DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims as of the response filed 8/5/2026 is as follows: Claims 1-2, 7, and 13-14 are currently amended. Claims 3-6 and 8-12 are as previously presented. Claims 15-20 are new. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the application and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
Rejection Under 35 USC 112(b)
Claim 7 has been amended to sufficiently clarify the indefinite limitation such that the corresponding 35 USC 112(b) rejection is withdrawn.
Rejection Under 35 USC 101
Claim 14 has been amended to include a non-transitory computer-readable medium, such that the corresponding 35 USC 101 rejection for claiming non-statutory subject matter is withdrawn.
The claims have been amended but the 35 USC 101 eligibility rejections for claims 1-14 are upheld.
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
The amendments made to the claims introduce limitations that are not fully addressed in the previous office action, and thus the corresponding 35 USC 103 rejections are withdrawn. However, Examiner will consider the amended claims in light of an updated prior art search and address their patentability with respect to prior art below.
Response to Arguments
Rejection Under 35 USC 101
On page 11 of the response filed 8/5/2026 Applicant argues that the amended independent claims now positively recite “additional technological operations directed to controlling a medical imaging system using adjusted configuration commands after selected questions are displayed as feedback for adjustment of those commands,” which “cannot reasonably be collapsed into merely organizing human activity or managing interpersonal communications.” Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Examiner agrees that the control of an imaging system using configuration commands is not part of the abstract idea, but notes that the presence of additional elements beyond the abstract idea itself in a claim does not preclude the claim from reciting an abstract idea. In the instant case, Examiner maintains that the claims recite various limitations that describe the abstract idea of coaching a user through acquiring medical images as well as generating and sending a medical report tailored to specific recipients and procedures, which falls into the abstract idea grouping of “certain methods of organizing human activity” such as managing personal behavior, relationships, and interactions between people, as explained in more detail below.
On pages 12-13 Applicant argues that the claims provide integration into a practical application by providing a particular solution amounting to an improvement to technology. Applicant specifically asserts that a specific ordered combination of selecting questions with configuration commands, displaying the questions as feedback for adjustment of the commands, receiving adjusted commands, and the adjusted commands to control the imaging system to acquire medical imaging data provides a particular solution that is enables more accurate or precise control the of the medical imaging system. Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Examiner maintains that the recited workflow is analogous to an imaging technician trainer iteratively coaching a trainee through how to acquire medical images and fill out a radiology report, including providing feedback on the trainee’s performance and prompting them to provide adjusted imaging protocol parameters for additional scans. Examiner maintains that the additional element of performing the initial imaging scan to acquire initial imaging data that is used for selecting questions amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of pre-solution data gathering, because this feature is merely utilized as a means to obtain imaging data needed for the abstract image acquisition coaching and report generation steps. The newly-introduced additional element of using the adjusted configuration commands to control the imaging system to acquire imaging data amounts to high-level instructions to “apply” the judicial exception, because the otherwise-abstract steps of providing feedback about a user’s operation of the imaging device and permitting the user to responsively provide adjusted imaging protocol parameters are merely being implemented via using the medical imaging system as a tool to apply the determined configuration commands; this feature is analogous to the example outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f) which explains that a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape (an abstract idea) with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception because it does no more than invoke machinery as a tool to perform an existing process. Examiner notes that no improvements to the underlying medical imaging or scanning technology are being made; existing, high-level methods of controlling medical imaging equipment are merely being utilized with an abstract workflow to provide feedback to the user and prompt the user to come up with adjusted commands, which they may manually adjust. Accordingly, these features do not provide a technological improvement or integration into a practical application.
On pages 13-14 Applicant argues that the ordered combination referenced above “is not merely a generic computer performing generic report generation,” and instead provides “technical benefits by integrating control of the medical imaging system with querying of the database of questions, improving workflow efficiency, reducing time needed for patient assessments, potentially reducing time in the imaging system, providing immediate feedback, and enabling more accurate or precise control of the medical imaging system.” Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Examiner notes that many of these alleged benefits are not technological in nature, and appear to be directed to improvements in human workflow and efficiency. Further, the abstract idea itself cannot provide “significantly more” than the abstract idea under Step 2B, such that the ordered workflow of selecting and displaying questions as feedback, receiving adjusted configuration commands, and selecting updated questions does not provide an inventive concept. Examiner maintains that the combination of additional elements of memory, machine executable instructions, a computational system, user interfaces, and a network connection for performing the storing, receiving, selecting, presenting, displaying, compiling, inserting, sending, etc. steps of the invention amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components, as explained in detail below. The use of stored, adjustable configuration commands to control a medical imaging system to acquire medical imaging data from a subject amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of necessary data gathering, as well as to instructions to “apply” the exception with high-level machinery, as explained below. This feature is also well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field of generating medical imaging reports, as evidenced by at least [0033] of Torres et al. (US 20200111553 A1); [0047] of Roh et al. (US 20240290449 A1); [0034], [0046], [0049] of Lewis et al. (US 20210059631 A1); and [0021]-[0022] & [0036] of Sharma et al. (US 20190326007 A1). Additionally, the combination of a computer system with a memory executing computer instructions, an imaging device controlled via configuration commands, various user interfaces, and a network connection used to generate electronic medical reports is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art, as evidenced by at least abstract, Figs. 1 & 11, [0033] of Torres; abstract & Figs. 1-2 of Roh; and abstract, Figs. 1-2, [0028]-[0032] of Reicher et al. (US 20100138239 A1).
On page 14 Applicant argues that the instant claims are analogous to eligible claim 3 of Example 47, because they use “question selection tied to imaging configuration commands to perform a concrete medical-imaging control action” which is similar to Example 47’s use of “anomaly detection to perform a concrete network-security action.” Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Claim 3 of Example 47 was found to be eligible because the combination of additional elements of detecting a source address associated with one or more malicious network packets, dropping the one or more malicious network packets in real time, and blocking future traffic from the source address reflected an improvement to the technical field of network intrusion detection as outlined in the background of the specification. In contrast, the additional elements of the instant claim do not provide an improvement to medical imaging technology, instead describing the digitization/automation of otherwise-abstract human workflow operations in clinical imaging that utilize high-level imaging device control steps to “apply” the abstract idea and/or provide insignificant extra-solution activity. The specification does not describe a technical solution to a technical problem, instead focusing on solving current business/workflow inefficiencies in the field of clinical imaging (see “BACKGROUND” on Pg1 L6-8) via high-level computing and imaging device infrastructure implementing an improved abstract workflow.
On pages 14-15 Applicant analogizes the instant claims to those found eligible in Example 48 because “claim 1 as amended similarly does not merely apply information processing in the medical-reporting field,” instead reciting “a particular integration of imaging configuration commands, question selection, displayed feedback, adjusted commands, updated questions, and subsequent medical-image acquisition using the adjusted commands.” Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. The eligible claims of Example 48 were directed to improvements in speech-separation technology or speech-to-text transcription via very specific, technical methods of generating mixed speech signals from separate speech waveforms (claim 2) and converting masked clusters into separate speech signals in the time domain and extracting spectral features from only one target source of the separate signals to produce a transcript (claim 3). The level of technical detail and improvements provided in these eligible limitations is not analogous to the high-level additional elements of the instant claims; the instant invention does not provide technical improvements to a technical field like speech-separation or speech-to-text transcription. Instead, the instant claims provide high-level computing and imaging device implementation for an abstract clinical imaging, coaching, and reporting workflow.
On page 15 Applicant argues that the instant claims are analogous to claim 2 of Example 49, which “reinforces the same general principle: a claim that merely outputs information may be ineligible; whereas a claim that applies that information in a concrete treatment or practical application can be eligible.” Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but are not persuasive. Claim 2 in example 49 was found patent eligible because it recited administering a specific treatment (compound X eye drops) to a population identified as being high risk for a particular condition (post-implantation inflammation following a glaucoma microstent implantation surgery). The instant claims provide no such analogous particular treatment for any particular condition, and do not provide a practical application under this consideration.
For the reasons outlined above, the 35 USC 101 rejections are upheld for claims 1-14.
Rejection Under 35 USC 103
On pages 16-22 of the response Applicant argues various deficiencies of the cited combination of Reicher and Torres with respect to the amended claim language. Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
In the instant case, claims 1-12 and 15-20 are directed to a system (i.e. a machine), claim 13 is directed to a method (i.e. a process), and claim 14 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium (i.e. a manufacture). Thus, each of the claims falls within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong 1
Independent claims 1, 13, and 14 recite steps that, under their broadest reasonable interpretations, cover certain methods of organizing human activity, e.g. managing personal behavior, relationships, or interactions between people. Specifically, claim 1 (as representative) recites:
a memory storing machine executable instructions, receiver specific metadata, and database of questions; wherein the receiver specific metadata comprises pointers to at least a portion of the database of questions;
a medical imaging system configured for acquiring the medical imaging data descriptive of the subject, wherein the memory further stores configuration commands configured for controlling the medical imaging system to acquire the medical imaging data; and
a computational system, wherein execution of the machine executable instructions causes the computational system to:
initially control the medical imaging system with the configuration commands to acquire the medical imaging data from the subject;
receive subject metadata descriptive of a subject, wherein at least a portion of the subject metadata is descriptive of the medical image data;
receive a selection of a primary receiver;
select one or more questions (128) from the database of questions using the receiver specific metadata of the primary receiver and the subject metadata, wherein the one or more questions are at least partially selected from the database of questions using the configuration commands;
present the selected questions to the sender using a sender user interface;
display the selected questions on an operator user interface as feedback for adjustment of the configuration commands;
receive an adjustment of the configuration commands in response to the displayed selected questions;
select updated one or more questions from the database of questions using the adjusted configuration commands; and
control the medical imaging system with the adjusted configuration commands to acquire the medical imaging data from the subject;
receive sender text in response to sequentially presenting the one or more questions using a sender user interface;
compile the sender text into an electronic medical report;
insert the medical image data descriptive of the subject into the electronic medical report; and
send the electronic medical report to the primary receiver via a network connection.
But for the recitation of generic computer components like a memory, a computational system, a sender user interface, a network connection, an operator user interface, etc., the italicized functions, when considered as a whole, describe an operation for coaching a user through acquiring medical images as well as generating and sending a medical report tailored to specific recipients and procedures that could otherwise be achieved by a human actor managing their personal behavior and/or interactions with others. For example, a radiology technician trainer may maintain a bank or library of questions helpful for guiding or coaching a radiology technician trainee when acquiring medical images and generating medical reports for specific radiologists for specific imaging procedures. The trainer could discuss characteristics of an acquired imaging procedure with the trainee to receive subject metadata descriptive of a subject and the medical image data (e.g. the trainee tells the trainer that a current imaging study was performed on a specific body part with specific imaging parameters for a patient with a specific set of demographics and medical history) as well as ask the trainee to select or otherwise indicate which reviewing radiologist will be reading their prepared report. The trainer could then use these pieces of information to select questions for guiding the trainee in drafting the report that are relevant/tailored to the intended radiologist recipient, the patient, the type of imaging procedure/protocol used, etc. The trainer could present the relevant questions to the trainee for the purpose of giving them feedback about their performance of the image acquisition to be described in the report, e.g. reminding the trainee that the selected radiologist recipient requires images of the procedure type to be above a certain imaging quality or include certain anatomical structures that are not currently met or included in the image such that the trainee is coached to adjust the configuration parameters for the imaging protocol to meet the radiologist’s minimum standards. Responsive to this guidance, the trainee could indicate adjustments that they are making to the imaging protocol/ configuration parameters, which may lead the trainer to choose updated questions relevant to the new imaging protocol/configuration. The trainer could also present selected relevant questions to the trainee for the purpose of guiding the trainee in drafting the report, for example by sequentially presenting reminders to fill out certain sections of an imaging report that a given radiologist recipient requires for the performed procedure, receiving the trainee’s written and/or verbal responses, and compiling the trainee’s responses into a report along with the evaluated image (e.g. by attaching a printout of the acquired image to a physical copy of the report). The trainer could finally send the compiled report to the selected radiologist recipient, e.g. by physically handing it to the radiologist. Accordingly, claim 1 recites an abstract idea in the form of a certain method of organizing human activity because it describes a medical imaging report generation and coaching workflow. Claims 13 and 14 recite substantially similar subject matter as claim 1 and are also found to recite an abstract idea under the same analysis.
Dependent claims 2-12 and 15-20 inherit the limitations that recite an abstract idea from their dependence on claim 1, and thus these claims also recite an abstract idea under the Step 2A – Prong 1 analysis. In addition, claims 2-10, 12, and 16-20 recite additional limitations that further describe the abstract idea identified in the independent claims.
Specifically, claim 2 recites outputting an answer rating in response to receiving the one or more questions and the sender text as input, receiving the answer rating in response to inputting the one or more questions and the sender text as input, and presenting a sender message if the answer rating does not meet a predetermined criterion. These limitations describe functionality for checking the quality of a technician’s response to the questions and notifying the technician if the quality does not meet a condition, which could be accomplished by a trainer making determinations about the quality, accuracy, relevance, etc. of the trainee’s responses to their questions for generating the report and alerting the trainee when their responses are deemed not good enough.
Claim 3 specifies that the response checking can be implemented with a text template, which a human actor like a trainer would be capable of using as a benchmark for checking a trainee’s responses for generating the report.
Claim 4 describes the content of the sender message, each of which are types of messages that a trainer would be capable of communicating to a trainee when their responses are deemed not good enough for inclusion into a generated medical report.
Claim 5 recites storing the sender text and the sender message and triggering presentation of the sender message if a predetermined sender activity criterion is met or after a predetermined delay. A trainer would be capable of remembering appropriate prompting/alerting messages associated with different types of trainee responses and communicating the message to a trainee when an activity criterion is met and/or after a predetermined delay (e.g. if a trainee gets off-topic, after a trainee has been thinking about their response for over 5 minutes, etc.).
Claim 6 recites receiving a selection of an alternative receiver and filtering and/or reformatting the sender text using the receiver specific metadata of the alternative receiver to compile the medical report. These functions could be accomplished during a trainer-trainee interaction when the trainee picks out a different radiologist to receive the compiled report, and the trainer uses their knowledge of the new radiologist’s preferences for report formatting to reformat, edit, or otherwise recompile the report to align with the new radiologist’s preferences/requirements.
Claim 7 specifies that at least a portion of the subject text is inserted into the medical report as an annotation of the medical image data, which could be accomplished by the trainer and/or trainee writing the trainee’s response as an annotation describing the attached medical image.
Claim 8 recites receiving feedback data from the primary receiver in response to sending the medical report, and modifying the receiver specific metadata and/or database of questions based on the feedback and/or controlling messages to the sender during subsequent reception of sender text. These functions could be accomplished by a trainer communicating with the selected radiologist recipient to solicit feedback about the trainee’s report and incorporating the feedback into the trainer’s knowledge about that radiologist’s preferences/requirements for reports so that the relevant coaching questions may be adjusted, and/or controlling their subsequent interactions with a trainee while filling out the report.
Claim 9 describes the content of the feedback, each of which are types of feedback that a radiologist would be capable of communicating to a trainer after reviewing a given trainee’s compiled report.
Claim 10 recites potential methods for compiling the report from the sender text, many of which could be accomplished by a trainer editing or otherwise formatting a trainee’s intended answers for a report, e.g. by concatenating/shortening wordy responses for clarity, by filing out a text template, etc.
Claim 12 describes displaying the one or more questions to an operator before sequentially presenting the one or more questions to the sender, and iteratively performing a process to provide for adjustment of the one or more questions before sequentially presenting the one or more questions to the sender. These limitations describe presenting the questions to another user before presenting them to the trainee and allowing for iterative adjustment of the questions prior to presenting them to the trainee, which could be accomplished by a trainer collaborating with another trainer or experienced technician to practice the coaching questions and tweak or adjust the questions prior to actually implementing them during a live training process with a trainee.
Claim 16 specifies that the adjustment of the configuration commands comprises an adjustment of an imaging protocol parameter, and that the updated questions are selected based on the adjusted imaging protocol parameter, which describe adjustments that a trainee could make to imaging protocol parameters/settings and question selections that a trainer could make responsive to the updated parameters.
Claim 17 specifies that the displaying of selected questions, receiving of adjusted configuration commands, and selecting of updated questions is iteratively repeated before the sender text is received, which merely describes the repetition of the otherwise-abstract workflow described for claim 1 above.
Claim 18 recites comparing the sender text with the updated one or more questions and presenting a sender message before compiling the report when the sender text does not satisfy a predetermined criterion, which a human actor such as the trainer or other supervisory personnel could achieve by checking to make sure that the trainee’s response to the question actually answers the question, and notifying them if they determine that the question is not answered satisfactorily.
Claim 19 recites receiving feedback data from the primary receiver after sending the report and modifying at least one of the receiver specific metadata or the database of questions using the feedback data for subsequent selection of questions, which describes interaction and communication between a primary receiver like a reading radiologist and the trainer to continuously update the radiologist’s profile and preferences for received reports.
Claim 20 specifies that inserting the medical image data into the report comprises inserting at least one annotation associated with a portion of the medical image data and generated from at least a portion of the sender text, which further describes how an imaging report may be constructed by a human user based on text describing portions of the acquired images.
However, recitation of an abstract idea is not the end of the analysis. Each of the claims must be analyzed for additional elements that indicate the abstract idea is integrated into a practical application to determine whether the claim is considered to be “directed to” an abstract idea.
Step 2A – Prong 2
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, independent claims 1, 13, and 14 do not include additional elements that integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of claim 1 include a memory storing machine executable instructions as well as the receiver specific metadata, the database of questions, and the configuration commands configured for controlling the medical imaging system; a medical imaging system configured for acquiring the medical imaging data; a computational system that is caused to perform various functions via execution of the machine executable instructions, including initially controlling the medical imaging system with the configuration commands to acquire the medical imaging data from the subject, presenting and displaying the one or more questions using a sender user interface and an operator user interface, controlling the medical imaging system with the adjusted configuration commands to acquire the medical imaging data from the subject, compiling an electronic medical report, and sending of the electronic medical report to the primary receiver via a network connection. Claims 13 and 14 recite substantially similar additional elements.
These additional elements, when considered in the context of each claim as a whole, merely serve to automate the medical report generation and coaching interactions/workflow that could occur between human actors (as described above), and thus amount to instructions to “apply” the abstract idea using generic computer components (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). For example, a radiology technician trainer can interact with a trainee to guide them in acquiring images and compiling a medical report in a manner tailored to a selected radiologist recipient and a specific performed imaging procedure, and the use of a (presumably electronic) memory, machine executable instructions, computational system, sender user interface, operator user interface, and network connection to facilitate the generation and sending of an electronic medical report to a selected recipient merely digitizes and/or automates this otherwise-abstract workflow such that it occurs in an electronic environment. Further, the initial control of the medical imaging system with stored configuration commands amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of pre-solution data gathering, because this additional element merely serves as a means of acquiring the necessary medical imaging data that is evaluated and included in the generated report (see MPEP 2106.05(g)). The updated control of the imaging system using adjusted configuration commands amounts to high-level instructions to “apply” the judicial exception, because the otherwise-abstract steps of providing feedback about a user’s operation of the imaging device and permitting the user to responsively provide adjusted imaging protocol parameters are merely being implemented via using the medical imaging system as a tool to apply the determined configuration commands; this feature is analogous to the example outlined in MPEP 2106.05(f) which explains that a method of assigning hair designs to balance head shape (an abstract idea) with a final step of using a tool (scissors) to cut the hair amounts to mere instructions to apply an exception because it does no more than invoke machinery as a tool to perform an existing process. The additional elements of the instant claims do not reflect improvements in computer, medical imaging, user interface, or networking technology, and thus do not provide meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Accordingly, claims 1, 13, and 14 as a whole are each directed to an abstract idea without integration into a practical application.
The judicial exception recited in dependent claims 2-12 and 15-20 is also not integrated into a practical application under a similar analysis as above. The functions of claims 4-9, 16-17, and 19-20 are performed with the same additional elements introduced in the independent claims, without introducing any new additional elements of their own, and accordingly also amount to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea using these same additional elements.
Claims 2-3 introduce a response checking module that may be implemented as a text template and/or a response checking large language model to output the answer rating. Claim 18 also introduces a response checking module. These additional elements merely serve as instructions to “apply” the otherwise-abstract functions of rating the quality or other metric of a user’s responses and/or comparing sender text with the updated questions using computing components recited at a high level of generality such that they occur digitally in an automated manner (see MPEP 2106.05(f)). Examiner notes that no improvements to large language model technology, architecture, training, etc. are being made in these claims.
Claim 10 introduces a potential additional element of a text composition large language model that may optionally be used to output the electronic medical report, which similarly amounts to instructions to “apply” the otherwise-abstract function of compiling a medical report using a computing component recited at a high level of generality such that it occurs digitally in an automated manner. Examiner notes that no improvements to large language model technology, architecture, training, etc. are being made in this claim.
Claim 11 introduces an audio-to-text conversion module configured to output text in response to receiving audio data comprising speech such that the computational system can receive sender audio data using the sender user interface. This additional element is recited at a high level of generality and merely serves as a means to permit verbal or spoken input to the computing system such that it also amounts to instructions to “apply” the abstract idea because it facilitates the digitization of verbal interactions into the computerized/automated system without providing improvements to audio-to-text conversion technology.
Claim 12 recites an operator user interface, which amounts to mere instructions to “apply” the judicial exception in the same manner as the sender user interface and operator user interface described above for claim 1 because this additional element merely digitizes the outputting of data to and receipt of data from a human actor such that otherwise-abstract functions like sharing information are digitized via user interface devices. Examiner notes that no improvements to user interface technology are being made in this claim.
Claim 15 specifies that the medical imaging system comprises an MRI system, the configuration commands comprise pulse sequence commands, and the medical imaging data comprises k-space data acquired using the pulse sequence commands. These descriptions merely tie the invention to implementation in the specific medical imaging environment/field of MRI (see MPEP 2106.05(h)), and thus do not provide a practical application or technical improvement.
Accordingly, the additional elements of claims 1-20 do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Claims 1-20 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of memory, machine executable instructions, a computational system, user interfaces, and a network connection for performing the storing, receiving, selecting, presenting, displaying, compiling, inserting, sending, etc. steps of the invention amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components. As evidence of the generic nature of the above recited additional elements, Examiner notes Pg 13 L31 – Pg 16 L37 of Applicant’s specification, where a computing system is disclosed at a high level in terms of existing generic components like memory, machine executable instructions written in conventional coding languages, general purpose computers, known networking architectures like the internet, exemplary user interfaces and display devices like keyboard, mouse, computer monitors, television screens, touch screens, etc. These disclosures do not indicate that the elements of the invention are particular machines, and instead provide generic examples of existing computer hardware, such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that any generic memory, machine-executable instructions, computing system, user interface, and network could be used to implement the invention.
The use of stored, adjustable configuration commands to control a medical imaging system to acquire medical imaging data from a subject amounts to insignificant extra-solution activity in the form of necessary data gathering, as well as to instructions to “apply” the exception with high-level machinery, as explained above. This feature is also well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field of generating medical imaging reports, as evidenced by at least [0033] of Torres et al. (US 20200111553 A1); [0047] of Roh et al. (US 20240290449 A1); [0034], [0046], [0049] of Lewis et al. (US 20210059631 A1); and [0021]-[0022] & [0036] of Sharma et al. (US 20190326007 A1).
The optional use of large language models as in claims 3 and 10 amounts to mere instructions to “apply” the otherwise-abstract functions of rating user responses and compiling a medical report, as explained above. As evidence of the generic nature of these LLMs, Examiner notes Pg 4 L23 – Pg 5 L4 & Pg 7 L33-36 of Applicant’s specification, where the LLMs of the invention are described as being implemented by commercially available LLMs like GPT-2, GPT-3, BERT, or LLaMA.
The use of an audio-to-text conversion module as in claim 11 also amounts to mere instructions to “apply” the judicial exception because it merely permits the digitized input of audio data to the computing system, as explained above. As evidence of the generic nature of these LLMs, Examiner notes Pg 8 L12-13 of Applicant’s specification, where the audio-to-text conversion module is described as being “implemented using commercially available audio-to-text conversion programs.”
Specifying that the imaging system is an MRI system, that the configuration commands comprise pulse sequence commands, and that the imaging data is k-space data acquired using the pulse sequence commands as in claim 15 merely ties the invention to implementation in the MRI field of imaging. MRI devices conventionally acquire k-space data using pulse sequence commands as operating parameters, as evidenced by at least Sharma [0021] & [0025] and Wikipedia (Reference U on the accompanying PTO-892), such that these features do not provide improvements to MRI technology.
Further, the combination of these additional elements is not expanded upon in the specification as a unique arrangement and as such relies on the knowledge of one of ordinary skill in the art to understand the combination of components within a computer system as a well-known and generic combination for automating an abstract idea that could otherwise be performed as a certain method of organizing human activity and thus do not provide an inventive concept. Additionally, the combination of a computer system with a memory executing computer instructions, an imaging device controlled via configuration commands, various user interfaces, and a network connection used to generate electronic medical reports is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the art, as evidenced by at least abstract, Figs. 1 & 11, [0033] of Torres; abstract & Figs. 1-2 of Roh; and abstract, Figs. 1-2, [0028]-[0032] of Reicher et al. (US 20100138239 A1). Analyzing these additional elements as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when considering the elements individually; the overall effect of the computer implementation, imaging device, user interfaces, network connection, optional LLMs, etc. in combination is to digitize and/or automate an operation/workflow for coaching a user through acquiring medical images as well as generating and sending a medical report tailored to specific recipients and imaging procedures that could otherwise be achieved as a certain method of organizing human activity. Thus, when considered as a whole and in combination, claims 1-20 are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reicher et al. (US 20100138239 A1) in view of Sharma et al. (US 20190326007 A1).
Claims 1, 13, and 14
Reicher teaches a medical system to be operated by a sender (Reicher abstract, noting a system that presents medical forms to users (i.e. senders)) comprising:
a memory storing machine executable instructions, receiver specific metadata, and database of questions; wherein the receiver specific metadata comprises pointers to at least a portion of the database of questions (Reicher [0029]-[0030], noting a computing system with memory and processors that may execute software instructions to implement the functions of the invention; see also [0026], [0047]-[0048], [0068], noting the system includes a database of template examination forms (i.e. a question database, because the examination forms include prompts/questions for user input into the forms as shown in Figs. 8A-D & [0069]) that are cross-linked to identifying characteristics (i.e. metadata) like attributes of the reading physician (i.e. receiver specific metadata) so that they may be selected or identified for use based on the characteristics, i.e. the receiver specific metadata comprises pointers to at least a portion of the database);
a medical imaging system configured for acquiring the medical imaging data descriptive of the subject, (Reicher Fig. 1, [0032], noting an MRI scanner, CT scanner, and/or any other type of scanner or imaging device configured to acquire images from a patient may be connected to the system via a network); and
a computational system, wherein execution of the machine executable instructions causes the computational system to (Reicher [0029]):
receive subject metadata descriptive of a subject, wherein at least a portion of the subject metadata is descriptive of the medical image data (Reicher [0048], [0068], noting characteristics of the patient and imaging study/procedure may be obtained by the system for use in selecting an appropriate examination form);
receive a selection of a primary receiver (Reicher [0048], noting attributes of people or entities that will receive the results of the examination (i.e. a primary receiver) are obtained by the system for use in selecting an appropriate examination form, indicating that a selection of the primary receiver is received in some manner);
select one or more questions (128) from the database of questions using the receiver specific metadata of the primary receiver and the subject metadata, wherein the one or more questions are at least partially selected from the database of questions using the type of procedure (Reicher [0026], [0047]-[0048], [0055]-[0056], [0068], noting the system may automatically select an appropriate examination form (i.e. one or more questions) from the database based on characteristics (i.e. metadata) of the patient, the receiving physician/entity, and/or the type of imaging procedure);
present the selected questions to the sender using a sender user interface; display the selected questions on an operator user interface (Reicher [0058], [0062], noting once an appropriate examination form template has been selected, it is presented to the user);
receive sender text in response to sequentially presenting the one or more questions using a sender user interface (Reicher Figs. 8A-D, [0062], noting the user interacts with the displayed examination form questions to input responses (e.g. free text as in [0069]) at a user interface);
compile the sender text into an electronic medical report (Reicher [0027], [0063], noting the data input into the form may be compiled into a report for export to a desired recipient);
insert the medical image data descriptive of the subject into the electronic medical report (Reicher [0081], noting the report may be created by inserting images or other information descriptive of the completed patient procedure into the report); and
send the electronic medical report to the primary receiver via a network connection (Reicher [0063]-[0065], noting the compiled report is exported to desired recipient entities, e.g. via the network infrastructure of [0032]).
In summary, Reicher teaches an automated system for selecting an appropriate medical examination form template based on cross-linked characteristics specific to a desired reading physician (i.e. primary recipient), the patient, as well as modality, scanner model, or other attributes of the performed imaging procedure (see [0026], [0048], [0068]). The system is also directly networked to the imaging systems (see Fig. 1 & [0032]) and may automatically import data from them (see [0039], noting MRI imaging data may be imported automatically into a selected form from the MRI system). However, Reicher fails to explicitly disclose that the system itself stores configuration commands configured for controlling the medical imaging system to acquire the medical imaging data; initially controls the medical imaging system with the configuration commands to acquire the medical imaging data from the subject; selects one or more questions using the configuration commands; displays the selected questions as feedback for adjustment of the configuration commands; receives an adjustment of the configuration commands in response to the displayed selected questions; selects updated one or more questions from the database of questions using the adjusted configuration commands; and controls the medical imaging system with the adjusted configuration commands to acquire the medical imaging data from the subject.
However, Sharma teaches an analogous system for acquiring medical imaging data and filling out a report that includes an imaging modality with stored configuration commands that may be executed for computerized control of the operation of the imaging system (Sharma [0021]-[0022]). The system also performs the following functions:
initially controlling the medical imaging system with the configuration commands to acquire the medical imaging data from the subject (Sharma Fig. 4 element 40, [0063]);
selecting data for presentation to a user (considered analogous to questions) based on the configuration commands (Sharma [0024], [0030]-[0031], [0035], [0068], [0074], noting the system selects image processing operations that output data (e.g. clinical findings) for inclusion in a report and presentation to a user based on factors like imaging protocols and scan parameters, i.e. the configuration commands as in [0021]-[0022]);
displaying the selected data as feedback for adjustment of the configuration commands; receiving an adjustment of the configuration commands in response to the displayed selected questions (Sharma [0030], [0035]-[0036], [0081]-[0082], noting the clinical finding or other data determined based on input factors like scan parameters may be displayed to a user and utilized as feedback for adjusting imaging settings/parameters implemented by a user for rescanning the patient);
selecting updated data using the adjusted configuration commands (Sharma Fig. 4, [0082], noting the image processing / report generation functions that output data based on input scan settings/ parameters may be iteratively performed based on updated scan parameters); and
controlling the medical imaging system with the adjusted configuration commands to acquire the medical imaging data from the subject (Sharma [0036], [0081]-[0083], noting the system performs an updated imaging scan with the adjusted configuration commands).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the networked computer and imaging modality system of Reicher to include storage and execution of adjustable imaging modality control commands as well as iterative selection of image/report data based on the executed commands and adjustment of the commands as in Sharma in order to intrinsically link together the imaging, finding, and reporting pieces of the clinical imaging process so that the final radiology report is more likely complete and less likely to need a follow-up examination, as well as to provide and implement feedback that allows for gathering of better or additional scan data for improving the quality of the eventually-generated radiology report (as suggested by Sharma [0058] & [0081]).
Claims 13 and 14 recite substantially similar subject matter as claim 1, and are also rejected as above.
Claim 2
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein the memory further comprises a response checking module, wherein the response checking module is configured to output an answer rating in response to receiving the one or more questions and the sender text as input, wherein execution of the machine executable instructions further causes the computational system to: receive the answer rating in response to inputting the one or more questions and the sender text as input; and present a sender message using the sender user interface if the answer rating does not meet a predetermined criterion (Reicher [0042], noting the system can designate certain fields of the form as required data entry fields and prevent a user from saving an updated form unless they have entered appropriate data in the required data entry fields; such functionality is considered equivalent to a response checking module that rates the completeness of an answer field for a required question and presents a message (e.g. indicating to the user the saving the form has been prevented) if the answer rating does not meet a predetermined criterion, e.g. a completeness criterion).
Claim 3
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 2, and the combination further teaches wherein the response checking module is implemented as any one of the following: a text template, a response checking large language model (140), and combinations thereof (Reicher [0042], [0109], noting the examination form templates (i.e. a text template) can designate required fields).
Claim 4
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 2, and the combination further teaches wherein the sender message comprises any one of the following: an autocomplete suggestion; an incomplete text warning; a prompt to enter additional text; and combinations thereof (Reicher [0042], noting the system can prevent a user from saving an updated form unless they have entered appropriate data in required data entry fields, considered equivalent to providing a sender message comprising an incomplete text warning and/or a prompt to enter additional text).
Claim 5
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 2, and the combination further teaches wherein execution of the machine executable instructions further causes the computational system to: store the sender text and the sender message in the memory; and trigger the presentation of the sender message using the sender user interface if a predetermined sender activity criterion is met or after a predetermined delay (Reicher [0030], [0117], noting various instances of memory for storing the software, algorithms, and data of the system, indicating that any data input to, processed by, and/or output via the system (e.g. sender text and a sender message as explained above) is stored in the memory at some point in time. See also [0042], noting the system can prevent a user from saving an updated form unless they have entered appropriate data in required data entry fields, considered equivalent to presenting a sender message using the sender user interface if a predetermined sender activity criterion (e.g. not entering the required data into the required data field) is met).
Claim 6
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein execution of the machine executable instructions further causes the computational system to: receive a selection of an alternative receiver; and filter and/or reformat the sender text using the receiver specific metadata of the alternative receiver, wherein the electronic medical report is compiled from the filtered and/or reformatted sender text (Reicher [0048], noting examination form templates may be selected according to attributes of “people and entities that will receive the results of the examination,” indicating that at least a second alternate receiver beyond the initial primary receiver may be indicated; see also [0065], [0088], [0106], noting the entered examination form data may be reformatted and mapped to a specific reporting template associated with a given recipient, indicating that the system can receive indications of multiple desired recipients and reformat/filter the entered examination form data to compile recipient-specific report formats for exporting to each recipient (e.g. according to user preferences as in [0048])).
Claim 7
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein at least a portion of the sender text is inserted into the electronic medical report as an annotation of the medical image data (Reicher Fig. 10B-2, [0102]-[0103], [0109]-[0111], noting the technologist may input notes and measurements about anatomical features in portions of the image data, which may be directly mapped to the physician’s report).
Claim 8
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein execution of the machine executable instructions further causes the computational system to: receive feedback data from the primary receiver in response to sending the electronic medical report to the primary receiver via a network connection; and any one of the following: modify the receiver specific metadata and/or the database of questions using the feedback data; control popup messages on the sender user interface during subsequent reception of the sender text by the sender user interface; and combinations thereof (Reicher [0088], [0111], noting the physicians can specify preferences about how the electronic reports are formatted or displayed (e.g. feedback) which are utilized by the system to present reports to the physician in the future (i.e. receiver specific metadata is modified in the memory)).
Claim 9
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 8, and the combination further teaches wherein the feedback data comprises any one of the following: a communication score ranking the electronic medical report, at least one request for clarification, a number of requests for clarification, a measured time to study the electronic medical report, and combinations thereof (Reicher [0111], noting the preferences may include instructions for the location and timing of the displayed data, considered equivalent to requests for clarification because such preferences reflect how the physician can best clarify the presentation of the data for their own understanding).
Claim 10
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein the electronic medical report is compiled using any one of the following: a concatenation of the sender text; a combination of the sender text using a text composition large language model that outputs the electronic medical report in response to receiving the primary sender text as input; filling a text template with the sender text; and combinations thereof (Reicher Figs. 8A-D & 10A-G, showing sender text is input into a selected template for use in compiling the report).
Claim 11
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein the memory further comprises an audio-to-text conversion module configured to output text in response to receiving audio data comprising speech, wherein execution of the machine executable instructions further causes the computational system to receive sender audio data using the sender user interface in response to sequentially presenting the one or more questions, wherein the sender text is received by inputting the sender audio data into the audio-to-text conversion module (Reicher [0031], noting the system includes a microphone and voice command input system for interfacing with a user, indicating that the user may provide sender text to fill out the examination forms via voice commands and audio-to-text conversion).
Claim 12
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein execution of the machine executable instructions further causes the computational system to: display the one or more questions on an operator user interface before sequentially presenting the one or more questions using the sender user interface; and iteratively repeat execution of the machine executable instructions to provide for adjustment of the one or more questions before sequentially presenting the one or more questions using the sender user interface (Reicher Figs. 2-3, [0046], [0052]-[0054], noting a user (e.g. an operator that may be different from the sender) may utilize an interface to create or modify examination form templates prior to their deployment and use by a technologist or other user, considered equivalent to the one or more questions being displayed to an operator user before sequentially presenting them at the sender user interface and permitting iterative execution of template creation/editing software instructions to adjust the questions before they are saved and deployed as part of a live operation for selecting and filling out a form for a real patient procedure).
Claim 15
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein the medical imaging system comprises a magnetic resonance imaging system (Reicher [0032], Sharma [0019]), wherein the configuration commands comprise pulse sequence commands (Sharma [0021]), and wherein the medical imaging data comprises k-space data acquired using the pulse sequence commands (Sharma [0025]).
Claim 16
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein the adjustment of the configuration commands comprises an adjustment of an imaging protocol parameter (Sharma [0036], [0081], noting adjustment of imaging protocol parameters, e.g. those outlined in [0021]-[0022]), and wherein the updated one or more questions are selected based on the adjusted imaging protocol parameter (Sharma Fig. 4, [0082], noting the image processing / report generation functions that output data based on input scan settings/parameters (i.e. the selection and display of questions based on configuration commands) may be iteratively performed based on updated scan parameters).
Claim 17
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein execution of the machine executable instructions causes the computational system to iteratively repeat the displaying of the selected questions, the receiving of the adjustment of the configuration commands, and the selecting of the updated one or more questions before the sender text is received (Sharma Fig. 4, [0082], noting the image processing / report generation functions that output data based on input scan settings/parameters (i.e. the selection and display of questions based on configuration commands) and provide feedback for adjusting imaging parameters for rescans may be iteratively performed based on updated scan parameters).
Claim 18
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein execution of the machine executable instructions causes the computational system to compare the sender text with the updated one or more questions using a response checking module and to present a sender message before compiling the electronic medical report when the sender text does not satisfy a predetermined criterion (Reicher [0042], noting the system can designate certain fields of the form as required data entry fields and prevent a user from saving an updated form unless they have entered appropriate data in the required data entry fields; such functionality is considered equivalent to a response checking module that compares input sender text with provided questions (e.g. updated questions when considered in the context of the combination with Sharma) and presents a message (e.g. indicating to the user that saving the form has been prevented) prior to compiling the report if the comparison does not meet a predetermined criterion, e.g. a completeness criterion).
Claim 19
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein execution of the machine executable instructions causes the computational system to receive feedback data from the primary receiver after sending the electronic medical report and to modify at least one of the receiver specific metadata or the database of questions using the feedback data for subsequent selection of questions (Reicher [0088], [0111], noting the physicians can specify preferences about how the electronic reports are formatted or displayed (e.g. feedback) which are utilized by the system to present reports to the physician in the future (i.e. receiver specific metadata is modified in the memory)).
Claim 20
Reicher in view of Sharma teaches the medical system of claim 1, and the combination further teaches wherein inserting the medical image data into the electronic medical report comprises inserting at least one annotation associated with a portion of the medical image data and generated from at least a portion of the sender text (Reicher Fig. 10B-2, [0102]-[0103], [0109]-[0111], noting the technologist may input notes and measurements about anatomical features in portions of the image data, which may be directly mapped to the physician’s report).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Van Hoe (WO 2017216055 A1) describes a system for assisting the acquisition and reporting of radiological images by providing an interactive question and answer session to a user to properly configure an imaging protocol to a patient and situation.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREN A HRANEK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3684