DETAILED ACTION
Following is a list of prior arts are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, including prior arts not relied upon in the rejection
US 20250106394 A1 (Yin)
US 20210266598 A1 (Hashimoto)
US 20250039371 A1 (Kim)
US 20240223756 A1 (Zhang)
US 20250324049 A1 (Para 230 “ALF filter may be constructed by one or more sub-filters from the following”, “a sub-filter calculated based on temporal samples in a reference picture”, “a sub-filter calculated based on spatial neighboring residual samples”, Para 356)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 9-10, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yin.
Regarding claim 1. Yin teaches a video decoding method, comprising: generating from a bitstream a reconstructed block of a current block: and performing filtering by inputting the reconstructed block into an adaptive loop filter (ALF) [(Para 131; ALF filter is last processing stage of decoding, therefore reconstructed or decoded signal is feed to it for minimizing error; Also see para 253 and Fig. 2)],
wherein the performing of the filtering comprises: determining one or more reference pictures that have been reconstructed prior to a current picture including the current block [(para 231-232 ALF uses previously coded frame/reference frame; para 209; extended taps used samples inside2 reference pictures; para 235 reference picture is reconstructed picture )],
, determining one or more reference samples in the one or more reference pictures[(para 209; extended taps used samples inside2 reference pictures; para 314-316, 179; extended tap of ALF filter {Abstract} )],
and performing the filtering by using the one or more reference samples [(para 231-232, 209)]
Yin additionally teaches, w.r.t. claim 3. The video decoding method of claim 1 wherein the determining the one or more reference pictures comprises: determining the one or more reference pictures based on at least one of a temporal layer, a temporal distance from the current picture [(para 233, POC is temporal distance )], a decoded picture buffer (DPB), a co- located reference picture, or an index of a reference picture list. [(para 234, 235 )]
Yin additionally teaches, w.r.t. claim 4. The video decoding method of claim 1 wherein the determining the one or more reference samples comprises: determining the one or more reference samples based on at least one of a block determined based on the current block, in the one or more reference pictures, a block determined by using a motion vector, in the one or more reference pictures, or a block determined by using a motion vector by an affine transform, in the one or more reference pictures. [(para 235, 446 )]
Regarding Claims 7, 9-10, 13: See analysis of claims 1, 3-4 and Yin Fig. 58 and 55
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Hashimoto.
Regarding Claims 2, 8. Yin teaches an operation of the filtering is performed using a difference value based on the one or more reference samples
Yin does not explicitly show an operation of the filtering is performed using a difference value based on the one or more reference samples
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Hashimoto teaches an operation of the filtering is performed using a difference value based on the one or more reference samples [(Hashimoto para 164 )]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts because such combination would provide predictable result with no change of their respective functionalities, both the prior arts are teaching various steps of ALF, while Yin is silent about the details after sample selection, Hashimoto fill the gap.
Claims 5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Kim.
Regarding Claims 5, 11. Yin teaches determining the one or more reference samples from the one or more reference based on motion information/vector [(para 231, 234-235 )]
Yin does not explicitly show using an optical flow map, wherein the optical flow map is determined based on at least one of a deep learning algorithm, a bi-directional optical flow (BDOF), or a prediction refinement with optical flow (PROF).
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Kim teaches for improved motion vector/information using an optical flow map, wherein the optical flow map is determined based on at least one of a deep learning algorithm, a bi-directional optical flow (BDOF), or a prediction refinement with optical flow (PROF). [(Kim para 125-126, 147)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts to improve accuracy and quality, Yin uses motion vector/information, Kim uses these to improve motion information/vector accuracy.
Claims 6,12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin in view of Zhang.
Regarding Claims 6, 12. Yin teaches determining the one or more reference samples from the one or more reference based on motion information/vector [(para 231, 234-235 )]
Yin does not explicitly show using a motion vector in an intra block copy(IBC).
However, in the same/related field of endeavor, Zhang teaches using a motion vector in an intra block copy(IBC) for more accurate motion vector/information[(Zhang 1381)]
Therefore, in light of above discussion it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine the teaching of the prior arts to improve accuracy and quality, Yin uses motion vector/information, Zhang uses these to improve motion information/vector accuracy.
Conclusion
/SHAHAN UR RAHAMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426