This office action is in response to application filed 01/29/2026 in which claims 1-7 are pending.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the contents of the abstract are no longer immediately relevant to this continuation of the originally filed '251 application. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See M.P.E.P. § 608.01(b). The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: "Image partitioning with a plurality of default encoding parts".
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/465,114 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions” in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of US Patent no. US 12,587,639 B2
(application No. 19/321,637) in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting patent claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting patent claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,869 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,875 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions” in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,880 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,887 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,895 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/465,109 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture.. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/465,122 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture.. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/465,126 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claim 1-7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,541 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses this limitation in Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claim 1-7 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,572 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses this limitation in Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1- 7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,895 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/427236 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19426354 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/320,750 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/317,148 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/411,186 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/411,187 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions” in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/411,188 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/411,189 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/426,346 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions” in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/426,318 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/426,339 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,564 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/463,592 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of co-pending application No. 19/411,183 in view of Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claim is obvious over the conflicting co-pending claim.
The difference between the instant and conflicting co-pending claim is the addition of limitation “wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions, wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block” in the instant claim. However Rapaka discloses these limitations in Para[0090] the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU, Para [0140] When the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture. . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize limitation in the method of the conflicting co-pending claim, since it enables partitioning the CU into the PUs to enable a video encoder so as to obtain better prediction and minimize residual values, thus reducing size of a bit-stream.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0347026).
Regarding claim 1, Rapaka discloses a method for decoding an image, the method comprising: receiving a bitstream for the image (FIG. 3 & Para [0136] teaches during the decoding process, video decoder 30 receives an encoded video bitstream that represents video blocks of an encoded video slice and associated syntax elements from video encoder 20); obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the bitstream; obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image based on the information on image partitioning (Para[0157] teaches split information is signaled by the encoder and received by the decoder, para[0175]-[0176] teaches video decoder 30 may decode, from an encoded bitstream, a syntax element that indicates whether a current PU of a current CU is divided into a plurality of sub-PUs (802). Video decoder 30 may decode, from the encoded video bitstream, a syntax element that indicates a number of lines that are in one or more of the sub-PUs (804)); and decoding the plurality of image partitions, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions(Para[0090] teaches the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU), wherein the decoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block (Para [0140] teaches when the video slice is coded as an intra-coded (I) slice, intra prediction unit 84 of prediction processing unit 81 may generate prediction data for a video block of the current video slice based on a signaled intra prediction mode and data from previously decoded blocks of the current frame or picture), wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part Para[0179] & Fig. 3 teaches prediction processing unit 81 may determine a respective vector predictor for each respective sub-PU of the plurality of sub-Pus), the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit (para[0169] teaches prediction processing unit 41 may select the respective vector predictor for each sub-PU from a respective list of candidate vector predictors and encode an indication of which vector prediction is selected. para[0175]& Fig. 8 teaches entropy decoding unit 80 may decode, and provide to prediction processing unit 81, a flag (e.g., sub_pu_present flag of Table 1) at the PU level with a value that indicates that adaptive partitioning is enabled (i.e., that the current PU is divided into the plurality of sub-PUs)),
Rapaka does not explicitly disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image. However Hannuksela discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0288], [0298], [0306] teaches yaw information for the image (viewport) is signaled). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which each sub-PU of the set of sub-PUs is reconstructed based on respective predictor blocks of video data enabling partitioning the CU into the PUs of Rapaka with method for encoding media content of Hannuksela in order to provide a more accurate reproduction of an image and to reduce the bit rate needed to transport the image.
Regarding claim 2, Rapaka discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of candidate default encoding parts comprises first default encoding part identical to one encoding sub-unit (FIGs. 5A & para [0022] teaches a coding unit is split into sub coding units, para [0151] teaches the coding unit (CU) is divided into a single prediction unit (PU or sub unit)) and second default encoding part having consecutive two encoding sub-units (FIGs. 5B-5C, 6A-6D).
Regarding claim 3, Rapaka discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises information indicating image partitioning Para[0023], a split enable flag is signaled, Para [0157], Para [0164] teaches a video coder may code a syntax element that specifies whether a current PU is divided into a plurality of sub-PUs ) and partitioning type information indicating partitioning form (Para[0157] & FIGS. 6A-6D teaches a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information. In some examples, a video coder may code one or more syntax elements that indicate a number of lines (i.e., rows or columns) that are in the sub-PUs. For instance, in the example of FIG. 6A, a video coder may code a syntax element that specifies how many lines are included in sub-PU0 (i.e., specifies the value of nL). In some examples, a video coder may code a syntax element that indicates whether the current PU is divided horizontally or vertically).
Regarding claim 6, Rapaka discloses a method for encoding an image (Fig. 2 teaches encoder), the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image (Para[0150]-[0158] teaches the video coder partitions an image); obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions (Para [0157] teaches a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information); encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream; and encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream (Para [0157] teaches a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information), wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions (para[0090] teaches the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU), wherein the encoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block (para [0110] Intra prediction processing unit 46 within prediction processing unit 41 may perform intra-predictive coding of the current video block relative to one or more neighboring blocks in the same frame or slice as the current block to be coded to provide spatial compression), wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d teaches each region is made of prediction units/sub prediction units), the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit (para[0169] teaches prediction processing unit 41 may select the respective vector predictor for each sub-PU from a respective list of candidate vector predictors and encode an indication of which vector prediction is selected. para[0175]& Fig. 8 teaches entropy decoding unit 80 may decode, and provide to prediction processing unit 81, a flag (e.g., sub_pu_present flag of Table 1) at the PU level with a value that indicates that adaptive partitioning is enabled (i.e., that the current PU is divided into the plurality of sub-PUs),
Rapaka does not explicitly disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image. However Hannuksela discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0288], [0298], [0306] teaches yaw information for the image (viewport) is signaled). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which each sub-PU of the set of sub-PUs is reconstructed based on respective predictor blocks of video data enabling partitioning the CU into the PUs of Rapaka with method for encoding media content of Hannuksela in order to provide a more accurate reproduction of an image and to reduce the bit rate needed to transport the image.
Regarding claim 7, Rapaka discloses a method for transmitting a bitstream, the method comprising: obtaining a plurality of image partitions included in the image (Para[0150]-[0158] teaches the video coder partitions an image); obtaining information on image partitioning for the image based on the obtained image partitions (Para [0157] teaches a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information); encoding the information on image partitioning into a bitstream (Para [0157] teaches a video coder may code one or more syntax elements to indicate the split information); encoding the plurality of image partitions into the bitstream (Para [0087], [0092], Para [0165] teaches coding units are partitioned into prediction units to generate a bitstream); and transmitting the bitstream, wherein the information on image partitioning comprises location information for the image partitions (para[0090] teaches the block vector may indicate the position of the top-left corner of the prediction block relative to the position of the top-left corner of the current CU), wherein the encoding the image partition comprises performing intra prediction for a block included in the image partition to generate a prediction block (para [0110] teaches Intra prediction processing unit 46 within prediction processing unit 41 may perform intra-predictive coding of the current video block relative to one or more neighboring blocks in the same frame or slice as the current block to be coded to provide spatial compression), wherein each image partitions comprises a plurality of default encoding part (FIGs. 5a-5d, 6a-6d teaches each region is made of prediction units/sub prediction units), the default encoding part is selected from a plurality of candidate default encoding parts, each candidate default encoding parts is composed of one or more encoding sub-unit para[0169] teaches prediction processing unit 41 may select the respective vector predictor for each sub-PU from a respective list of candidate vector predictors and encode an indication of which vector prediction is selected. para[0175]& Fig. 8 teaches entropy decoding unit 80 may decode, and provide to prediction processing unit 81, a flag (e.g., sub_pu_present flag of Table 1) at the PU level with a value that indicates that adaptive partitioning is enabled (i.e., that the current PU is divided into the plurality of sub-PUs),
Rapaka does not explicitly disclose and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image. However Hannuksela discloses and wherein the bitstream comprises information on rotation of the image (Para[0288], [0298], [0306] teaches yaw information for the image (viewport) is signaled). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which each sub-PU of the set of sub-PUs is reconstructed based on respective predictor blocks of video data enabling partitioning the CU into the PUs of Rapaka with method for encoding media content of Hannuksela in order to provide a more accurate reproduction of an image and to reduce the bit rate needed to transport the image.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rapaka et al. (US 2016/0227214 A1) in view of Hannuksela et al. (US 2017/0347026 A1) and Sung et al. (US 2015/0098509 A1)
Regarding claim 4, Rapaka in view of Hannuksela discloses the method of claim 1, Rapaka in view of Hannuksela does not explicitly disclose wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition. However Sung discloses wherein the information on partitioned regions comprises information indicating scanning method for default encoding parts included in an image partition (Para[0065] & FIG. 6(a) teaches priorities of blocks included in a coding block may be determined according to raster scanning order. Raster scanning may refer to line scanning from the left to the right. Accordingly, when neighboring blocks are searched in raster scanning order for a block coded according to inter-view inter-prediction and the block coded according to inter-view inter-prediction is detected, the inter-view motion vector of the corresponding block may be set as the inter-view motion vector of the current texture block.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the method in which each sub-PU of the set of sub-PUs is reconstructed based on respective predictor blocks of video data enabling partitioning the CU into the PUs of Rapaka in view of Hannuksela with the method of selectively utilizing the interview motion vector of the spatial/temporal neighbor block and inducing the inter-view motion vector in an easy manner of Sung in order to provide a system for a more efficient image encoding/decoding.
Regarding claim 5, Sung discloses the method of claim 4, wherein the information indicating scanning method comprises a raster scan method and a clockwise scan method (Para[0065] & FIG. 6(a) teaches priorities of blocks included in a coding block may be determined according
to raster scanning order. Raster scanning may refer to line scanning from the left to the right. Accordingly, when neighboring blocks are searched in raster scanning order for a block coded according to inter-view inter-prediction and the block coded according to inter-view inter-prediction is detected, the inter-view motion vector of the corresponding block may be set as the inter-view motion vector of the current texture block. Referring to FIG. 6(b), the priorities may be determined in clockwise or counter-clockwise scanning order from an inside block to an outside block in the coding block). Motivation to combine as indicated in claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2013/0136175 A1
/ROWINA J CATTUNGAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425