DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim limitation “...a first adhesive surface for bonding to skin on a neck...” in lines 3-4 should be amended to read –a first adhesive surface configured for bonding to skin on a neck. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12, the term “approximately” in line 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “approximately” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Therefore, the claim term “approximately” renders the claim indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 19, 20, 22, 24 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisiecki et al. (US 2012/0197118; hereinafter Lisiecki), in view of Barnard et al. (US 2013/0289411; hereinafter Barnard).
Regarding claim 1, Lisiecki discloses an ultrasonic monitoring device. Lisiecki teaches an ultrasound transducer attachment system (see fig. 3; abstract), comprising: a substrate layer (see 20 in fig. 3; par. [0032]), having a first face (see fig. 4) and a second face (see fig. 3), wherein the second face is on an opposite side to the first face (see top and bottom surface of substrate layer 20 in fig. 3), the first face comprising a first adhesive surface for bonding to skin on a neck of a human or animal patient (see fig. 5); an ultrasound transducer (see par. [0033]), fastened to the first face of the substrate layer (see fig. 3 and par. [0033]; the examiner notes that claim does not require that the transducers is fastened directly on the first face), for placement adjacent a carotid artery of the patient (see fig. 5); and an alignment layer (see 16 in fig. 3), bonded to the second face of the substrate layer (fig. 3 shows alignment layer 16 which is bonded to substrate 20; par. [0033]) and extending beyond the substrate layer in at least a first direction (see fig. 3), along a first dimension (see fig. 3), so as to aid alignment of the ultrasound transducer adjacent the carotid artery of the patient (see fig. 3 and 5).
But, Lisiecki fails to explicitly state that the alignment layer is removable.
Barnard discloses an apparatus removably secure an ultrasound probe to tissue and teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed inventio, to have utilized the teaching of removable alignment layer in the invention of Lisiecki, as taught by Barnard, to be able to easily access the ultrasound transducer elements.
Regarding claim 2, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Barnard teaches wherein the removable alignment layer comprises at least one alignment feature (par. [0047], [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed inventio, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the removable alignment layer comprises at least one alignment in the invention of Lisiecki, as taught by Barnard, to be able to easily access the ultrasound transducer elements.
Regarding claim 3, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Barnard teaches wherein the at least one alignment feature comprises a protrusion (par. [0047], [0048]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed inventio, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the at least one alignment feature comprises a protrusion in the invention of Lisiecki, as taught by Barnard, to be able to easily access the ultrasound transducer elements.
Regarding claim 4, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Barnard teaches wherein the at least one alignment feature indicates a center of the removable alignment layer in the first dimension for alignment adjacent a center of the neck of the patient (see fig. 2 and 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed inventio, to have utilized the teaching of wherein the at least one alignment feature indicates a center of the removable alignment layer in the first dimension for alignment adjacent a center of the neck of the patient in the invention of Lisiecki, as taught by Barnard, to be able to easily access the ultrasound transducer elements.
Regarding claim 5, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the substrate layer is located entirely to one side of a centerline of the alignment layer in the first dimension (see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the claim does not require that the whole substrate layer is located entirely to one side of a centerline of the alignment layer), and Barnard teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 6, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the removable alignment layer has a greatest extent in the first dimension that is at least double a greatest extent of the substrate layer in the first dimension (see fig. 3; the examiner notes that the claim does not require that the greatest extent is double a greatest extent of the whole substrate layer.
Regarding claim 7, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the alignment layer is elongate in the first dimension (see fig. 3), and Barnard teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 8, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the alignment layer has an extent in a second dimension (see fig. 3), perpendicular to the first dimension (see fig. 3), that is the same as an extent of the substrate in the second dimension (see fig. 3), Barnard teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 9, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the alignment layer has an extent in the first dimension (see fig. 3), and Barnard teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2). Combined invention of Lisiecki and Barnard fails to explicitly state that the extent in the first dimension of at least 200 mm, however, it would have been obvious and routine to one of ordinary skill in the art to have the extent in the first dimension of at least 200 mm since it has been held that optimum size and change in size is obvious and routine to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 10, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the alignment layer extends beyond the substrate layer in the first direction (see fig. 3), and Barnard teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2). Combined invention of Lisiecki and Barnard fails to explicitly state that extends beyond the substrate layer in the first direction by at least 100 mm, however, it would have been obvious and routine to one of ordinary skill in the art to have extends beyond the substrate layer in the first direction by at least 100 mm since it has been held that optimum size and change in size is obvious and routine to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 12, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the ultrasound transducer is offset from a centerline of the removable alignment layer in a direction opposite to the first direction (see fig. 3)
Regarding claim 14, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows comprising a backing cover (see fig. 3), covering the first adhesive surface of the substrate layer, wherein the ultrasound transducer is positioned between the substrate layer and the backing cover (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 16, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the backing cover comprises a tab extending away from the substrate layer in the first dimension (see opposite side of element 30 in fig. 3).
Regarding the limitations of claim 1 “to aid removal of the backing cover from the substrate layer " directed to the intended use of the invention. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Therefore, as taught, the combined invention disclosed by Lisiecki and Barnard. is capable of performing the functions as set forth by applicant. Also, see MPEP 2114.
Regarding claim 17, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows comprising an acoustic coupling layer positioned between the ultrasound transducer and the backing cover (see par. [0036]), and ultrasound coupling gel (see par. [0036] and fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the alignment layer is bonded to the substrate layer with an adhesive strength that is less than an adhesive strength between the first adhesive surface of the substrate layer and the skin of the patient, once the first adhesive surface is applied to the patient (see par. [0032], [0033], [0036], [0037]), and Barnard teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the alignment layer is flexible, for conforming the removable alignment layer to the neck of the patient (see par. [0033]; fig. 5), Barnard teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the substrate layer comprises a slit arranged to accommodate a cable of the ultrasound transducer within the slit (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 24, Lisiecki discloses an ultrasonic monitoring device. Lisiecki shows a method of attaching an ultrasound transducer to skin on a neck of a human or animal patient (see fig. 3 and 5; abstract), aligned adjacent a carotid artery of the patient (see fig. 5), wherein: the ultrasound transducer is fastened to a first face of a substrate layer see fig. 3 and par. [0033]; the examiner notes that claim does not require that the transducers is fastened directly on the first face); the first face comprises a first adhesive surface for bonding to the skin of the patient (see fig. 5); and a alignment layer is removably bonded to a second face of the substrate layer (see 16 in fig. 3), on an opposite side to the first face (see fig. 3), and extends beyond the substrate layer in at least a first direction (see fig. 3), along a first dimension (see fig. 3), so as to aid alignment of the ultrasound transducer adjacent the carotid artery of the patient (see fig. 5), the method comprising: using the alignment layer to align the ultrasound transducer over the carotid artery of the patient (see fig. 3 and 5); applying pressure to the substrate layer to bond the first adhesive surface to the skin of the patient (fig. 5 shows that the ultrasound monitoring system is attached to the patient’s neck via adhesive, so the examiner notes that some kind of pressure would need be use to attach the ultrasound monitoring system to the patient’s neck).
But, Lisiecki fails to explicitly state that the alignment layer is removable.
Barnard discloses an apparatus removably secure an ultrasound probe to tissue and teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed inventio, to have utilized the teaching of removable alignment layer in the invention of Lisiecki, as taught by Barnard, to be able to easily access the ultrasound transducer elements. The examiner notes that upon incorporating the teaching of Barnard into prior art Lisiecki would provide removing the alignment layer from the substrate layer, thereby exposing a region of the neck of the patient.
Regarding claim 28, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the method further comprises aligning the alignment layer such that the first direction lies perpendicular to a median plane of the patient (see fig. 3 and 5).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lisiecki et al. (US 2012/0197118; hereinafter Lisiecki), in view of Barnard et al. (US 2013/0289411; hereinafter Barnard) as applied to claim 24 above, and further in view of Rodriquez (US 2019/0388056).
Regarding claim 26, Lisiecki and Barnard disclose the invention substantially as described in the 103 rejection above, furthermore, Lisiecki shows wherein the alignment layer comprises a first portion (see fig. 3), removably bonded to the second face of the substrate layer (see fig. 3; par. [0033]), and a second portion (see fig. 3), extending beyond the substrate layer in the first direction (see fig. 3), Barnard teaches that alignment layer is removable (see par. [0040], [0044], [0045], [0047]; fig. 2).
But, Lisiecki and Barnard fail to explicitly a backing cover covering first adhesive surface of the substrate layer, the method further comprising removing the backing cover to expose the first adhesive surface, such that, as the backing cover is removed, the removable alignment layer is opened out from a folded configuration.
Rodriquez discloses a ultrasonic monitoring device and teaches a backing cover (see 17 in fig. 2) covering first adhesive surface of the substrate layer (see fig. 2; par. [0043]), the method further comprising removing the backing cover to expose the first adhesive surface (see fig. 2 and par. [0043]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing of the claimed invention, to have utilized the teaching of a backing cover covering first adhesive surface of the substrate layer, the method further comprising removing the backing cover to expose the first adhesive surface in the invention of Lisiecki and Barnard, as taught by Rodriquez, to be able to turn on the circuitry of the monitor patch. The examiner notes that upon incorporating the teaching of Rodriquez into the combined invention of Lisiecki and Barnard would provide such that, as the backing cover is removed, the removable alignment layer is opened out from a folded configuration.
Conclusion
/SHAHDEEP MOHAMMED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797