DETAILED ACTION
The following is a first office action upon examination of application number 19/469702. Claims 1-10 are pending in the application and have been examined on the merits discussed below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “mainly” in claims 1-3 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “mainly” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In other words, to the extent that “mainly” requires the recited operation or information to have a predominant role, the Specification does not provide an objective standard for determining the requisite degree. Dependent claims inherit the deficiencies from their respective parent claim. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 6 recites “when effect of R for respective themes t is not significantly improved or AICt is too large or BICt is too large” and “respective themes t is significantly improved and values AICt and BICt are reasonable”. The terms significantly improved, too large, and reasonable are relative terms whose scope is unclear. Neither the claims nor the Specification provides a standard related to these relative terms. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 8 recites “the linear regression model has good linear interpretation”. This claim is indefinite because the term “good learn interpretation” is a relative term and the specification does not establish an ascertainable standard for the degree of interpretability required of the linear model. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim 10 recites “step S5 comprises combining above inspection results to provide”. This claim is indefinite because there is no previous mention of an inspection or inspection results; therefore, it is not clear which results are being referenced by ‘above inspection results’. For purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as step S5 comprises combining inspection results to provide… Appropriate correction/clarification required.
Claim 10 recites “quickly improves operation efficiency of geographical evaluation”. This claim is indefinite because the neither the claim nor the specification establish an ascertainable standard for the temporal requirement imposed by the term “quickly”. Appropriate correction/clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
(Step 1) Claims 1-10 are directed to a method; thus these claims are directed to a process, which is one of the statutory categories of invention.
(Step 2A) The claims recite an abstract idea instructing how to perform a commercial evaluation of a store, which is described by claim limitations reciting:
S1, collecting geographic information data around an off-line store;
S2, statistically modeling subjects around the off-line store;
S3, reasonably extracting a thematic feature index SSTI;
S4, establishing a linear regression model evaluation system; and
S5, applying the thematic feature index SSTI to real business scenarios
The identified limitations in the claims describing performing a commercial evaluation of a store (i.e., the abstract idea) fall within the “Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity” grouping of abstract ideas, which covers fundamental economic practices, or alternatively, the “Mathematical Concepts” grouping since the claims recite mathematical calculations and formulas. Dependent claims 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, and 10 recite limitations that further narrow/describe the abstract idea (i.e., performing a commercial evaluation of a store); therefore, these claims are also found to recite an abstract idea.
The claims do not recite any additional elements and are not integrated into a practical application.
(Step 2B) The claims do not recite any additional elements; therefore the claims do provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2023/0081797 (Zaman).
As per claim 1, Zaman teaches: a method for evaluating a store by combining relevant indexes of surrounding environment of the store, which mainly quantifies a thematic score of geographical environment with business value and strong interpretability from geographical information, and evaluates an operation condition or operation demand ability of the store by combining the geographical information and related natural features as index scores, so as to provide a reference for a business scene of the store, wherein the method comprises following evaluation steps: S1, collecting geographic information data around an off-line store; ([0065] The data aggregation modules 302 aggregates data from different sources including external databases, internal database 304 containing propriety data and other aggregated data from multiple sources. Furthermore, the data aggregation modules 302 may also aggregate data from one or more public sources such as Google maps, government websites and other sources as needed. [0074] … a data driven approach is taken to create a comprehensive profile of catchment area around current stores…The next step is to categorize the success and unsuccessful store based on available data … independent variables related to customer demographic, catchment attributes, competition and commercial activity around the store. [0116] …for a small format store, the analysis is done by taking multiple catchment areas with store as center and radius of the circle as 300 meters, 500 meters, 1 Km and 1.5 Km [0124] …features may be calculated for the catchment area based on census and POI data).
S2, statistically modeling subjects around the off-line store; ([0067] …statistical module 318 may implement one or more statistical techniques such as but not limited to regression analysis, correlation analysis, multivariate analysis, discriminate analysis, log analysis or some other type of analysis. [0074] … The next step is to categorize the success and unsuccessful store based on available data. Taking that as the dependent variable, DSAI/DBAS Engine models it against independent variables related to customer demographic, catchment attributes, competition and commercial activity around the store. [0144] … The unsupervised learning may be used to identify areas where a lot of commercial POIs are in close proximity taking that as a sign of a marketplace, and as a consequence, mark the said location as an economic zone or a potential store location)
S3, reasonably extracting a thematic feature index SSTI; ([0106] Using the asset ownership data, an indicative wealth index per capita is created by assigning nominal value to each of the listed asset and then calculating a weighted index as described below. This index helps in studying the relative affluence of different wards and catchments. [0076] … incorporation of different factors such as but not limited to commercial activity and purchasing power as determined by different wealth indices, the DSAI/DBAS Engine can predict the relevant features responsible for the success or failure of the store).
S4, establishing a linear regression model evaluation system; and ([0130] …The characteristics of the customer in the catchment area may include but not limited to purchasing power of the customer, population, demographics, volume and type of commercial activity, competition and geo-mapping. [0133] …data model is configured to predict actual store ranking in terms of higher sales-regression approach … models such as, but not limited, to lasso and ridge regression, MARS, KNN regression, average of lasso, ridge and MARS and other such types of statistical models [0145] …regression model helps in ranking these locations in terms of higher to lower sales potential. [0067] …one or more statistical techniques such as but not limited to regression analysis, correlation analysis, multivariate analysis)
S5, applying the thematic feature index SSTI to real business scenarios ([0076] … incorporation of different factors such as but not limited to commercial activity and purchasing power as determined by different wealth indices, the DSAI/DBAS Engine can predict the relevant features responsible for the success or failure of the store [0112] The affluence distribution may be one of the key factors in determining the location of the retail store within the exemplary city. [0145] … in order to identify potential store locations having same characteristics as followed in the previous steps are calculated and passed to the machine learning model to evaluate the success probability as an indicator of feasibility whether a store can be opened at the location. This acts as a filter and locations with low chances of success may be dropped. In the next step, the regression model helps in ranking these locations in terms of higher to lower sales potential.)
As per claim 3, Zaman teaches: wherein the statistically modeling subjects around the off-line store in the step S2 mainly comprises establishing a theme intensity model and a theme aggregation model, and ([0044] … commercial density contours for an exemplary city [0100] … commercial density contours that include all commercial Point of Interests (POI). The analysis may use different variables… The analysis produces commercial density contours. The commercial point of interests are plotted in green color. … The analysis of commercial densities helps in identifying the major commercial hubs of the city; theme intensity/density. [0100] … the hierarchical clustering approach for identifying commercial hubs [0144] … hierarchical clustering approach. The unsupervised learning may be used to identify areas where a lot of commercial POIs are in close proximity; aggregation model.)
combining results of the two models to generate a large-scale spatio-temporal index under the theme; and ([0145] … regression model helps in ranking these locations in terms of higher to lower sales potential. [0162] … the predicted annual visits to the proposed retail location and target market share … defining the catchment area of a retail location, feature engineering for selecting the most critical factors or parameters affecting the retail potential of a particular location, forming an optimal set of these factors or business drivers to calculate the retail market potential hotspots.)
the linear regression model is mainly combined to verify impact of the large-scale time-space index on a passenger flow, and ([0133] … lasso and ridge regression, MARS, KNN regression [0145] … regression model helps in ranking these locations in terms of higher to lower sales potential. [0067] … one or more statistical techniques such as but not limited to regression analysis [0162] … the predicted annual visits to the proposed retail location and target market share …; passenger flow/customer visits)
after verification, the large time-space index is applied to a real business scene of a brand, which helps improve evaluation efficiency of the brand on the surrounding environment of the store, and finally serves as an important reference for demand of store location ([0145] … regression model helps in ranking these locations in terms of higher to lower sales potential. [0162] … the predicted annual visits to the proposed retail location and target market share … defining the catchment area of a retail location, feature engineering for selecting the most critical factors or parameters affecting the retail potential of a particular location, forming an optimal set of these factors or business drivers to calculate the retail market potential hotspots)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0081797 (Zaman); in view of US 2009/0089149 (Lerner); in view of US 2023/0052733 (Beaurepaire).
As per claim 2, Zaman teaches: wherein the collecting the geographic information data around the off-line store in the step Si mainly comprises obtaining geographic information around a target store by using different data sources, ([0065] …aggregates data from different sources including external databases, internal database 304 containing propriety data and other aggregated data from multiple sources. Furthermore, the data aggregation modules 302 may also aggregate data from one or more public sources such as Google maps, government websites and other sources… [0077] … different combination of data from multiple data sets are used to predict one or more parameters that play a part in the success of a store [0113] …the point of interest (POI) data may be collected from open street map and Google maps. The data collected from the point of interest may include tags related to the activities/services/business type provided by the point of interest. For example, mechanic, bank, temple, fire station, mall, etc. “Grocery”, “Super Market”, “Department Store”, “Convenience Store” tags may be used to identify stores that may offer competition).
the geographic information mainly comprises environmental information around the store … ([0074] … a comprehensive profile of catchment area around current stores and use it to identify important characteristics [0075] …characteristics of the customer in the catchment area may include but not limited to purchasing power of the customer, population, demographics, volume and type of commercial activity, competition and geo-mapping)
after the geographical information is obtained, facilities near the target store are divided into … categories of themes: transportation, …, shopping, … tourism, life, … ([0113] …the point of interest (POI) data may be collected from open street map and Google maps. The data collected from the point of interest may include tags related to the activities/services/business type provided by the point of interest. For example, mechanic, bank, temple, fire station, mall, etc. “Grocery”, “Super Market”, “Department Store”, “Convenience Store” tags may be used to identify stores that may offer competition; transportation/mechanic, tourism/temple, shopping/mall, life/bank, [0075] …characteristics of the customer in the catchment area may include but not limited to purchasing power of the customer, population, demographics, volume and type of commercial activity, competition and geo-mapping).
while for each of themes, a number of facilities of the theme near the target store and distance information from the target store are obtained ([0114] …a number highlight the number of competition stores in those zones. The output indicates that there are geographical pockets in the city ranging in competition density from low to high. [0148] … store locations in terms of minimum and maximum distance from the nearest existing store, [0157] 8. (Distance Matrix D: n×p) where d.sub.ij: Distance between commercial hub i and existing store j [0100] …commercial hubs in the city within a stipulated intra-cluster distance).
Although not explicitly taught by Zaman, Lerner teaches: the geographic information mainly comprises environmental information around the store and related natural features; and ([0026] Location assessments may be generated based on various types of information about, or associated with, the specified geographic location, including the existence, location, category, and/or other attributes of one or more geographic-related features… including environmental conditions (e.g., temperature, rainfall, air quality, etc.) [0035] … geographic-related features (e.g., weather conditions, topography, crime statistics, etc.) into account).
after the geographical information is obtained, facilities near the target store are divided into eight categories of themes: categories of themes: transportation, …, shopping, food, tourism, life, … and entertainment ([0030] … categories include grocery stores, restaurants, coffee shops, bars, movie theaters, schools, parks, libraries, bookstores, fitness centers, drug stores, hardware stores, and clothing/music stores; food/restaurants, life/parks, entertainment/movie theater. [0057] … categories may include public transit access points (e.g., train stations, bus stops, subway stops, etc.); transportation).
In addition to Zaman, Lerner also teaches: a number of facilities of the theme near the target store and distance information from the target store are obtained ([0084] … the current category is "Restaurants," the routine may find six restaurants having street addresses located within the designated area. [0086] … distance between the entity and the specified location. In some embodiments, this distance will have already been calculated as part of step 1005, above, during the course of identifying the closest geographic-related entity to the location [0087] … determined distance between the geographic-related entity and the location).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zaman with the aforementioned teachings of Lerner with the motivation of assessing locations based on environmental conditions (Lerner [0026]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Lerner to the system of Zaman would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the use of environmental data in evaluating locations.
Although not explicitly taught by Zaman, Beaurepaire teaches: after the geographical information is obtained, facilities near the target store are divided into … categories of themes: transportation, residence, shopping, food, tourism, life, work and entertainment, ([0060] … POIs, such as fueling stations, hotels, restaurants, museums, stadiums, offices, auto repair shops, buildings, stores, parks, etc.; residence/building, work/offices. [0078] … POI, e.g., retail stores, entertainment venues, restaurants, tourist attractions; tourism).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zaman with the aforementioned teachings of Beaurepaire with the motivation of using modeling candidate locations (Beaurepaire [0009]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Beaurepaire to the system of Zaman would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for the categorization of points of interest.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2023/0081797 (Zaman); in view of US 2009/0089149 (Lerner).
As per claim 10, Zaman teaches: combining above inspection results to provide certain business guidance and reference value for a brand in terms of store location and store grouping; and ([0074] … information about a brand's customer may reside outside the databases of the brand/company. In an exemplary implementation, when working on a new location, there is negligible amount of internal data available to substantiate the success or failure of the store. Therefore, a data driven approach is taken to create a comprehensive profile of catchment area around current stores and use it to identify important characteristics which leads to success of the stores … categorize the success and unsuccessful store based on available data [0075] … the characteristics of the customer in the catchment area are used as independent variables to model the dependent variable, that is, success of the store. The characteristics of the customer in the catchment area may include but not limited to purchasing power of the customer, population, demographics, volume and type of commercial activity, competition and geo-mapping. [0145] … model helps in ranking these locations in terms of higher to lower sales potential).
under other similar conditions, location of a new store first considers places with convenient transportation … ([0162] …. The methodology implemented in the methods and systems disclosed, takes into consideration the demand points which may be the population centres, the major competitors as well as major business drivers which may comprise of relevant POIs such as affluent population, target population in specific age groups, the connectivity of the area, and the overall socio-economic status of the target population [0163] … This optimization algorithm may calculate the maximum attendance from the demand points/population centers in the vicinity based on the specified impedance. The impedance can be characterized as the maximum distance to be travelled by a potential customer or maximum time travelled by the prospective customer to reach the desired location).
according to needs of realistic scenes, the store's large-scale space-time index quantifies objective digital basis of the surrounding environment for commercial users, and quickly improves operation efficiency of geographical evaluation ([0100] … The analysis produces commercial density contours. The commercial point of interests are plotted in green color. Likewise, the municipal ward boundaries are shown in blue color. The analysis of commercial densities helps in identifying the major commercial hubs of the city. Based on the type of problem, the DBAS/DSAI Engine takes appropriate analysis. [0124] … features may be calculated for the catchment area based on census and POI data. [0162] … analysis and predicted decision points lies in defining the catchment area of a retail location, feature engineering for selecting the most critical factors or parameters affecting the retail potential of a particular location, forming an optimal set of these factors or business drivers to calculate the retail market potential hotspots. [0145] … model helps in ranking these locations in terms of higher to lower sales potential).
Although not explicitly taught by Zaman, Lerner teaches: under other similar conditions, location of a new store first considers places with convenient transportation and certain entertainment facilities, ([0002] … Walkability may include various concepts, such as the quality and/or quantity of resources that support pedestrian travel (e.g., crosswalks, sidewalks, etc.), conditions that make pedestrian travel appealing and/or attractive (e.g., availability of parks or other destinations), etc. In general, a more walkable region may be considered more pedestrian friendly, more appealing to pedestrians, etc. [0028] … The walkability score 110 is a measure, on a scale of 0 to 100, of the walkability of an area surrounding the provided street address; hence it is referred to as a "Walk Score."; convenient transportation. [0024] …the LAPS may use multiple characteristics to generate a single location assessment indicative of the multiple characteristics. [0026] Location assessments may be generated based on various types of information about, or associated with, the specified geographic location, including the existence, location, category, and/or other attributes of one or more geographic-related features… [0030] …each category reflects a type of geographic-related entity that may be a destination of interest to a pedestrian. In the illustrated example, the categories include grocery stores, restaurants, coffee shops, bars, movie theaters, schools, parks, libraries, bookstores, fitness centers, drug stores, hardware stores, and clothing/music stores. [0057] … other categories may include public transit access points (e.g., train stations, bus stops, subway stops, etc.); entertainment facilities).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Zaman with the aforementioned teachings of Lerner with the motivation of using multiple characteristics to generate a location assessment (Lerner [0024]). Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that applying the teachings of Lerner to the system of Zaman would have yielded predictable results and doing so would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art as resulting in an improved system that would allow for assessment of a location based on multiple criteria.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 6, 7, 8 and 9 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and/or 35 U.S.C. 101, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20190164065 A1 - discloses a model that uses regression to forecast traffic at a location based on historical data.
/ALAN TORRICO-LOPEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3625