-Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the application filed January 31, 2026, claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Claims 1, 10 and 18 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), and based on application # 10-2023-0036804 filed in the Republic of Korea on March 21, 2023 which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Oath/Declaration
The Office acknowledges receipt of a properly signed Oath/Declaration submitted on January 31, 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant’s Information Disclosure Statement filed (January 31, 2026 and June 2, 2026) has been received, entered into the record, and considered.
Drawings
The drawings filed January 31, 2026 are accepted by the examiner.
Abstract
The abstract filed January 31, 2026 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, 9-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pazmino et al (US 20240103686 A1) in view of Geoffroy (US 20240135612 A1).
As to Claim 1:
Pazmino et al. discloses a head-wearable electronic device (Pazmino, see Abstract, where Pazmino discloses a computer system displays an immersion control, a volume control, an element configured to permit or restrict breakthrough in different modes of operation of the computer
system, and/or an option selectable to cause initiation of display of a representation of content from a second computer system via a display generation component of the computer system. While a second computer system is displaying content, a first computer system detects an input corresponding to a request to display a representation of the content from the second computer system via a display generation component of the first computer system, and in response, initiates a process to display the representation of content and to de-emphasize the content displayed by the
second computer system. A first computer system facilitates disambiguation of a second computer system from a plurality of computer systems for display of a representation of content from the second computer system) comprising: at least one camera (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system has one or more cameras); at least one display (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system has a touch-sensitive display (also known as a "touch screen" or "touch-screen display"); memory including one or more storage media storing instructions (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system has a graphical user interface (GUI), one or more processors, memory and one or more modules, programs or sets of instructions stored in the memory for performing multiple functions); and at least one processor including processing circuitry, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that executable instructions for performing these functions are, optionally, included in a transitory and/or non-transitory computer readable storage medium or other computer program product configured for execution by one or more processors), cause the head-wearable electronic device (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the
computer system is a personal electronic device (e.g., a wearable electronic device, such as a watch, or a headmounted device) to: display a virtual environment via the at least one display (Pazmino, see 722a in figure 7B and paragraph [0214], where Pazmino discloses that the amount of three-dimensional environment 704 that has been replaced by virtual environment 722a is increased
(compared with that of FIG. 7A), thus increasing the size of virtual environment 722a in three-dimensional environment 704 (e.g., increasing the size of the visual "portal" into virtual environment 722a)); identify a visual object from an image obtained via the at least one camera (Pazmino, see paragraph [0102], where Pazmino discloses that multiple sensors, including
the scene cameras 6-106, the downward cameras 6-114, the jaw cameras 6-116, the side cameras 6-118, the depth projector 6-112, and the depth sensors 6-108, 6-110 can be used in combination with an electrically coupled controller to combine depth data with camera data for hand tracking and for size determination for better hand tracking and object recognition and tracking functions of the HMD device 6-100) while the virtual environment is displayed (Pazmino, see paragraph [0053], where Pazmino discloses that for devices that include display generation components with virtual passthrough, portions of the physical environment that are visible (e.g., displayed, and/or projected) via the one or more display generation components are based on a field of view of one or more cameras in communication with the display generation components which typically move with the display generation components ( e.g., moving with a head of the user for a head mounted device or moving with a hand of a user for a handheld device such as a tablet or smartphone) because the viewpoint of the user moves as the field of view of the one or more cameras moves (and the appearance of one or more virtual objects displayed via the one or more display generation components is updated based on the viewpoint of the user ( e.g., displayed positions and poses of the virtual objects are updated based on the movement of the viewpoint of the user)); based on identifying the visual object (Pazmino, see paragraph [0421], where Pazmino discloses that the first computer system uses an image recognition technique to detect the second computer system in one or more images captured by one or more cameras of the first computer system), display the visual object (Pazmino, see 726a in figure 7B), wherein the visual object is displayed as being viewed to be overlapped (Pazmino, see 726a overlapped with virtual environment 722a in figure 7B) with the portion of the virtual environment (Pazmino, see 722a in figure 7B) in accordance with a first visual effect (Pazmino, see 728a in figure 7B and paragraph [0214], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7B illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 having a second level of immersion greater than
the first level of immersion illustrated in FIG. 7A in response to input directed to the immersion slider user interface element 728a corresponding to a request to increase an immersion level); while the visual object and the portion of the virtual environment are concurrently viewed via the at least one display (Pazmino, see figure 7B), identify a user input with respect to the visual object; and based on the user input, change a visual effect used for displaying the visual object from the first visual effect to a second visual effect (Pazmino, see figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
Pazmino differs from the claimed subject matter in that Pazmino does not explicitly disclose gradually.
However in an analogous art, Geoffroy discloses gradually (Geoffroy, see paragraph [0409], where Geoffroy discloses that the scene-based image editing system 106 detects an additional user interaction with the object attribute indicator 2112b. In response to detecting the additional user interaction, the scene-based image editing system 106 provides a slider bar 2114 for display within the graphical user interface 2102. In one or more embodiments, the slider bar 2114 includes a slider element 2116 that indicates a degree to which the corresponding object attribute appears in the digital image 2106 (e.g., the strength or weakness of its presence in the digital image 2106)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pazmino with Geoffroy. One would be motivated to modify Pazmino by disclosing gradually as taught by Geoffroy thereby facilitating flexible and efficient scene-based image editing (Geoffroy, paragraph [0003]).
As to Claim 2:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the head-wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: based on identifying the visual object, display the visual object by changing a transparency of the portion of the virtual environment from a first transparency to a second transparency higher than the first transparency (Pazmino, see figure 7F having a higher transparency than figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
As to Claim 3:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the head-wearable electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: based on identifying the visual object, start to display the visual object when the transparency of the portion of the virtual environment is started to be changed from the first transparency to the second transparency (Pazmino, see figure 7F having a higher transparency than figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
As to Claim 4:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the head-wearable electronic device of claim 2, wherein a transparency of the visual object displayed via the at least one display is different from the transparency of the portion of the virtual environment which is being changed from the first transparency to the second transparency (Pazmino, see figure 7F having a higher transparency than figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
As to Claim 5:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the head-wearable electronic device of claim 2, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: display a remaining portion of the virtual environment with the first transparency (Pazmino, see 722a in figure 7F) while changing the portion of the virtual environment from the first transparency to the second transparency (Pazmino, see 101 in figure 7H).
As to Claim 6:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the head-wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: based on the user input at a position corresponding to the visual object, change the visual effect used for displaying the visual object from the first visual effect to the second visual effect (Pazmino, see figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
As to Claim 7:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the head-wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one camera is at least one first camera, and comprising at least one second camera; wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: identify a gaze direction using the at least one second camera; and based on the gaze direction pointing the defined external object, determine that the user input is identified (Pazmino, see paragraph [0063], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system includes one or more input devices for detecting input such as one or more sensors for detecting eye movement ( e.g., eye tracking and gaze tracking sensors in FIG. 11) which can be used (optionally in conjunction with one or more lights such as lights 11.3.2-110 in FIG. 10) to determine attention or gaze position and/or gaze movement).
As to Claim 9:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the head-wearable electronic device of claim 1, wherein the instructions, when executed by the at least one processor individually or collectively, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: based on identifying the visual object, display a portion of the image obtained via the at least one camera including the visual object (Pazmino, see paragraph [0421], where Pazmino discloses that the first computer system uses an image recognition technique to detect the second computer system in one or more images captured by one or more cameras of the first computer system).
As to Claim 10:
Pazmino et al. discloses a method of a head-wearable electronic device (Pazmino, see Abstract, where Pazmino discloses a computer system displays an immersion control, a volume control, an element configured to permit or restrict breakthrough in different modes of operation of the computer system, and/or an option selectable to cause initiation of display of a representation of content from a second computer system via a display generation component of the computer system. While a second computer system is displaying content, a first computer system detects an input corresponding to a request to display a representation of the content from the second computer system via a display generation component of the first computer system, and in response, initiates a process to display the representation of content and to de-emphasize the content displayed by the second computer system. A first computer system facilitates disambiguation of a second computer system from a plurality of computer systems for display of a representation of content from the second computer system) including at least one camera (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system has one or more cameras) and at least one display (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system has a touch-sensitive display (also known as a "touch screen" or "touch-screen display"), comprising: displaying a virtual environment via the at least one display (Pazmino, see 722a in figure 7B and paragraph [0214], where Pazmino discloses that the amount of three-dimensional environment 704 that has been replaced by virtual environment 722a is increased (compared with that of FIG. 7A), thus increasing the size of virtual environment 722a in three-dimensional environment 704 (e.g., increasing the size of the visual "portal" into virtual environment 722a)); identifying a visual object from an image obtained via the at least one camera (Pazmino, see paragraph [0102], where Pazmino discloses that multiple sensors, including the scene cameras 6-106, the downward cameras 6-114, the jaw cameras 6-116, the side cameras 6-118, the depth projector 6-112, and the depth sensors 6-108, 6-110 can be used in combination with an electrically coupled controller to combine depth data with camera data for hand tracking and for size determination for better hand tracking and object recognition and tracking functions of the HMD device 6-100) while the virtual environment is displayed (Pazmino, see paragraph [0053], where Pazmino discloses that for devices that include display generation components with virtual passthrough, portions of the physical environment that are visible (e.g., displayed, and/or projected) via the one or more display generation components are based on a field of view of one or more cameras in communication with the display generation components which typically move with the display generation components ( e.g., moving with a head of the user for a head mounted device or moving with a hand of a user for a handheld device such as a tablet or smartphone) because the viewpoint of the user moves as the field of view of the one or more cameras moves (and the appearance of one or more virtual objects displayed via the one or more display generation components is updated based on the viewpoint of the user ( e.g., displayed positions and poses of the virtual objects are updated based on the movement of the viewpoint of the user)); based on identifying the visual object (Pazmino, see paragraph [0421], where Pazmino discloses that the first computer system uses an image recognition technique to detect the second computer system in one or more images captured by one or more cameras of the first computer system), displaying the visual object (Pazmino, see 726a in figure 7B), wherein the visual object is displayed as being viewed to be overlapped (Pazmino, see 726a overlapped with virtual environment 722a in figure 7B) with the portion of the virtual environment (Pazmino, see 722a in figure 7B) in accordance with a first visual effect (Pazmino, see 728a in figure 7B and paragraph [0214], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7B illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 having a second level of immersion greater than the first level of immersion illustrated in FIG. 7A in response to input directed to the immersion slider user interface element 728a corresponding to a request to increase an immersion level); while the visual object and the portion of the virtual environment are concurrently viewed via the at least one display (Pazmino, see figure 7B), identifying a user input with respect to the visual object; based on the user input, changing a visual effect used for displaying the visual object from the first visual effect to a second visual effect Pazmino, see figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
Pazmino differs from the claimed subject matter in that Pazmino does not explicitly disclose gradually.
However in an analogous art, Geoffroy discloses gradually (Geoffroy, see paragraph [0409], where Geoffroy discloses that the scene-based image editing system 106 detects an additional user interaction with the object attribute indicator 2112b. In response to detecting the additional user interaction, the scene-based image editing system 106 provides a slider bar 2114 for display within the graphical user interface 2102. In one or more embodiments, the slider bar 2114 includes a slider element 2116 that indicates a degree to which the corresponding object attribute appears in the digital image 2106 (e.g., the strength or weakness of its presence in the digital image 2106)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pazmino with Geoffroy. One would be motivated to modify Pazmino by disclosing gradually as taught by Geoffroy thereby facilitating flexible and efficient scene-based image editing (Geoffroy, paragraph [0003]).
As to Claim 11:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the method of claim 10, wherein the displaying the visual object comprises: based on identifying the visual object, displaying the visual object by changing a transparency of the portion of the virtual environment from a first transparency to a second transparency higher than the first transparency (Pazmino, see figure 7F having a higher transparency than figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
.
As to Claim 12:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the method of claim 11, wherein the displaying the visual object comprises: based on identifying the visual object, starting to display the visual object when the transparency of the portion of the virtual environment is started to be changed from the first transparency to the second transparency (Pazmino, see figure 7F having a higher transparency than figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
As to Claim 13:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the method of claim 11, wherein a transparency of the visual object displayed via the at least one display is different from the transparency of the portion of the virtual environment which is being changed from the first transparency to the second transparency (Pazmino, see figure 7F having a higher transparency than figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting)..
As to Claim 14:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the method of claim 11, comprising: displaying a remaining portion of the virtual environment with the first transparency (Pazmino, see 722a in figure 7F) while changing the portion of the virtual environment from the first transparency to the second transparency (Pazmino, see 101 in figure 7H).
As to Claim 15:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the method of claim 10, wherein the changing comprises: based on the user input at a position corresponding to the visual object, changing the visual effect used for displaying the visual object from the first visual effect to the second visual effect (Pazmino, see figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
As to Claim 16:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the method of claim 10, wherein the at least one camera is at least one first camera, and wherein the identifying the user input comprises: identifying a gaze direction using at least one second camera of the head-wearable electronic device; and based on the gaze direction pointing the defined external object, determining that the user input is identified (Pazmino, see paragraph [0063], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system includes one or more input devices for detecting input such as one or more sensors for detecting eye movement ( e.g., eye tracking and gaze tracking sensors in FIG. 11) which can be used (optionally in conjunction with one or more lights such as lights 11.3.2-110 in FIG. 10) to determine attention or gaze position and/or gaze movement).
As to Claim 18:
Pazmino et al. discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium including instructions, wherein the instructions, when executed by a head-wearable electronic device (Pazmino, see Abstract, where Pazmino discloses a computer system displays an immersion control, a volume control, an element configured to permit or restrict breakthrough in different modes of operation of the computer
system, and/or an option selectable to cause initiation of display of a representation of content from a second computer system via a display generation component of the computer system. While a second computer system is displaying content, a first computer system detects an input corresponding to a request to display a representation of the content from the second computer system via a display generation component of the first computer system, and in response, initiates a process to display the representation of content and to de-emphasize the content displayed by the
second computer system. A first computer system facilitates disambiguation of a second computer system from a plurality of computer systems for display of a representation of content from the second computer system) including at least one camera (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system has one or more cameras) and at least one display (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the computer system has a touch-sensitive display (also known as a "touch screen" or "touch-screen display"), cause the head-wearable electronic device (Pazmino, see paragraph [0006], where Pazmino discloses that the
computer system is a personal electronic device (e.g., a wearable electronic device, such as a watch, or a headmounted device) to: display a virtual environment via the at least one display (Pazmino, see 722a in figure 7B and paragraph [0214], where Pazmino discloses that the amount of three-dimensional environment 704 that has been replaced by virtual environment 722a is increased
(compared with that of FIG. 7A), thus increasing the size of virtual environment 722a in three-dimensional environment 704 (e.g., increasing the size of the visual "portal" into virtual environment 722a)); identify a visual object from an image obtained via the at least one camera (Pazmino, see paragraph [0102], where Pazmino discloses that multiple sensors, including
the scene cameras 6-106, the downward cameras 6-114, the jaw cameras 6-116, the side cameras 6-118, the depth projector 6-112, and the depth sensors 6-108, 6-110 can be used in combination with an electrically coupled controller to combine depth data with camera data for hand tracking and for size determination for better hand tracking and object recognition and tracking functions of the HMD device 6-100) while the virtual environment is displayed (Pazmino, see paragraph [0053], where Pazmino discloses that for devices that include display generation components with virtual passthrough, portions of the physical environment that are visible (e.g., displayed, and/or projected) via the one or more display generation components are based on a field of view of one or more cameras in communication with the display generation components which typically move with the display generation components ( e.g., moving with a head of the user for a head mounted device or moving with a hand of a user for a handheld device such as a tablet or smartphone) because the viewpoint of the user moves as the field of view of the one or more cameras moves (and the appearance of one or more virtual objects displayed via the one or more display generation components is updated based on the viewpoint of the user ( e.g., displayed positions and poses of the virtual objects are updated based on the movement of the viewpoint of the user)); based on identifying the visual object (Pazmino, see paragraph [0421], where Pazmino discloses that the first computer system uses an image recognition technique to detect the second computer system in one or more images captured by one or more cameras of the first computer system), display the visual object (Pazmino, see 726a in figure 7B), wherein the visual object is displayed as being viewed to be overlapped (Pazmino, see 726a overlapped with virtual environment 722a in figure 7B) with the portion of the virtual environment (Pazmino, see 722a in figure 7B) in accordance with a first visual effect (Pazmino, see 728a in figure 7B and paragraph [0214], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7B illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 having a second level of immersion greater than
the first level of immersion illustrated in FIG. 7A in response to input directed to the immersion slider user interface element 728a corresponding to a request to increase an immersion level); while the visual object and the portion of the virtual environment are concurrently viewed via the at least one display (Pazmino, see figure 7B), identify a user input with respect to the visual object; and based on the user input, change a visual effect used for displaying the visual object from the first visual effect to a second visual effect (Pazmino, see figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
Pazmino differs from the claimed subject matter in that Pazmino does not explicitly disclose gradually.
However in an analogous art, Geoffroy discloses gradually (Geoffroy, see paragraph [0409], where Geoffroy discloses that the scene-based image editing system 106 detects an additional user interaction with the object attribute indicator 2112b. In response to detecting the additional user interaction, the scene-based image editing system 106 provides a slider bar 2114 for display within the graphical user interface 2102. In one or more embodiments, the slider bar 2114 includes a slider element 2116 that indicates a degree to which the corresponding object attribute appears in the digital image 2106 (e.g., the strength or weakness of its presence in the digital image 2106)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Pazmino with Geoffroy. One would be motivated to modify Pazmino by disclosing gradually as taught by Geoffroy thereby facilitating flexible and efficient scene-based image editing (Geoffroy, paragraph [0003]).
As to Claim 19:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 18, wherein the instructions, when executed by the head-wearable electronic device, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: based on identifying the visual object, display the visual object by changing a transparency of the portion of the virtual environment from a first transparency to a second transparency higher than the first transparency (Pazmino, see figure 7F having a higher transparency than figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
As to Claim 20:
Pazmino in view of Geoffroy discloses that the non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by the head-wearable electronic device, cause the head-wearable electronic device to: based on identifying the visual object, start to display the visual object when the transparency of the portion of the virtual environment is started to be changed from the first transparency to the second transparency (Pazmino, see figure 7F having a higher transparency than figure 7H and paragraph [0224], where Pazmino discloses that FIG. 7H illustrates the three-dimensional environment 704 in response to input directed to the auto-dim user interface element 728c of FIG. 7A (e.g., the user attention 730b and/or the input from the hand 732 of FIG. 7A) and the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is playing. In the illustrated embodiment in FIG. 7H, both the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a and portions of the physical environment are reduced in visual prominence (e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed), while the video application user interface 726a (e.g., a user interface of an application) is not reduced in visual prominence ( e.g., reduced in brightness and/or dimmed). In some embodiments, the parts of the video application user interface 726a are dimmed while the content item 750 of the video application user interface 726a is not dimmed. Also, in FIG. 7H, the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a has transitioned from BKGD 1 (of FIG. 7A) to BKGD 2, while maintaining the same level of immersion. The transition optionally includes the virtual environment 722-la, 722-2a transitioning from display mode 1 option 736a of FIG. 7C e.g., a simulated light (e.g., including a simulated light source at a first level of brightness), simulated daytime lighting, or simulated daylight lighting setting) to display mode 2 option 736b of FIG. 7C (e.g., a simulated dark (e.g., including a simulated light source at a second level of brightness lower than the first level of brightness), a simulated nighttime, or a simulated nightlight lighting setting).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Referring to claims 8 and 17, the following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fail to suggest limitations “wherein the identifying the visual object comprises: based on identifying the visual object corresponding to a defined external object within a distance shorter than a reference distance from the head-wearable electronic device, determining to display the visual object in accordance with the first visual effect”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure. Shiraishi (US 20180321834 A1) discloses a display device has an image shooting unit, a display unit, an operation portion, and a processing unit. The processing unit recognizes a particular segment included in a shot image. The processing unit makes the display unit display an added image indicating the particular segment in a form superimposed on the shot image. The processing unit changes the display as to the added image according to operations on the operation portion.
Contact Information
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to NELSON ROSARIO whose telephone number is (571)270-1866. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday through Friday, 7:30am- 5:00pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Eason can be reached on (571) 270-7230. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/NELSON M ROSARIO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624