and ‘425 teach the previous limitations. Kamikawa further teaches that the first oil supply passage or the second oil supply passage communicates with the lower bearing surface of the main shaft portion and the outer circumferential surface of the eccentric portion (see Figs. 1-2 of Kamikawa, as would be the case when incorporating the dual passages from ‘425).
Claim 5: Kamikawa and ‘425 teach the previous limitations. Kamikawa further teaches that the first oil supply passage or the second oil supply passage communicates with the upper bearing surface of the main shaft portion and the outer circumferential surface of the eccentric portion (see Figs. 1-2 of Kamikawa, as would be the case when incorporating the dual passages from ‘425).
Claim 6: Kamikawa and ‘425 teach the previous limitations. Kamikawa further teaches that the eccentric portion includes a first eccentric portion (42a) and a second eccentric portion (42b) spaced from the first eccentric portion in the axial direction (Fig. 1-2), the piston includes a first piston (52) slidable on an outer circumferential surface of the first eccentric portion and a second piston (54) slidable on an outer circumferential surface of the second eccentric portion; Kamikawa, as would be provided by the ‘425 teachings of multiple oil passages, further teaches a first oil supply passage communicates with the outer circumferential surface of the first eccentric portion (Figs. 1-2), and the second oil supply passage communicates with the outer circumferential surface of the second eccentric portion (Figs. 1-2).
Claim 8: Kamikawa and ‘425 teach the previous limitations. Kamikawa, as would be provided by the ‘425 teachings of multiple oil passages, further teaches that the first oil supply passage communicates with the upper bearing surface of the main shaft portion (Figs. 1-2), the second oil supply passage communicates with the lower bearing surface of the main shaft portion (Figs. 1-2), and a length of the first axial passage is longer than a length of the second axial passage (as can be appreciated from ‘425).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPH0718425B2 in view of Murphy (US 3,016,183).
Claim 9: ‘425 discloses the previous limitations but is not explicit about the refrigeration apparatus further comprising a refrigerant circuit through which a refrigerant compressed by the rotary compressor flows. However, Murphy teaches a rotary compressor in the context of a refrigerant circuit through which a refrigerant compressed by the rotary compressor flows (Fig. 1). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the invention to a skilled artisan to utilize the compressor of ‘425 in the circuit context taught by Murphy in order to fully utilize the compressor’s capabilities.
Conclusion
/NATHAN C ZOLLINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746