DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 20, last line, there is no antecedent basis for “The back panel” as well as in claim 22, line 2 Claims 21 and 22 are unclear and indefinite for the same reasons as in claim 20 since claims 21 and 22 depend from claim 20.
In claim 23, line 8, there is no antecedent basis for “the chest area” and in line 11,, for “the back area”. Claims 24 and 25 are rejected for the same reasons as in claim 23 since claims 24 and 25, depend from and therefore include the language of claim 23.
The claims, as best understood, have been examined on their merits.
Double Patenting
Claims 20 -23 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12557859 . Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of the present application and claim 1 of the parent U.S> Patent Number 12 557 857 both claim the garment comprising a front panel configured to cover a chest area of a human torso, including a first layer forming an outer surface of the garment, a second layer forming an inner surface of the garment, a pair of removable front cooling pads place between the first and second layer and wherein each of the removable front cooling pads includes a foam layer and wherein the front cooling pads includes a foam layer and wherein the front cooling layer is attached to the foam layer and wherein the front cooling layer is attached to the foam layer wherein a base support band is configured to encircle the human torso; and a shoulder strap extending from the front panel to the back panel. New claim 200 does not clearly claim the details of “The back panel” and only claims that a “The back panel” is included therein but without details but includes the presence of “The back panel” to cause a double patenting issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticipated by Kilbey (US 2020/0393205 A1).
In regard to claim 1 Kilbey discloses a garment 10 in figure 1 comprising a front panel 18 and 20, configured to cover a chest area of a human torso in figure 1 including a first layer 18,20 forming an outer surface of the garment and a second layer forming an inner surface 58 in para. (0115) and in fig.4 of the garment; a pair of removable front cooling pads 62 in fig. 5 and para. (0116) placed between the first and second layer, wherein each of the removable front cooling pads 78 in fig. 7, at 78 are placed between the first and second layer, wherein each of the removable front cooling pads 78 in fig. 7 and para. ()122) is configured to cover a portion of a breast pad wherein each of the removable cooling pads 78 includes a front cooling layer facing the chest area and a cut away corner as in fig. 7 to best fit the breast area by the shoulder straps14,16 in fig. 1, each of the front cooling pads as in fig. 10, includes a foam layer 92 in fig. 10 and para. ()127) and wherein the front cooling layer 62 is attached to the foam layer 92, wherein a base support band 48 in figure 1, as broadly claimed, is configured to encircle the human torso; and a shoulder strap 14,16 in fig. 1 extending from the front panel 20to the back panel 28 in fig. 1.
IN regard to claim 21, Kilbey discloses the garment 10 as in claim 20 and further wherein the first panel 20 in para. (107) further comprises an opening 28 located adjacent to a side edge(not numbered- along 28) in fig. 1 of the front panels 18, 20 in figure 1 and wherein each of the pair of removable front cooling pads at 82 in fig. 8 and side opening on right side of vest-( not numbered), is configured to be inserted into and removed from the front panel through the opening. IN regard to claim 22, Kilbey discloses the garment of claim 21 and further wherein the back panel comprises a back opening(in fig. 7 on right side of vest near 80- not numbered., and wherein the at least one back cooling pad 78 is configured to be removable inserted into the back panel 82 in figure 8, through the back opening in fig. 8 to right of 82, not numbered.
In regard to claim 23 Kilbey discless a method of assembling a cooling garment 10 comprising providing a garment body 18, 20 comprising a front panel having a first layer 18 and a second layer 32, and a back panel at 10 in fig. 1, configured to cover a back area of a human torso; inserting a pair of removable front cooling pads 62 between the first layer and the second layer of the front panel through an opening located under an armhole 28 of the garment body; positioning each of the pair of removable front cooling pads at 78 in fig. 7, to cover a portion of a breast area, wherein each of the removable front cooling pads includes a front cooling layer facing the chest area, and removably attaching two back cooling pads to the back panel at 82 in fig. 8 such that the two back cooling pads 82,84 in fig. 8, are separated by a back cutout defined by the back panel, wherein each of the two back cooling pads includes a back cooling layer facing the back area as in fig. 8.
In regard to claim 24, Kilbey discloses the method of claim 23 and further wherein the opening is located near a side edge of the front panel in fig. 8 to the right of ref. 84.,
In regard to claim 25, Kilbey discloses the method of claim 23 and further wherein removably attaching the two back cooling pads 82 comprises inserting the two back cooling pads 82 in fig. 8, between a shell layer and a middle layer on the back panel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GLORIA M HALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732