DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/24/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US20250330635) (hereinafter Lee) in view of Zhang et al. (US20240275984) (hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses a device for video decoding, comprising:
a processor configured to: determine that a coding mode is enabled for a current block, wherein the coding mode uses a template of the current block to determine a candidate mode for a prediction of the current block [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0186-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
obtain a residual indicator that indicates whether the current block is associated with a residual [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0186-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
decode the current block based on the derived candidate mode [0163, 0186-0188; performing coding on video data].
Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose select, from a plurality of candidate mode template metrics, a candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the residual indicator and derive the candidate mode for the prediction of the current block based on the candidate mode template metric and the template of the current block
Zhang more explicitly discloses select, from a plurality of candidate mode template metrics, a candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the residual indicator [0235-0238, 0338-0341, 0521-0530, 0635-0636, 0817-0822, 0877-0882; variety of template based modes and updating dynamic parameters including error metrics].
derive the candidate mode for the prediction of the current block based on the candidate mode template metric and the template of the current block [0235-0238, 0338-0341, 0521-0530, 0635-0636, 0817-0822, 0877-0882; variety of template based modes and updating dynamic parameters including error metrics].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Zhang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, coding process that reduces cost while maintaining quality is achieved (see Zhang 0002-0004).
Regarding claim 17, Lee discloses determine a template of a neighboring block of the current block; and obtain a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block, the template of the neighboring block, and the candidate mode, wherein the candidate mode is derived based on the value of the candidate mode template metric [0130-0131, 0163-0165; deriving values from neighboring blocks in accordance with selected mode].
Regarding claim 18, Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose determine that template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is enabled for the current block; obtain a list of most probable modes (MPM); and determine a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block and an intra prediction mode in the MPM list, wherein the intra prediction mode is the derived candidate mode based on the value of the candidate mode template metric, and the derived candidate mode is used as a TIMD mode.
Zhang more explicitly discloses determine that template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is enabled for the current block; obtain a list of most probable modes (MPM); and determine a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block and an intra prediction mode in the MPM list, wherein the intra prediction mode is the derived candidate mode based on the value of the candidate mode template metric, and the derived candidate mode is used as a TIMD mode [0634-0642, 0659; MPM list construction in TIMD mode including template prediction mode].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses obtain, based on the derived candidate mode, a prediction block for the current block; obtain a filter associated with the current block; and based on the residual indicator, determine whether the filter is to be applied to the prediction block for the current block [0046, 0055-0061, 0106-0126; applying filters to prediction blocks].
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses wherein the processor is further configured to, based on the residual indicator indicating that the current block is associated with the residual, determine to apply the filter to the prediction block for the current block [Figs. 2-3, 0061-0069, 0106-0116; combining video data parameters and determining additional coding steps].
Regarding claim 21, Lee discloses wherein the filter comprises at least one of a diffusion filter, a bilateral filter, or an adaptive loop filter [0069; various filters applied to coded data].
Regarding claim 22, Lee discloses wherein selecting the candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the residual indicator further comprises: based on the residual indicator associated with the current block indicating a transform skip, selecting the sum of absolute differences (SAD) for deriving the candidate mode [Figs. 2-3, 0061-0069, 0100-0110; variety of used filters including consideration for video data and residual application].
Regarding claim 23, Lee discloses wherein selecting the candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the residual indicator further comprises: based on the residual indicator associated with the current block indicating no residual, selecting the sum of absolute differences (SAD) for deriving the candidate mode [Figs. 2-3, 0061-0069, 0100-0110; variety of used filters including consideration for video data and residual application].
Regarding claim 24, Lee discloses a device for video encoding, comprising:
a processor configured to: determine to enable a coding mode for a current block, wherein the coding mode uses a template of the current block to determine a candidate mode for a prediction of the current block [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0186-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
set a value for a residual indicator that indicates whether the current block is associated with a residual [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0186-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
encode the current block based on the derived candidate mode; and include the residual indicator in video data [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0183-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose select, from a plurality of candidate mode template metrics, a candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the value of the residual indicator and derive the candidate mode for the prediction of the current block based on the candidate mode template metric and the template of the current block.
Zhang more explicitly discloses select, from a plurality of candidate mode template metrics, a candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the residual indicator [0235-0238, 0338-0341, 0521-0530, 0635-0636, 0817-0822, 0877-0882; variety of template based modes and updating dynamic parameters including error metrics].
derive the candidate mode for the prediction of the current block based on the candidate mode template metric and the template of the current block [0235-0238, 0338-0341, 0521-0530, 0635-0636, 0817-0822, 0877-0882; variety of template based modes and updating dynamic parameters including error metrics].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Zhang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, coding process that reduces cost while maintaining quality is achieved (see Zhang 0002-0004).
Regarding claim 25, Lee discloses determine a template of a neighboring block of the current block; and obtain a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block, the template of the neighboring block, and the candidate mode, wherein the candidate mode is derived based on the value of the candidate mode template metric [0130-0131, 0163-0165; deriving values from neighboring blocks in accordance with selected mode].
Regarding claim 26, Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose determine that template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is enabled for the current block; obtain a list of most probable modes (MPM); and determine a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block and an intra prediction mode in the MPM list, wherein the intra prediction mode is the derived candidate mode based on the value of the candidate mode template metric, and the derived candidate mode is used as a TIMD mode.
Zhang more explicitly discloses determine that template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is enabled for the current block; obtain a list of most probable modes (MPM); and determine a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block and an intra prediction mode in the MPM list, wherein the intra prediction mode is the derived candidate mode based on the value of the candidate mode template metric, and the derived candidate mode is used as a TIMD mode [0634-0642, 0659; MPM list construction in TIMD mode including template prediction mode].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 27, Lee discloses obtain, based on the derived candidate mode, a prediction block for the current block; obtain a filter associated with the current block; and based on the residual indicator, determine whether the filter is to be applied to the prediction block for the current block [0046, 0055-0061, 0106-0126; applying filters to prediction blocks].
Regarding claim 28, Lee discloses obtain, based on the derived candidate mode, a prediction block for the current block; obtain a filter associated with the current block; and based on the residual indicator, determine whether the filter is to be applied to the prediction block for the current block [0046, 0055-0061, 0106-0126; applying filters to prediction blocks].
Regarding claim 29, Lee discloses a method for video decoding, comprising: determining that a coding mode is enabled for a current block, wherein the coding mode uses a template of the current block to determine a candidate mode for a prediction of the current block [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0186-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
obtaining a residual indicator that indicates whether the current block is associated with a residual [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0186-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
decoding the current block based on the derived candidate mode [0163, 0186-0188; performing coding on video data].
Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose selecting, from a plurality of candidate mode template metrics, a candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the residual indicator and deriving the candidate mode for the prediction of the current block based on the candidate mode template metric and the template of the current block
Zhang more explicitly discloses selecting, from a plurality of candidate mode template metrics, a candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the residual indicator [0235-0238, 0338-0341, 0521-0530, 0635-0636, 0817-0822, 0877-0882; variety of template based modes and updating dynamic parameters including error metrics].
deriving the candidate mode for the prediction of the current block based on the candidate mode template metric and the template of the current block [0235-0238, 0338-0341, 0521-0530, 0635-0636, 0817-0822, 0877-0882; variety of template based modes and updating dynamic parameters including error metrics].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Zhang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, coding process that reduces cost while maintaining quality is achieved (see Zhang 0002-0004).
Regarding claim 30, Lee discloses determining a template of a neighboring block of the current block; and obtaining a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block, the template of the neighboring block, and the candidate mode, wherein the candidate mode is derived based on the value of the candidate mode template metric [0130-0131, 0163-0165; deriving values from neighboring blocks in accordance with selected mode].
Regarding claim 31, Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose determining that template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is enabled for the current block; obtaining a list of most probable modes (MPM); and determining a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block and an intra prediction mode in the MPM list, wherein the intra prediction mode is the derived candidate mode based on the value of the candidate mode template metric, and the derived candidate mode is used as a TIMD mode.
Zhang more explicitly discloses determining that template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is enabled for the current block; obtaining a list of most probable modes (MPM) and determining a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block and an intra prediction mode in the MPM list, wherein the intra prediction mode is the derived candidate mode based on the value of the candidate mode template metric, and the derived candidate mode is used as a TIMD mode [0634-0642, 0659; MPM list construction in TIMD mode including template prediction mode].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as stated above.
Regarding claim 32, Lee discloses obtaining, based on the derived candidate mode, a prediction block for the current block; obtaining a filter associated with the current block; and based on the residual indicator, determining whether the filter is to be applied to the prediction block for the current block [0046, 0055-0061, 0106-0126; applying filters to prediction blocks].
Regarding claim 33, Lee discloses a method for video encoding, comprising: determining to enable a coding mode for a current block, wherein the coding mode uses a template of the current block to determine a candidate mode for a prediction of the current block [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0186-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
setting a value for a residual indicator that indicates whether the current block is associated with a residual [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0186-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
encoding the current block based on the derived candidate mode; and including the residual indicator in video data [Figs. 13-22, 0040-0043, 0137, 0183-0188, 0219-0230; performing template matching and updated list based on received prediction error].
Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose selecting, from a plurality of candidate mode template metrics, a candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the value of the residual indicator and deriving the candidate mode for the prediction of the current block based on the candidate mode template metric and the template of the current block.
Zhang more explicitly discloses selecting, from a plurality of candidate mode template metrics, a candidate mode template metric for the current block based on the residual indicator [0235-0238, 0338-0341, 0521-0530, 0635-0636, 0817-0822, 0877-0882; variety of template based modes and updating dynamic parameters including error metrics].
deriving the candidate mode for the prediction of the current block based on the candidate mode template metric and the template of the current block [0235-0238, 0338-0341, 0521-0530, 0635-0636, 0817-0822, 0877-0882; variety of template based modes and updating dynamic parameters including error metrics].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Zhang as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such, coding process that reduces cost while maintaining quality is achieved (see Zhang 0002-0004).
Regarding claim 34, Lee discloses determining a template of a neighboring block of the current block; and obtaining a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block, the template of the neighboring block, and the candidate mode, wherein the candidate mode is derived based on the value of the candidate mode template metric [0130-0131, 0163-0165; deriving values from neighboring blocks in accordance with selected mode].
Regarding claim 35, Lee discloses Lee discloses the limitations of the claim. However, Lee does not explicitly disclose determining that template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is enabled for the current block; obtaining a list of most probable modes (MPM); and determining a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block and an intra prediction mode in the MPM list, wherein the intra prediction mode is the derived candidate mode based on the value of the candidate mode template metric, and the derived candidate mode is used as a TIMD mode.
Zhang more explicitly discloses determining that template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) is enabled for the current block; obtaining a list of most probable modes (MPM) and determining a value of the candidate mode template metric based on the template of the current block and an intra prediction mode in the MPM list, wherein the intra prediction mode is the derived candidate mode based on the value of the candidate mode template metric, and the derived candidate mode is used as a TIMD mode [0634-0642, 0659; MPM list construction in TIMD mode including template prediction mode].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Zhang for the same reasons as stated above.
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483