DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morley et al. (GB 2608833).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner below)
Morley et al. (Mor) discloses:
A fan motor comprising:
a rotational shaft (86);
an impeller (84) rotatably mounted on the rotational shaft (86) and forming an airflow in an axial direction (See Mor, Page 15, Lines 21-23);
a motor (10,12) arranged upstream of the impeller (84) in a direction of the airflow, and configured to drive the impeller (84) by comprising a rotor (12) coupled to the rotational shaft (86), and a stator (10) surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the rotor (12) (See Mor, Page 12, Lines 1-17);
a motor housing (14) accommodating the motor (10,12) (See Mor, Page, 16, Lines 9-27);
a plurality of bearings (74,76) configured to support the rotational shaft (86), and comprising a first bearing (74) located upstream of the motor (10,12), and a second bearing (76) located downstream of the motor (10,12) (See Mor, Page, 16, Lines 9-27);
a spring (90) configured to apply preload to the first bearing (74) (See Mor, Page 16, Lines 4-7); and
a stopper (A) arranged inside the motor housing (14), surrounding a portion of one surface of the second bearing (76) facing the rotor (12), and configured to restrict movement of the second bearing (76) in a thrust direction (Upward in Figure 8) opposite to the direction of the airflow (Downward in Figure 8).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein the second bearing (76) is arranged adjacent to the impeller (84). (See Mor, Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein the second bearing (76) is arranged upstream or downstream of the impeller (84). (See Mor, Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein the motor housing (14) comprises: a first bearing housing (100) arranged upstream of the motor (10,12) and accommodating the first bearing (74) therein; and a second bearing housing (102) arranged downstream of the motor (10,12), and accommodating the second bearing (76). (See Mor, Page 16, Lines 9-15).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein the motor housing (14) comprises:
a motor support portion (98) extending in the axial direction while surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the motor, and supporting the motor (See Mor, Page, 16, Lines 9-27);
a first bridge (B) radially extending from an outer circumferential surface of the first bearing housing (100) toward an upstream end portion of the motor support portion (98) (See Mor, Page, 16, Lines 9-27); and
a second bridge (C) radially extending from an outer circumferential surface of the second bearing housing (102) toward a downstream end portion of the motor support portion (98). (See Mor, Page, 16, Lines 9-27 & Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein the motor support portion (98) is arranged as a plurality of motor support portions, arranged spaced apart in a circumferential direction along the outer circumferential surface of the motor (10,12), and the motor housing (14) further comprises an outer ring part (96) extending in the circumferential direction to connect the downstream end portions of the plurality of motor support portions (98). (See Mor, Page 16, Lines 9-15).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein the stopper (A) is arranged toward the motor (10,12), and protrudes from an inner circumferential surface of the second bearing housing (102) to secure the one surface of the second bearing (76). (See Mor, Page 16, Lines 9-15).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein a diameter of the second bearing (76) is larger than or equal to a diameter of the first bearing (74). (See Mor, Page 15, Lines 17-19).
The Examiner notes that the bearings are at least equal in size.
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
further comprising a vane (136) arranged downstream of the impeller (84), and configured to guide the airflow. (See Mor, Page 22, Lines 13-17).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
further comprising: an impeller housing (D) coupled to a downstream end portion of the motor housing (14) and accommodating the impeller (84); and
a vane housing (134) coupled to a downstream end portion of the impeller housing (D) and supporting the vane (136). (See Mor, Page 22, Lines 12-17).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein an upstream end portion of the impeller housing (D) is coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the downstream end portion of the motor housing (14), and the downstream end portion of the impeller housing (D) is coupled to an inner circumferential surface of an upstream end portion of the vane housing (134). (See Mor, Page 22, Lines 12-17).
The Examiner notes that both housings are coupled to the respective circumferential surfaces either directly or at least via another portion.
In Reference to Claim 19
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein the vane (136) is a one-stage vane or a two-stage vane. (See Mor, Page 22, Lines 12-17).
In Reference to Claim 20
(See Morley, Figures 1-7 and 9-12, and Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner above)
Mor discloses:
wherein the vane housing (134) supporting the vane (136) comprises: a vane outer wall connected to a radially outer end portion of the vane (136) and coupled to a downstream end portion of the impeller housing (D); and a vane inner wall connected to a radially inner end portion of the vane (136) and arranged downstream of the impeller (84). (See Mor, Figure 8).
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishimori et al. (JP 2015-007451).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Ishimori, Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner below)
Ishimori et al. (Ish) discloses:
A fan motor comprising:
a rotational shaft (2);
an impeller (3) rotatably mounted on the rotational shaft (2) and forming an airflow in an axial direction (See Ish, Paragraph [0011]);
a motor (5,6) arranged upstream of the impeller (3) in a direction of the airflow, and configured to drive the impeller (3) by comprising a rotor (5) coupled to the rotational shaft (2), and a stator (6) surrounding an outer circumferential surface of the rotor (5) (See Ish, Paragraph [0017]);
a motor housing (1) accommodating the motor (5,6);
a plurality of bearings (10) configured to support the rotational shaft (2), and comprising a first bearing (X) located upstream of the motor (5,6), and a second bearing (Y) located downstream of the motor (5,6);
a spring (21) configured to apply preload to the first bearing (X) (See Ish, Paragraph [0016]); and
a stopper (Z) arranged inside the motor housing (1), surrounding a portion of one surface of the second bearing (Y) facing the rotor (5), and configured to restrict movement of the second bearing (Y) in a thrust direction (Fa) opposite to the direction of the airflow (Upward in Figure 1).
The Examiner notes that the stopper (Z) is the entire seating portion of bearing (Y).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Ishimori, Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Ish discloses:
wherein the plurality of bearings (10) are each configured as a ball bearing, and the ball bearing comprises: an inner ring (11) coupled to the rotational shaft (2); an outer ring (12) arranged radially outside the inner ring (11); and balls (13) arranged in rolling contact between the inner ring (11) and the outer ring (12). (See Ish, Paragraph [0010]).
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Ishimori, Figure 1 as annotated by Examiner above)
Ish discloses:
wherein the spring (21) applies the preload in the direction of the airflow (upward in figure 1) to the outer ring (12) of the first bearing (X), and an axial distance (V) between the outer ring (12) of the first bearing (X) and the outer ring (12) of the second bearing (Y) is smaller than an axial distance (W) between the inner ring (11) of the first bearing (X) and the inner ring (11) of the second bearing (Y).
The Examiner notes that the claim recitations merely require “an axial distance”. The axial distance between the insides of the outer rings is smaller than the axial distance of the outsides of the inner rings in the axial direction.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morley et al. (GB 2608833) in view of Ishimori et al. (JP 2015-007451).
In Reference to Claim 4
Morley discloses:
A plurality of bearings (74,76).
Morley discloses the claimed invention except:
wherein the plurality of bearings are each configured as a ball bearing, and the ball bearing comprises: an inner ring coupled to the rotational shaft; an outer ring arranged radially outside the inner ring; and balls arranged in rolling contact between the inner ring and the outer ring.
Ishimori et al. (Ish) discloses a fan motor device. (See Ish, Paragraphs [0001]-[0002]). Ish discloses a plurality of bearings are each configured as a ball bearing, and the ball bearing comprises: an inner ring coupled to the rotational shaft; an outer ring arranged radially outside the inner ring; and balls arranged in rolling contact between the inner ring and the outer ring. (See Ish, Paragraphs [0006]-[0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the bearings of Ish in the device of Morley, as both references are directed towards fan motor devices. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the bearings of Ish would have reduced friction and suppressed seizure and additionally extended the service life. (See Ish, Paragraphs [0006]-[0010]).
In Reference to Claim 5
The Morley-Ish combination discloses:
Wherein the spring (90) applies the preload in the thrust direction (Upward in Figure 8) to the outer ring of the first bearing (74), and an axial distance (E) between the outer ring of the first bearing and the outer ring of the second bearing is larger than an axial distance (F) between the inner ring of the first bearing and the inner ring of the second bearing. (See Mor, Figure 8 as annotated by Examiner below).
The Examiner notes that claim recitations merely require “an axial distance” and the axial distance of the outside of outer rings and the inside of inner rings disclose axial distances within the constraints of the claim recitations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, and 9-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “wherein the motor and the impeller are located between the first bearing and the second bearing.” in claim 7 and “further comprising a holder arranged inside the first bearing housing and configured to support the spring, wherein the holder comprises: a spring inner wall surrounding an inside of the spring, and coupled to an outer circumferential surface of the first bearing; a spring outer wall surrounding an outside of the spring, and arranged to face an inner circumferential surface of the first bearing housing; and a connecting portion connecting one end of the spring inner wall and one end of the spring outer wall in an opposite direction to the motor, and the motor housing further comprises a spring support portion arranged toward the motor, and protruding from the inner circumferential surface of the first bearing housing to support one end of the spring facing the rotor.” in claim 9.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hwang, Yamashita, Ozaki, Homg, Takahashi, Sullivan, Moir, Woollenweber, Homach, Yu, Ehlers, and Kato show fan motor and bearing devices within the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746