DETAILED ACTION
Claims 14-28 are pending in this application and are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 14, the recitation “a plant RNA viral replicon derived from a Tobacco Rattle Virus (TRV)” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how many modifications are allowed to be considered as a plant RNA viral replicon derived from a Tobacco Rattle Virus. The metes and bounds are not clear.
In claim 14, the recitations “capable of ” in part (ii) render the claim indefinite. It is unclear that what condition is required for such capability. The metes and bounds are not clear.
In claim 27, the recitation “derived from castor bean catalase” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear how many modifications are allowed to be considered as being derived from castor bean catalase. The metes and bounds are not clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen et al. (2012, Biotechnology Journal 17:2100504 1-11) further in view of Singh et al. (2013, PLoS Genet. 9(5):e1003490).
Instant claims are drawn to A method for high-level heterologous expression of a polynucleotide of interest in a plant host which comprises the following steps:
A) transforming said plant host with one or more suspension(s) of Agrobacteria, wherein said one or more suspension(s) of Agrobacteria contain one or more T-DNA heterologous DNA having sequences encoding trans-complementary viral replicons operably linked to a transcriptional promotor, wherein said trans-complementary viral replicons contain:
I) coding sequences that have a viral replicon functions of a plant RNA viral
replicon derived from a Tobacco Rattle Virus (TRV), and
II) a polynucleotide of interest,
wherein said viral replicon functions of a plant RNA viral replicon,
derived from a Tobacco Rattle Virus (TRV) are:
i) a producer vector enabling in trans cell-to-cell movement of the trans-
complementary viral replicons;
ii) a helper vector, wherein said helper vector is a) capable of systemic
movement in said plant host both in the presence of said producer vector,
and b) capable of expressing a polynucleotide of interest in said plant host
by the help of one or more proteins necessary for systemic movement,
either by replication, cell-to-cell and/or long distance movement, or with
the help of said producer vector; and
iii) an integrase vector which enables the in planta assembly of component
i) and ii), being the producer vector and helper vector, thereby enabling
the resulting components to be recombined inside a plant cell of said plant
host and leading to the creation of a vector sequence within a fully
functional infective replicon;
B) maintaining the plant host under conditions and for a sufficient time to allow the producer vector, the helper vector, and the integrase vector to recombine inside the plant cell, and the producer vector to complement the helper vector, so that systemic infection is accomplished in the plant host; and
C) maintaining the plant host under conditions and for a sufficient time in order for the polynucleotide of interest to be expressed in at least some plant cells of the plant host; or wherein the producer vector comprises a AttP recombination site, and the helper vector comprises a corresponding AttB recombination site, so that the integrase vector provides in planta recombination of said producer and helper vectors; or wherein the integrase vector comprises an integrase coding sequence of a serine integrase such as a Bxb1 serine integrase; or wherein the plant host comprises a plant/plant part/plant cell culture; or wherein the helper vector comprises a non-coding portion that comprises a 3' untranslated region from TRV RNA-2; or wherein said one or more suspension(s) of Agrobacteria has a concentration of cells of said Agrobacteria corresponding to a calculated optical density at 600 nm of at most 0.001, wherein said calculated optical density is defined by an at least 1000- fold dilution of a suspension of said Agrobacteria of an OD at 600 nm of 1.0; or wherein the polynucleotide of interest is transiently expressed in said plant host; or wherein said transforming is done by infiltrating said plant host with said one or more suspension(s) of Agrobacteria.
Larsen et al. teach that A replicating TRV vector achieved transient GUS expression levels in hairy roots more than an order of magnitude higher than the highest level previously reported with a viral vector delivered by A. tumefaciens. Larsen et al. further teach that pTRV2-GUS (producer vector) co-inoculated with pTRV1 (helper vector). Larsen et al. teach that bacteria cultures was 1% of the working culture volume at an OD600 of 1.0 (paragraph bridging pages 2-3). Larsen et al. teach tobacco callus culture was used for transformation by suspension(s) of Agrobacteria (left column, page 3).
Larsen et al. do not teach in planta recombination using integrase such as Bxb1 serine integrase and attP and attB sites or said one or more suspension(s) of Agrobacteria has a concentration of cells of said Agrobacteria corresponding to a calculated optical density at 600 nm of at most 0.001, wherein said calculated optical density is defined by an at least 1000- fold dilution of a suspension of said Agrobacteria of an OD at 600 nm of 1.0 or that the helper vector comprises a non-coding portion that comprises a 3' untranslated region from TRV RNA-2.
Although Larsen et al. only teach 100-fold dilution, 1000-dilution is merely an obvious optimization process.
Singh et al. teach Site-specific recombinases catalyze recombination between two specific DNA sites to generate the products of recombination. The Integrase encoded by mycobacter-iophage Bxb1 is a member of the serine-recombinase family and catalyzes strand exchange between attP and attB, the attachment sites for the phage and bacterial host, respectively (page 2, left column).
Although Singh et al. do not teach in planta recombination, such recombination would have been obviously performed using the site specific recombination system taught by Singh et al.. One skilled in the art would have obviously make such modification, given that making in planta recombination to combination two vector into one is merely an obvious design choice.
Although the combined teachings do not teach that the helper vector comprises a non-coding portion that comprises a 3' untranslated region from TRV RNA-2, such feature would have been obviously exhibited by the TRV RNA-2 of Larsen et al.
Claim(s) 14-17, 21-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen et al. (2012, Biotechnology Journal 17:2100504 1-11) further in view of Singh et al. (2013, PLoS Genet. 9(5):e1003490) as applied to claims 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 above, and further in view of Martin-Hernandez et al. (2008 J Virol 8:4046-71).
The teaching of claims 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 are discussed above.
Claim 15 further contains a limitation that a native TRV RNA-1 K16 suppressor protein is replaced with P19 of Tomato Bushy Stunt Virus, leading to improved RNA silencing suppression.
The combined teachings of Larsen et al. in view of Singh et al. do not teach that a native TRV RNA-1 K16 suppressor protein is replaced with P19 of Tomato Bushy Stunt Virus, leading to improved RNA silencing suppression. However, Larsen et al. teach co-expressing P19 of Tomato Bushy Stunt Virus with PVX vector (abstract).
Martin-Hernandez et al. teach RNA silencing is a host defense mechanism that limits the accumulation and spread of viruses in infected plant and that The suppressor action of the 16K protein is transient and weaker than that of the P19 suppressor, encoded by tomato bushy stunt virus (abstract).
Given the purpose of instant invention is systemically expressing gene of interest in plant, it would be of interest to replace the weaker suppressor of 16K with P19 to effectively inhibit RNA silencing by a host defense mechanism such that modified TRV would be able to accumulate and spread in infected plants.
Claim(s) 14, 16-18, 21-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen et al. (2012, Biotechnology Journal 17:2100504 1-11) further in view of Singh et al. (2013, PLoS Genet. 9(5):e1003490) as applied to claims 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 above, and further in view of D’Hondt et al. (1993 Plant Physiol. 102:425-433).
The teaching of claims 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 are discussed above.
Claims 18 and 26 further contain a limitation that the producer vector comprises an Apoplast targeting sequence and that the Apoplast targeting sequence comprises an
apoplast targeting sequence derived from Arabidobsis thaliana 2S seed storage protein 1.
The combined teachings of Larsen et al. in view of Singh et al. do not teach that the producer vector comprises an Apoplast targeting sequence and that the Apoplast targeting sequence comprises an
apoplast targeting sequence derived from Arabidobsis thaliana 2S seed storage protein 1.
D’Hondt et al. teach protein sequence of At2s1 that is responsible for intracellular targeting (right column, page 425)
Given the purpose of instant invention is systemically expressing gene of interest in plant, it would be of interest to use the apoplast relocation signal of At2s1 to fuse with gene of interest given that such signal would increase protein translation in ER.
Claim(s) 14, 16-17, 19, 21-25 and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen et al. (2012, Biotechnology Journal 17:2100504 1-11) further in view of Singh et al. (2013, PLoS Genet. 9(5):e1003490) as applied to claims 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. (1990, Nucleic Acid Research 18:6767-6770).
The teaching of claims 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 are discussed above.
Claims 19 and 27 further contain a limitation that both the producer vector and helper vector comprise recombination sites flanked with intron elements in order to improve efficiency of mRNA translation and that the intron elements are of low GC content and derived from castor bean catalase.
The combined teachings of Larsen et al. in view of Singh et al. do not teach that both the producer vector and helper vector comprise recombination sites flanked with intron elements in order to improve efficiency of mRNA translation and that the intron elements are of low GC content and derived from castor bean catalase.
Tanaka et al. The first intron of castor bean catalase gene, cat-1 was placed in the N-terminal region of the coding sequence of the 3-glucuronidase gene (gusA) and the intron containing gusA was fused with the cauliflower mosaic virus (CaMV) 35S promoter. Using this plasmid, plG221, the effect of the intron on expression of ,B glucuronidase (GUS) activity was examined in transgenic rice calli and plants (a monocotyledon), and transgenic tobacco plants (a dicotyledon). The intron containing plasmid increased the level of GUS enzyme activity 10 to 40-fold and 80 to 90-fold compared with the intronless plasmid, pB1221, in transgenic rice protoplasts and transgenic rice tissues, respectively (abstract).
Given the purpose of instant invention is to express a heterologous gene of interest, it would have been obvious to fuse the first intron of castor bean catalase gene of Tanaka et al. with gene of interest to increase the expression of the gene of interest.
Claim(s) 14, 16-17, 20-25 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larsen et al. (2012, Biotechnology Journal 17:2100504 1-11) further in view of Singh et al. (2013, PLoS Genet. 9(5):e1003490) as applied to claims 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 above, and further in view of Park et al. (2017,WO 2017/223330).
The teaching of claims 14, 16-17, 21-25 and 28 are discussed above.
Instant claim 20 further contains a limitation that the producer vector is functionalized with a unique self-cleaving hammerhead ribozyme to improve viral infectivity.
The combined teachings of Larsen et al. in view of Singh et al. do not teach the producer vector is functionalized with a unique self-cleaving hammerhead ribozyme to improve viral infectivity.
Park et al. teach inserting self-cleaving hammerhead ribozyme into RNA viral genome to improve delivery of the ssRNA viral genome into host cell.
It would have been obvious to insert self-cleaving hammerhead ribozyme of Park et al. into TRV given that improvement delivery of the TRB viral vector into host cell is highly desirable.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/LI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1662