DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/29/2025 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimchi et al. (9,908,632) and Cottrell (US 2019/0382110 A1).
For claims 1 and 3, Kimchi discloses a method for controlling an electric flight vehicle that includes an airframe, a central propulsor that is disposed in a region including a gravity center position of the airframe in a plan view and that has an electric motor, a fan that is rotationally driven by the electric motor, and a tubular duct that covers the fan from an outer periphery side, a manifold that is connected to an outlet of the central propulsor and a plurality of peripheral propulsors that are provided in the airframe to surround the central propulsor from an outer periphery side in a plan view, and each of which has an electric motor, a fan that is rotationally driven by the electric motor, and a tubular duct that covers the fan from the outer periphery side (Fig. 1, 2C, 3, 9A, col. 8, ln 28-34, 53-66, where the electric flight vehicle includes propulsors in the center and plurality of propulsors surrounding the central propulsor having tubular duct covers), the method comprising: a step of starting the central propulsor until a rated rotation speed is reached; and a step of causing the airframe to take off by driving the plurality of peripheral propulsors after the central propulsor has reached the rated rotation speed (Fig. 10, col. 4, ln 45-67, col. 16, ln 3-17, where the propulsors rotation speed are controlled to operate the lift of the flight vehicle).
Kimchi does not specifically disclose the manifold extends in a plurality of different directions to divert an airflow in the plurality of directions, and a thrust vectoring unit that is provided at each outlet of the manifold and that thrust-vectors the airflow, a thrust vectoring actuator unit that controls an angle of the thrust vectoring unit, rotatable. Cottrell in the same field of the art discloses the manifold extends in a plurality of different directions to divert an airflow in the plurality of directions, and a thrust vectoring unit that is provided at each outlet of the manifold and that thrust-vectors the airflow, a thrust vectoring actuator unit that controls an angle of the thrust vectoring unit, rotatable (Fig. 5, 6, at least in para. 0047-0050, where the duct fan includes a manifold that extends to plurality of outlets in various directions and rotatable thrusters). the manifold extends in a plurality of different directions to divert an airflow in the plurality of directions, and a thrust vectoring unit that is provided at each outlet of the manifold and that thrust-vectors the airflow, a thrust vectoring actuator unit that controls an angle of the thrust vectoring unit, rotatable, as taught by Cottrell to provide additional maneuverability to the flight vehicle with more thruster directions.
For claims 2 and 4, Kimchi, as modified, discloses the method for controlling an electric flight vehicle according to claims 1 and 3, further comprising: a step of reducing a rotation speed of the peripheral propulsor; and a step of landing the airframe by reducing a rotation speed of the central propulsor after the rotation speed of the peripheral propulsor has been reduced (Col. 2, ln 34-58, col. 10, ln 60 – col. 11, ln 36, col. 15, ln 40 – col. 16, ln 2, where the concept of having the main and central propellers for lifting operations while the peripheral propulsors can be used for maneuverability, the main and central propellers would be the primary and after the speed control of the peripheral propellers reduced operations during landing because the main propeller is primarily for lift controls).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2023/0303274 A1) Foster et al. discloses a flight vehicle having a central propulsor and peripheral propulsors having various configurations and controls.
(US 2010/0256839 A1) Fitzpatrick discloses an unmanned aerial vehicle having a lifting duct fan with outlets having actuatable devices.
/SZE-HON KONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657