Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (USPGPub2009/0047475) in view of Kim et al. (USPGPub 2022/0220407).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5-6 and 12-13, Jeon teaches that it is known to coat wiper blades with a composition having components similar to graphene and solid but that are not graphene, wherein the composition comprises a water-based resin comprising particulate matter(claim 4) and a liquid carrier and wherein it is reasonably implicit that a dispersion is formed due to the use of a dispersing agent for non-soluble components [0056], wherein the solid lubricants may comprise several ingredients including particles of PTFE, PU and graphite are present in percentages reading upon the claimed ranges. The Jeon fails to teach the use of graphene in the composition. However, Kim teaches that it is known to incorporate graphene as a solid lubricant into composition for the coating of wiper blades in the amounts claimed [0016]. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to either 1) substitute the solid lubricant of Kim for that of Jeon as a simple substitution of one known solid lubricant for wiper blades for another wherein the substitution would be considered predictable based upon the known use of graphene and the solid lubricants of Jeon and Kim in composition intended for the coating of wiper blades or to 2) include the graphene of Kim into the wiper blade composition of Kim as a application of a known solid lubricant provision technique applied to a known wiper blade composition intended to provide solid lubricants ready for improvement to yield predictable results wherein the provision would have been expected to improve the system of Kim by provide additional solid lubricants capable of aided in the intended purposes of Jeon.
Regarding claim 4, as stated above, Jeon teaches the use of a polyurethane particle wherein this would read upon a “resin” of “urethane polymer”.
Regarding claim 8, as applied to claim 1 above it is shown the solid lubricant of Kim (graphene) may be substituted for one of Jeon (graphite for example). As such, and in that case particularly, in the absence of an unexpected result arising from the particular percentage of graphene present in the current claims, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace any portion of the solid lubricant of Jeon with that of Kim, including in the amounts claimed.
Regarding claims 9-11, the teachings of Jeon in view of Kim are as shown above. Jeon in view of Kim fails to explicitly teach providing the ingredients in the order claimed. However, the Court has long held that merely changing the order of adding ingredients or performing steps of a prior art invention is not capable of overcoming a prima facie case of obviousness based up said provided order of steps wherein the outcome is substantially the same. See In re Burhans, 154F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeon (USPGPub2009/0047475) in view of Kim et al. (USPGPub 2022/0220407) and applied to claims 1-6 and 8-13 and further in view of Pan et al. (USPGPub 2022/0220407).
Regarding claim 7, the teachings of Jeon in view of Kim are as shown above. Joen in view of Kim fails to teach wherein the composition further comprises polymer microbeads. However, Pan teaches that polymer microbeads may be provided in composition for the coating of wipers [0003] thereby reducing transmittance of the coating material [0039] wherein it is also noted that the microbeads may be of the same particles provided by Jeon in particulate form such as silicone. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to either 1) provide additional microbeads or 2) provide the microparticles of Jeon in view of Kim as microbeads as guided by Pan in order to provide micro surface roughness to the coating of Jeon in view of Kim as guided by Pan in order to reduce transmittance as guided by Pan.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J BOWMAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1717