Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pub. No. 6,134,731 to Thom et al.
Claim 1, Thom discloses a bed rail assembly comprising a mattress positioned on a bed frame, the bed rail assembly comprising a user support member 14 having a lower support member end defined by a lower section 102, an upper support member end defined by an upper section 100, at least one vertical member defined by sections (104,105) extending between the lower and upper sections, and a hand grip portion 70;
a mattress securing member defined by portion (22) having a lower securing member end (42,44), an upper securing member end (41,43), and at least one vertical member 40 extending between the lower and upper securing member ends; at least one elongated connecting member defined by legs (38), each connecting member having a first connecting member end couplable to the user support member and a second connecting member end couplable to the mattress securing member whereby, when the bed rail assembly is assembled and provided on the bed frame, the at least one connecting member secures the mattress securing member a fixed distance from the user support member; and a first flexible anchor member (62) operable to secure the user support member to the bed frame and a second flexible anchor member
(62) operable to secure the mattress securing member to the bed frame whereby, when the bed rail assembly is assembled and provided on the bed frame, the first and second anchor members positionally fix the bed rail assembly on the bed frame (fig. 13).
Claim 2, Thom discloses the bed rail assembly wherein a first end of the first anchor member is couplable to a second end of the first anchor member via fastening means and a first end of the second anchor member is couplable to a second end of the second anchor member via fastening means (col. 5 lines 1-17).
Claim 3, Thom discloses the bed rail assembly wherein, when the bed rail assembly is capable of being assembled and provided on the bed frame, the first anchor member is wrapped around a portion of the user support member and a first portion of the bed frame with the first end of the first anchor member coupled to the second end of the first anchor member, and the second anchor member is wrapped around a portion of the mattress securing member and a second portion of the bed frame with the first end of the second anchor member coupled to the second end of the second anchor member (col. 5 lines 1-17).
Claim 4, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the first portion of the bed frame comprises a first longitudinally extending bed base member and the second portion of the bed frame comprises a second longitudinally extending bed base member (fig. 13).
Claim 5, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein a first end of the first anchor member is couplable to the user support member, a first end of the second anchor member is couplable to the mattress securing member, and a second end of the second anchor member is couplable to a second end of the first anchor member (fig. 13).
Claim 6, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein when the bed rail assembly is assembled and provided on the bed frame, the first anchor member is coupled to the user support member, the second anchor member is coupled to the mattress securing member, and at least one of the first and second anchor members is wrapped around a portion of the bed frame and coupled to the other of the first and second anchor members (col. 5 lines 1-13).
Claim 7, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the fixed distance corresponds to a width of the mattress whereby, when the bed rail assembly is assembled and provided on the bed frame, the at least one connecting member secures each vertical member of the user support member against a first longitudinally extending side of the mattress and each vertical member of the mattress securing member against an opposed second longitudinally extending side of the mattress (fig. 10).
Claim 8, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the upper support member end comprises the hand grip portion, the first connecting member end is couplable to the lower support member end and the second connecting member end is couplable to the lower securing member end (fig. 2).
Claim 9, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the lower support member end comprises a lower member extending perpendicularly to the at least one vertical member of the user support member (fig. 2).
Claim 10, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the lower securing member end comprises a lower member extending perpendicularly to the at least one vertical member of the mattress securing member (fig. 2).
Claim 11, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the at least one elongated connecting member comprises a first connecting member and a second connecting member and, when the bed rail assembly is assembled and provided on the bed frame, the user support member and the mattress securing member each have first and second ends spaced apart in a longitudinal direction of the bed, the first connecting member secures the first end of the user support member the fixed distance from the first end of the mattress securing member, and the second connecting member secures the second end of the user support member the fixed distance from the second end of the mattress securing member (fig. 1).
Claim 12, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the first connecting member end is couplable to the user support member below the upper support member end and the second connecting member end is couplable to the lower securing member end (fig. 2).
Claim 13, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the vertical member of the user support member comprises a support pole having the hand grip portion (fig. 1-2).
Claim 14, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein the vertical member of the user support member comprises a first support pole and a second support pole which, when the bed rail assembly is assembled and provided on the bed frame, are spaced apart in a longitudinal direction of the bed (fig. 1 & 10).
Claim 15, Thorn disclose the bed rail assembly wherein the at least one elongated connecting member comprises a first connecting member and a second connecting member and, when the bed rail assembly is assembled and provided on the bed frame, the mattress securing member has first and second ends spaced apart in the longitudinal direction, the first connecting member secures the first end of the mattress securing member the fixed distance from the first support pole, and the second connecting member secures the second end of the mattress securing member the fixed distance from the second support pole (fig. 1-2).
Claim 16, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein each connecting member has a length extending from the first end to the second end and the length is adjustable (col. 6-7 lines 1-68 & 1-9).
Claim 17, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein each connecting member comprises a locking member defined by a spring clip 54 operable to fix the length of the connecting member whereby the at least one connecting member is operable to secure the mattress securing member a plurality of fixed distances from the user support member (col. 6-7 lines 1-68 & 1-9).
Claim 18, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein each connecting member comprises a flexible member defined by a bent piece of tubing.
Claim 19, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly wherein each vertical member of the user support member has a height extending from the lower support member end to the upper support member end and the height is adjustable (col. 4 lines 16-24)(col. 6 lines 23-45).
Claim 20, Thorn discloses the bed rail assembly capable of being used with a box spring or bed frame (col. 5 lines 1-13).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pat. No. 7,987,538 to Kimball discloses a bed rail assembly for a bed.
U.S. Pat. No. 7,237,285 to Brewin et al. discloses a bed rail assembly for a bed.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679