DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 22-23, 28-29, 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0036969 A1 (“Sarwer”).
Regarding claim 1, Sarwer discloses a method for video decoding, the method comprising: determining an intra prediction mode associated with a neighboring block (e.g. see mode 30 associated with a left neighboring block, e.g. see L in Fig. 6, mode 1 or 40 associated with above neighboring block, e.g. A in Fig. 6, or etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]); determining whether the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is the same as a candidate mode on a most probable mode (MPM) list (e.g. see checking if (Left Mode <= mode 30), then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, or checking if (Above Mode <= mode 1 OR Above Mode >=40) then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]; alternatively, note that the neighboring modes such as Left Mode, Above Mode, etc… can be mapped instead to “the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block” that are each compared to specific modes such as mode 30, mode 1 or mode 40, etc… that can be used and are candidate modes on the MPM list), wherein the MPM list is associated with a current block (e.g. see current data unit, paragraphs [0077]-[0078], Fig. 6); based on a determination that the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is the same as the candidate mode on the MPM list, adjusting a weight associated with the candidate mode (e.g. see initially the weight of all modes can be initialized to zero and then the weight of corresponding mode can be accumulated after checking each neighboring (and adjacent) mode, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]); reordering the MPM list based on the adjusted weight associated with the candidate mode (e.g. see the entire MPM list can be reordered based on the accumulated weights, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]); and decoding the current block based on the MPM list (e.g. see decoding the current data unit, e.g. see 856 in Fig. 8B, paragraph [0084], Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 22, Sarwer discloses wherein the neighboring block is a first neighboring block, the intra prediction mode is a first intra prediction mode associated with the first neighboring block, the weight is a first weight, the candidate mode is a first candidate mode (e.g. see checking if (Left Mode <= mode 30), then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, or checking if (Above Mode <= mode 1 OR Above Mode >=40) then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]; at least the Left Mode, the weight for the Left Mode and mode 30 meet the claimed first intra prediction mode associated with the first neighboring block, first weight and the first candidate mode, respectively), and wherein the method comprises:
determining a second intra prediction mode associated with a second neighboring block (e.g. see checking if (Left Mode <= mode 30), then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, or checking if (Above Mode <= mode 1 OR Above Mode >=40) then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]; at least the Above Mode, meets the claimed second intra prediction mode associated with a second neighboring block); determining whether the second intra prediction mode associated with the second neighboring block is the same as a second candidate mode on the MPM list (e.g. see checking if (Above Mode <= mode 1 OR Above Mode >=40) then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]); based on a determination that the second intra prediction mode associated with the second neighboring block is the same as the second candidate mode on the MPM list, adjusting a second weight associated with the second candidate mode (e.g. see initially the weight of all modes can be initialized to zero and then the weight of corresponding mode can be accumulated after checking each neighboring (and adjacent) mode, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]); and reordering the MPM list based on the second adjusted weight associated with the second candidate mode (e.g. see the entire MPM list can be reordered based on the accumulated weights, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]).
Regarding claims 23, 28-29, 34, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18-21, 24-27, 30-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarwer in view of US 2022/0394269 A1 (“Cao”).
Regarding claim 18, although Sarwer discloses the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block, it is noted Sarwer differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose wherein the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is determined based on a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD). Cao however, teaches wherein the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is determined based on a template-based intra mode derivation (TIMD) (e.g. see TIMD, paragraphs [0022], [0102]).
Therefore, given the teachings as a whole, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the references of Sarwer and Cao before him/her, to modify the Methods and apparatus for entropy coding and decoding aspects of video data with the teachings of Cao in order to improve coding efficiency and performance of intra prediction.
Regarding claim 19, although Sarwer discloses wherein the intra prediction mode is a first intra prediction mode, the weight is a first weight, the candidate mode is a first candidate mode (e.g. see checking if (Left Mode <= mode 30), then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, or checking if (Above Mode <= mode 1 OR Above Mode >=40) then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]; at least the Left Mode, the weight for the Left Mode and mode 30 meet the claimed first intra prediction mode, first weight and the first candidate mode, respectively), and wherein the method comprises: determining a second intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block; determining a second weight associated with a second candidate mode, wherein the second candidate mode corresponds to the second intra prediction mode (e.g. see checking if (Left Mode <= mode 30), then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, or checking if (Above Mode <= mode 1 OR Above Mode >=40) then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]; at least the Above Mode, the weight for the Above Mode and mode 1 or mode 40 meet the claimed second intra prediction mode, second weight and the second candidate mode, respectively), and adjusting the second weight associated with the second candidate mode (e.g. see initially the weight of all modes can be initialized to zero and then the weight of corresponding mode can be accumulated after checking each neighboring (and adjacent) mode, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]); and
reordering the MPM list based on the second adjusted weight associated with the second candidate mode (e.g. see the entire MPM list can be reordered based on the accumulated weights, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]), it is noted Sarwer differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose determining a second intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block based on the TIMD; obtaining a first template cost associated with the first intra prediction mode and obtaining a second template cost associated with the second intra prediction mode; wherein the first weight is determined based on the first template cost and the second weight is determined based on the second template cost. Cao however, teaches determining a second intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block based on the TIMD (e.g. see TIMD, paragraphs [0022], [0102]); obtaining a first template cost associated with the first intra prediction mode and obtaining a second template cost associated with the second intra prediction mode (e.g. see for each intra prediction mode in the MPM list, cost is computed between the prediction samples and the reconstructed samples of the templates, paragraphs [0022], [0077], [0093], [0104]-[0105]); wherein the first weight is determined based on the first template cost and the second weight is determined based on the second template cost (e.g. see video coder may sort intra prediction modes in the MPM list based on the cost from the smallest to the largest, paragraphs [0022], [0077], [0093], [0104]-[0105]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 18 applies here.
Regarding claim 20, although Sarwer discloses the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block, it is noted Sarwer differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose wherein the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is determined based on a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD). Cao however, teaches wherein the intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block is determined based on a decoder side intra mode derivation (DIMD) (e.g. see DIMD, paragraphs [0071], [0102], [0157]-[0158]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 18 applies here.
Regarding claim 21, although Sarwer discloses wherein the intra prediction mode is a first intra prediction mode, the weight is a first weight, the candidate mode is a first candidate mode (e.g. see checking if (Left Mode <= mode 30), then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, or checking if (Above Mode <= mode 1 OR Above Mode >=40) then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]; at least the Left Mode, the weight for the Left Mode and mode 30 meet the claimed first intra prediction mode, first weight and the first candidate mode, respectively), and wherein the method comprises: determining a second intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block; determining a second weight associated with a second candidate mode, wherein the second candidate mode corresponds to the second intra prediction mode (e.g. see checking if (Left Mode <= mode 30), then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, or checking if (Above Mode <= mode 1 OR Above Mode >=40) then weight equals 4, otherwise the weight is equal to 3, etc…, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]; at least the Above Mode, the weight for the Above Mode and mode 1 or mode 40 meet the claimed second intra prediction mode, second weight and the second candidate mode, respectively), and
adjusting the second weight associated with the second candidate mode (e.g. see initially the weight of all modes can be initialized to zero and then the weight of corresponding mode can be accumulated after checking each neighboring (and adjacent) mode, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]); and reordering the MPM list based on the second adjusted weight associated with the second candidate mode (e.g. see the entire MPM list can be reordered based on the accumulated weights, paragraphs [0063], [0072]-[0076]), it is noted Sarwer differs from the present invention in that it fails to particularly disclose determining a second intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block based on the DIMD; obtaining a first histogram value associated with the first intra prediction mode and obtaining a second histogram value associated with the second intra prediction mode; wherein the first weight is determined based on the first histogram value and the second weight is determined based on the second histogram value. Cao however, teaches determining a second intra prediction mode associated with the neighboring block based on the DIMD (e.g. see DIMD, paragraphs [0071], [0102], [0157]-[0158]); obtaining a first histogram value associated with the first intra prediction mode and obtaining a second histogram value associated with the second intra prediction mode (e.g. see first intra prediction mode and second intra prediction mode corresponding to directions with greatest magnitudes in the histogram of gradients HoG, paragraphs [0071], [0102], [0157]-[0158]);
wherein the first weight is determined based on the first histogram value and the second weight is determined based on the second histogram value (e.g. see derived modes (e.g., DIMD and/or TIMD or similar modes) can be added to the MPM list together with the intra prediction modes from the neighboring blocks, paragraphs [0071], [0102], [0157]-[0158]). The motivation above in the rejection of claim 18 applies here.
Regarding claims 24-27, 30-33, the claims recite analogous limitations to the claims above and are therefore rejected on the same premise.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US12126822 B2, Li et al., Most probable mode (MPM) list sorting
US 2025/0267284 A1, Naser et al., Template based most probable mode list reordering
/Francis Geroleo/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619