DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 07/09/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 7-19 remain(s) pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Specification, Drawings, and Claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 04/10/2026, hereinafter NFOA.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rampen; William Hugh Salvin et al. US 20100037604 A1, hereinafter Rampen, have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The applicant argued that the amended claims 1 and 12 now require a signal generator, and that the previous rejection does not provide a signal generator. While it is true that the previous rejection did not provide coverage for an unclaimed signal generator, Rampen does provide a plurality thereof. See rejection below for updated rejection based upon the applicant’s amendments.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 Ln 19 please amend to --the at least one processor-- to align with Ln 17-18.
Claim 1 Ln 20 please amend to --receive the electrical signals-- to align with Ln 17.
Claim 5 Ln 3, please amend to --into the valve controller [[valve]]--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
-(a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
-(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rampen.
Regarding claim 1, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) an intermediate hydraulic system for receiving hydraulic fluid from at least one hydraulic power source (2, 5, 11-14) and transmitting the hydraulic fluid to at least one hydraulic implement (15, 18) (although components of Rampen were indicated, the power source and hydraulic implements are not considered positively claimed as part of the system, the terms power source and implement have been interpreted as intended use in accordance with MPEP 2111.02), the intermediate hydraulic system comprising:
at least one selector valve (6/7, any of the four valves connected to line (7), [0022]) having
at least one input port (depicted bottom ports) for receiving the hydraulic fluid into the at least one selector valve,
at least one (depicted bottom ports) of the at least one input ports for receiving the hydraulic fluid from the at least one hydraulic power source, and
at least one output port (depicted top ports) for transmitting the hydraulic fluid to the at least one hydraulic implement,
at least one accumulator (16), in fluid communication with the at least one selector valve (depicted in communication via line (8) and any of the four valves of (6) connected to line (8)), the at least one accumulator being adapted and configured to control pressure fluctuations in the hydraulic fluid [0029],
at least one valve controller (6/8, any of the four valves connected to line (8)), in fluid communication with the at least one selector valve and that at least one accumulator (depicted as fluidly connected to (6/7) and (16)), the at least one valve controller having
at least one input port (depicted bottom ports) for receiving the hydraulic fluid into the at least one valve controller, and
at least one output port (depicted top ports) for transmitting the hydraulic fluid out from the at least one valve controller [0029], and having
at least one bleed valve ((6 “safety relief valve”), any of the four valves depicted on the left side of (6) connecting lines (7-10) to tank) for diverting the hydraulic fluids from the system [0022],
at least one signal generator (2, 3, 5, 19) configured to generate electrical signals for use by at least one processor (1) in controlling operation of the intermediate hydraulic system ([0028] states that (1) receives electric signals from (2, 3, 5, 19)); and at least one processor for controlling the system, the at least one processor being in electrical communication with the at least one signal generator and configured to receive electrical signals therefrom [0028], the at least one processor being further configured to actuate the at least one selector valve, the at least one accumulator, and the at least one valve controller in response to the electrical signals to regulate and maintain near-constant hydraulic fluid flow and pressure from the at least one hydraulic power source to the at least one hydraulic implement in real time according to a changed demand for hydraulic power [0022, 0028-0031].
Regarding claim 2, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the at least one input port of the at least one selector valve (6/7) comprises at least three input ports (as depicted, (6/7) comprises at least four input ports on the bottom thereof) for receiving the hydraulic fluid into the at least one selector valve, and the at least one output port of the at least one selector valve comprises at least three output ports (as depicted, (6/7) comprises at least four output ports on the top thereof) for transmitting the hydraulic fluid out from the at least one selector valve.
Regarding claim 4, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the accumulator further comprises a hydraulic fluid pressure gauge (depicted pressure sensor on line (8), “sensors”) configured for detecting and measuring hydraulic fluid pressure in the system [0028].
Regarding claim 5, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the at least one input port of the at least one valve controller (6/8) comprises at least three input ports (as depicted, (6/8) comprises at least four input ports on the bottom thereof) for receiving the hydraulic fluid into the valve controller, and the at least one input port of the at least one valve controller comprises at least three output ports (as depicted, (6/8) comprises at least four output ports on the top thereof) for transmitting the hydraulic fluid out from the at least one valve controller.
Regarding claim 7, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the at least one bleed valve may be an automatic bleed valve (6, “safety relief valve” is depicted as a pressure relief valve that automatically bleeding excess pressure to tank), a manual bleed valve, or both.
Regarding claim 9, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the at least one hydraulic power source is a tractor and the at least one hydraulic implement is hydraulic- pressure driven agricultural machinery (as stated above, the power source and hydraulic implements are not considered positively claimed as part of the system, the terms power source and implement have been interpreted as intended use in accordance with MPEP 2111.02, with that the hydraulic system of Rampen is capable of/configured to operate as a tractor (2, 5, 11-14) and hydraulic-pressure driven agricultural machinery (15, 16, 18, 20)).
Regarding claim 10, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the system is mobile (as stated above regarding claim 9, the system is capable of/configured to operate as a tractor (2, 5, 11-14) and hydraulic-pressure driven agricultural machinery (15, 16, 18, 20) thereby making it mobile).
Regarding claim 11, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the system is a closed-loop system (as far as is depicted/disclosed by the applicant’s specification, the system is depicted as closed loop as all the hydraulic fluid used in the circuit never escapes or leaves the system/circuit).
Regarding claim 12, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) a method of automatically controlling hydraulic fluid flow between at least one hydraulic power source (2, 5, 11-14) and at least one hydraulic implement (15, 18), the method comprising:
providing at least one selector valve (6/7, any of the four valves connected to line (7)) in fluid communication with the at least one hydraulic power source and the at least one hydraulic implement, the at least one selector valve configured to receive hydraulic fluid from the at least one hydraulic power source and transmit the hydraulic fluid toward the at least one hydraulic implement [0022];
providing at least one accumulator (16) in fluid communication with the at least one selector valve (depicted in communication via line (8) and any of the four valves of (6) connected to line (8)), the at least one accumulator configured to control pressure fluctuations in hydraulic fluid flow [0029];
providing at least one valve controller (6/8, any of the four valves connected to line (8)) in fluid communication with the at least one selector valve and the at least one accumulator (depicted as fluidly connected to (6/7) and (16)) [0022, 0029];
providing at least one signal generator (2, 3, 5, 19) for generating electrical signals ([0028] states that (1) receives electric signals from (2, 3, 5, 19));
providing at least one processor (1) in electrical communication with the at least one signal generator [0028]:
receiving, by the at least one processor, the electrical signals generated by the at least one signal generator [0028];
actuating, by the at least one processor in response to the electrical signals, the at least one selector valve, the at least one accumulator, and the at least one valve controller[0028-0031], and
regulating and maintaining, by the at least one processor, near-constant hydraulic fluid flow and pressure from the at least one hydraulic power source to the at least one hydraulic implement in real time according to a changed demand for hydraulic power [0022-0023, 0028-0031].
Regarding claim 13, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the near-constant hydraulic fluid pressure levels may be a predetermined level (“certain pressure”, [0023]).
Regarding claim 16, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the at least one processor (1) continuously actuates the at least one selector valve, the at least one accumulator, and the at least one selector valve controller [0022-0023, 0028-0031].
Regarding claim 17, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the processor is in electrical communication with the at least one hydraulic power source [0022-0023, 0028-0031].
Regarding claim 19, Rampen discloses (Fig. 1) the method comprises providing a closed-loop hydraulic fluid control system (1) electronically connected to onboard processing systems (1) of the at least one hydraulic power source (as far as is depicted/disclosed by the applicant’s specification, the system is depicted as closed loop as all the hydraulic fluid used in the circuit never escapes or leaves the system/circuit, the processor (1), as it is in control of the hydraulic implement/circuit/system is thereby also in control of the closed-loop hydraulic fluid control system).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rampen in view of Erkkilä; Mikko US 20160186785 A1, hereinafter Erkkila. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (systems comprising accumulators); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (construction of accumulator). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 3, Rampen discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1 except fails to explicitly state that the accumulator is a bladder accumulator. Instead, the accumulator (16) of Rampen is merely described generically as a “gas-filled accumulator” [0018] or a “gas-charged accumulator” [0024].
Erkkila discloses (Fig. 2) a hydraulic system comprising an accumulator (206), wherein the accumulator is a bladder accumulator [0025].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (bladder type accumulator) for another (generic accumulator), and the results of the substitution (storing energy as gas pressure and returning it back as fluid energy at a later time) would have been predictable. Because both Rampen and Erkkila teach accumulators, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the bladder type accumulator for the generic accumulator to achieve the predictable result of storing energy as gas pressure and returning it back as fluid energy at a later time.
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rampen in view of Carpenter; Richard Andrew US 20160131164 A1, hereinafter Carpenter. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (systems comprising processors); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (construction of processor). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 8, as far as is determinate, Rampen discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1. Rampen further discloses (Fig. 1) the at least one signal generator (2, 3, 5, 19) is configured to generate electrical signals corresponding with an operator (3, [0028])
Rampen fails to explicitly state that the signals correspond with GPS data for receipt by the at least one processor.
Carpenter discloses (Fig. 1) a hydraulic system comprising a processor (134), further comprising the at least one signal generator (“GPS/GNSS chips”) is configured to transmit electrical signals corresponding with GPS data for receipt by the at least one processor [0027, 0035]. Carpenter further discloses that based on data, such as the GPS data, the system efficiency can be determined [0028] and using the efficiency may indicate/warn of system failure or poor performance [0045]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Rampen, by providing a signal generator transmitting electrical signals corresponding with GPS data, as taught by Carpenter, for the purpose of indicating or warning of system failure or poor performance.
Regarding claim 18, Rampen discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 1. Rampen further discloses (Fig. 1) the processor (1) may be in electrical communication with the at least one signal generator (2, 3, 5, 19) corresponding with an operator (3, [0028]) of the at least one hydraulic power source.
Rampen fails to explicitly state that the processor is in electrical communication with a global positioning system of the at least one hydraulic power source.
Carpenter discloses (Fig. 1) a hydraulic system comprising a processor (134), further comprising the at least one signal generator (“GPS/GNSS chips”) is configured to transmit electrical signals corresponding with GPS data [0027, 0035]. Carpenter further discloses that based on data, such as the GPS data, the system efficiency can be determined [0028] and using the efficiency may indicate/warn of system failure or poor performance [0045]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to modify Rampen, by providing a signal generator transmitting electrical signals corresponding with GPS data, as taught by Carpenter, for the purpose of indicating or warning of system failure or poor performance.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rampen in view of Wu; Duqiang et al. US 20200060063 A1, hereinafter Wu. The references is/are considered analogous art to the claimed invention because the references is/are from the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (systems comprising accumulators); or the references is/are reasonably pertinent to the problem faced by the inventor (applications of systems). MPEP2141.01(a) I.
Regarding claim 14, as far as is determinate, Rampen discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 12, except fails to explicitly state that the at least one hydraulic power source is provided by a tractor towing the at least one hydraulic implement. Instead, Rampen is silent or generic to the application of the hydraulic system/method.
Wu discloses (Fig. 1) a hydraulic system comprising a hydraulic fluid flow between at least one hydraulic power source (42) and at least one hydraulic implement (10), the at least one hydraulic power source is provided by a tractor towing the at least one hydraulic implement [0018].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (tractor/implement application) for another (generic application), and the results of the substitution (supplying/controlling hydraulic fluid pressure/flow to implement) would have been predictable. Because both Rampen and Wu teach applications for hydraulic systems/methods, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the towed hydraulic implement by the power source application for the generic hydraulic system application to achieve the predictable result of supplying/controlling hydraulic fluid pressure/flow to implement.
Regarding claim 15, Rampen discloses the claimed invention substantially as claimed, as set forth above for Claim 12, except fails to explicitly state that the at least one hydraulic power source is a tractor and the at least one hydraulic implement is hydraulic-pressure driven agricultural equipment.
Wu discloses (Fig. 1) a hydraulic system comprising a hydraulic fluid flow between at least one hydraulic power source (42) and at least one hydraulic implement (10), wherein the at least one hydraulic power source is a tractor (“tractor”) and the at least one hydraulic implement is hydraulic-pressure driven agricultural equipment (“agricultural implement”) [0018].
One of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element (tractor/implement application) for another (generic application), and the results of the substitution (supplying/controlling hydraulic fluid pressure/flow to implement) would have been predictable. Because both Rampen and Wu teach applications for hydraulic systems/methods, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to substitute the tractor and agricultural equipment application for the generic hydraulic system application to achieve the predictable result of supplying/controlling hydraulic fluid pressure/flow to implement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW WIBLIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745