DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9, 12, 18 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “generally perpendicular” in claims 9, 12, 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally perpendicular” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term “generally” renders the claim indefinite as it is unclear if the propulsion unit is perpendicular to the first propulsive force or not. Applicant should amend to clearly define the limitations of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10, 13-15, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Taveira (US 2019/0066032).
Regarding claims 1, 10, 13-15, Taveira discloses a package transport system, comprising: an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) (100) including: a body (body of element 100) having a front portion (front of element 100), the body (body of element 100) having a slot with an opening (171) disposed proximate the front portion (front of element 100), the slot (171) terminating with a receiving socket (formed by element 170 opening and closing) disposed opposite the opening (the opening at element 171 and socket which is internal relative to elements 170); at least one propulsion unit (160) operatively coupled to the body (body of element 100) and configured to generate a first propulsive force ([0033] provide propulsion and/or lifting forces for the robotic vehicle); a package securing arrangement (200) configured to secure a package (50) for transport, the package securing arrangement (200) having a mast (250) and a top element (ball element atop mast 250) atop the mast (250), the top element (ball element atop mast 250) configured to nest within (Fig. 2A) the receiving socket (formed by element 170 opening and closing) when the package (50) is being transported.
Regarding claims 2, 17, Taveira discloses wherein the UAV (100) includes a scanner ([0047] vision based tracking system) configured to read a two-dimensional barcode ([0047] may also use one or more markings, such as matrix barcodes, patterns, symbols, shapes, or the like, disposed on one or more outer portions) affixed to the package (50).
Regarding claims 3-4, Taveira discloses wherein the UAV (100) includes an optical camera ([0047] may use a pair of cameras) and an infrared camera ([0047] infrared may be included to facilitate the vision-based tracking system).
Regarding claim 5, Taveira discloses wherein the package securing arrangement (200) further includes at least one strap (910) and a strap guide member (209) coupled to the mast (250), the strap guide member (209) configured to receive the at least one strap (910).
Regarding claim 6, Taveira discloses wherein the top element (ball portion of element 250) includes an engagement member (outer portion of the ball portion of element 250) and the receiving socket (formed by element 170 opening and closing) includes a complimentary engagement member (the inner walls of the receiving socket formed by element 170 opening and closing), the engagement member (outer portion of the ball portion of element 250) of the top element (ball portion of element 250) is configured to engage the complimentary engagement member (the inner walls of the receiving socket formed by element 170 opening and closing) of the receiving socket (formed by element 170 opening and closing) such that the package securing arrangement (200) does not rotate relative to the UAV (100) when the UAV (100) is transporting the package (50).
Regarding claims 7, 16. The package transport system of claim 1, wherein the UAV (100) further includes a pair of stabilizing members (103) coupled to an underside of the body (body of element 100) of the UAV (100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taveira (US 2019/0066032) in view of (CN 206520742)(Hereinafter referred to as ‘742).
Regarding claims 8, 11, Taveira discloses the invention substantially as set forth above, but does not expressly disclose wherein each of the stabilizing members is arcuate and flexible.
However, ‘742 discloses a similar UAV structure (1) having stabilizing members (6, 13) that are arcuate and flexible (via spring element 12 and rubber portion 13, Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Taveira, by making the stabilizing members is arcuate and flexible, as taught by ‘742, for the purpose of providing a buffer for the UAV upon contact with the ground surface.
Claims 9, 12, 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taveira (US 2019/0066032) in view of Hafenrichter (US 2021/0237381).
Regarding claims 9, 12, 18, Taveira discloses the invention substantially as set forth above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the UAV further includes an auxiliary propulsion unit operatively coupled to the body, the auxiliary propulsion unit configured to generate a second propulsive force that is generally perpendicular to the first propulsive force.
However, Hafenrichter discloses a similar UAV device (2) having an auxiliary propulsion unit (10*) operatively coupled to the body (2), the auxiliary propulsion unit (10*) configured to generate a second propulsive force (normal flight) that is generally perpendicular (Fig. 4A) to the first propulsive force (lifting and landing (vertical) flight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention/application, to modify Taveira, by making the UAV with an auxiliary propulsion unit operatively coupled to the body, the auxiliary propulsion unit configured to generate a second propulsive force that is generally perpendicular to the first propulsive force, as taught by Hafenrichter, for the purpose of providing the UAV with forward propulsion when required.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Examiner lists referenced documents on PTO-892 because the references present other/alternative or conceptual designs similar in scope that illustrate relevant features, which may demonstrate the level of novelty in comparison to Applicant’s inventive submission. The record relates to Applicant’s identified material and Examiner’s discovered references concerning Applicant’s subject matter relevant for a patentability determination.
/AARON M RODZIWICZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3642 /JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642