DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species III, figs. 8A-8G in the reply filed on 07/08/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the position retention sheaths in Species III serve the same function as the trusses in Species II. This is not found persuasive because the position retention sheaths has different structures from the trusses (figs. 6A-8G), therefore there is a search and/or examination burden for distinct Species.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/28/2026 is acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provision of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitation “a pinion gear connected to or forming part of the chin strap cable at or near one of the two opposing ends” in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification does not describe “webbing or padding disposed on or enclosing at least a portion of the chin strap cable between the first and second anchor fittings and that is configured to contact the wearer’s chin during use” in claim 2; the limitation “a pinion gear connected to or forming part of the chin strap cable at or near one of the two opposing ends, wherein the actuator comprises a wheel configured to engage the pinion gear such that selectively rotating the actuator in a first direction tightens the chin strap cable and rotating the actuator in an opposite direction loosens the chin strap cable” in claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 2 recites “webbing or padding disposed on or enclosing at least a portion of the chin strap cable between the first and second anchor fittings and that is configured to contact the wearer’s chin during use” and claim 14 recites “a pinion gear connected to or forming part of the chin strap cable at or near one of the two opposing ends, wherein the actuator comprises a wheel configured to engage the pinion gear such that selectively rotating the actuator in a first direction tightens the chin strap cable and rotating the actuator in an opposite direction loosens the chin strap cable”, which are not described in the specification and the drawings do not clearly show the limitations, therefore, claims 2 and 14 fail to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 2, 6-7, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation “the first and second anchor fittings” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “the left or side regions” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites “the length” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites “the chin strap” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites “and other means” in line 2. It is unclear what structures are included or excluded in the claim.
Claim 18 recites “the left or side regions” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any remaining claims are rejected as depending on a rejected base claim.
In the art rejections below the claims have been treated as best understood by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 11-13 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hermansen (US 2024/0315375).
Regarding claim 1, Hermansen teaches a helmet and adjustable chin strap assembly (fig. 43), comprising: a helmet shell (fig. 43, shell 308) configured to at least partially cover a wearer’s head, wherein the helmet shell includes:
a front and a back (fig. 43); and
a left side region having a left ear area and a right side region having a right ear area (fig. 43); and
an adjustable chin strap retention system (fig. 47) including:
a chin strap cable (fig. 47, para. [0112], cable 304) having two opposing ends, a first end configured to attach to the left side region, and a second end configured to attach to the right side region,
a first position retention sheath (fig. 50, channel 322 and guide 336) or truss positioned at or below the left side region and that at least partially encloses a first portion of the chin strap cable,
a second position retention sheath (fig. 50, channel 322 and guide 336 on the other side) or truss positioned at or below the right side region and that at least partially encloses a second portion of the chin strap cable; and
an actuator (fig. 43, dial 340) configured to attach at or near the left side region or ear area or the right side region or ear area of the helmet shell and be operably connected to the chin strap cable so that actuating the actuator selectively tightens or loosens the chin strap cable (para. [0120]).
Regarding claim 2, Hermansen teaches webbing (fig. 45, segment 34) or padding disposed on or enclosing at least a portion of the chin strap cable between the first and second anchor fittings and that is configured to contact the wearer’s chin during use (fig. 43).
Regarding claim 3, Hermansen teaches the chin strap cable forms part of or is associated with a chin strap, and wherein the chin strap does not contain a buckle positioned adjacent to the wearer’s chin during use (fig. 43).
Regarding claim 4, Hermansen teaches the first and second position retention sheaths are stiffer than the chin strap cable (para. [0116], lateral segments 312 and intermediate segment 314 are formed from a semi-rigid material, such as a molded plastic to retain its shape; while in para. [0117], cable 304 is string, nylon filament, braided cable, or other suitable material that bends easily and exhibits sufficient pull strength) in order to maintain the chin strap cable in a desired position relative to the helmet shell.
Regarding claim 11, Hermansen teaches the actuator comprises a slider, detent, spring pump, ratchet system, wheel, or other means for selectively increasing or decreasing the length of the chin strap or chin strap cable (fig. 43, dial 40 is a wheel).
Regarding claim 12, Hermansen teaches the actuator is operably connected to one of the opposing ends of the chin strap cable, with the other opposing end of the chin strap cable being attached to a side region of the helmet shell opposite to the actuator (figs. 43 and 50).
Regarding claim 13, Hermansen teaches the helmet shell includes an outer component (fig. 43, outer surface of body 308), an inner component (fig. 43, mount 310) and a channel, groove, or space between the outer component and the inner component or formed within the inner component (fig. 43) and that is configured to house or receive a portion of the chin strap cable when shortened or lengthened by the actuator (fig. 43).
Regarding claim 15, Hermansen teaches the actuator is removably attached to the left side region or the right side region of the helmet shell (figs. 43-47, 64, para. [0112], [0138] by boss 320 into opening of strap mount 310) such that removal of the actuator detaches the end of the chin strap cable operably connected to the actuator form the helmet shell to facilitate installation and removal of the helmet shell to and from the wearer’s head.
Regarding claim 16, Hermansen teaches an end of the chin strap cable opposite to the end attached to the actuator is removably attached to the helmet shell (figs. 43-47, 64, para. [0112], [0138] by boss 320 into opening of strap mount 310) such that detaching that end of the chin strap cable from the helmet shell facilitates installation and removal of the helmet shell to and from the wearer’s head.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Casale (US 5983405).
Regarding claim 19, Casale teaches a helmet and adjustable chin strap assembly, comprising: a helmet shell (fig. 1, shell 5) configured to at least partially cover a wearer’s head, wherein the helmet shell includes:
an outer component (fig. 1, outer surface of shell 5) and an inner component (fig. 1, inner surface of shell 5);
a front and a back (fig. 1); and
a left side region having a left ear area and a right side region having a right ear area (fig. 1); and
an adjustable chin strap retention system (fig. 3, col. 2, lines 16-21) including:
a chin strap cable (fig. 3, cable 11 attached to straps 13) having two opposing ends, a first end configured to attach to the left side region (fig. 1), and a second end configured to attach to the right side region (the opposite side of helmet in fig. 1),
the first and second ends each including first and second forward tethers, respectively, attached to the helmet shell at or forward of the wearer’s ear and first and second rear tethers, respectively, attached to the helmet shell behind the wearer’s ear and that are connected to or engage the first and second forward tethers at first and second anchor fittings, respectively (annotated fig. 4 below);
a first position retention sheath (fig. 3, annotated fig. 3 below) positioned at or below the left side region and that at least partially encloses the first rear tether,
a second position retention sheath (fig. 3, annotated fig. 3 below) positioned at or below the right side region and that at least partially encloses the second rear tether; and
an actuator (fig. 1, lever 9 and button 19) configured to attach at or near the left side region or ear area or the right side region or ear area of the helmet shell (fig. 1) and be operably connected to the chin strap cable so that actuating the actuator selectively tightens or loosens the chin strap cable (col. 2, lines 26-28).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermansen (US 2024/0315375), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Casale (US 5983405).
Regarding claim 5, Hermansen teaches the first and second ends each including first and second forward tethers (fig. 43, cable portions on two lateral segments 312), respectively, attached to the helmet shell at or forward of the wearer’s ear, wherein the first and second position retention sheath or trusses at least partially enclose the first and second forward tethers, respectively (fig. 43).
Hermansen does not clearly teach first and second rear tethers, respectively attached to the helmet shell rearward the first and second forward tethers.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Casale teaches first and second rear tethers, respectively, attached to the helmet shell rearward of the first and second forward tethers (annotated fig. 3 below).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hermansen with rear tethers as taught by Casale for the benefit of improving stability, comfort and safety by preventing slippage, distributing weight evenly and maintaining proper alignment during movement or impact.
Regarding claim 6, the modified structure Hermansen-Casale teaches the chin strap cable includes a continuous cable portion (Hermansen, fig. 50) that includes the first and second forward tethers so as to extend between the left and side regions of the helmet shell at or forward of the wearer’s ears (Hermansen, fig. 43), wherein the actuator is operably connected to one of the first or second forward tethers (Hermansen, fig. 43) and wherein actuating the actuator selectively shortens or lengthens the continuous cable portion to selectively tighten or loosen the chin strap cable (Hermansen, para. [0120]).
Regarding claim 7, the modified structure Hermansen-Casale teaches the first and second front tethers are adjustable in length (Hermansen, fig. 43).
The modified structure Hermansen-Casale does not teach first and second anchor fittings as in the claim.
However, Casale teaches the first and second rear tethers are connected to or engage the first and second forward tethers at first and second anchor fittings, respectively (fig. 1), wherein the first and second anchor fittings are slidably connected to the continuous cable portion and fixedly connected to the first and second front tethers (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Hermansen-Casale with anchor fittings as taught by Casale so that the first and second anchor fittings are slidably connected to the continuous cable portion of the first and second front tethers and fixedly connected to the first and second rear tethers for the benefit of adjusting fit and improving stability and comfort to the user.
Regarding claim 8, Hermansen teaches the first and second ends each including first and second forward tethers (fig. 43, cable portions on two lateral segments 312), respectively, attached to the helmet shell at or forward of the wearer’s ear, wherein the first and second position retention sheath or trusses at least partially enclose the first and second forward tethers, respectively (fig. 43).
Hermansen does not clearly teach first and second rear tethers, respectively attached to the helmet shell rearward the first and second forward tethers and that are connected to or engage the first and second forward tethers.
However, Casale teaches first and second rear tethers, respectively, attached to the helmet shell rearward of the first and second forward tethers (annotated fig. 3 above).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hermansen with rear tethers as taught by Casale for the benefit of improving stability, comfort and safety by preventing slippage, distributing weight evenly and maintaining proper alignment during movement or impact.
Regarding claim 9, the modified structure Hermansen-Casale teaches the chin strap cable includes a continuous cable portion (Hermansen, fig. 50).
The modified structure Hermansen-Casale does not teach the continuous cable portion includes the first and second rear tethers so as to extend between the left and side regions of the helmet shell behind the wearer’s ears, wherein the actuator is operably connected to one of the first or second rear tethers and wherein actuating the actuator selectively shortens or lengthens the continuous cable portion to selectively tighten or loosen the chin strap cable.
However, Casale teaches the continuous cable portion (fig. 3) includes the first and second rear tethers (annotated fig. 3 above) so as to extend between the left and side regions of the helmet shell behind the wearer’s ears (fig. 1), wherein the actuator (fig. 3, lever 9 and button 19) is operably connected to one of the first or second rear tethers and wherein actuating the actuator selectively shortens or lengthens the continuous cable portion to selectively tighten or loosen the chin strap cable.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the actuator of the modified structure Hermansen-Casale to be operably connected to one of the first or second rear tethers as taught by Casale for the benefit of adjusting the chin strap to the desired tension and adjusting the helmet to the proper side of the user’s head (Casale, col. 1, lines 10-27).
Regarding claim 10, the modified structure Hermansen-Casale does not teach the first and second rear tethers are connected to or engage the first and second forward tethers at first and second anchor fittings, respectively, wherein the first and second anchor fittings are slidably connected to the continuous cable portion and fixedly connected to the first and second forward tethers.
However, Casale teaches the first and second rear tethers are connected to or engage the first and second forward tethers at first and second anchor fittings, respectively (fig. 1), wherein the first and second anchor fittings are slidably connected to the continuous cable portion and fixedly connected to the first and second forward tethers (fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the modified structure Hermansen-Casale with anchor fittings as taught by Casale so that the first and second anchor fittings are slidably connected to the continuous cable portion and fixedly connected to the first and second forward tethers for the benefit of adjusting fit and improving stability and comfort to the user.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermansen (US 2024/0315375).
Regarding claim 14, Hermansen does not teach in fig. 43 a pinion gear connected to or forming part of the chin strap cable at or near one of the two opposing ends, wherein the actuator comprises a wheel configured to engage the pinion gear such that selectively rotating the actuator in a first direction tightens the chin strap cable and rotating the actuator in an opposite direction loosens the chin strap cable.
However, Hermansen teaches in figs. 59-60 the helmet having a rack and pinion type chin strap adjuster (para. [0075]) with an adjustment knob/dial 514.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the cable assembly in fig. 43 with a rack and pinion type chin strap adjuster in figs. 59-60 for the benefit of providing an alternate method to adjust the length of the chin strap around the user’s chin.
Claims 17-18 and 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hermansen (US 2024/0315375) in view of Casale (US 5983405).
Regarding claim 17, Hermansen teaches a helmet and adjustable chin strap assembly (fig. 43), comprising: a helmet shell (fig. 43, shell 308) configured to at least partially cover a wearer’s head, wherein the helmet shell includes:
an outer component (fig. 43, outer surface of shell 308) and an inner component (fig. 43, mount 310);
a front and a back (fig. 43); and
a left side region having a left ear area and a right side region having a right ear area (fig. 43); and
an adjustable chin strap retention system (fig. 47) including:
a chin strap cable (fig. 47, para. [0112], cable 304) having two opposing ends, a first end configured to attach to the left side region, and a second end configured to attach to the right side region, the first and second ends each including first and second forward tethers (fig. 43, cable portions on two lateral segments 312), respectively, attached to the helmet shell at or forward of the wearer’s ear;
a first position retention sheath (fig. 50, channel 322 and guide 336) positioned at or below the left side region and that at least partially encloses the first forward tether;
a second position retention sheath (fig. 50, channel 322 and guide 336 on the other side) positioned at or below the right side region and that at least partially encloses the second forward tether; and
an actuator (fig. 43, dial 340) configured to attach at or near the left side region or ear area or the right side region or ear area of the helmet shell and be operably connected to the chin strap cable so that actuating the actuator selectively tightens or loosens the chin strap cable (para. [0120]).
Hermansen does not clearly teach first and second rear tethers, respectively attached to the helmet shell behind the wearer’s ear and that are connected to or engage the first and second forward tethers at first and second anchor fittings, respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Casale teaches first and second rear tethers, respectively, attached to the helmet shell behind the wearer’s ear and that are connected to or engage the first and second forward tethers at first and second anchor fittings, respectively (annotated fig. 3 above).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hermansen with rear tethers and anchor fittings as taught by Casale for the benefit of improving stability, comfort and safety by preventing slippage, distributing weight evenly and maintaining proper alignment during movement or impact.
Regarding claim 18, the modified structure Hermansen-Casale teaches the chin strap cable includes a continuous cable portion (Hermansen, fig. 50) that includes the first and second forward tethers so as to extend between the left and side regions of the helmet shell at or forward of the wearer’s ears (Hermansen, fig. 43), wherein the actuator is operably connected to one of the first or second forward tethers (Hermansen, fig. 43) and wherein actuating the actuator selectively shortens or lengthens the continuous cable portion to selectively tighten or loosen the chin strap cable (Hermansen, para. [0120]).
Regarding claim 21, Hermansen teaches a helmet and adjustable chin strap assembly (fig. 43), comprising: a helmet shell (fig. 43, shell 308) configured to at least partially cover a wearer’s head, wherein the helmet shell includes:
a front and a back (fig. 43); and
a left side region having a left ear area and a right side region having a right ear area (fig. 43); and
an adjustable chin strap retention system (fig. 47) including:
a chin strap cable (fig. 47, para. [0112], cable 304) having two opposing ends, a first end configured to attach to the left side region, and a second end configured to attach to the right side region, wherein the chin strap cable forms part of or is associated with a chin strap (fig. 43), and wherein the chin strap does not contain a buckle positioned adjacent to the wearer’s chin during use (fig. 43);
a first position retention sheath (fig. 50, channel 322 and guide 336) positioned at or below the left side region and that at least partially encloses a first portion of the chin strap cable;
a second position retention sheath (fig. 50, channel 322 and guide 336 on the other side) positioned at or below the right side region and that at least partially encloses a second portion of the chin strap cable;
first and second forward tethers (fig. 43, cable portions on two lateral segments 312), respectively, attached to the helmet shell at or forward of the wearer’s ear;
an actuator (fig. 43, dial 340) attached at or near the left side region or ear area or the right side region or ear area of the helmet shell and that is operably connected to the chin strap cable so that actuating the actuator selectively tightens or loosens the chin strap cable (para. [0120]).
Hermansen does not clearly teach first and second rear tethers attached to the helmet shell behind the wearer’s ear, wherein the first forward tether and the first rear tether form a first V-shaped or Y-shaped helmet attachment structure, and wherein the second forward tether and the second rear tether form a second V-shaped or Y-shaped helmet attachment structure.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Casale teaches first and second rear tethers attached to the helmet shell behind the wearer’s ear, wherein the first forward tether and the first rear tether form a first V-shaped or Y-shaped helmet attachment structure, and wherein the second forward tether and the second rear tether form a second V-shaped or Y-shaped helmet attachment structure (annotated fig. 3 above).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Hermansen with rear tethers as taught by Casale for the benefit of improving stability, comfort and safety by preventing slippage, distributing weight evenly and maintaining proper alignment during movement or impact.
Regarding claim 22, the modified structure Hermansen-Casale teaches the actuator is attached to one of the first or second V-shaped or Y-shaped helmet attachment structures (Hermansen, because the actuator is attached to one of the forward tethers, the actuator of the modified structure Hermansen-Casale is attached to one of the first or second V-shaped or Y-shaped helmet attachment structures).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Casale (US 5983405), as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Weber (US 2019/0297985).
Regarding claim 20, Casale does not teach the chin strap cable includes a continuous cable portion that includes the first and second rear tethers so as to extend between the left and side regions of the helmet shell behind the wearer’s ears, wherein the actuator is operably connected to one of the first or second rear tethers and wherein actuating the actuator selectively shortens or lengthens the continuous cable portion to selectively tighten or loosen the chin strap cable.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Weber teaches the chin strap cable includes a continuous cable portion that includes the first and second rear tethers so as to extend between the left and side regions of the helmet shell (fig. 14) behind the wearer’s ears, wherein the actuator (fig. 14, wheel 1414) is operably connected to one of the first or second rear tethers and wherein actuating the actuator selectively shortens or lengthens the continuous cable portion to selectively tighten or loosen the chin strap cable (fig. 14, para. [0111]).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Casale with the teaching that the chin strap cable includes a continuous cable portion as taught by Weber for the benefit of providing a snug fit, which allowing for a comfortable and protective fit to the user (Weber, para. [0110]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/UYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732