DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-30 are pending.
Claims 16 and 26 are amended.
Claims 1-30 are the subject of this Office Action
The following Office Action is in response to Applicant’s communication dated 07/01/2026. Rejection(s) and/or objection(s) not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejection(s) and/or objection(s) are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be free from the prior art if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Maintained Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Diehn et al.
Claims 1-12, 14-25, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Diehn et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0392387 A1, of record).
Regarding claims 1, 7-8, 16, and 22-23, Diehn discloses a method comprising:
performing whole exome sequencing or whole genome sequencing on nucleic acids derived from a tumor biopsy sample of the subject (e.g., in creating a ‘personalized selector’ set of tumor-specific mutations to measure/monitor as per Example 2 and/or ¶0264, ¶0273, and/or ¶0728, which may be done via whole exome genome or whole exome sequencing as per ¶0274) to identify a plurality of tumor biopsy-specific SNVs (e.g., as per ¶0234, “[t]he selector set may comprise information pertaining to a plurality of genomic regions comprising 25, 30, 35, 40,45, 50, 55, 60, 65,70,75, 80, 85, 90, 95,100,110,120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, 200 or more mutations present in at least one subject suffering from a cancer”);
selectively enriching or amplifying a plurality of target loci together in the same reaction volume from cell-free DNA derived from a blood, plasma, serum, or urine sample of the subject (e.g., as per ¶¶0698-0699 and/or ¶0733 and/or Example 2) to generate selectively enriched or amplified DNA, wherein 50 to 2,000 of the target loci encompass tumor biopsy-specific SNVs identified in the tumor biopsy sample of the same subject (e.g., as per ¶0234, “[t]he selector set may comprise information pertaining to a plurality of genomic regions comprising 25, 30, 35, 40,45, 50, 55, 60, 65,70,75, 80, 85, 90, 95,100,110,120, 130, 140, 150, 160, 170, 180, 190, 200 or more mutations present in at least one subject suffering from a cancer”);
sequencing the selectively enriched or amplified DNA (e.g., sequencing the enriched DNA as per ¶0699 and/or Example 2 and/or ¶¶0732-0733) and generating sequence reads with a depth of read of at least 10,000 per target locus (e.g., ~10,000X as per Fig. 2B, 2C, and/or 5B), and identifying one or more of the tumor biopsy-specific SNVs in the sequence reads (e.g., “allowing the tracking and quantitation of those mutations originally discovered in the primary tumor” as per Example 2); and
wherein the method identifies a tumor biopsy-specific variant present in the first nucleic acid sample or the second nucleic acid sample at a limit of detection of less than or equal to 0.015% (e.g., as per ¶0471, ¶0733, and/or Fig. 5A).
Regarding claims 2 and 17, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the tumor biopsy sample of the subject is from a solid tumor (e.g., as per ¶0014).
Regarding claims 3 and 18, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the tumor biopsy sample of the subject is a tumor tissue sample (e.g., tissue biopsy as per ¶0691).
Regarding claims 4 and 19, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the cell-free DNA comprises circulating tumor DNA (e.g., as per ¶0692 and/or ¶0733 and/or Example 2).
Regarding claims 5 and 20, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the tumor biopsy-specific SNVs comprise clonal SNVs (e.g., as per ¶0273, ¶0281, and/or Example 1).
Regarding claims 6 and 21, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the method further comprises determining clonal heterogeneity of the tumor biopsy sample (e.g., as per ¶0273, ¶0281, and/or Example 1).
Regarding claims 9 and 24, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the method further comprises designing PCR primers or hybrid capture probes targeting the tumor biopsy-specific SNVs identified in the tumor biopsy sample of the subject, and selectively enriching or amplifying the target loci using the PCR primers or hybrid capture probes (e.g., as per ¶0273, ¶0728, and/or Example 2).
Regarding claims 10 and 25, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the method further comprises performing barcoding PCR prior to the sequencing (e.g., as per ¶0123).
Regarding claims 11 and 27, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the sequencing step generates sequence reads with a depth of read of at least 10,000 to 50,000 per target locus (e.g., as per Fig. 2B and/or 2C).
Regarding claim 12, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the method is capable of identifying one or more tumor biopsy-specific SNVs in the sequence reads at a limit of detection of less than or equal to 0.015% (e.g., as per ¶0471 and/or ¶0733).
Regarding claims 14 and 29, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the method further comprises determining recurrence and/or metastases of the cancer from the one or more tumor biopsy-specific SNVs identified in the sequence reads (e.g., as per ¶0018 and/or ¶0147).
Regarding claims 15 and 30, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the cancer is colorectal cancer, lung cancer, bladder cancer, or breast cancer (e.g., as per ¶0029 and/or ¶0065).
Regarding claim 28, Diehn discloses the above, wherein the method identifies one or more tumor biopsy-specific SNVs in the sequence reads at a limit of detection of less than or equal to 0.005% (e.g., as per ¶0471 and/or ¶0733).
***
Response to Arguments
The 07/01/2026 remarks argue: not all elements are taught.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for at least the following reasons.
Specifically, the remarks at pages 6-7 assert that “Diehn fails to teach or suggest the claimed combination, including tumor-informed identification of 50 to 2,000 tumor biopsy-specific SNVs followed by selective enrichment of corresponding cell free DNA loci” because the reference allegedly “repeatedly criticizes the prior art for being patient- specific and for requiring a personalized assay to be designed for each patient.”
This is not persuasive, at least because Diehn does not discourage the use of a personalized selector set, but rather instruct how to apply its use in their method. Example 2 states, inter alia, “[t]he personalized selector would then be applied for capture of the fragments of interest, sequenced and analyzed in the same manner as the 'off-the-shelf' CAPP-Seq workflow, allowing the tracking and quantitation of those mutations originally discovered in the primary tumor within the corresponding cfDNA”).
Furthermore, assuming, arguendo, that this were a nonpreferred embodiment (with which the Examiner does not agree), as per MPEP § 2123, a reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art, including nonpreferred embodiments. See Merck & Co. v. Biocraft Labs., Inc. 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989), which states “[t]hat the [prior art] discloses a multitude of effective combinations does not render any particular formulation less obvious. This is especially true because the claimed composition is used for the identical purpose taught by the prior art.”
Further, Applicant points to embodiments of Diehn not relied on in the rejection (e.g., ¶¶0771-0773) to assert that “[t]hose population-selector disclosures may describe recurrent regions useful for a broad CAPP-Seq platform, but they do not disclose selecting 50 to 2,000 tumor biopsy-specific SNVs identified by WES or WGS in the tumor biopsy sample of the same subject.” At least because Applicant is relying on an embodiment not used in the rejection, and there is no indication that it would be relevant to the embodiments that are relied on, such arguments are not persuasive.
Next, the remarks contend that “Diehn does not disclose ‘generating sequence reads with a depth of read of at least 10,000 per target locus,’ as recited in claim 1” and that “Diehn's disclosure can at most incidentally include some values of 10,000 reads, but it is not clear whether the 10,000 reads are per target locus”. The remarks acknowledge that Diehn discusses in several locations sequencing read depths of at least 10,000x for the targeted loci, but allege that these discussions in are strictly for non-personalized selector sets. This has been fully considered but is not persuasive at least because Diehn is clear about the sequencing and analysis being the same, whether the selector set is for personalized or off-the-shelf sets (e.g., as per Example 2, Diehn discloses that assays using personalized selector sets are to be “sequenced and analyzed in the same manner as the ‘off-the-shelf’ CAPP-Seq workflow”).
New Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 103
Necessitated by Amendments
Diehn et al. and Schmitt et al.
Claims 1-12 and 14-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Diehn et al. (U.S. PGPub 2024/0392387 A1, of record) in view of Schmitt et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci., 2012, 109(36):14508-14513) and/or Kinde et al. (Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci., 2011, 108(23):9530-9535).
Diehn is relied on as above, for claims 1-12, 14-25, and 27-30.
However, it is noted that the Diehn reference does not explicitly disclose the limitation of obtaining sequence reads with a depth of read of 20,000x per target locus for at least 100 of the target loci, as set forth in claim 26. However, Applicant is directed to In re Aller, Lacey, and Hall, 105 USPQ 233 (C.C.P.A. 1955), where the court found "More particularly, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." Routine optimization is not considered inventive and no evidence has been presented that the selection of at least 20,000x sequencing depth was other than routine or that the results should be considered unexpected in any way as compared to the closest prior art. In support of this, it is noted that Schmitt (e.g., as per the Mutant Recovery section on p. 14511) and Kinde (e.g., as per Table 1), both of which are drawn to detection of ultra-rare mutants through high-throughput sequencing, each disclose sequencing depths in the claimed range.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to perform the next-generation sequencing in Diehn using the sequencing read depths as per Kinde and/or Schmitt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so since increasing of sequencing depth was known to increase sensitivity of detecting ultra-rate mutations. Further, as per MPEP 2143(I)(A), the rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. In the instant case, all of the elements of increasing sequencing depth for detection of rare mutations were well known in the art, as per Diehn, Kinde, and Schmitt, the mere combining of the individual elements in one embodiment in the manner of the claimed invention results in no change in the elements respective functions, and the combination yields nothing more than predictable results.
***
Response to Arguments
The 07/01/2026 remarks argue: not all elements are taught.
Note that the rejections have been modified to address the newly amended claim 26.
Maintained Non-Statutory Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
U.S. 17/692,469
Claims 1-12 and 14-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 16-38 of copending Application No. 17/692,469 (the ‘469 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rejected claims of the present invention would be anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the subject matter in the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-12 and 14-30, the claims of the ‘469 application disclose a method comprising selectively enriching and barcoding 100 to 100,000 target loci from a cfDNA sample (from blood, serum, plasma, or urine) comprising ctDNA which span 100 to 100,000 tumor-specific variants previously identified from a solid tumor biopsy from the subject, sequencing to a read depth of 20,000x to 500,000x, and identifying the tumor-specific variants and with a LOD less than or equal to 0.015% (e.g., as per claims of the ‘469 application).
***
Applicant’s Response
The 07/01/2026 reply includes Applicant’s response to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of record: “Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections and requests that the Office hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance until such time as the claims at issue are deemed otherwise allowable. If any double patenting concern remains at that time, Applicant will address it at the appropriate time.”
This request is not the filing of a terminal disclaimer, or filing of a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, as the required response in accordance with MPEP 804 I.B.1.
Applicant’s request is expressly contrary to MPEP 804 I.B.1. (see also MPEP 714.03 and 37 C.F.R. 1.111).
U.S. 19/327,573
Claims 1-12 and 14-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 23-50 of copending Application No. 19/327,573 (the ‘573 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rejected claims of the present invention would be anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the subject matter in the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-12 and 14-30, the claims of the ‘573 application disclose a method comprising selectively enriching and barcoding 100 to 100,000 target loci from a cfDNA sample (from blood, serum, plasma, or urine) comprising ctDNA which span 100 to 100,000 tumor-specific variants previously identified from a solid tumor biopsy from the subject, sequencing to a read depth of 20,000x to 500,000x, and identifying the tumor-specific variants and with a LOD less than or equal to 0.015% (e.g., as per claims of the ‘753 application).
***
Applicant’s Response
The 07/01/2026 reply includes Applicant’s response to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of record: “Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections and requests that the Office hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance until such time as the claims at issue are deemed otherwise allowable. If any double patenting concern remains at that time, Applicant will address it at the appropriate time.”
This request is not the filing of a terminal disclaimer, or filing of a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, as the required response in accordance with MPEP 804 I.B.1.
Applicant’s request is expressly contrary to MPEP 804 I.B.1. (see also MPEP 714.03 and 37 C.F.R. 1.111).
U.S. 19/410,320
Claims 1-30 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of copending Application No. 19/410,320 (the ‘320 application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rejected claims of the present invention would be anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the subject matter in the claims of the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding claims 1-30, the claims of the ‘320 application disclose a method comprising selectively enriching and barcoding 100 to 100,000 target loci from a cfDNA sample (from blood, serum, plasma, or urine) comprising ctDNA which span 100 to 100,000 tumor-specific variants previously identified from a solid tumor biopsy from the subject, sequencing to a read depth of 20,000x to 500,000x, and identifying the tumor-specific variants and with a LOD less than or equal to 0.015% (e.g., as per claims of the ‘320 application).
***
Applicant’s Response
The 07/01/2026 reply includes Applicant’s response to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of record: “Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections and requests that the Office hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance until such time as the claims at issue are deemed otherwise allowable. If any double patenting concern remains at that time, Applicant will address it at the appropriate time.”
This request is not the filing of a terminal disclaimer, or filing of a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, as the required response in accordance with MPEP 804 I.B.1.
Applicant’s request is expressly contrary to MPEP 804 I.B.1. (see also MPEP 714.03 and 37 C.F.R. 1.111).
U.S. 11,530,454 B2
Claims 1-12 and 14-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-28 of U.S. Patent No. 11,530,454 B2 (the ‘454 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rejected claims of the present invention would be anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the subject matter in the claims of the reference patent.
Regarding claims 1-12 and 14-30, the claims of the ‘454 patent disclose a method comprising selectively enriching and barcoding 100 to 100,000 target loci from a cfDNA sample (from blood, serum, plasma, or urine) comprising ctDNA which span 100 to 100,000 tumor-specific variants previously identified from a solid tumor biopsy from the subject, sequencing to a read depth of 20,000x to 500,000x, and identifying the tumor-specific variants and with a LOD less than or equal to 0.015% (e.g., as per claims of the ‘454 patent).
***
Applicant’s Response
The 07/01/2026 reply includes Applicant’s response to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of record: “Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections and requests that the Office hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance until such time as the claims at issue are deemed otherwise allowable. If any double patenting concern remains at that time, Applicant will address it at the appropriate time.”
This request is not the filing of a terminal disclaimer, or filing of a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, as the required response in accordance with MPEP 804 I.B.1.
Applicant’s request is expressly contrary to MPEP 804 I.B.1. (see also MPEP 714.03 and 37 C.F.R. 1.111).
U.S. 12,492,429 B2
Claims 1-12 and 14-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-22 of U.S. Patent No. 12,492,429 B2 (the ‘429 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rejected claims of the present invention would be anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the subject matter in the claims of the reference patent.
Regarding claims 1-12 and 14-30, the claims of the ‘429 patent disclose a method comprising selectively enriching and barcoding 100 to 100,000 target loci from a cfDNA sample (from blood, serum, plasma, or urine) comprising ctDNA which span 100 to 100,000 tumor-specific variants previously identified from a solid tumor biopsy from the subject, sequencing to a read depth of 20,000x to 500,000x, and identifying the tumor-specific variants and with a LOD less than or equal to 0.015% (e.g., as per claims of the ‘429 patent).
***
Applicant’s Response
The 07/01/2026 reply includes Applicant’s response to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of record: “Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections and requests that the Office hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance until such time as the claims at issue are deemed otherwise allowable. If any double patenting concern remains at that time, Applicant will address it at the appropriate time.”
This request is not the filing of a terminal disclaimer, or filing of a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, as the required response in accordance with MPEP 804 I.B.1.
Applicant’s request is expressly contrary to MPEP 804 I.B.1. (see also MPEP 714.03 and 37 C.F.R. 1.111).
U.S. 12,203,142 B2
Claims 1-12 and 14-30 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-30 of U.S. Patent No. 12,203,142 B2 (the ‘142 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rejected claims of the present invention would be anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the subject matter in the claims of the reference patent.
Regarding claims 1-12 and 14-30, the claims of the ‘142 patent disclose a method comprising selectively enriching and barcoding 100 to 100,000 target loci from a cfDNA sample (from blood, serum, plasma, or urine) comprising ctDNA which span 100 to 100,000 tumor-specific variants previously identified from a solid tumor biopsy from the subject, sequencing to a read depth of 20,000x to 500,000x, and identifying the tumor-specific variants and with a LOD less than or equal to 0.015% (e.g., as per claims of the ‘142 patent).
***
Applicant’s Response
The 07/01/2026 reply includes Applicant’s response to the nonstatutory double patenting rejection of record: “Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections and requests that the Office hold the double patenting rejections in abeyance until such time as the claims at issue are deemed otherwise allowable. If any double patenting concern remains at that time, Applicant will address it at the appropriate time.”
This request is not the filing of a terminal disclaimer, or filing of a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, as the required response in accordance with MPEP 804 I.B.1.
Applicant’s request is expressly contrary to MPEP 804 I.B.1. (see also MPEP 714.03 and 37 C.F.R. 1.111).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684