DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species 1 in the replies filed on 07/02/26 and 08/27/26 is acknowledged. Claims 5, and 15-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Inventions II and III, and Species 2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1-4 are objected to for being overly shaded. Applicant is reminded that when drawings are further printed within a patent, overly dark drawings will tend to become difficult to decipher blobs.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a compliance value is adjustable by modifying at least one of (i) spring stiffness or (ii) the allowable travel length (Claim 4)” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
The “driving subsystem” in claims 1-4, 8-11, 13 and 14.
The “holding subsystem” in claims 1-4, 6, 7, 11-14.
The “compliance mechanism” in claims 1, 2, 6-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Several of the claims appear to recite limitations that appear to invoke 112, 6th paragraph as described above. Including: the “driving subsystem” in claims 1-4, 8-11, 13 and 14; the “holding subsystem” in claims 1-4, 6, 7, 11-14 and the “compliance mechanism” in claims 1, 2, 6-14. However, it is indefinite and unclear as to what constitutes the structural limitations of the “driving subsystem”, the “holding subsystem” and the “compliance mechanism” when 112, 6th paragraph is invoked?
Claim 4 recites “a compliance value is adjustable by modifying at least one of (i) spring stiffness or (ii) the allowable travel length.” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the spring could be modified as the disclosure does not appear to definitely state how this is to be done?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 122,927 (Walker).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 9, 10, and 14, Walker teaches: Claim 1 - an end effector system for use with a robotic manipulator, comprising: a driving subsystem (AA) configured to engage a fastener component and to apply rotational motion to the fastener component; and a holding subsystem (BB) configured to engage and stabilize a corresponding fastener component positioned on an opposite side of a fastening surface relative to the fastener component engaged by the driving subsystem (AA), wherein the holding subsystem (BB) includes a compliance mechanism (CC) configured to accommodate misalignment between the fastener component and the corresponding fastener component while enabling controlled application of torque during a fastening operation, (Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 2 – wherein the compliance mechanism (CC) is configured to provide compliance along a selected axis (horizontal) while remaining substantially rigid along one or more other axes (vertical), (Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 3 - wherein the compliance mechanism (CC) comprises a spring-loaded slider defining an allowable travel length along the selected axis, (Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 9 – wherein the holding subsystem (BB) comprises an adjustable extension structure (DD) configured to reach fasteners located in restricted or obstructed spaces, (Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 10 –wherein the adjustable extension structure (DD) is configured to function as a lever arm to resist or apply torque during the fastening operation, (Annotated Figure 1 Below); Claim 14 - wherein the driving subsystem (AA) and the holding subsystem (BB) are configured to operate independently or cooperatively for dual-side or single-side fastening operations, (Annotated Figure 1 Below).
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 2,943,335 (Daniel et al.).
Regarding Claims 1-3, 6, 11, 12, and 14, Daniel et al. teaches: Claim 1 - an end effector system for use with a robotic manipulator, comprising: a driving subsystem (33) configured to engage a fastener component and to apply rotational motion to the fastener component; and a holding subsystem (34) configured to engage and stabilize a corresponding fastener component positioned on an opposite side of a fastening surface relative to the fastener component engaged by the driving subsystem (33), wherein the driving subsystem (33) includes a compliance mechanism (105) configured to accommodate misalignment between the fastener component and the corresponding fastener component while enabling controlled application of torque during a fastening operation, (Figures 1-16); Claim 2 – wherein the compliance mechanism (105) is configured to provide compliance along a selected axis (horizontal) while remaining substantially rigid along one or more other axes (vertical), (Figures 1-16); Claim 3 - wherein the compliance mechanism (105) comprises a spring-loaded slider defining an allowable travel length along the selected axis, (Figures 1-15); Claim 6 - wherein the driving subsystem (33) comprises an electrically powered motor (96) configured to provide controlled rotational speed, torque, or angular position, (Figures 1-15); Claim 11 – wherein the compliance mechanism (105) is positioned between the driving subsystem (33) and a connection interface (30) configured to couple to the robotic manipulator, (Figures 1-15); Claim 12 – wherein the driving subsystem (33) comprises a motor (96) and a fastener engagement interface (33), and wherein the compliance mechanism (105) is positioned between the motor (96) and the fastener engagement interface (33), (Figures 1-15); Claim 14 - wherein the driving subsystem (33) and the holding subsystem (34) are configured to operate independently or cooperatively for dual-side or single-side fastening operations, (Figures 1-15).
Claim(s) 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 112404969 (Sun et al.).
Regarding Claims 1 and 8, Sun et al. teaches: Claim 1 - an end effector system for use with a robotic manipulator, comprising: a driving subsystem (8-11) configured to engage a fastener component and to apply rotational motion to the fastener component; and a holding subsystem (12-14) configured to engage and stabilize a corresponding fastener component positioned on an opposite side of a fastening surface relative to the fastener component engaged by the driving subsystem (8-11), wherein the driving subsystem (8-11) and the holding subsystem (12-14) includes a compliance mechanism (9 or 14) configured to accommodate misalignment between the fastener component and the corresponding fastener component while enabling controlled application of torque during a fastening operation, (Figures 1-4); Claim 8 - wherein the holding subsystem (12-14) comprises an interchangeable holding socket (15 - socket is replaceable as described in the description) configured to engage different fastener types or sizes, (Figures 1-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 7, and 13, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 118635863 (YIN et al.) in view of U.S. Patent No. 9,174,341 (Maischberger et al.).
Regarding Claims 1, 7 and 13, YIN et al. teaches: Claim 1 – an end effector system for use with a robotic manipulator, comprising: a driving subsystem (1) configured to engage a fastener component and to apply rotational motion to the fastener component; and a holding subsystem (2) configured to engage and stabilize a corresponding fastener component positioned on an opposite side of a fastening surface relative to the fastener component engaged by the driving subsystem, (Figures 1 and 2).
YIN et al. does not teach: wherein at least one of the driving subsystem or the holding subsystem includes a compliance mechanism configured to accommodate misalignment between the fastener component and the corresponding fastener component while enabling controlled application of torque during a fastening operation (Claim 1); wherein the driving subsystem comprises an interchangeable screw driver tip configured to engage different fastener types or sizes (Claim 7); and one or more sensors configured to provide feedback including at least one of force, torque, position, velocity, or visual information (Claim 13). However, Maischberger et al. teaches: Claim 1 – a driving subsystem (7) including a compliance mechanism (38) configured to accommodate misalignment between a fastener component and a corresponding fastener component while enabling controlled application of torque during a fastening operation, (Figures 1-7); Claim 7 – wherein the driving subsystem (7) comprises an interchangeable screw driver tip (8) configured to engage different fastener types or sizes (See Column 7, Lines 5-12 which describes the tool (8) being interchangeable), (Figures 1-7); Claim 13 - one or more sensors (19 or 20) configured to provide feedback including at least one of force, torque, position, velocity, or visual information (Column 7, Lines 31-55; and Column 8, Lines 28-50), (Figures 1-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of YIN et al. to have wherein at least one of the driving subsystem or the holding subsystem includes a compliance mechanism configured to accommodate misalignment between the fastener component and the corresponding fastener component while enabling controlled application of torque during a fastening operation (Claim 1); wherein the driving subsystem comprises an interchangeable screw driver tip configured to engage different fastener types or sizes (Claim 7); and one or more sensors configured to provide feedback including at least one of force, torque, position, velocity, or visual information (Claim 13) as taught by Maischberger et al. as it represents the simple substitution of one known driving subsystem (the driving subsystem of Maischberger et al.) for another (the driving subsystem of YIN et al.) to obtain the predictable result of having a driving subsystem which includes a compliance mechanism and sensor system.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 122,927 (Walker) in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,627,169 (Zafred et al.).
Regarding Claim 4, Walker teaches the system as described above, but does not teach: wherein a compliance value is adjustable by modifying at least one of (i) spring stiffness or (ii) the allowable travel length (Claim 4). However, Zafred et al. teaches: Claim 4 – a compliance mechanism (10), wherein the compliance mechanism (10) includes adjustable springs (33) designed to have a compliance value being adjustable by modifying at least one of (i) spring stiffness using adjustable screws (36), (Figures 1-9). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Walker to have wherein a compliance value is adjustable by modifying at least one of (i) spring stiffness or (ii) the allowable travel length (Claim 4) as taught by Zafred et al. for the purposes of being able to adjust the stiffness of the compliance spring of Walker as it would have been obvious to try.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642