DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 1/08/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-28, and 31-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO2023009312A1) (hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 18, Wang discloses:
An apparatus comprising: [See Wang, Fig. 19]
at least one processor; and [See Wang, Fig. 19 illustrates a computing environment 1910 with processor 1920.]
at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: [See Wang, Fig. 19 illustrates a memory 1930 storing predetermined software 1932.]
receive as an input a signal; [See Wang, ¶ 00040 discloses encoded video data in a storage device accessed via an input interface.]
decompose the signal to at least a first decomposed signal and a second decomposed signal based on one or more properties of the signal; [See Wang, ¶ 00037, 00108-00116 discloses wavelet-domain CNNLF (convolutional neural network-based in-loop filtering. Further, that a forward wavelet transform decomposes an image into several sub-bands which have different frequencies and orientations.]
provide the first decomposed signal and the second decomposed signal to a filter; [See Wang, ¶ 00108-00111 discloses filtering data in the wavelet domain by applying respective CNN models on the plurality of wavelet sub-bands. Particularly, wherein the wavelet transform produces sub-bands including LL, LH, HL, and HH sub-bands.]
use in the filter a set of neural network layers for processing the first decomposed signal; [See Wang, ¶ 00108-00114 discloses applying QP-dependent CNN models to wavelet images to obtain filtered data in each respective sub-band (assuming “LL” as a “first” decomposed signal.]
use in the filter another set of neural network layers for processing the second decomposed signal; and [See Wang, ¶ 00108-00114 discloses applying QP-dependent CNN models to wavelet images to obtain filtered data in each respective sub-band (assuming “LH”, “HL”, or “HH” as a “second” decomposed signal.]
obtain one or more output signals based on the processed first decomposed signal and the processed second decomposed signal. [See Wang, Figs. 10, 11, ¶ 00114-00116 discloses reconstructed images 1018 and 1118 obtained after applying inverse wavelet transform on filtered data 1016 and 1116 of the various sub-bands.]
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
decompose the signal to the first decomposed signal and the second decomposed signal based on spectral content of the signal. [See Wang, Fig. 10, ¶ 00108-00116 discloses wavelet-domain CNNLF (convolutional neural network-based in-loop filtering. Further, that a forward wavelet transform decomposes an image into several sub-bands which have different frequencies and orientations.]
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
filter the first decomposed signal and the second decomposed signal to form a first intermediate signal and a second intermediate signal. [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates an initial wavelet transform processing image 1010 into a plurality of sub-bands (LL, LH, HL, HH), and intermediate signals prior to the “Inverse Wavelet” transform as depicted.]
Regarding claim 21, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 20.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
use the first intermediate signal and the second intermediate signal to obtain the one or more output signals. [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates said intermediate signals per claim 20 above, being combined to form output “reconstructed’ images 1018.]
Regarding claim 22, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 21.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
obtain a ground-truth associated to the input signal; [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates d1 versus d2-d4 representing ground-truth losses.]
decompose the ground-truth to a first output and a second output; and [See Wang, ¶ 00037, 00108-00116 discloses wavelet-domain CNNLF (convolutional neural network-based in-loop filtering. Further, that a forward wavelet transform decomposes an image into several sub-bands which have different frequencies and orientations.]
use the first intermediate signal, the second intermediate signal, the first output and the second output to obtain a first loss and a second loss. [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates using intermediate signals 1016 to obtain loss functions following outputs 1018.]
Regarding claim 23, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
obtain a combined output by using the processed first decomposed signal, the processed second decomposed signal, and a combination operation. [See Wang, Figs. 10, 11, ¶ 00114-00116 discloses reconstructed images 1018 and 1118 obtained after applying inverse wavelet transform on filtered data 1016 and 1116 of the various sub-bands.]
Regarding claim 24, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 23.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
additionally use one or both of the first decomposed signal and the second decomposed signal to obtain the combined output. [See Wang, Figs. 10, 11, ¶ 00114-00116 discloses reconstructed images 1018 and 1118 obtained after applying inverse wavelet transform on filtered data 1016 and 1116 of the various sub-bands.]
Regarding claim 25, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 23.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
use in the combining one or more coefficients. [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates performing an inverse wavelet transform, whereby one of ordinary skill would recognize that an inverse wavelet transform is routinely and conventionally applied to a set of wavelet coefficients to produce a reconstructed image signal.]
Regarding claim 26, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
decompose the signal based on a frequency of the signal, wherein the first decomposed signal represents a first frequency range and the second decomposed signal represents a second frequency range. [See Wang, ¶ 00108-00116 discloses decomposing a decompressed image into several sub-bands which have different frequencies and orientations. For instance, “LL” being a low frequency band, and LH, HL, and HH being different additional frequency bands.]
Regarding claim 27, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive auxiliary information for assisting the processing of at least one of the first decomposed signal and the second decomposed signal. [See Wang, Figs. 11, 16-17, ¶ 00108-00116 discloses QP (quantization parameter – “auxiliary information”) dependent CNN models.]
Regarding claim 28, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
receive a first image and a second image as the input signal; and [See Wang, Figs. 3, 10, ¶ 0096-0097 discloses an input layer of a CNN holding an input image or video frames, plural.]
process at least one of the first image and the second image for performing at least one of the following:
intra-frame prediction; [See Wang, Fig. 3 illustrates intra prediction unit 84.]
inter-frame prediction;
frame-rate upsampling;
encoding; and
decoding.
Regarding claim 31, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 28.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
filter by the set of neural network layers the first decomposed image at the first frequency range; and [See Wang, ¶ 00110-00116 discloses video processor may filter the data in the wavelet domain by applying respective CNN models on the plurality of wavelet subbands. One CNN model is trained for each subband. Therefore, if there are N subbands, N CNN models are applied to those respective subbands.]
filter by the another set of neural network layers the second decomposed image at the second frequency range. [See Wang, ¶ 00110-00116 discloses video processor may filter the data in the wavelet domain by applying respective CNN models on the plurality of wavelet subbands. One CNN model is trained for each subband. Therefore, if there are N subbands, N CNN models are applied to those respective subbands.]
Regarding claim 32, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 26.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
signal information to a decoder about one or more of the following:
the ranges of the frequency bands;
the number of frequency bands; and [See Wang, ¶ 00108-00116 discloses decomposing a decompressed image into several sub-bands which have different frequencies and orientations. For instance, “LL” being a low frequency band, and LH, HL, and HH being different additional frequency bands.]
coefficients for combining two or more signals of different frequency bands.
Regarding claim 33, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 18.
Wang discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform at least one of the following:
training the set of neural network layers and the another set of neural network layers; and [See Wang, ¶ 00105 discloses applying CNN filtering in a wavelet transform domain. The wavelet-domain CNNLF addresses several problems of the existing CNNLF methods. For example, unlike the existing CNN models that are trained blindly through the end-to-end manner, which may be easily stuck in local optimum and difficult to train because they neglect the prior of the image signal, the disclosed wavelet-domain CNN models are first trained progressively throughout the wavelet subbands and then jointly.]
using the set of neural network layers and the another set of neural network layers for filtering the received signal. [See Wang, 00105, 00108-00116 discloses CNN-based in-loop filtering by applying CNN filtering in a wavelet transform domain.]
Regarding claim 34, this claim recites analogous limitations to claim 18 in the form of “a method” rather than “an apparatus”, and is therefore rejected on the same premise, for analogous reasons.
Regarding claim 35, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 34.
Wang discloses:
further comprising: filtering the first decomposed signal and the second decomposed signal to form a first intermediate signal and a second intermediate signal. [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates an initial wavelet transform processing image 1010 into a plurality of sub-bands (LL, LH, HL, HH), and intermediate signals prior to the “Inverse Wavelet” transform as depicted.]
Regarding claim 36, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 35.
Wang discloses:
further comprising: using the first intermediate signal and the second intermediate signal to obtain the one or more output signals. [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates said intermediate signals per claim 20 above, being combined to form output “reconstructed’ images 1018.]
Regarding claim 37, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 36.
Wang discloses:
further comprising:
obtaining a ground-truth associated to the input signal; [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates d1 versus d2-d4 representing ground-truth losses.]
decomposing the ground-truth to a first output and a second output; and [See Wang, ¶ 00037, 00108-00116 discloses wavelet-domain CNNLF (convolutional neural network-based in-loop filtering. Further, that a forward wavelet transform decomposes an image into several sub-bands which have different frequencies and orientations.]
using the first intermediate signal, the second intermediate signal, the first output and the second output to obtain a first loss and a second loss. [See Wang, Fig. 10 illustrates using intermediate signals 1016 to obtain loss functions following outputs 1018.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 29 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Qi et al.: “AHG11: CNN-Based Post-Processing Filter for Video Compression with Multi-Scale Feature Representation”, 26. JVET MEETING; 20220420 – 20220429; TELECONFERENCE; (THE JOINT VIDEO EXPLORATION TEAM OF ISO/IEC JTC1/SC29/WG11 AND ITU-T SG.16), no. JVET-Z0144; m59477 19 April 2022 (2022-04-19) XP030301044, Retrieved from the Internet: URL: https://jvet-experts.org/doc_end_user/documents/26_Teleconference/wg11/JVET-Z0144-v3.zip JVET-Z0144-v2.docx. (hereinafter Qi).
Regarding claim 29, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 28.
Wang does not appear to explicitly disclose:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
use in the set of neural network layers a first set for processing the first decomposed image to form a first intermediate image, a second set for producing a second intermediate image based on the first decomposed image, and a third set for producing the processed first decomposed image based on the first intermediate image and a fourth intermediate image formed by the another set of neural network layers;
use in the another set of neural network layers a fourth set for processing the second decomposed image to form a third intermediate image, a fifth set for producing a fourth intermediate image based on the second decomposed image, and a sixth set for producing the processed second decomposed image based on the third intermediate image and the second intermediate image formed by the first set of neural network layers.
However, Qi discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
use in the set of neural network layers a first set for processing the first decomposed image to form a first intermediate image, a second set for producing a second intermediate image based on the first decomposed image, and a third set for producing the processed first decomposed image based on the first intermediate image and a fourth intermediate image formed by the another set of neural network layers; use in the another set of neural network layers a fourth set for processing the second decomposed image to form a third intermediate image, a fifth set for producing a fourth intermediate image based on the second decomposed image, and a sixth set for producing the processed second decomposed image based on the third intermediate image and the second intermediate image formed by the first set of neural network layers. [See Qi, Fig. 1 illustrates a processing hierarchy by which the output of the different set of neural network layers is brought together. This is demonstrative of inputting information into a first set of layers output by another set of layers and vice versa, as described per the instant claim language.]
It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by Wang to add the teachings of Qi in order to capture multi-scale features when combining high frequency sub-band output with low frequency sub-bands.
Regarding claim 30, Wang in view of Qi discloses all the limitations of claim 29.
Qi discloses:
said at least one memory storing instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to:
form in the second set a first prediction of the output image to be used as the second intermediate image; and form in the fifth set a second prediction of the output image to be used as the fourth intermediate image. [See Qi, Fig. 1 illustrates a processing hierarchy by which the output of the different set of neural network layers is brought together. This is demonstrative of inputting information into a first set of layers output by another set of layers and vice versa, as described per the instant claim language.]
The reasons to combine the cited prior art are applicable to those presented for previously rejected claim 29.
Conclusion
/PATRICK E DEMOSKY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486