DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
1. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first door defining the second opening wall, the second door, and the second hinge as limited by claim 18 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-3 and 8-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,913,309 (Fink) in view of US 4,759,478 (Richardson).
Regarding claim 1, Fink teaches a container comprising:
a base (12) including a plurality of walls (22, 24, 26, 28, and 30) that define a void, the plurality of walls including edges (each has a top edge, partially seen in Fig. 2, and mentioned in col. 6, lines 7-11); and
a slide cover (14) configured to be mounted on to the base (by rib members 56);
wherein the slide cover includes a connecting wall (44) and side walls (54) extending from the connecting wall,
wherein the connecting wall defines a wall opening (48) and a door corresponding to the wall opening, the door extending from a hinge of the connecting wall (not taught).
wherein the slide cover is configured to slide on the edges of the base to open and close a first container opening defined by at least one of the edges of the base and an edge of the slide cover (col. 8, line 63 through col. 9, line 2), and
wherein the door and wall opening defines a second container opening having a different configuration than the first container opening (the opening and plug in Fink are different than those of the main opening, but will be modified below in view of Richardson to arrive at the same result).
Fink fails to teach and a door corresponding to the wall opening, the door extending from a hinge of the connecting wall. Examiner notes Fink teaches the purpose of the plug is to seal the aperture (col. 9, lines 35-41).
Richardson, analogous to lids having a second opening within the parameter of the lid body, teaches plugging such hole with a hinged plug (44). Examiner notes that the reference teaches the plug creates a “sealing action” (col. 2, lines 39-49). Accordingly, a modification of Fink in view of Richardson would not render Fink inoperable for its intended purpose.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lid of Fink, providing a hinged cover in place of a plug, as taught by Richardson to be suitable for sealing an opening, motivated by the benefit of preventing separation of the hinged lid from the main lid body, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. et al., 550 U.S. 2007 at 13, lines 22-25 which states, “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives ...can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. Furthermore, see id. at 13, lines 27-31 which states “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious”.
Furthermore, regarding the physical combination, the question is not whether the prior art devices can be physically combined, but whether a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to combine different features or elements of known devices in a predictable way. See Orthopedic Equip. Co. v. United States, 702 F.2d 1005, 1013 (Fed. Cir. 1983): "There is a distinction between trying to physically combine the two separate apparatus disclosed in two prior art references on the one hand, and on the other hand trying to learn enough from the disclosures of the two references to render obvious the claims in suit. ...Claims may be obvious in view of a combination of references, even if the features of one reference cannot be substituted physically into the structure of the other reference." See MPEP 2145(III).
Regarding claim 2, Fink in view of Richardson fails to explicitly teach the opening wall and the door are defined in a comer of the slide cover.
However, Examiner notes that the cover of Richardson does not require being centered in order to operate. Instead, the cover could be located towards a corner region (read as “defined in a corner”) and still maintain operability. Examiner notes this claim is not read such that the opening is unbounded on side; instead, Examiner asserts it is within ordinary skill to locate the opening near the corner, still bounded on all sides by the surface of the connecting wall, in order to be located “in a corner”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, locating the wall opening, door, and hinge in a corner of the cover, motivated by an obvious change in the location of the parts of the invention, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A rearrangement of the parts of the prior art is obvious, absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 3, the door is configured to move about the hinge in a direction away from the void defined by the base (the lid of Richardson is designed to move upwardly away from the container interior).
Regarding claim 8, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach that the wall opening and the door are located on the connecting wall offset from a first axis corresponding to a length dimension of the container.
However, Examiner notes that the cover of Richardson does not require being centered in order to operate. Instead, the cover could be located towards one side of the cover, offset from a longitudinal axis, and still maintain operability.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, locating the wall opening, door, and hinge offset from a longitudinal axis of the cover, motivated by an obvious change in the location of the parts of the invention, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A rearrangement of the parts of the prior art is obvious, absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 9, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach that the wall opening and the door are located on the connecting wall offset from a second axis corresponding to a width dimension of the container.
Examiner notes Richardson teaches the cover located closer to one end than the other in Fig. 1, thus suggesting the modification.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, locating the wall opening, door, and hinge offset from a width dimension axis of the cover, motivated by an obvious change in the location of the parts of the invention, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A rearrangement of the parts of the prior art is obvious, absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 10, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach that the wall opening and the door are located on the connecting wall offset from an axis corresponding to a width dimension of the container.
Examiner notes Richardson teaches the cover located closer to one end than the other in Fig. 1, thus suggesting the modification.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, locating the wall opening, door, and hinge offset from a width dimension axis of the cover, motivated by an obvious change in the location of the parts of the invention, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A rearrangement of the parts of the prior art is obvious, absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 11, at least one of the slide cover and the base is formed from a recyclable material (cover is taught to be formed of polyethylene in Fink col. 5, lines 48-50; polymers are well-known to be recyclable).
Regarding claim 12, the slide cover is formed from a plastic material and the base is formed from a metal material (cover is taught to be formed of polyethylene in Fink col. 5, lines 48-50).
Regarding claim 13, each of the slide cover and the base is formed from a recyclable material (each taught to be formed of polyethylene in Fink col. 5, lines 48-50; polymers are well-known to be recyclable).
Regarding claim 14, the slide cover is formed from a plastic material (cover is taught to be formed of polyethylene in Fink col. 5, lines 48-50) but fails to teach that the base is formed from a metal material.
Examiner takes Official Notice it would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form a plastic container of metal, motivated by the benefit of a rigid construction. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See MPEP 2144.07.
Regarding claim 15, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach that the wall opening is a first wall opening, the door is a first door, and the hinge is a first hinge, wherein the slide cover includes a second wall opening and a second door corresponding to the second wall opening, the second door extending from a second hinge of the connecting wall, and wherein a first size of the first door is different than a second size of the second door.
Examiner takes Official Notice that it would be obvious to provide a second opening and hinged door because this is merely a duplication of the parts of the invention, namely that of Richardson, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. It has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8. Moreover, a change in size, absent a teaching of an unexpected result, is within ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A):
In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955) (Claims directed to a lumber package “of appreciable size and weight requiring handling by a lift truck” where held unpatentable over prior art lumber packages which could be lifted by hand because limitations relating to the size of the package were not sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art.); In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976) (“mere scaling up of a prior art process capable of being scaled up, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled.” 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.).
In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984), the Federal Circuit held that, where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device.
Regarding claim 16, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach that at least one of the first opening wall and door and the second opening wall and door are defined in a corner of the slide cover.
However, Examiner notes that the cover of Richardson does not require being centered in order to operate. Instead, the cover could be located towards a corner region (read as “defined in a corner”) and still maintain operability. Examiner notes this claim is not read such that the opening is unbounded on side; instead, Examiner asserts it is within ordinary skill to locate the opening near the corner, still bounded on all sides by the surface of the connecting wall, in order to be located “in a corner”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, locating the wall opening, door, and hinge in a corner of the cover, motivated by an obvious change in the location of the parts of the invention, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A rearrangement of the parts of the prior art is obvious, absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Regarding claim 17, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach that each of the first opening wall and door and the second opening wall and door is defined in a respective corner of the slide cover.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, locating each of the first and second wall openings, doors, and hinges in a corner of the cover, motivated by an obvious change in the location of the parts of the invention, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A rearrangement of the parts of the prior art is obvious, absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
4. Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,913,309 (Fink) in view of US 4,759,478 (Richardson) as applied above to claim 1, and further in view of US 3,782,584 (Swenson).
Regarding claim 4, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach the slide cover includes an end wall that extends from the connecting wall, and wherein the end wall is configured to limit a movement of the slide cover relative to the base in a direction corresponding to a closing motion of the slide cover.
Swenson, analogous to sliding covers, teaches it is known to provide an end wall (28) extending from a connecting wall (14) configured to limit a movement of the slide cover relative to the base in a direction corresponding to a closing motion of the slide cover (col. 3, lines 61-67).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, providing an end wall as taught by Swenson, motivated by the benefit of limiting movement of the cover in a single direction, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. et al., 550 U.S. 2007 at 13, lines 22-25 which states, “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives ...can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. Furthermore, see id. at 13, lines 27-31 which states “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious”.
Regarding claim 5, Fink in view of Richardson and Swenson as applied above fails to teach the opening wall and the door are defined in a comer of the slide cover.
However, Examiner notes that the cover of Richardson does not require being centered in order to operate. Instead, the cover could be located towards a corner region (read as “defined in a corner”) and still maintain operability. Examiner notes this claim is not read such that the opening is unbounded on side; instead, Examiner asserts it is within ordinary skill to locate the opening near the corner, still bounded on all sides by the surface of the connecting wall, in order to be located “in a corner”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, locating the wall opening, door, and hinge in a corner of the cover, motivated by an obvious change in the location of the parts of the invention, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A rearrangement of the parts of the prior art is obvious, absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
5. Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 4,913,309 (Fink) in view of US 4,759,478 (Richardson) as applied above to claim 1, and further in view of US 3,833,143 (Starkermann).
Regarding claim 6, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach that the connecting wall defines a lip that extends past side edges of the side wall in a direction corresponding to a closing motion of the slide cover.
Starkermann, analogous to containers with sliding covers, teaches a connecting wall having a lip (defined by cutbacks at 33) that extends past the side edges of the side wall in a direction corresponding to a closing motion of the slide cover (best seen in Figure 1), for the benefit of creating a stop by engaging vertical edges (35) with container edge (21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, forming the connecting wall to define a lip that extends past side edges of the side wall in a direction corresponding to a closing motion of the slide cover as taught by Starkermann, motivated by the benefit of forming a stop, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. et al., 550 U.S. 2007 at 13, lines 22-25 which states, “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives ...can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one. Furthermore, see id. at 13, lines 27-31 which states “if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious”.
Regarding claim 7, Fink in view of Richarson and Starkermann fails to teach that the opening wall and the door are defined in a corner of the slide cover.
However, Examiner notes that the cover of Richardson does not require being centered in order to operate. Instead, the cover could be located towards a corner region (read as “defined in a corner”) and still maintain operability. Examiner notes this claim is not read such that the opening is unbounded on side; instead, Examiner asserts it is within ordinary skill to locate the opening near the corner, still bounded on all sides by the surface of the connecting wall, in order to be located “in a corner”.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Fink in view of Richardson, locating the wall opening, door, and hinge in a corner of the cover, motivated by an obvious change in the location of the parts of the invention, having a predictable outcome absent a teaching of an unexpected result. A rearrangement of the parts of the prior art is obvious, absent a teaching of an unexpected result. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C). In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 18, Fink in view of Richardson as applied above fails to teach that the first door defines the second opening wall, the second door, and the second hinge.
No motivation could be found to modify the references in order to arrive at the claimed invention.
Conclusion
/JAMES N SMALLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3733