DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: There is no transitional phrase such as “further comprising” or “wherein”, etc. separating the preamble from the body of the claim, in contrast with the format of all other currently pending claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 12,575,290. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because independent Claim 1 of the instant application is a broader version of Claim 5 of the parent ‘290 patent, as shown in the table below with any differences underlined.
Instant application
US Patent 12,575,290
Comments
Claim 1: A display panel, comprising:
a first base substrate;
a light-emitting unit array and a color control unit array, the color control unit array being located on a side of the light-emitting unit array away from the first base substrate, and color control units in the color control unit array correspond to light-emitting units in the light-emitting unit array; and
a first package structure located between the light-emitting unit array and the color control unit array, the first package structure being configured to package the light-emitting unit array, and the color control units being in contact with the first package structure;
wherein
at least part of the light-emitting units are provided with diaphragm structures corresponding to the light-emitting units, the diaphragm structures being located between the light-emitting units and the color control units, and each diaphragm structure being provided with a light passing portion therein; and
an orthographic projection of the light passing portion on the first base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit, corresponding to the light passing portion, on the first base substrate.
Claim 1: A display panel, comprising:
a first base substrate;
a light-emitting unit array and a color control unit array, the color control unit array being located on a side of the light-emitting unit array away from the first base substrate, and the color control units in the color control unit array correspond to light-emitting units in the light-emitting unit array one to one;
at least part of the light-emitting units are provided with diaphragm structures corresponding to the light-emitting units one to one, the diaphragm structures being located between the light-emitting units and the color control units, and each diaphragm structure being provided with a light passing portion therein;
an orthographic projection of the light passing portion on the first base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit, corresponding to the light passing portion, on the first base substrate, and an area of the orthographic projection of the light passing portion on the first base substrate is smaller than an area of the orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit, corresponding to the light passing portion, on the first base substrate;
each of the diaphragm structures is configured to block light emitted by the light-emitting unit corresponding thereto and directed to the color control units not corresponding to the light-emitting unit, and to allow part of light emitted by the light-emitting unit and directed to the color control unit corresponding to the light-emitting unit to be transmitted at the light passing portion corresponding to the light-emitting unit,
wherein
the display panel further comprises a second package structure, a color filter pattern array and a third package structure sequentially located on a side of the color control units away from the first base substrate, and the third package structure is configured to package a surface of the color filter pattern array away from the base substrate and side surfaces of the color filter pattern array.
Claim 5: The display panel of any one of claim 1, further comprising:
a first package structure located between the light-emitting unit array and the color control unit array the first package structure being configured to package the light-emitting unit array;
the color control units are in contact with the first package structure.
All the limitations recited in Claim 1 of the instant application are recited in Claim 1 of the parent ‘290 patent, except for the limitations in lines 7-10 of Claim 1 of the instant application regarding the first package structure. However, all the limitations in lines 7-10 of Claim 1 of the instant application are recited in Claim 5 of the parent ‘290 patent, and therefore Claim 1 of the instant application is a broader version of Claim 5 of the parent ‘290 patent.
Accordingly, as shown in the table above, Claim 1 of the instant application is a broader version of Claim 5 of the parent ‘290 patent, and therefore, Claim 1 of the instant application is not patentably distinct from Claim 5 of the parent ‘290 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the color filter pattern array" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner respectfully suggests either amending it to be --a
Claims 11-12 are rejected due to their dependence on indefinite Claim 10.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the display panel" in line 6 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since it is unclear if this is referring to the display panel as a whole defined in the preamble of the claim, or to the second display panel, rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. Due to the recitation in Claim 13 of “a second display panel”, the preambles of Claims 14-20 which recite “The display panel…” also lack proper antecedent basis and are rejected for the same reason. Additionally, it is noted that line 4 of Claim 13 recites the limitation “the second display substrate” which also lacks proper antecedent basis.
For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has assumed that the “second display substrate” recite in line 4 of Claim 13 is referring to the “second display panel” defined in line 1 of the claim, and so the Examiner respectfully suggests amending line 2 of Claim 13 to recite --a second display substrate
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the orthographic projection of the light passing portion" in lines 1-2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since the only orthographic projection(s) defined in Claim 13 and intervening Claims 14-16 are those of the black matrix and diaphragm structures in Claim 13. The Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --an
Claim 17 recites the limitation "the orthographic projection of each light-emitting unit" in line 4 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since the only orthographic projection(s) defined in Claim 13 and intervening Claims 14-16 are those of the black matrix and diaphragm structures in Claim 13. The Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --an
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the diaphragm structure" in line 1 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, since it is unclear if this is referring to a specific one of the diaphragm structures, or to each of the diaphragm structures, rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner has treated the claim as referring to all of the diaphragm structures, and so the Examiner respectfully suggests amending it to be --the diaphragm structures are-- for more clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (US 2021/0005672, hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a display panel (a display substrate 10 and a color conversion substrate 30 are assembled together to form a display panel of a display device 1; see Figs. 1-14; Abstract; para. [0077]-[0085], [0093]-[0096], [0105]-[0106]), comprising a first base substrate (first base substrate 110; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0106]-[0110]); a light-emitting unit array (a plurality of light emitting elements ED, including a first light emitting element ED1, a second light emitting element ED2, and a third light emitting element ED3, form an array of lighting elements corresponding to light emission regions LA1-LA6 of a display area DA of the display substrate 10 of the display device 1; see Figs. 1-8; para. [0088]-[0107], [0120]-[0129], [0163]-[0165], [0176], [0179]-[0191]) and a color control unit array (the color conversion substrate 30 comprises wavelength conversion patterns 330 and 340 and a light transmission pattern 350 which define a color control unit array above the light emitting elements ED; see Figs. 5, 9-13; para. [0081]-[0085], [0139], [0152], [0158]-[0192]), the color control unit array being located on a side of the light-emitting unit array away from the first base substrate (see Figs. 5, 13; para. [0081]-[0085], [0139], [0152]), and color control units in the color control unit array correspond to light-emitting units in the light-emitting unit array (see Figs. 5, 9-13; para. [0139], [0152], [0158]-[0192]); and a first package structure located between the light-emitting unit array and the color control unit array, the first package structure being configured to package the light-emitting unit array (a thin film encapsulation layer 170, which includes a first encapsulation inorganic layer 171, an encapsulation organic layer 173, and a second encapsulation inorganic layer 175 sequentially stacked, is provided on the cathode layer CE of the light-emitting units ED to package the light-emitting units; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0130]-[0135]), and the color control units being in contact with the first package structure (an optional filling layer 70 can be omitted, which would put the color control units (330, 340, 350) in contact with the second encapsulation inorganic layer 175 of the first package structure 170; see Fig. 5; par. [0085]); wherein at least part of the light-emitting units are provided with diaphragm structures corresponding to the light-emitting units, the diaphragm structures being located between the light-emitting units and the color control units, and each diaphragm structure being provided with a light passing portion therein (a panel light blocking member 190 forms a diaphragm layer positioned between the light-emitting units ED and the color control units (330, 340, 350), with portions (i.e., diaphragm structures) defining light passing openings through which light from each corresponding light-emitting unit is transmitted towards the corresponding color control unit, the diaphragm structures arranged to surround each of the light-emission regions LA1-LA6 to prevent light interference between adjacent light emission regions which might cause color mixture, to thereby improve color reproducibility; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0135]-[0137], [0159]); and an orthographic projection of the light passing portion on the first base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-emitting unit, corresponding to the light passing portion, on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Lee discloses the display panel further comprising a first pixel defining layer provided with an array of first pixel accommodating holes, the first pixel accommodating holes correspond to the light-emitting units in the light-emitting array, and the light-emitting units are located in the first pixel accommodating holes corresponding to the light-emitting units (a pixel defining layer 150 provided with an array of accommodating holes corresponding to the light-emitting units ED, with each of the individual light-emitting units ED1, ED2, ED3 located in an associated accommodating hole; see Figs. 5, 12; para. [0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 3, Lee discloses the display panel further comprising a second pixel defining layer provided with an array of second pixel accommodating holes, the second pixel accommodating holes correspond to the color control units in the color control unit array, and the color control units in the color control unit array are located in the second pixel accommodating holes corresponding to the color control units (partition walls 400 define another pixel defining layer provided with an array of accommodating holes corresponding to each of the color control units (330, 340, 350) which are distributed therein; see Figs. 5, 12-14; para. [0117], [0139]-[0145], [0150], [0153]-[0160], [0192], [0194]-[0195], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0203]-[0207])
Regarding claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the orthographic projection of the light passing portion on the first base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the color control unit, corresponding to the light passing portion, on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 5), the orthographic projection of each light-emitting unit on the first base substrate is located within the orthographic projection of the color control unit, corresponding to the light-emitting unit, on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 5), and the orthographic projection of each light-passing portion on the first base substrate is located within the orthographic projection of each light-emitting unit on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Lee discloses the display panel further comprising a diaphragm layer, the diaphragm layer comprising the plurality of diaphragm structures corresponding to the light-emitting units (a panel light blocking member 190 forms a diaphragm layer positioned between the light-emitting units ED and the color control units (330, 340, 350), with portions (i.e., diaphragm structures) defining light passing openings through which light from each corresponding light-emitting unit is transmitted towards the corresponding color control unit, the diaphragm structures arranged to surround each of the light emission regions LA1-LA6 to prevent light interference between adjacent light emission regions which might cause color mixture, to thereby improve color reproducibility; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0135]-[0137], [0159]), and the light passing portions in the diaphragm structures are light passing holes (see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0135]-[0137], [0159]); an orthographic projection of the diaphragm layer on the first base substrate completely covers an orthographic projection of the first pixel defining layer 150 on the first base substrate (as shown in Figs. 5, 12), and covers an orthographic projection of the second pixel defining layer 400 on the first base substrate (as shown in Figs. 5, 12).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the display panel further comprising a second package structure located between the color control unit array and a color filter pattern array, and configured to package at least part of the color control units in the color control unit array (an array of color filters 231, 232, 233 which correspond respectively to the color control units 330, 340, 350 in the color control unit array are disposed on an upper side of a first capping layer 391 which covers the color filters to form a second package structure which is sandwiched between the color control unit array (330, 340, 350) and the color filter pattern array (231, 232, 233); see Figs. 5, 9-13; para. [0139]-[0153], [0176], [0195], [0197]-[0200]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the display panel further comprising a third package structure located on a side of the color filter pattern away from the first base substrate and configured to package the color filter pattern array (a second base substrate 310 is located on an opposite side of the color filter pattern array (231, 232, 233) from the first base substrate 110, and packages the color filter pattern array from above; see Figs. 5, 12-14; para. [0139]-[0145], [0151], [0154], [0156], [0195]-[0196], [0199]-[0200], [0203]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0005672). The teachings of Lee have been discussed above.
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches wherein the second pixel defining layer has a thickness thicker than a thickness of each of the diaphragm structures (the height/thickness of the second pixel defining layer 400, including the sum of the heights of both the first partition layer 410 and the second partition layer 420, is greater than that of each of the diaphragm structures of the diaphragm layer 190; see Fig. 5; para. [0067], [0160], [0197], [0203]-[0204], [0207]).
However, the teachings of Lee fail to specifically disclose the thickness of the second pixel defining layer is three times the thickness of each of the diaphragm structures of more.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Lee by forming the second pixel defining layer to have a thickness that is three times the thickness of each of the diaphragm structures or more, since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In this case, modifying the known display panel of Lee by forming the second pixel defining layer to have a thickness that is three times the thickness of each of the diaphragm structures or more, or any other suitable thickness would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to ensure the regions partitioned by the second pixel defining layer have a suitable volume to ensure an optimum amount of light is emitted from the color conversion unit array.
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches wherein the diaphragm structures are located between the first package structure and the second pixel defining layer (the diaphragm structures 190 are located between the first package structure 170 and the second pixel defining layer 400, as shown in Fig. 5).
However, the teachings of Lee fail to disclose or fairly suggest the diaphragm structures are in contact with the second pixel defining layer and the color control units.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Lee by arranging the diaphragm structures to be in contact with the second pixel defining layer and the color control units, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181. F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, modifying the known display panel of Lee by arranging the diaphragm structures to be in contact with the second pixel defining layer and the color control units would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to enable the entire filling layer to be in contact with the first package structure and better adhere the first package structure to the color control unit array while maintaining the ability of the diaphragm structures to block light emitted directly towards the diaphragm structures by the light-emitting units and prevent color mixing.
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches wherein the first package structure comprises a first inorganic package layer (first encapsulation inorganic layer 171; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0131]-[0132]) and an organic package layer which is located on a side of the first inorganic package layer away from the first base substrate and is in contact with the first inorganic package layer (encapsulation organic layer 173; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0131]-[0133]).
However, the teachings of Lee fail to disclose or fairly suggest the diaphragm structures are located between the first inorganic package layer and the organic package layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Lee by arranging the diaphragm structures between the first inorganic package layer and the organic package layer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181. F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, modifying the known display panel of Lee by arranging the diaphragm structures between the first inorganic package layer and the organic package layer rather than on top of the first package structure would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to enable the entire filling layer to be in contact with the first package structure and better adhere the first package structure to the color control unit array while maintaining the ability of the diaphragm structures to block light emitted directly towards the diaphragm structures by the light-emitting units and prevent color mixing.
Claims 7 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2021/0005672) in view of Joo et al. (US 2020/0365833, hereinafter “Joo”).
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the display panel further comprising a color filter pattern array (an array of color filters 231, 232, 233 which correspond respectively to the color control units 330, 340, 350 in the color control unit array are disposed on an upper side of a first capping layer 391 which covers the color filters to form a second package structure which is sandwiched between the color control unit array (330, 340, 350) and the color filter pattern array (231, 232, 233); see Figs. 5, 9-13; para. [0139]-[0153], [0176], [0195], [0197]-[0200]).
However, the teachings of Lee fail to disclose or fairly suggest a black matrix, wherein an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate is located within orthographic projections of the diaphragm structures on the first base substrate.
Joo teaches a display panel (display panel DP; see Figs. 1-4B; Abstract; para. [0043]-[0049], [0051], [0053], [0059]-[0060], [0068], [0085]-[0091], [0097]-[0098], [0124]-[0126]), comprising a first base substrate (first base substrate BS1; see Figs. 3B-4A; para. [0060]-[0061], [0090]); a light-emitting unit array (a display element layer DP-LED which includes a light emitting element LED that can be various display elements, including a plurality of LEDs; see Figs. 3B-4A; para. [0059]-[0060], [0064]-[0066], [0080]-[0082], [0084], [0087]-[0088], [0090], [0094]-[0095], [0098]) and a color control unit array (a light control layer CCL which includes a first light control part CCP1, a second light control part CCP2, and a third light control part CCP3; see Figs. 4A-4B; para. [0090], [0098]-[0118], [0121]-[0123]), the color control unit array being located on a side of the light-emitting unit array away from the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 4A), and color control units in the color control unit array correspond to light-emitting units in the light-emitting unit array (see Fig. 4A; para. [0064], [0090], [0098]-[0118], [0121]-[0123]); wherein at least part of the light-emitting units are provided with diaphragm structures corresponding to the light-emitting units, the diaphragm structures being located between the light-emitting units and the color control units, and each diaphragm structure being provided with a light passing portion therein (a light shield pattern BP having a plurality of structures corresponding with the light-emitting units (electrodes EL1, EL2, etc.) of the light-emitting unit array DP-LED; see Figs. 3B-4A; para. [0064], [0083]-[0087], [0097], [0128]-[0130], [0136]); the display panel further comprising a black matrix and a color filter pattern array (a light shield member BM which includes an organic light shielding material such as a black pigment or dye is disposed to overlap adjacent color filter parts CF-B, CF-G, and CF-R within a color filter layer CFL; see Figs. 4A-4B; para. [0090], [0124]-[0126], [0129]), wherein an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate is located within orthographic projections of the diaphragm structures on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 4A).
Therefore, in view of Joo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Lee by providing a black matrix arranged such that an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate is located within orthographic projections of the diaphragm structures on the first base substrate. One would have been motivated to modify the known display panel of Lee by providing a black matrix arranged such that an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate is located within orthographic projections of the diaphragm structures on the first base substrate, as taught by Joo, in order to prevent a light leakage phenomenon and provide the boundary between the adjacent color filter parts (see Joo, par. [0129] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 13, Lee teaches a display panel, comprising a first display substrate and a second display substrate, which are aligned and assembled together (a display substrate 10 and a color conversion substrate 30 are assembled together to form a display panel of a display device 1; see Figs. 1-14; Abstract; para. [0077]-[0085], [0093]-[0096], [0105]-[0106]), wherein the first display substrate comprises a first base substrate (first base substrate 110; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0106]-[0110]) and a light-emitting unit array on the first base substrate (a plurality of light emitting elements ED, including a first light emitting element ED1, a second light emitting element ED2, and a third light emitting element ED3, form an array of lighting elements corresponding to light emission regions LA1-LA6 of a display area DA of the display substrate 10 of the display device 1; see Figs. 1-8; para. [0088]-[0107], [0120]-[0129], [0163]-[0165], [0176], [0179]-[0191]), and the second display substrate comprises a second base substrate (the second (color conversion) substrate 30 comprises a second base substrate 310; see Figs. 5, 9-14; para. [0139]-[0142], [0145], [0151], [0154], [0156], [0195]-[0196], [0199]-[0200]), and a color control unit array on the second base substrate (wavelength conversion patterns 330 and 340 and a light transmission pattern 350 define a color control unit array above the light emitting elements ED on the second base substrate 310; see Figs. 5, 9-13; para. [0081]-[0085], [0139], [0152], [0158]-[0192]), and wherein the display panel further comprises a diaphragm structure located between the light-emitting unit array and the color control unit array (a panel light blocking member 190 forms a diaphragm layer positioned between the light-emitting units ED and the color control units (330, 340, 350), with portions (i.e., diaphragm structures) defining light passing openings through which light from each corresponding light-emitting unit is transmitted towards the corresponding color control unit, the diaphragm structures arranged to surround each of the light-emission regions LA1-LA6 to prevent light interference between adjacent light emission regions which might cause color mixture, to thereby improve color reproducibility; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0135]-[0137], [0159]), and a color filter pattern array located between the second base substrate and the color control unit array (an array of color filters 231, 232, 233 which correspond respectively to the color control units 330, 340, 350 in the color control unit array are disposed on an upper side of a first capping layer 391 which covers the color filters to form a second package structure which is sandwiched between the color control unit array (330, 340, 350) and the color filter pattern array (231, 232, 233); see Figs. 5, 9-13; para. [0139]-[0153], [0176], [0195], [0197]-[0200]).
However, the teachings of Lee fail to disclose or fairly suggest a black matrix disposed in the same layer as the color filter pattern array, wherein an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate is located within orthographic projections of the diaphragm structures on the first base substrate.
Joo teaches a display panel (display panel DP; see Figs. 1-4B; Abstract; para. [0043]-[0049], [0051], [0053], [0059]-[0060], [0068], [0085]-[0091], [0097]-[0098], [0124]-[0126]), comprising a first base substrate (first base substrate BS1; see Figs. 3B-4A; para. [0060]-[0061], [0090]); a light-emitting unit array (a display element layer DP-LED which includes a light emitting element LED that can be various display elements, including a plurality of LEDs; see Figs. 3B-4A; para. [0059]-[0060], [0064]-[0066], [0080]-[0082], [0084], [0087]-[0088], [0090], [0094]-[0095], [0098]) and a color control unit array (a light control layer CCL which includes a first light control part CCP1, a second light control part CCP2, and a third light control part CCP3; see Figs. 4A-4B; para. [0090], [0098]-[0118], [0121]-[0123]), the color control unit array being located on a side of the light-emitting unit array away from the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 4A), and color control units in the color control unit array correspond to light-emitting units in the light-emitting unit array (see Fig. 4A; para. [0064], [0090], [0098]-[0118], [0121]-[0123]); wherein at least part of the light-emitting units are provided with diaphragm structures corresponding to the light-emitting units, the diaphragm structures being located between the light-emitting units and the color control units, and each diaphragm structure being provided with a light passing portion therein (a light shield pattern BP having a plurality of structures corresponding with the light-emitting units (electrodes EL1, EL2, etc.) of the light-emitting unit array DP-LED; see Figs. 3B-4A; para. [0064], [0083]-[0087], [0097], [0128]-[0130], [0136]); the display panel further comprising a color filter pattern array and a black matrix disposed in the same layer as the color filter pattern array (a light shield member BM which includes an organic light shielding material such as a black pigment or dye is disposed to overlap adjacent color filter parts CF-B, CF-G, and CF-R within a color filter layer CFL; see Figs. 4A-4B; para. [0090], [0124]-[0126], [0129]), wherein an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate is located within orthographic projections of the diaphragm structures on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 4A).
Therefore, in view of Joo, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Lee by providing a black matrix disposed in the same layer as the color filter pattern array such that an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate is located within orthographic projections of the diaphragm structures on the first base substrate. One would have been motivated to modify the known display panel of Lee by providing a black matrix disposed in the same layer as the color filter pattern array such that an orthographic projection of the black matrix on the first base substrate is located within orthographic projections of the diaphragm structures on the first base substrate, as taught by Joo, in order to prevent a light leakage phenomenon and provide the boundary between the adjacent color filter parts (see Joo, par. [0129] for the motivation).
Regarding claim 14, Lee teaches the display panel further comprising a first package structure located between the light-emitting unit array and the color control unit array, the first package structure being configured to package the light-emitting unit array (a thin film encapsulation layer 170, which includes a first encapsulation inorganic layer 171, an encapsulation organic layer 173, and a second encapsulation inorganic layer 175 sequentially stacked, is provided on the cathode layer CE of the light-emitting units ED to package the light-emitting units; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0130]-[0135]), and the color control units being in contact with the first package structure (an optional filling layer 70 can be omitted, which would put the color control units (330, 340, 350) in contact with the second encapsulation inorganic layer 175 of the first package structure 170; see Fig. 5; par. [0085]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches wherein the first display base substrate comprises a first pixel located on the first base substrate and provided with an array of first pixel accommodating holes, the first pixel accommodating holes correspond to the light-emitting units in the light-emitting unit array, and the light-emitting units are located in the first pixel accommodating holes corresponding to the light-emitting units (a pixel defining layer 150 provided with an array of accommodating holes corresponding to the light-emitting units ED, with each of the individual light-emitting units ED1, ED2, ED3 located in an associated accommodating hole; see Figs. 5, 12; para. [0115]-[0117]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee teaches wherein the second display base substrate comprises a second pixel defining layer located on the second base substrate and provided with an array of second pixel accommodating holes, the second pixel accommodating holes correspond to the color control units in the color control unit array, and the color control units in the color control unit array are located in the second pixel accommodating holes corresponding to the color control units (partition walls 400 define another pixel defining layer provided with an array of accommodating holes corresponding to each of the color control units (330, 340, 350) which are distributed therein; see Figs. 5, 12-14; para. [0117], [0139]-[0145], [0150], [0153]-[0160], [0192], [0194]-[0195], [0197]-[0198], [0200], [0203]-[0207]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee teaches wherein an orthographic projection of the light passing portion on the first base substrate is located within an orthographic projection of the color control unit, corresponding to the light passing portion, on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 5); an orthographic projection of each light-emitting unit on the first base substrate is located within the orthographic projection of the color control unit, corresponding to the light-emitting unit, on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 5); and the orthographic projection of the light passing portion on the first base substrate is located within the orthographic projection of each light-emitting unit on the first base substrate (as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 18, Lee teaches wherein the first package structure comprises a first inorganic package layer (first encapsulation inorganic layer 171; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0131]-[0132]) and an organic package layer which is located on a side of the first inorganic package layer away from the first base substrate and is in contact with the first inorganic package layer (encapsulation organic layer 173; see Figs. 5, 12-13; para. [0131]-[0133]).
However, the teachings of Lee fail to disclose or fairly suggest the diaphragm structures are located between the first inorganic package layer and the organic package layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Lee by arranging the diaphragm structures between the first inorganic package layer and the organic package layer, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181. F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, modifying the known display panel of Lee by arranging the diaphragm structures between the first inorganic package layer and the organic package layer rather than on top of the first package structure would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to enable the entire filling layer to be in contact with the first package structure and better adhere the first package structure to the color control unit array while maintaining the ability of the diaphragm structures to block light emitted directly towards the diaphragm structures by the light-emitting units and prevent color mixing.
Regarding claim 19, Lee teaches wherein the diaphragm structure is located between the first package structure and the color control unit array (the diaphragm structures 190 are located between the first package structure 170 and the second pixel defining layer 400, as shown in Fig. 5).
However, the teachings of Lee fail to disclose or fairly suggest the diaphragm structures are in contact with the color control unit array.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Lee by arranging the diaphragm structures to be in contact with the color control units, since it has been held that rearranging parts of a prior art structure involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 181. F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). In this case, modifying the known display panel of Lee by arranging the diaphragm structures to be in contact with the color control units would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to enable the entire filling layer to be in contact with the first package structure and better adhere the first package structure to the color control unit array while maintaining the ability of the diaphragm structures to block light emitted directly towards the diaphragm structures by the light-emitting units and prevent color mixing.
Regarding claim 20, Lee teaches wherein the second pixel defining layer has a thickness thicker than a thickness of each of the diaphragm structures (the height/thickness of the second pixel defining layer 400, including the sum of the heights of both the first partition layer 410 and the second partition layer 420, is greater than that of each of the diaphragm structures of the diaphragm layer 190; see Fig. 5; para. [0067], [0160], [0197], [0203]-[0204], [0207]).
However, the teachings of Lee fail to specifically disclose the thickness of the second pixel defining layer is three times the thickness of each of the diaphragm structures of more.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the display panel of Lee by forming the second pixel defining layer to have a thickness that is three times the thickness of each of the diaphragm structures or more, since it has been held by the courts that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device, and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See In Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984). In this case, modifying the known display panel of Lee by forming the second pixel defining layer to have a thickness that is three times the thickness of each of the diaphragm structures or more, or any other suitable thickness would have flown naturally to one of ordinary skill in the art as necessitated by the particular design requirements of a given application, in order to ensure the regions partitioned by the second pixel defining layer have a suitable volume to ensure an optimum amount of light is emitted from the color conversion unit array.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 12, the Prior Art taken as a whole fails to specifically disclose or suggest, in combination, “The display panel of claim 10, further comprising a third package structure located on a side of the color filter pattern away from the first base substrate, and configured to package the entire display panel” (emphasis added).
The closest Prior Art, Lee (US 2021/0005672), while teaching the third package structure package structure packing a surface of the color filter pattern array away from the base substrate (i.e., a top surface of the color filter pattern array), lacks the teaching of the third package structure packaging the entire display panel as a whole, as required by Claim 12.
Although display panels are known, as evidenced by the Prior Art already of record, no Prior Art was found teaching individually, or suggesting in combination, all the features of Applicant’s invention, in particular the above limitations in combination with the remaining features of the claim, and there would be no motivation, absent the Applicant’s own disclosure, to modify the references in the manner distinctly and specifically called for in the combination as claimed in Claim 12.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. You (US 11,637,260), Oh et al. (US 2022/0085334), Park et al. (US 2021/0074769), Choe (US 2021/0074770), Matsuoka (US 2021/0066670), Kim et al. (US 2020/0168667), Kim et al. (US 2020/0144333), and Seong (US 2014/0062292) all disclose display devices comprising a display panel that includes a first base substrate, a light-emitting unit array comprising a plurality of light-emitting units, and a color control unit array comprising a plurality of color control units, the light-emitting units of the light-emitting unit array being provided with diaphragm structures located between the light-emitting units and corresponding color control units to provide a light passing portion and block light emitted by the corresponding light-emitting unit and directed to the color control units not corresponding to that light-emitting unit, while allowing part of the light emitting by the light-emitting unit and directed to the corresponding color control unit to be transmitted.
/WILLIAM N HARRIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875