DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cox et al. (hereinafter ‘Cox’, Pub. No. 2023/0044538).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 15, Cox teaches a system (with corresponding method and non-transitory computer readable-medium) comprising:
a host computing system comprising a processor, a memory, and a storage system, the storage system comprising an extended reality application and a recommendation model, the extended reality application providing an extended reality event to a client computing system ([0030]), wherein the host computing system comprises computer-executable instructions that when executed cause the processor to perform operations comprising:
requesting, by the extended reality application from the recommendation model, a content recommendation for a user associated with the client computing system ([0019]; [0020]);
determining, by the recommendation model, whether a dynamic threshold of user data is satisfied by analyzing user data associated with the user ([0019]; [0020]);
when the dynamic threshold of user data is not satisfied, executing, by the content recommendation model, a cold start algorithm that generates a cold start content recommendation, and providing the cold start content recommendation to the extended reality application for delivery to the client computing system associated with the user ([0056]); and
when the dynamic threshold of user data is satisfied, executing, by the content recommendation model, a preferences algorithm that generates a preferences content recommendation ([0062]), and providing the preferences content recommendation to the extended reality application for delivery to the client computing system associated with the user ([0046]).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Cox teaches wherein the cold start algorithm is a multi-arm bandit algorithm and the preferences algorithm is a hidden Markov model algorithm ([0035]-[0037]).
Regarding claims 3, 10 and 16, Cox teaches wherein the user data associated with the user comprises identifying data, schedule data, and prior interactions data ([0032]; [0049]).
Regarding claims 4, 6, 11, 13, 17 and 19, Cox teaches wherein the cold start algorithm generates the cold start content recommendation based upon a popularity of cold start content associated with the cold start content recommendation and based upon a randomizing factor, wherein the randomizing factor mitigates bias in the generation of the cold start content recommendation ([0033]; [0053]-[0065]).
Regarding claims 5, 12 and 18, Cox teaches wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, from the client computing system, an acceptance of the cold start content recommendation; delivering, by the extended reality application to the client computing system, the cold start content associated with the cold start content recommendation; and updating, by the extended reality application, the user data to reflect the acceptance and delivery of the cold start content ([0033]; [0046]).
Regarding claims 7, 14 and 20, Cox teaches wherein the dynamic threshold of user data is determined by:
selecting, by the recommendation model, a criterion from one of a Bayesian criterion or an Akaike criterion; calculating, by the recommendation model, posterior probabilities of unknown hidden states using a Baum-Welch algorithm; calculating, by the recommendation model, a processing cost associated with the preferences algorithm; and determining, by the recommendation model, whether the prior interactions data converges on an optimal number of interactions, wherein, if the prior interactions data converges on an optimal number of interactions, the recommendation model selects the preferences algorithm for future content recommendations for the user, and wherein, if the prior interactions data does not converge on an optimal number of interactions, the recommendation model selects the cold start algorithm for future content recommendations for the user ([0020]-[0026]; [0043]-[0046]).
Conclusion
/OMAR S PARRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421