DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because “according to claim 1 further comprising” in lines 1-2 should be --according to claim 1, further comprising:-- (comma added after 1 and colon added after comprising).
Claim 4 is objected to because “further comprising” in lines 1-2 should be --further comprising:-- (colon added).
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“further comprising” in lines 1-2 should be --further comprising:-- (colon added);
“in exhaust gas” in line 4 should be --in the exhaust gas--.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“further comprising” in lines 1-2 should be --further comprising:-- (colon added);
“of exhaust gas” in line 4 should be --of the exhaust gas--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “contact device” in claims 1, 2, and 4-6 -- see Para 15 of the instant specification - “…the contact device 4 includes an injector 42, an overflow pipe 43, a plurality of baffle plates 44, an NOx sensor 45, a temperature sensor 46, and a partition wall 47..”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hayashi et al. (U.S. 2010/0083643).
Re claim 1:
Hayashi discloses an exhaust purification device (10, exhaust gas purification apparatus - Para 42 (see Figs. 1, Fig .14, and Para 36)) comprising:
a filter (19, upstream-side oxidation catalyst - Para 43 (see Para 86 - “…it is possible to provide a particulate filter on which an oxidation catalyst is coated in place of the upstream-side oxidation catalyst…”)) configured to collect particulate matter in exhaust gas discharged from an internal combustion engine (5, internal combustion engine - Para 44)(see Figs. 1, 14, and Para 86);
a contact device (Modified Fig. 14(a) above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of contact device; element A corresponds to elements 11, 15, 15a, and 21)) configured to bring the exhaust gas discharged from the filter (19) into contact with a reducing agent (see Fig. 14(a) at element 31 an d Para 45 - “…reducing agent in the storage tank 31…”)(see Figs. 1, 14(a) and Paras 52 and 78); and
a catalyst (13, NOx catalyst - Para 43) extending in an axial direction (Modified Fig. 14(a) above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of axial direction)) and arranged in parallel with the filter (19)(see Modified Fig. 14(a) above), the catalyst (13) being configured to promote a reaction between the reducing agent and nitrogen oxides in the exhaust gas discharged from the contact device (Modified Fig. 14(a) above - A)(see Figs. 1, Modified Fig. 14(a) above, and Paras 44-49),
the contact device (Modified Fig. 14(a) above - A) being located in the axial direction (Modified Fig. 14(a) above - B) with respect to the catalyst (13)(see Figs. 1, Modified Fig. 14(a) above).
Re claim 2:
Hayashi discloses the exhaust purification device (10) according to claim 1 (as described above) further comprising
a guide pipe (71a, U-shaped exhaust pipe - Para 77) configured to guide the exhaust gas discharged from the filter (19) to the contact device (Modified Fig. 14(a) above - A)(see Modified Fig. 14(a) above and Paras 77-78).
Re claim 3:
Hayashi discloses the exhaust purification device (10) according to claim 2 (as described above), wherein the guide pipe (71a) is bent in a U-shape (see Modified Fig. 14(a) above and Para 77).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (U.S. 2010/0083643), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Stanavich et al. (U.S. 2015/0071822).
Re claim 4:
Hayashi discloses the exhaust purification device (10) according to claim 2 (as described above) further comprising
a filter housing portion (53, upstream-side exhaust pipe portion - Para 78) configured to house the filter (19)(see Fig. 14(a) and Para 78), wherein
the guide pipe (71a) is configured to be
Hayashi fails to disclose the guide pipe being configured to be detachably attached.
Stanavich teaches wherein a guide pipe (712, cylindrically-shaped section - Para 119 (see Figs. 24-30 and Para 119)) is configured to be detachably attached (see Figs. 27-28 and Para 119).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the attachment of Hayashi after that of Stanavich, thereby making the attachment of Hayashi a detachable attachment in the way taught by Stanavich, for the advantage of allowing easy removal for maintenance, cleaning, or replacement (Stanavich; Para 119).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hayashi et al. (U.S. 2010/0083643), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nagaoka et al. (U.S. 2015/0071822).
Re claim 5:
Hayashi discloses the exhaust purification device (10) according to claim 1 (as described above).
Hayashi fails to disclose the exhaust purification device further comprising a nitrogen oxide sensor disposed near the contact device, the nitrogen oxide sensor being configured to measure nitrogen oxides in exhaust gas.
Nagaoka teaches an exhaust purification device (1, system for exhaust gas purification - Para 64) comprising a nitrogen oxide sensor (26, NOx sensor - Para 82) disposed near a contact device (16, passage for urea supply - Para 47)(see Fig. 1), the nitrogen oxide sensor (26) being configured to measure nitrogen oxides in exhaust gas (see Fig. 1 and Paras 53-54 - “…a NOx sensor…” and “…”Detected values of these sensors…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the exhaust gas purification device of Hayashi after that of Nagaoka, thereby including a nitrogen oxide sensor near the contact device of Hayashi in the way taught by Nagaoka, for the advantage of being able detect NOx such that engine control and urea injection can be performed by an engine control unit (Hayashi; Para 54).
Re claim 6:
Hayashi discloses the exhaust purification device (10) according to claim 1 (as described above).
Hayashi fails to disclose the exhaust purification device further comprising a temperature sensor disposed near the contact device, the temperature sensor being configured to measure a temperature of exhaust gas.
Nagaoka teaches an exhaust purification device (1, system for exhaust gas purification - Para 64) comprising a temperature sensor (24, exhaust temperature sensor - Para 53) disposed near a contact device (16, passage for urea supply - Para 47)(see Fig. 1), the temperature sensor (24) being configured to measure a temperature of exhaust gas (see Fig. 1 and Paras 53-54 - “…an exhaust temperature sensor…” and “…”Detected values of these sensors…”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the exhaust gas purification device of Hayashi after that of Nagaoka, thereby including a temperature sensor near the contact device of Hayashi in the way taught by Nagaoka, for the advantage of being able detect exhaust temperature such that engine control and urea injection can be performed by an engine control unit (Hayashi; Para 54).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Ichikawa (U.S. 2009/0092525); Tomita et al. (U.S. 2020/0040791); Tomita (U.S. 2020/0072110).
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746