DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claim 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 1 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,560,086. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 and 3-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,560,086. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims to the current application are merely broader than the claims to US Patent No. 12,560,086 and are thus encompassed by said claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boart (DE 20119109 U1).
With regard to claim 1, Boart discloses a retainer for a tool comprising an annular body (5) defining a central opening adapted to receive a tool (1) therein in an axial direction and including a first end having a first external diameter, and a second end having a second external diameter; a plurality of protruding bosses (8) extending into the opening from an internal side of the body defining the central opening; and a slot (6/7) formed through the body and extending in the axial direction between the first end and the second end, wherein: in a resting state of the body, the first external diameter and the second external diameter are distinct from one another (fig 3); and the body is elastically deformable into a compressed state wherein the first external diameter and the second external diameter are equal (fig 4).
With regard to claim 3, Boart further discloses the bosses (8) are plainly proximate the first end (17; fig 3).
With regard to claim 4: Boart further discloses (fig 3) shows first end (Amax) having an external diameter greater (the “first” end in this interpretation—applied to claims 4 and 5-- is different from the first end as applied to claim 3, 7, 8, and 9).
With regard to claim 5, Boart further discloses a first width of the slot in a circumferential direction at the first end of the body is greater than a second width of the slot in the circumferential direction at the second end of the body (pg. 4 of translation, “The conical clamping sleeve 5 is preferably made from a rectangular piece of sheet metal cutting - with the exception of the possibly serpentine edges 7. This automatically results in the slot width increasing towards the chisel head 1”).
With regard to claim 7 (as claim 7 depends from claim 3), Boart further discloses the “first” end is at 17 in figure 3 and the external diameter (Amin) is less than the second end diameter (Amax).
With regard to claim 8, Boart further discloses the width of the slot is less at the first end (17; figs. 1-4).
With regard to claim 10, Boart further discloses the bosses (8) are plainly spaced circumferentially (fig. 3).
With regard to claim 11, Boart further discloses the thickness in a radial direction is constant (pg. 4 of translation wherein the retainer is made from a rectangular piece of sheet metal).
With regard to claim 12, Boart further discloses conical frustrum shaped (figs. 1-4).
With regard to claim 13, Boart discloses a tool retainer (5) with annular body defining a central opening adapted to receive a tool (1) therein in an axial direction and including a first end having a first external diameter, and a second end having a second external diameter; a plurality of protruding bosses (8) extending into the central opening from an internal side of the body defining the central opening; and a slot (6/7) formed through the body and extending in the axial insertion direction between the first end and the second end, wherein: in a resting state of the body, the first external diameter and the second external diameter are distinct from one another; and the body is elastically deformable into a compressed state wherein the first external diameter and the second external diameter are equal; and a compression element (for claim 13, the block 9 is interpreted as being the “compression element” –see 103 rejection below where the compression element is interpreted as a washer) defining an opening (10) adapted to receive the tool retainer, the opening having an internal dimension (See translation, second paragraph under “—5—” “the maximum outer diameter A .sub.max facing the chisel head 1 is larger than the inner diameter i of the holder 10, so that the clamping sleeve 5 can be securely clamped in the chisel holder 9. The minimum diameter A .sub.min of the outer surface 12 of the clamping sleeve 5 is preferably smaller or at most 5% larger than the inner diameter i of the holder 10”) less than the first external diameter of the annular body, the compression element adapted to elastically deform the first end of the retainer in a radially inward direction as the compression element is translate over the retainer from the second end toward the first end.
With regard to claim 14, Boart discloses the internal dimension of the opening less than the second external diameter (See translation second paragraph after “—5—” in the translation: “at most 5% larger than the inner diameter”).
With regard to claim 15, Boart further discloses a tool (1), a shank (2), and groove (4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boart (DE 20119109 U1) in view of Stiffler (6,824,225).
With regard to claim 13, Boart discloses a tool retainer (5) with annular body defining a central opening adapted to receive a tool (1) therein in an axial direction and including a first end having a first external diameter, and a second end having a second external diameter; a plurality of protruding bosses 8 extending into the central opening from an internal side of the body defining the central opening; and a slot (6/7) formed through the body and extending in the axial insertion direction between the first end and the second end, wherein: in a resting state of the body, the first external diameter and the second external diameter are distinct from one another; and the body is elastically deformable into a compressed state wherein the first external diameter and the second external diameter are equal; and a compression element (washer 11).
Boart is silent regarding the compression element (washer) defining an opening adapted to receive the tool retainer, the opening having an internal dimension less than the first external diameter of the annular body, the compression element adapted to elastically deform the first end of the retainer in a radially inward direction as the compression element is translate over the retainer from the second end toward the first end. Boart amounts to a “base” device.
The compression element (washer) defining an opening adapted to receive the tool retainer, the opening having an internal dimension less than the first external diameter of the annular body, the compression element adapted to elastically deform the first end of the retainer in a radially inward direction as the compression element is translate over the retainer from the second end toward the first end amounts to an “improvement” because it allows for easy assembly.
Stiffler, in the same field of endeavor, describes a compression element (washer) which is used to help assembly the tool and retainer into the bore of the holder (col. 3 lines 47-51). The compression element described by Stifler defined an opening adapted to receive the tool retainer, the opening having an internal dimension less than the first external diameter of the annular body, the compression element adapted to elastically deform the first end of the retainer in a radially inward direction as the compression element is translate over the retainer from the second end toward the first end. Thus Stiffler teaches the “improvement”.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have improved device to Boart in the same way, using known techniques of metal working and the results would have been predictable, therefore the combination as recited in claim 13 is unpatentable in view of KSR C Use of Known Technique To Improve Similar Devices (Methods, or Products) in the Same Way.
With regard to claim 14, Boart, as modified, further discloses the internal dimension of the opening of the compression element is less than the second external diameter of the annular body would have been necessary in order to use the washer to compress the ring, and thus would have been a natural result of improving the device to Boart as proposed.
With regard to claim 15, Boart further discloses a tool (1), a shank (2), and groove (4).
With regard to claim 16, Boart discloses a tool holder (9) defining a bore (10) extending therein; a tool (1) having a shank (2); a tool retainer (5) fitted over the shank, including: an annular body defining a central opening receiving the tool therein in an axial direction and including a first end having a first external diameter, and a second end having a second external diameter; a slot (6/7) formed through the body and extending in the axial direction between the first end and the second end, wherein: in a resting state of the body, the first external diameter and the second external diameter are distinct from one another; and the body is elastically deformable into a compressed state wherein the first external diameter and the second external diameter are equal. Boart lacks the compression element (washer) defining an opening adapted to receive the tool retainer, the opening having an internal dimension less than the first external diameter of the annular body.
Boart amounts to a “base” device.
The compression element (washer) defining an opening adapted to receive the tool retainer, the opening having an internal dimension less than the first external diameter of the annular body amounts to an “improvement” because it allows for easy assembly.
Stiffler, in the same field of endeavor, described a compression element (washer) which is used to help assembly the tool and retainer into the bore of the holder (col. 3 lines 47-51). The compression element described by Stifler defining an opening adapted to receive the tool retainer, the opening having an internal dimension less than the first external diameter of the annular body.
Thus Stiffler teaches the “improvement”.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention could have improved the device to Boart in the same way, using known techniques of metal working and the results would have been predictable, therefore the combination as recited in claim 16 is unpatentable in view of KSR C Use of Known Technique To Improve Similar Devices (Methods, or Products) in the Same Way.
With regard to claim 17, Boart, as modified, further discloses the internal dimension of the opening of the compression element is less than an external diameter of the annular body would have been necessary in order to use the washer to compress the ring, and thus would have been a natural result of improving the device to Boart as proposed.
With regard to claim 18, Boart, as modified, further discloses the internal dimension of the opening of the compression element is less than the second external diameter of the annular body would have been necessary in order to use the washer to compress the ring, and thus would have been a natural result of improving the device to Boart as proposed.
With regard to claim 19, Boart further discloses bosses (8) and groove (4).
With regard to claim 20, Boart, as modified, further discloses the first end having a distinct holding force form the second end as such would have been inherent in the Boart device because in an elastic metal sleeve, the force would be proportional to the amount of deformation, and one end plainly deforms more than the other.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 6, and 9 would be allowable if the double patenting rejection(s) set forth in this Office action is/are overcome and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art, either alone or in any reasonable combination, fails to teach or suggest all the limitations of the dependent claim(s). Retainers for a tool are known such as those taught by Boart, Stiffler, and Ojanen (2007/0090679). However, the cited prior art lacks in the resting state, a width of the slot tapers between the first end of the body and the second end of the body in the axial direction; and in the compressed state of the body, the width of the slot is generally constant between the first and second ends of the body as required by the dependent claim(s) and it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the prior art to achieve applicant’s invention without the benefit of hindsight and applicant’s own disclosure.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/BENJAMIN F FIORELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
BF
09/28/2026