DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/26/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8-11, 13-14 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pokhrel (US 2022/0058811 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Pokhrel discloses a computer-implemented method for autonomous production of an edited video stream of a subject area (Figs. 1-16 and par. [0005]-[0006], [0014], [0025]-[0026]. Note that autonomous production of an edited video stream of a subject area is considered as automatic cropping or PTZ of a subject area of a video stream according to object tracking utilizing a neural network), comprising:
obtaining a first frame (66) for the edited video stream of a first subarea of the subject area (61) (Figs. 7 & 8 and par. [0046] & [0068]);
inputting the first frame into a machine-learning model (par. [0069], wherein the first frame is input to a neural network);
determining, by the machine-learning model, based on the first frame, a navigation parameter (e.g., a predicted future location, speed and direction) that relates to a second subarea of the subject area (Figs. 7 & 8 and par. [0070]); and
obtaining a second frame (67) for the edited video stream of the second subarea based on the determined navigation parameter (Figs. 7 & 8 and par. [0070]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 2, Pohhrel also discloses that the first frame has a first frame setting (e.g., coordinates X & Y, field of view and moving direction of the first frame 66) associated therewith and the second frame has a second frame setting (e.g., coordinates X & Y and moving direction of the second frame 67) associated therewith, and wherein the navigation parameter is representative of a relative or absolute adjustment from the first frame setting to the second frame setting (see Figs. 7 & 8 and par. [0071]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 3, Pokhrel also discloses that the navigation parameter includes at least one of: one or more of a mechanical pan adjustment, a mechanical tilt adjustment, and an optical zoom adjustment (see par. [0071]), or one or more of a virtual pan adjustment, a virtual tilt adjustment, and a virtual zoom adjustment (see par. [0072]).
Regarding claim 4, as also disclosed by Pokhrel, at least one of the first frame and/or the second frame of the edited video stream is obtained by taking a subframe of a frame of a video stream of at least part of the subject area (see Figs. 7 & 8 and par. [0070]-[0072]).
Regarding claim 8, it is also seen Pokhrel that the navigation parameter includes an adjustment speed and an adjustment direction (Fig. 9 and par. [0061], [0073] & [0088]).
Regarding claim 9, Pokhrel discloses that the first frame is obtained at a first time instant, and the navigation parameter is determined at the first time instant and pertains to a second time instant (a future time instant according to a predicted future location) subsequent in time to the first time instant (par. [0060], [0063], [0069]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 10, further disclosed by Pokhrel is, at the first time instant, determining, using the machine-learning model, and based on the first frame, a time-sequence of navigation parameters pertaining to multiple time instants subsequent in time to the first time instant, the time-sequence of navigation parameters including the navigation parameter (par. [0060], [0063], [0069]-[0070]).
Regarding claim 11, Pokhrel also discloses determining an adjusted navigation parameter based on the navigation parameter, and further based on at least one further navigation parameter that pertains to the second time instant that has been determined at a time instant preceding the first time instant (see par. [0059]-[0063], wherein the navigation parameter, e.g., location, speed, acceleration and/or direction, is/are timely updated at a frequency of three frames per second while the object is being tracked to predict a future location).
Regarding claim 13, also disclosed by Pokhrel is at least one of:
the second frame for the edited video stream of the second subarea is obtained based on the adjusted navigation parameter (see par. [0059]-[0063]),
(Note that this alternative limitation is not necessarily considered in this claim).
Regarding claim 14, it is further seen in Pokhrel that the first time instant and the second time instant are spaced apart in time by a time period that is determined to account for a time delay between a capturing of the first frame and a finalizing of a physical adjustment of a camera that corresponds to the navigation parameter (see Figs. 6-10 and par. [0060], [0063], [0069]-[0072] & [0074], wherein the time between the first time instant when the object is determined at a current location and the second time instant when the object is determined to be at a predicted location corresponds to a time delay of two to three frames, then the updated location is finalized with adjusted camera parameter for cropping and/or pan/tilt/zoom according to the updated predicted location. Therefore, the time delay is also accounted to reflect such update).
Regarding claim 17, Pokhrel further discloses obtaining an extended first frame (72 or 92) of an extended first subarea of the subject area that is larger than the first subarea (66) by a predetermined margin (see Figs. 8 & 9), and determining the navigation parameter based on the extended first frame (par. [0072]-[0074]).
Regarding claim 18, it is seen in Figs. 8 & 9 of Pokhrel that the predetermined margin is asymmetric with respect to the first subarea.
Regarding claim 19, Pokhrel also discloses that labeling datapoints of the extended first frame for distinguishing between first datapoints of the extended first frame that correspond to datapoints of the first frame and second datapoints of the extended first frame that correspond to datapoints of the predetermined margin (see Figs. 8 & 9 and par. [0071]-[0073], wherein the first and second datapoints are the vertical and horizontal coordinates of the first and second frames. Furthermore, the first and second datapoints are also considered as the datapoints of the detected object moving from the first frame to the second frame as indicated in the drawings).
Regarding claim 20, as also disclosed by Pokhrel, the method further comprises resampling the first extended frame, and determining the navigation parameter based on the resampled extended first frame (see Figs. 7-9 and par. [0006], [0018], [0020], [0046], [0050], [0072]-[0073]. It should be noted that resampling the first extended frame is inherently met by cropping process of the extended frame 72 which must be resampled for object tracking, and the navigation parameter is determined to predict the next location of the object).
Regarding claim 21, as seen in Pokhrel, the resampling is results in obtaining a nonuniform sampling across the extended first frame (Figs. 7 & 8 show that resampling of subareas 66, 67 and 72 are not uniform across the frame. It depends on the size of object(s) and/or moving direction/speed, etc. as mentioned by Pokhrel in par. [0049]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pokhrel in view of Inagaki (US 2021/0309149 A1).
Regarding claim 15, although Pokhrel is silent as to the navigation parameter is determined as a normalized navigation parameter that is normalized with respect to a field of view of the first frame, this feature is conventional and taught by Inagaki in paragraph [0101].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the method in Pokhrel to include normalization process with respect to a field of view of the first frame in view of the teaching of Inagaki so that image processing and computing would be efficiently performed for object location detection and prediction.
Regarding claim 16, it is inherent in the combination of Pokhrel and Inagaki that the normalized navigation parameter is denormalized and the second frame for the edited video stream of the second subarea is obtained based on the denormalized navigation parameter (see Pokhrel in par. [0068]-[0071] and Inagaki in par. [0101]. It should be noted that the normalized navigation parameter must be denormalized in order to obtain the second subarea based on the true parameter for accuracy).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pokhrel in view of Gao et al. (US 2017/0094184 A1, hereinafter “Gao”).
Regarding claim 26, Pokhrel discloses smooth tracking of the object using Kalman filter as described in paragraph [0063]. Pokhrel does not clearly disclose, after determining the navigation parameter, adjusting the navigation parameter in accordance with a smoothing criterium, and obtaining the second frame for the edited video stream based on the adjusted navigation parameter. However, in the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches that when the size of the tracking region (e.g., bounding region, bounding box, etc.) changes, the view may be updated smoothly such that the object of interest appears with a reasonable ratio in the zoom region. In cases that the tracked object is missing in the frame or the tracker has lost tracking, the zooming strategy can smoothly fall back to the original field of view (e.g., full field of view), where the quality is not worse than when no automatic zoom is provided (see Gao, par. [0048], [0079]).
For that reason, one of ordinary skill in the art would have configured the method in Pokhrel in view of Gao to arrive at the current claimed feature to improve smoothness in transitions among frames during object tracking and zooming.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Pokhrel and Gao further discloses that the determined navigation parameter is adjusted based on a set of navigation parameters that includes at least one of first navigation parameters that precede the determined navigation parameter in time or second navigation parameters that succeed the determined navigation parameter in time (see Pokhrel in par. [0063]: “The predicted future location provided at operation 153 may have medium confidence as it may be based on the previous predicted location provided in operation 152. Consequently, at operation 154, the Kalman filter provides another predicted future location for the location of the first object in the next time instance, and the predicted future location provided at operation 154 has relatively low confidence because it may be based on two previous predictions.” Also see Gao in par. [0048], [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Pokhrel and Gao also discloses determining a navigation trend based on the set of navigation parameters, and adjusting the navigation parameter in accordance with the determined navigation trend (see Pokhrel in par. [0063], and Gao in par. [0048], [0054]-[0055]. Note that the determined navigation trend is represented by the navigation trend based on the object motion, global motion and/or movement direction and speed).
Conclusion
/NHAN T TRAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2638