DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 09/25/2025. The
submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information
disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9, 10, and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al, US 20220417521 A1 (Zhang).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang discloses a method of reconstructing a current block by a video decoding apparatus (Zhang Fig. 13; ¶ [0402]– Video decoder 300 determines a prediction block for the current block using the first motion vector and the second motion vector (430). As described in more detail with respect to FIGS. 13 and 15, video decoder 300 may, for example, add the prediction block to a residual block to form a reconstructed block), the method comprising: obtaining a first reference picture and a second reference picture of the current block (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0401]– for the current block ...video decoder 300 may be configured to locate a first ...reference picture...a second reference picture), with a current picture existing temporally between the first reference picture and the second reference picture (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0182]– In other words, the reference pictures of the two predictors should be at different directions relative to the current picture, meaning if the first reference picture is before the current picture in display order, then the second reference picture should be after the current picture in display order, or vice versa);
generating a first motion vector of the current block (Zhang ¶ [0400]– Video decoder 300 determines a first motion vector for the current block based on the MVP and the MVD (426); Zhang Fig. 17– (426));
generating a first predictor of the current block by using the first motion vector and the first reference picture (Zhang ¶ [0183]– FIG. 9 shows an example where the first predictor (reference block 192) for a current block 194 is located in a reference picture; Zhang ¶ [0194]– first reference block which is derived by using the final motion vector (FirstPredictorMv) of the first predictor);
generating a comparative block by using at least one of the first predictor or an intra predictor of the current block (Zhang ¶ [0185]– FIG. 10 shows an example of bilateral matching prediction with one fixed template [of a current block]; Zhang ¶ [0199]– The aforementioned examples illustrate the bilateral matching process using one fixed template (generated by the motion vector information of the first predictor));
searching for a block having a minimum difference from the comparative block, within a preset search range on the second reference picture (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0189]– 1) derive...motion vector within the search range that has the minimum bilateral matching error between FirstRefBlock and SecondRefBlock[k]; Zhang Fig. 10– shows SecondRefBlock[k] (197) located on a second reference picture (i.e., ReferencePicture 1); Zhang ¶ [0187]– In some examples, the search range may be pre-defined);
and refining a second motion vector by a vector indicative of a searched block (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0186]– The final second reference block 197 (SecondRefBlock[k]) is derived by … SecondPredictorMvp[k]+deltaMV. Video decoder 300 may be configured to derive deltaMV by searching within a bilateral matching search range).
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, further comprising: decoding, from a bitstream, a flag indicative of non-transmission of a second motion vector difference (Zhang Fig. 8; ¶ [0143]– 2) When HybridBiFlag is equal to 1, indicating the current block is coded as a hybrid inter bi-predicted block, receive a second flag (FirstPredictorOnReferenceList0Flag), in the bitstream, indicating whether an MVD is signaled for reference list 0 or reference list 1; Thus, the flag identifies which prediction direction has an MVD signaled, and consequently which does not);
and checking the flag of the non-transmission, wherein the method further comprises, when the flag of the non-transmission is true: proceeding with generating the comparative block through refining the second motion vector (Zhang Fig. 8; ¶ [0143]– FirstPredictorOnReferenceList0Flag ... indicating whether an MVD is signaled for reference list 0 or reference list 1; Zhang ¶ [0199]– As part of performing hybrid inter bi-prediction using bilateral matching, video encoder 200 and video decoder 300 may be configured to perform bilateral matching motion vector refinement for...the...second predictor MVP....the bilateral matching process using one fixed template (generated by the motion vector information of the first predictor) to refine the second predictor MVP).
Regarding Claim 3, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 2, further comprising, when the flag of the non-transmission is true: generating a second predictor of the current block by using the refined second motion vector and the second reference picture (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0186]– The final second reference block 197 (SecondRefBlock[k]) is derived by ...SecondPredictorMvp[k]+deltaMV);
and generating a bidirectional prediction block of the current block by using the first predictor and the second predictor (Zhang Fig. 17; ¶ [0402]– Video decoder 300 determines a prediction block for the current block using the first motion vector and the second motion vector (430)).
Regarding Claim 5, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein generating the first motion vector comprises: generating the first motion vector by obtaining a first motion vector predictor of the current block (Zhang ¶ [0141]– Receive an index (FirstPredictorMvpIdx), in the bitstream, to indicate which MVP (FirstPredictorMvp) in the AMVP candidate list is used to generate the first predictor; Zhang Fig. 10– shows FirstPredictorMV 193 of Current block 191), decoding a first motion vector difference from a bitstream (Zhang ¶ [0457]– A method of decoding video data; Zhang ¶ [0458]– receiving a second syntax element identifying a motion vector difference), and then summing the first motion vector predictor and the first motion vector difference (Zhang ¶ [0138]– the first motion vector is equal to the MVD plus the MVP).
Regarding Claim 6, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein generating the comparative block comprises: setting the comparative block by the first predictor (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0199]– bilateral matching process using one fixed template (generated by the motion vector information of the first predictor).
Regarding Claim 7, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein generating the comparative block comprises: generating the intra predictor (Zhang ¶ [0382]– current block is intra-predicted...according to an intra-prediction mode);
and setting the comparative block by the intra predictor (Zhang ¶ [0382]– intra-prediction unit 318 may generate the prediction block according to an intra-prediction mode).
Regarding Claim 9, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, wherein generating the comparative block comprises: obtaining an index indicative of a method of generating the comparative block (Zhang ¶ [0146]– Receive an index (FirstPredictorMvpIdx), in the bitstream, to indicate which MVP (FirstPredictorMvp) in the AMVP (i.e., the method) candidate list is used to generate the first predictor (i.e., comparitive block));
and depending on the index, using either the first predictor as the comparative block, the intra predictor as the comparative block, or a block generated by weight-summing the first predictor and the intra predictor as the comparative block (Zhang ¶ [0146]– Receive an index (FirstPredictorMvpIdx), in the bitstream, to indicate which MVP (FirstPredictorMvp) in the AMVP candidate list is used to generate the first predictor (i.e., comparitive block)).
Regarding Claim 10, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 7, wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: generating the intra predictor by using a preset prediction mode (Zhang ¶ [0083]– Some examples of VVC provide sixty-seven intra-prediction modes, including various directional modes, as well as planar mode and DC mode).
Regarding Claim 16, Zhang discloses a method of encoding a current block by a video encoding apparatus (Zhang Fig. 12; ¶ [0392]– Video encoder 200 determines that a current block of the video data is coded in a bi-prediction inter mode (400) and determines a first motion vector for the current block (402)), the method comprising: obtaining a first reference picture and a second reference picture of the current block (Zhang Fig. 12; ¶ [0393]– for the current block...video encoder 200 may be configured to locate ...a first reference picture...a second reference picture), with a current picture existing temporally between the first reference picture and the second reference picture (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0182]– In other words, the reference pictures of the two predictors should be at different directions relative to the current picture, meaning if the first reference picture is before the current picture in display order, then the second reference picture should be after the current picture in display order, or vice versa);
determining a first motion vector and a second motion vector of the current block (Zhang Fig. 16; ¶ [0392]– Video encoder 200 determines … a first motion vector for the current block (402); Zhang Fig. 16; ¶ [0393]– Video encoder 200 determines a second motion vector for the current block);
generating a first predictor of the current block by using the first motion vector and the first reference picture (Zhang ¶ [0183]– FIG. 9 shows an example where the first predictor (reference block 192) for a current block 194 is located in a reference picture; Zhang ¶ [0194]– first reference block which is derived by using the final motion vector (FirstPredictorMv) of the first predictor), and generating a second predictor of the current block by using the second motion vector and the second reference picture (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0156]– determined that SecondPredictorMvpCand[i] can be used as a second predictor; Zhang ¶ [0183]– FIG. 9 shows...a current block 194 ...There are five candidates (cand0 through cand 4) for the second predictor; ...these candidates are in reference pictures (reference pictures 2 and 3));
generating a first bidirectional prediction block of the current block by using the first predictor and the second predictor (Zhang Fig. 16; ¶ [0396]– Video encoder 200 determines a prediction block for the current block using the first motion vector and the second motion vector (410));
generating a comparative block by using at least one of the first predictor or an intra predictor of the current block (Zhang ¶ [0185]– FIG. 10 shows an example of bilateral matching prediction with one fixed template [of a current block]; Zhang ¶ [0199]– The aforementioned examples illustrate the bilateral matching process using one fixed template (generated by the motion vector information of the first predictor));
searching for a block having a minimum difference from the comparative block, within a preset search range on the second reference picture (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0189]– 1) derive...motion vector within the search range that has the minimum bilateral matching error between FirstRefBlock and SecondRefBlock[k]; Zhang Fig. 10– shows SecondRefBlock[k] (197) located on a second reference picture (i.e., ReferencePicture 1); Zhang ¶ [0187]– In some examples, the search range may be pre-defined);
refining the second motion vector with a vector indicative of a searched block (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0186]– The final second reference block 197 (SecondRefBlock[k]) is derived by ... SecondPredictorMvp[k]+deltaMV. Video decoder 300 may be configured to derive deltaMV by searching within a bilateral matching search range);
generating a refined second predictor by using a refined second motion vector and the second reference picture (Zhang Fig. 10; ¶ [0186]– The final second reference block 197 (SecondRefBlock[k]) is derived by ... SecondPredictorMvp[k]+deltaMV. Video decoder 300 may be configured to derive deltaMV by searching within a bilateral matching search range.);
and generating a second bidirectional prediction block of the current block by using the first predictor and the refined second predictor (Zhang Fig. 16; ¶ [0396]– Video encoder 200 determines a prediction block for the current block using the first motion vector and the second motion vector (410)).
With regard to Claim 17, the claim limitations are essentially the same as Claim 2 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject Claim 2 is applied to Claim 17.
With regard to Claim 18, the claim limitations are essentially the same as Claim 5 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject Claim 5 is applied to Claim 18.
With regard to Claim 19, the claim limitations are essentially the same as Claim 4 but in a different embodiment. Therefore, the rational used to reject Claim 4 is applied to Claim 19.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2014/0086333 A1).
Regarding Claim 20, Claim 20 claims a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the storage medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes the information and samples manipulated by the steps.
“To be given patentable weight, the printed matter and associated product must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the printed matter performs some function with respect to the product to which it is associated”. MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists. MPEP §2111.05(III).
The memory storing the claimed bitstream in Claim 20 merely services as a support for the storage of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and storage medium. Therefore, the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III). Thus, the claim scope is just a storage medium storing data and is anticipated by Wang which recites a storage medium storing a bitstream.
Wang discloses, a bitstream of compressed video data, including a computer readable storage medium storing the compressed non-transitory video data (Wang [0060] and [0044]-[0045]– Video encoder 20” implemented as a variety of suitable circuitry such as one or more microprocessors).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Jang et al, US 20220038732 A1 (Jang).
Regarding Claim 4, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 2, as outlined above.
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose further comprising, when the flag of the non-transmission is false: generating the second motion vector by obtaining a second motion vector predictor of the current block, decoding a second motion vector difference from the bitstream, and then summing the second motion vector predictor and the second motion vector difference; generating a second predictor of the current block by using the second motion vector and the second reference picture; and generating a bidirectional prediction block of the current block by using the first predictor and the second predictor.
Jang teaches further comprising, when the flag of the non-transmission is false: generating the second motion vector by obtaining a second motion vector predictor of the current block (Jang Fig. 31; ¶ [0367]– if the first flag is 0, decoding the second MVD information may be performed; Jang ¶ [0371]– obtain ...second MVP information for the second-direction prediction [of the current block]), decoding a second motion vector difference from the bitstream (Jang Fig. 31; ¶ [0367]– decoding the second MVD information may be performed), and then summing the second motion vector predictor and the second motion vector difference (Jang ¶ [0371]– determine the second motion vector by adding the second MVD to the second candidate motion vector);
generating a second predictor of the current block by using the second motion vector and the second reference picture (Jang ¶ [0365]– generate a prediction sample of the current block based on the...second motion vector; Jang Fig. 19– shows a block included in current picture between two reference pictures with respective motion vectors (MVD0 and MVD1));
and generating a bidirectional prediction block of the current block by using the first predictor and the second predictor (Jang ¶ [0357]– generate a prediction sample of the current block based on a first reference sample indicated by the first motion vector in the first reference picture and a second reference sample indicated by the second motion vector in the second reference picture; Jang Fig. 19; ¶ [0208]– the bi-prediction is applied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang to incorporate a technique for generating the second motion vector using a second motion vector predictor and a second motion vector difference as taught by Jang.
One would be motivated to combine Jang’s technique for generating the second motion vector using a second motion vector predictor and a second motion vector difference to increase signaling efficiency (Jang ¶ [0006]– An embodiment of the present disclosure a method and a device for increasing signaling efficiency).
Regarding Claim 8, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 1, as outlined above.
In addition, Zhang discloses wherein generating the comparative block comprises: generating the intra predictor (Zhang ¶ [0382]– current block is intra-predicted...according to an intra-prediction mode).
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose generating a block by weight-summing the first predictor and the intra predictor; and setting the comparative block by a weight-summed block.
Jang teaches generating a block by weight-summing the first predictor and the intra predictor (Jang ¶ [0307]– the intra and inter prediction signals are combined by using a weighted average);
and setting the comparative block by a weight-summed block (Jang ¶ [0309]–PCIIP=((8−wt)*Pinter+wt*Pintra+4)>>3 [Equation 5]; Jang ¶ [0310]– In Equation 5, PCIIP represents a CIIP prediction sample value, Pinter represents the inter prediction sample value, Pintra represents the intra prediction sample value, and wt represents the weight).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang to incorporate a weight summing technique as taught by Jang.
One would be motivated to combine Jang’s weight-summing technique to increase signaling efficiency. Please see the motivation of Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 11, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 7, as outlined above.
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: searching for intra-predicted blocks around the current block; selecting one prediction mode among prediction modes of the intra-predicted blocks, according to a preset method; and generating the intra predictor by using a selected prediction mode.
Jang teaches wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: searching for intra-predicted blocks around the current block (Jang Fig. 26; ¶ [0293]– Left and top neighbor blocks are configured to A and B, respectively; Jang Fig. 26; ¶ [0294]– Prediction modes of block A and block B are referred to as intraModeA and intraModeB, respectively);
selecting one prediction mode among prediction modes of the intra-predicted blocks, according to a preset method (Jang ¶ [0297]– Otherwise, i) if the intra prediction mode of block X is DC or PLANAR, intraModeX is configured to DC or PLANAR, ii) if the intra prediction mode of block X is a “vertical-like” directional mode (a mode which is greater than 34), intraModeX is configured to VERTICAL, or iii) if the intra prediction mode of block X is a “horizontal-like” directional mode (a mode which is equal to or smaller than 34), intraModeX is configured to HORIZONTAL);
and generating the intra predictor by using a selected prediction mode (Jang ¶ [0305]– The intra prediction mode of the CU coded in the CIIP will be stored and used for intra mode coding of the neighboring CUs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang to incorporate an intra prediction technique as taught by Jang.
One would be motivated to combine Jang’s intra prediction technique to increase signaling efficiency. Please see the motivation of Claim 4.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Lee et al, US 20210021816 A1 (Lee).
Regarding Claim 12, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 7, as outlined above.
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: searching for intra-predicted blocks around a block indicated by the first motion vector on the first reference picture; selecting one prediction mode among prediction modes of the intra-predicted blocks, according to a preset method; and generating the intra predictor by using a selected prediction mode.
Lee teaches wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: searching for intra-predicted blocks around a block indicated by the first motion vector on the first reference picture (Lee Fig. 21; ¶ [0712]– The processing unit may search a reference picture for a block corresponding to the motion information of the spatial neighbor block of the target block, and may determine the found corresponding block to be the temporal neighbor block of the target block; Lee Fig. 21; ¶ [0715]– The intra-prediction mode of the target block may be derived based on a block spatially adjacent to the temporal neighbor block of the target block; Lee ¶ [0707]– In FIG. 21, AL, A, AR, L, and LB are depicted as spatial neighbor blocks of a target block);
selecting one prediction mode among prediction modes of the intra-predicted blocks, according to a preset method (Lee Fig. 21; ¶ [0716]– one or more intra-prediction modes of one or more blocks of R_AL, R_A, R_AR, R_L, and R_LB may be used);
and generating the intra predictor by using a selected prediction mode (Lee Fig. 21; ¶ [0716]– derive the intra-prediction mode of the target block).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang to incorporate an intra prediction technique as taught by Lee.
One would be motivated to combine Lee’s intra prediction technique to provide high coding efficiency (Lee ¶ [0138]– to provide high coding efficiency by utilizing combinations of the size of a coding unit (CU), a prediction mode…).
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Li US 20230049154 A1 (Li).
Regarding Claim 13, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 7, as outlined above.
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: deriving a prediction mode according to a Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) technique; and generating the intra predictor by using a derived prediction mode.
Li teaches wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: deriving a prediction mode according to a Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) technique (Li ¶ [0110]– the decoder can use DIMD to derive an intra mode);
and generating the intra predictor by using a derived prediction mode (Li ¶ [0110]– and use the derived intra mode for intra prediction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang to incorporate a Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) technique as taught by Li.
One would be motivated to combine Li’s Decoder-side Intra Mode Derivation (DIMD) technique to have an impact in the coding efficiency gain through intra prediction (Li ¶ [0009]– have an impact in the coding efficiency gain through intra prediction).
Regarding Claim 14, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 7, as outlined above.
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: deriving a prediction mode according to a Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) technique; and generating the intra predictor by using the derived prediction mode.
Li teaches wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: deriving a prediction mode according to a Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) technique (Li ¶ [0108]– Template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) can use reference samples of a current CU as a template and select an intra mode among a set of candidate intra prediction modes that is associated with TIMD);
and generating the intra predictor by using the derived prediction mode (Li ¶ [0108]– An intra prediction mode with a minimum cost (or distortion) can be selected as the intra prediction mode (e.g., best intra prediction mode) to intra predict the current CU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang to incorporate a Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) technique as taught by Li.
One would be motivated to combine Li’s Template-based Intra Mode Derivation (TIMD) technique to have an impact in the coding efficiency gain through intra prediction. Please see motivation of Claim 13.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang, in view of Naser US 20240171756 A1 (Naser).
Regarding Claim 15, Zhang discloses the method of Claim 7, as outlined above.
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose wherein generating the intra predictor comprises :performing template matching in a reconstructed area in the current picture to search for a template having a minimum difference from a template of the current block; and using a block corresponding to a searched template as the intra predictor.
Naser teaches wherein generating the intra predictor comprises: performing template matching in a reconstructed area in the current picture to search for a template having a minimum difference from a template of the current block (Naser Fig. 4; ¶ [0057]– Template matching prediction (TMP)...is performed by searching one or more similar L-shaped neighborhoods (referred to as “template”) to find one or more target or candidate blocks for prediction...Similar templates are found that have small differences with the current template [of the current block]);
and using a block corresponding to a searched template as the intra predictor (Naser Fig. 4; ¶ [0057]– The blocks belonging to these templates (target blocks) are used to generate the prediction signal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify Zhang to incorporate a template matching prediction technique as taught by Naser.
One would be motivated to combine Naser’s template matching prediction technique to provide an acceptable complexity/rate distortion (RD) performance tradeoff (Naser ¶ [0062]– providing an acceptable complexity/rate distortion (RD) performance trade-off).
Conclusion
/C.P.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2483
/JOSEPH G USTARIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2483