DETAILED ACTION
Priority
2. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. EP 23170851, filed on 28th, Apr. 2023.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
“wherein the interactive display layer is configurable into third and fourth visual states” (Claim 4, i.e. there’s no drawing showing the “visual states” of the third and fourth),
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7, 11-12, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SAINIS et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180246598).
Regarding Claim 1, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
an electronic interactive display ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. writeable display medium 300) comprising:
a substrate ([0034], FIG. 3, i.e. display on a wide variety of flexible and rigid substrates; [0038], FIG. 1, i.e. substrate layer 157);
a power source ([0039], FIG. 2, i.e. data driver 250 is connected to the column electrodes 230 and provides source voltage;
an interactive display layer ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic material 330) comprised on (FIG. 1 & 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s)) the substrate;
a plurality of magnetometers ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. sensor 355 is included … a magnetoresistor) defining a reference coordinate system ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. “based upon the sensed position of the stylus” (all the possible positions detected would have been reference coordinate system of the display) of the electronic interactive display, wherein each magnetometer of the plurality of magnetometers (i.e. please see above citation(s)) has a rigid spatial relationship to the other magnetometers (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) each of 355 has a rigid spatial relationship to another); and
processing circuitry ([0047], FIG. 5, i.e. sensing circuit 500) communicably coupled to ([0047], FIG. 2 & 5, i.e. thin film transistor (TFT) 510, as shown by the figure(s) 500 coupled to 510/350 which is coupled to 355) at least the interactive display layer and the plurality of magnetometers (i.e. please see above citation(s));
wherein the interactive display layer comprises a magnetically actuatable material ([0009], FIG. 3, i.e. an electrophoretic medium comprising charged particles that move in the presence of an electric field; [0045], FIG. 3, i.e. stylus 480 that emits an electromagnetic signal (magnetic field, electric field, or light); [0046], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330);
wherein the interactive display layer faces a user of the electronic interactive display (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 300 faces user of stylus 380), in use, and wherein a portion of the interactive display layer is configurable from least a first visual state into a second visual state ([0046], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330 will begin to switch (e.g., from white to black)) based on a magnetic stimulus ([0046], FIG. 3-4, i.e. electromagnetic signal emitted from the tip of the stylus 480);
wherein the plurality of magnetometers (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to perform magnetic field measurements ([0047], FIG. 5, i.e. sensing circuit 500 includes an inductive coil 530 … As a stylus emitting an electromagnetic signal is moved in the vicinity of the coil 530, a voltage is produced; [0043], FIG. 3, i.e. sensor 355 is included, which may be an inductive coil, a magnetoresistor)) of a user borne device ([0044], FIG. 3, i.e. stylus 380; [0045], FIG. 4, i.e. stylus 480) comprising at least one magnet ([0045], FIG. 4, i.e. “emits an electromagnetic signal (magnetic field, electric field, or light)” which would have at least one magnet) within a sensing volume (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) the volume on the left side where the three capsules having 330 black pigment on top) proximate to the interactive display layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)), and to provide magnetic field measurement data based on the magnetic field measurements ([0045], FIG. 4, i.e. emits an electromagnetic signal (magnetic field, electric field, or light)) to the processing circuitry; and
wherein the processing circuitry (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to receive ([0047], FIG. 5, i.e. As a stylus emitting an electromagnetic signal is moved in the vicinity of the coil 530, a voltage is produced) the magnetic field measurement data, and to determine the position ([0010], FIG. 5, i.e. receive position information from the digitizing layer and to send the position information to the display driver) and/or orientation (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted), relative to the interactive display layer, of the user borne device when the at least one user borne device (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is present (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) in the space around 380/480 switches 330 particles into black) in the sensing volume (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 2, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
the electronic interactive display according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is further configured to:
detect, using the position ([0010], FIG. 5, i.e. receive position information from the digitizing layer and to send the position information to the display driver) and/or orientation (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted) of the user borne device, that the at least one user borne device has transformed the portion of the interactive display layer from the first visual state to the second visual state ([0046], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330 will begin to switch (e.g., from white to black)); and
generating, using the processing circuitry (i.e. please see above citation(s)), screen representation data ([0046], FIG. 4, i.e. creating a graphic 490 on the display) comprising the position of the transformed portion of the interactive display layer ([0046], FIG. 4, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330 will begin to switch (e.g., from white to black)).
Regarding Claim 3, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
the electronic interactive display according to claim 1, wherein the interactive display layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) further comprises one, or more, electrode arrays ([0046], FIG. 3, i.e. front electrode 310 … the pixel electrode 360), and the one, or more, electrode arrays are configured to apply an electric field ([0046], FIG. 3, i.e. which results in an increase (or decrease depending upon need) of the electrical potential) to one, or more, spatial portions of the interactive display layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 5, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
the electronic interactive display according to claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to drive the one, or more, electrode arrays (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to apply a priming electric field ([0047], FIG. 5, i.e. As a stylus emitting an electromagnetic signal is moved in the vicinity of the coil 530, a voltage is produced (please note that applicant defines “priming” as “prepare” the area proximate to the detected stylus, on Ln. 28-32 of P.25)) to at least a subset of the interactive display layer that corresponds to the determined location of the user borne device (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) the left side where the three capsules having 330 black pigment on top) obtained using the plurality of magnetometers (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 7, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
the electronic interactive display according to claim 1, wherein the magnetically actuatable material is an electromagnetophoretic material ([0009], FIG. 3, i.e. an electrophoretic medium comprising charged particles that move in the presence of an electric field; [0045], FIG. 3, i.e. stylus 480 that emits an electromagnetic signal (magnetic field, electric field, or light); [0046], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330).
Regarding Claim 11, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
the electronic interactive display according to claim 3, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to receive, via a communications interface ([0045], FIG. 4, i.e. interfacial controls 440), data for display ([0046], FIG. 4, i.e. As a user “writes” … the electrophoretic medium 330 will begin to switch (e.g., from white to black), thereby creating a graphic 490 on the display) on the interactive display layer (i.e. please see above citation(s));
wherein the processing circuitry (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to display the data on the interactive display layer using the one, or more, electrode arrays ([0046], FIG. 4, i.e. As a user “writes” … electromagnetic signal emitted from the tip of the stylus 480 … interact with the sensing circuit 355, which results in an increase … the electrical potential on the pixel electrode 360 … electrophoretic medium 330 will begin to switch);
wherein the processing circuitry (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to detect an annotation (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted) or erasure ([0052], FIG. 7-8, i.e. global erase) made to the data displayed on the interactive display using the magnetic field measurement data of the user borne device ([0052], FIG. 7-8, i.e. by reversing the sign of the V_WRITE … possible to enable the stylus to erase (e.g., remove black pixels) by reversing the sign of V_WRITE); and
wherein the processing circuitry (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to store the annotation to the data, by one, or both (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted), or modifying the data ([0052], FIG. 7-8, i.e. possible to enable the stylus to erase (e.g., remove black pixels)) or appending metadata (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted) defining the annotation to the data (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 12, (Currently Amended)
a computer implemented method ([0023], FIG. 9, i.e. method for writing to writeable display medium) for operating an electronic interactive display ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. writeable display medium 300) comprising:
performing magnetic field measurements ([0047], FIG. 5, i.e. sensing circuit 500 includes an inductive coil 530 … As a stylus emitting an electromagnetic signal is moved in the vicinity of the coil 530, a voltage is produced; [0043], FIG. 3, i.e. sensor 355 is included, which may be an inductive coil, a magnetoresistor)) of a user borne device ([0044], FIG. 3, i.e. stylus 380; [0045], FIG. 4, i.e. stylus 480) within a sensing volume (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) the volume on the left side where the three capsules having 330 black pigment on top) proximate to an interactive display layer ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic material 330) of the electronic interactive display using a plurality of magnetometers ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. sensor 355 is included … a magnetoresistor) defining a reference coordinate system ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. “based upon the sensed position of the stylus” (all the possible positions detected would have been reference coordinate system of the display) of the electronic interactive display, wherein each magnetometer of the plurality of magnetometers (i.e. please see above citation(s)) has a rigid spatial relationship (FIG. 3, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) each of 355 has a rigid spatial relationship to the display 300) to the electronic interactive display (i.e. please see above citation(s));
providing the magnetic field measurement measurements data (i.e. please see above citation(s)) to processing circuitry ([0047], FIG. 5, i.e. sensing circuit 500) based on the magnetic field measurements (i.e. please see above citation(s)); and
determining the position ([0010], FIG. 5, i.e. receive position information from the digitizing layer and to send the position information to the display driver) and/or orientation (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted), relative to the interactive display layer, of the user borne device (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprising at least one magnet ([0045], FIG. 4, i.e. “emits an electromagnetic signal (magnetic field, electric field, or light)” which would have at least one magnet) when the at least one user borne device is present (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) in the space around 380/480 switches 330 particles into black) in the sensing volume (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
Regarding Claim 20, (New)
SAINIS et al. teach
the computer implemented method according to claim 12, further comprising:
detecting, using the position ([0010], FIG. 5, i.e. receive position information from the digitizing layer and to send the position information to the display driver) and/or orientation of the user borne device (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted), that the at least one user borne device has transformed a portion of the interactive display layer from a first visual state to a second visual state ([0046], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330 will begin to switch (e.g., from white to black)); and
generating screen representation data ([0046], FIG. 4, i.e. creating a graphic 490 on the display) representing the position of the transformed portion of the interactive display layer ([0046], FIG. 4, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330 will begin to switch (e.g., from white to black)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAINIS et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180246598) in view of LEE et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20260110942).
Regarding Claim 4, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
the electronic interactive display according to claim 3.
However, SAINIS et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the interactive display layer is configurable into third and fourth visual states, respectively, based on the polarity of the electric field applied by the one, or more, electrode arrays.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE et al. teach
wherein the interactive display layer ([0084], FIG. 12d, i.e. electrophoretic particles) is configurable into third and fourth visual states ([0084], FIG. 12d, i.e. first color and the second color, four or more colors), respectively, based on the polarity of the electric field ([0084], FIG. 12d, i.e. “having different threshold voltages” (as shown by the figure ±V1 and ±V2) applied by the one, or more, electrode arrays (FIG. 12d, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) top GND and bottom 0V electrodes).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine SAINIS et al. teaching of electrophoretic display comprising two color states with LEE et al. teaching of electrophoretic display comprising four color states to effectively provide plurality of colors enhancing user’s interface utilizing different voltages rendering multiple colors (LEE et al.’s [0084]).
Regarding Claim 6, (Currently Amended)
the electronic interactive display according to claim 4, wherein
SAINIS et al. teach
driving and/or updating ([0045], FIG. 3-4, i.e. interact with the sensors that actuate the pixel electrodes) the one, or more, electrode arrays ([0046], FIG. 3, i.e. front electrode 310 … the pixel electrode 360) based on screen representation data ([0046], FIG. 4, i.e. creating a graphic 490 on the display) causes the processing circuitry to transform the portion of the interactive display layer (i.e. please see above citation(s)) that has been previously been transformed from the first visual state to the second visual state ([0046], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330 will begin to switch (e.g., from white to black)) via magnetic actuation of the user borne device([0046], FIG. 3-4, i.e. electromagnetic signal emitted from the tip of the stylus 480).
However, SAINIS et al. do not explicitly teach
into the third or fourth visual states by driving the one, or more, electrode arrays based on the screen representation data, and/or wherein the third and fourth visual states have higher contrast than the first and second visual states.
In the same field of endeavor, LEE et al. teach
into the third or fourth visual states ([0084], FIG. 12d, i.e. first color and the second color, four or more colors) by driving the one, or more, electrode arrays (FIG. 12d, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) top GND and bottom 0V electrodes) based on the screen representation data (FIG. 12d, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) screen representation data of four different color combinations), and/or wherein the third and fourth visual states have higher contrast than the first and second visual states (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine SAINIS et al. teaching of electrophoretic display comprising two color states with LEE et al. teaching of electrophoretic display comprising four color states to effectively provide plurality of colors enhancing user’s interface utilizing different voltages rendering multiple colors (LEE et al.’s [0084]).
6. Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAINIS et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180246598) in view of HASHIMOTO et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180335679).
Regarding Claim 8, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
the electronic interactive display according to claim 1.
However, SAINIS et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the interactive display layer further comprises a capacitive touch sensing layer and/or a force sensing resistor layer, and the processing circuitry is further configured to localise a proximal end of the user borne device or another object using the capacitive touch sensing layer and/or the force sensing resistor layer.
In the same field of endeavor, HASHIMOTO et al. teach
wherein the interactive display layer ([0087], FIG. 13-14, i.e. electrophoretic display (EPD) layer 1402) further comprises a capacitive touch sensing layer ([0088], FIG. 13-14, i.e. digitization layer 1403 … may work through … capacitive sensing) and/or a force sensing resistor layer (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted), and the processing circuitry ([0060], FIG. 2, i.e. data driver 250 … scanning driver 240) is further configured to localise a proximal end of the user borne device ([0088], FIG. 13-14, i.e. detect the motion of a stylus) or another object using the capacitive touch sensing layer ([0088], FIG. 13-14, i.e. digitization layer 1403 … may work through … capacitive sensing) and/or the force sensing resistor layer (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to modify SAINIS et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus electromagnetically with HASHIMOTO et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus capacitively to optimally design/manufacture displays according to multiple options suitable for variety of applications utilizing electromagnetic and/or capacitive fields (SAINIS et al.’s [0010]).
7. Claim(s) 9-10, 13, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAINIS et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180246598) in view of Smith et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 12153764).
Regarding Claim 9, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
the electronic interactive display according to claim 1.
However, SAINIS et al. do not explicitly teach
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to detect, using the magnetic field measurement data, that a user borne device comprising a magnet has been reoriented in the sensing volume in the reference coordinate system, and
wherein the processing circuitry is configured to change from a first operating mode to a second operating mode, or vice versa, when the processing circuitry has detected that the user borne device has been reoriented in the sensing volume.
In the same field of endeavor, Smith et al. teach
wherein the processing circuitry (Col. 7, Ln. 1-7, FIG. 1, i.e. control circuitry or processor 102) is configured to detect, using the magnetic field measurement data (Col. 15, Ln. 40-51, FIG. 1, i.e. communication interfaces, whether between electronic device 100 and stylus 200 … magnetic interfaces), that a user borne device comprising a magnet (Col. 15, Ln. 40-51, FIG. 1, i.e. “magnetic interfaces” would have a magnet) has been reoriented (Col. 5, Ln. 55-62, FIG. 1A-1C, i.e. the polar angle 118 (θ) … stylus or barrel roll rotation orientation about a longitudinal axis of the stylus) in the sensing volume (FIG. 1A-1C, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) operating space around stylus 200) in the reference coordinate system, and
wherein the processing circuitry (i.e. please see above citation(s)) is configured to change from a first operating mode to a second operating mode (Col. 43, Ln. 15-18, FIG. 1A-1C, i.e. the barrel roll rotation orientation of stylus 200 … may enable calligraphy or any other suitable variable width stylus), or vice versa, when the processing circuitry has detected that the user borne device has been reoriented in the sensing volume (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine SAINIS et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus with Smith et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus capacitively to optimally design/manufacture displays according to multiple options suitable for variety of applications utilizing electromagnetic and/or capacitive fields (SAINIS et al.’s [0010]).
Regarding Claim 10, (Currently Amended)
the electronic interactive display according to claim 9, wherein
SAINIS et al. teach
the first operating mode is a writing mode ([0050], FIG. 7-8, i.e. V_WRITE voltage to charge the pixel electrode, thereby switching the state of the electrophoretic medium (“INK” in FIG. 7)) of the electronic interactive display, and the second operating mode is an erase mode ([0052], FIG. 7-8, i.e. global erase … by reversing the sign of the V_WRITE … possible to enable the stylus to erase (e.g., remove black pixels) by reversing the sign of V_WRITE) of the electronic interactive display, and/or
wherein the electronic interactive display does not receive a user command from either a button or menu function of the electronic interactive display to cause the electronic interactive display to change between the first and second operating modes (i.e. alternative limitation(s) omitted).
Regarding Claim 13, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
a system comprising:
a user borne device for use with the electronic interactive display ([0043], FIG. 3, i.e. writeable display medium 300) comprising a magnetically actuatable material ([0009], FIG. 3, i.e. an electrophoretic medium comprising charged particles that move in the presence of an electric field; [0045], FIG. 3, i.e. stylus 480 that emits an electromagnetic signal (magnetic field, electric field, or light); [0046], FIG. 3, i.e. electrophoretic medium 330).
However, SAINIS et al. do not explicitly teach
an electronic interactive display to a host according to claim 1;
a communications network configured to communicably couple a communications interface of the electronic interactive display to the host.
In the same field of endeavor, Smith et al. teach
an electronic interactive display (Col. 30, Ln. 44-52, FIG. 1-2, i.e. display ASIC 146) to a host (Col. 30, Ln. 44-52, FIG. 1-2, i.e. Host processor 158 … program storage 152 to perform actions that can include … operating a peripheral device connected to the host) [according to claim 1 (taught by SAINIS et al. please see above)] ;
a communications network (Col. 32, Ln. 17-32, FIG. 1-2, i.e. wireless module 156) configured to communicably couple a communications interface (Col. 32, Ln. 17-32, FIG. 1-2, i.e. I/O interface 111a) of the electronic interactive display to the host (i.e. please see above citation(s)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine SAINIS et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus system with Smith et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus with a host via I/O interface to effectively reduce design/manufacturing of the display and/or stylus yet not compromising multiple functionalities of the display and/or stylus utilizing a host via I/O interface to perform driving the display and detecting the stylus (Smith et al.’s Col. 33, Ln. 9-42).
Regarding Claim 15, (Currently Amended)
SAINIS et al. teach
method according to claim 12.
However, SAINIS et al. do not explicitly teach
a computer program element comprising machine readable instructions which, when performed by processing circuitry, are configured to perform the computer implemented.
In the same field of endeavor, Smith et al. teach
a computer program element (Col. 10, Ln. 35-48, FIG. 1, i.e. memory 104) comprising machine readable instructions (Col. 10, Ln. 35-48, FIG. 1, i.e. instructions or data) which, when performed by processing circuitry (Col. 7, Ln. 1-7, FIG. 1, i.e. control circuitry or processor 102), are configured to perform the computer implemented [method according to claim 12 (taught by SAINIS et al. please see above)].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine SAINIS et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus system with Smith et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus via host computer system to effectively reduce design/manufacturing of the display and/or stylus yet not compromising multiple functionalities of the display and/or stylus utilizing a host via I/O interface to perform driving the display and detecting the stylus (Smith et al.’s Col. 33, Ln. 9-42).
8. Claim(s) 14 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SAINIS et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180246598) and Smith et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 12153764) in view of Wang et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20240103579).
Regarding Claim 16, (New)
the system according to claim 13, wherein
SAINIS et al. teach
the user borne device (i.e. please see above citation(s)) comprises:
an elongate body (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 380/480 has an elongate body) defining a longitudinal axis (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 380/480 has a longitudinal axis) of the user borne device, wherein the elongate body comprises a proximal end (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 380/480 has a sharp writing tip) and a distal end (FIG. 3-4, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 380/480 has a flat non-writing end);
wherein
Smith et al. teach
the electronic interactive display (Col. 30, Ln. 44-52, FIG. 1-2, i.e. display ASIC 146) is configured to communicate screen representation data written to the electronic interactive display by the user borne device (Col. 31, Ln. 2-12, FIG. 1-2, i.e. host processor 158 can display information corresponding to stylus), to the host (Col. 30, Ln. 44-52, FIG. 1-2, i.e. Host processor 158 … program storage 152 to perform actions that can include … operating a peripheral device connected to the host).
However, SAINIS et al. and Smith et al. do not explicitly teach
a first magnet disposed at, or near to, the proximal end of the elongate body; and
a second magnet disposed along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis of the user borne device in-between the first magnet and the distal end of the elongate body.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang et al. teach
a first magnet ([0106], FIG. 6, i.e. stylus fasteners 240 … the three stylus fasteners 240 are in a one-to-one correspondence with the three magnets 340 (one of which disposed near writing tip)) disposed at, or near to, the proximal end of the elongate body (FIG. 6, i.e. as shown by the figure(s) 300 has elongate body with writing tip); and
a second magnet disposed along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis of the user borne device in-between the first magnet and the distal end of the elongate body ([0106], FIG. 6, i.e. stylus fasteners 240 … the three stylus fasteners 240 are in a one-to-one correspondence with the three magnets 340 (one of which disposed near the center between the first magnet at the writing tip and the non-writing end)).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention’s effective date was filed to combine SAINIS et al. and Smith et al. teaching of electrophoretic display detecting stylus system via a host with Wang et al. teaching of display and a stylus having plurality of magnets attached to the body to effectively prevent loss utilizing attached magnets to stylus body (Wang et al.’s [0010]).
Regarding Claim 14, (Currently Amended)
the system according to claim 16, wherein
Wang et al. teach
the user borne device further comprises a third magnet disposed at the distal end of the elongate body ([0106], FIG. 6, i.e. the three magnets 340 (one of which disposed near the non-writing end)).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claim(s) 17-19 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
SAINIS et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 20180246598) teach a writeable display medium incorporating various sensing elements into the backplane of the writeable display medium so that the sensing elements can cause the associated pixels to update immediately in contrast to state-of-the art writeable displays that rely on a feedback loop between a digitizing layer and a display driver that controls the output of a display. As a stylus is moved over the display, a signal emitted from the stylus (e.g., an electromagnetic field) will change the state of a transistor associated with a pixel, resulting in a nearly instantaneous state change in the display (i.e., white to black).
Smith et al. (US Patent/PGPub. No. 12153764) teach systems, methods, and computer-readable media for enabling position determination of a stylus with receive architecture are provided. The stylus can comprise: a plurality of electrodes; a plurality of sensing circuits coupled to the plurality of electrodes, the plurality of sensing circuits configured to sense receive signals on the plurality of electrodes in response to stimulation signals from a touch sensor panel of an electronic device in communication with the stylus; and a processor coupled to the plurality of sensing circuits, the processor configured to: correlate the receive signals sensed by the plurality of electrodes with a first set of codes to generate correlation data; and transmit data including the correlation data or generated using the correlation data to the electronic device in communication with the stylus.
The subject matter of the claim(s) that could neither be found/suggested nor obviously combinable in the prior arts of record. The subject matter was a device/method including
“…wherein the second magnet has a magnetic moment that is at least twice as great as the magnetic moment of the first magnet.” (Claim 17),
“…wherein the user borne device comprises an elongate body defining a longitudinal axis of the user borne device;
the elongate body comprises a proximal end and a distal end;
a first magnet disposed at, or near to, the proximal end of the elongate body, and a second magnet disposed along at least a portion of the longitudinal axis of the user borne device in-between the first magnet and the distal end of the elongate body;
a second magnet has a magnetic moment that is at least twice as great as the magnetic moment of the first magnet.” (Claim 18),
in combination with the other elements (or steps) of the device or apparatus and method recited in the claims.
Conclusion
/VINH T LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628