Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sutyla (5,474,204). Sutyla discloses a housing case (10) comprising a case body having a frame-shape (11-14) and including a first opening portion (25; Figs. 4 & 6) located on an upper side, a second opening portion (26) located on a lower side, and a housing part (50, 51) inside adapted to house items for the tradesman, home handyman and the like, a first lid (28) configured to open and close the first opening portion, and a second lid (27) configured to open and close the second opening portion. The housing case of Sutyla is inherently capable to house a cutting insert.
As to claim 2, Sutyla discloses the first lid and the second lid have an identical shape (Figs. 1 & 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutyla in view of Rosler (5,577,629) and/or The Japanese Publication No. 05-071186 to Ikenaga et al. (hereinafter Ikenaga). Sutyla discloses the housing case as above to house the items for the tradesman, home handyman and the like, and other claimed limitations except for the items comprises a cutting insert as claimed. Rosler teaches an insert set comprising a housing case (1) including a case body (3) having a frame-shaped with a first opening portion located on an upper side (Fig. 2), a first lid (4) configured to open and close the first opening portion, and a cutting insert (2) disposed within the housing case. Ikenaga teaches an insert set comprising a housing case (4) including a case body (5) having a frame-shaped with a first opening portion located on an upper side (Fig. 8), a first lid (6) configured to open and close the first opening portion, and a cutting insert (1, 2) disposed within the housing case. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in view of Rosler and/or Ikenaga to modify the housing case of Sutyla so the housing case is constructed to house a cutting insert for allowing the housing case of Sutyla to hold other items and because the substitution of one known element for another would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claim 4, Sutyla further discloses the housing case comprises a first sealing seal (30, 31) adapted to fix the first lid to the case body and a second sealing seal (similar to the first sealing seal) adapted to fix the second lid to the case body as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LUAN K BUI/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736