DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Claim 1 the limitations, “the distance and orientation of….”; “the ground clearance of…”, “….e) executing software in the processor…” each lacks antecedent basis, emphasis added.
Further, in claim 1, the phrase, “the distance and orientation of an autonomous or partially autonomous mobile robot relative to a parked target vehicle from a base center….” is not clear since it does not particularly indicate whether the distance is between the robot and a parked target vehicle or the distance is between the robot and the base center.
Furthermore, in claim 1, the phrase, “a pair of wheels on the front, back, or a side from which the robot will enter under the target vehicle…” is not clear because it is not explained how the robot will enter under the vehicle from a pair of wheels on the front, back, or a side. Where are the wheels located? Are they located on the robot, or on the target vehicle?
Furthermore, in claim 1, it is not clear what all is meant by or encompassed by the phrase, “….locate an entry point between the pair of wheels located on the previous step….”. How are the wheels located on the previous step?
Furthermore, in claim 1, the phrase, “from there underneath the vehicle” is not clear, it is suggested that the phrase, “there” be deleted.
The rest of the claims are rejected for depending on claim 1 of for having similar deficiencies as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Globerman (US 20220307281 A1 )
Regarding claim 1, Globerman discloses a method for determining the distance and orientation of an autonomous or partially autonomous mobile robot relative to a parked target vehicle from a base center (abstract; sec 0092-0095), wherein the distance and orientation is used by the robot to navigate from the base center to a target location under the ground clearance of the target vehicle (0076-0078, 0092-0095, 0113), the method comprising:
a) activating a lidar sensor mounted on the robot (sec 0034, 0093, 0118);
b) receiving data from the lidar sensor at an onboard or remote processor (sec 0034, 0093);
c) executing software in the processor configured to carry out a method for locating a pair of wheels on the front, back, or a side from which the robot will enter under the target vehicle (0076-0078, 0092-0095, 0113, 0126-0129);
d) executing software in the processor to locate an entry point between the pair of wheels located on the previous step from which the robot will enter underneath the target vehicle (0076-0078, 0092-0095, 0113, 0126-0129); and
e) executing software in the processor that is configured to carry out a navigation process that directs the robot from the base center to the entry point and from there underneath the vehicle (0076-0078, 0092-0095, 0113, 0126-0129).
Regarding claim 2, Globerman discloses the method of claim 1 comprising a first step of navigating the robot to the base center, which faces a front, back, or a side surface of the target vehicle (0076-0078, 0092-0095, 0113, 0126-0129).
Regarding claim 3, Globerman discloses the method of claim 1 comprising a last step of executing software in the processor that is configured to carry out a navigation process that directs the robot from the entry point to the target location. (0076-0078, 0092-0095, 0113, 0126-0129).
Regarding claim 4, Globerman discloses the method of claim 2 comprising a last step of executing software in the processor that is configured to carry out a navigation process that directs the robot from the entry point to the target location (0076-0078, 0092-0095, 0113, 0126-0129).
Regarding claim 6, Globerman discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the maximum height of the robot and any sensors or equipment mounted on it is lower than the ground clearance of the vehicle (0076-0078, 0092-0095, 0113, 0126-0129).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Globerman (US 20220307281 A1) in view of Agarwala (US 20230153390 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Globerman (US 20220307281 A1) further discloses receiving raw data from a LIDAR sensor mounted on the robot ((sec 0034, 0093). Globerman (US 20220307281 A1) fails to disclose the option of applying the BIRCH algorithm on the raw data to find clusters of data points and the calculation of various quantifiable parameters from the BIRCH algorithm data in order to conclude if the lidar data representing identifiable target objects such as pair of wheels. However, Agarwala US 20230153390 A1 which is in the field of object detection describes the possibility of receiving LIDAR sensor data and applying BIRCH algorithm for clustering the object data into one or more clusters and processing said clusters for identifying plurality of objects which lie within the predetermined threshold distance of each other (see Agarwala US 20230153390 A1: figs. 3A; sec 0013-0015, 0022, 0045- 0047). In furtherance, Agarwala US 20230153390 A1 discloses the option of calculating different parameters based on said clustering data. For example, the processor identifies and provides a list of data points which lie within the predetermined threshold distance of each other, thereby identifying the plurality of objects which are linked to each other (see for example Agarwala
US 20230153390 A1; figs. 3A; sec 0045- 0053). Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to implement an object identification process (via LIDAR) via BIRCH algorithm in the Globerman (US 20220307281 A1) device as taught by Agarwala US 20230153390 A1 for purpose of calculating or computing various parameters and metric based on the data derived from the BIRCH algorithm (or other well-known algorithms which include in the steps of a "applying a RANSAC algorithm. " and "calculate the angle between the two regression lines...") as taught by Agarwala US 20230153390 for the advantage of improving identification of a group of wheels based on clustering identification to better operate a robot to service a target vehicle.
Conclusion
The prior art, Oh Sejin (US 12299942 B2) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657