DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wilson (US 20120141274).
Claim 1 recites “a turbine blade.” Wilson teaches such a turbine blade, as will be shown.
Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) a turbine blade comprising:
a leading edge 24;
a trailing edge 26;
a pressure side 22; and
a suction side 20;
wherein each of the pressure side and the suction side extend between the leading edge and the trailing edge (para. 0030, Fig. 2);
wherein the pressure side is formed of a first wall (Figs. 2, 3);
wherein the suction side is formed of a second wall (Figs. 2, 3); and
wherein the first wall and the second wall are configured to be independently deformable and move relative to each other proximal the trailing edge in response to loading on the turbine blade (para. 0010-0012, 0040, 0041, Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding Claim 2, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 1, wherein the first and second walls have a selected stiffness such that a camber of the turbine blade reduces under high load and increases under low load (para. 0034).
Regarding Claim 3, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 1, wherein the first and second walls are independently rotatable and/or translatable at the trailing edge and can move in and out of contact with each other at the trailing edge in response to loading on the turbine blade (para. 0039, separate sections 36 of the first and second walls may be independently rotatable).
Regarding Claim 4, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 1, wherein the first wall is formed of a first material and wherein the second wall is formed of a second material (para. 0010-0012).
Regarding Claim 5, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 4, wherein the first material and the second material are the same material or are different materials (para. 0010-0012).
Regarding Claim 6, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 5, wherein the first material and/or the second material is a composite material (para. 0041).
Regarding Claim 7, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 5, wherein the first material and/or the second material is an isotropic material (para. 0041).
Regarding Claim 8, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 6, wherein the first material and/or the second material comprises or is formed of an elastomer (para. 0041).
Regarding Claim 9, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 1, wherein the first and second walls comprise a rigid portion proximal the leading edge (para. 0010).
Regarding Claim 10, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 1, wherein the turbine blade comprises a rigid element 27 extending between the first wall and the second wall proximal the leading edge.
Regarding Claim 11, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 10, wherein the rigid element comprises a rigid bar 27 extending between the first and second walls.
Regarding Claim 12, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 11, wherein the rigid bar is at a quarter-chord position (Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) a turbine comprising one or more turbine blades according to claim 1 (para. 0001).
Regarding Claim 16, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) a turbine of claim 15, wherein the turbine is a tidal turbine or a wind turbine (abstract).
Claim 17 recites “a turbine blade.” Wilson teaches such a turbine blade, as will be shown.
Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) a trailing edge arrangement for a turbine blade, the trailing edge arrangement comprising:
a first wall portion 22 configured to form at least a portion of a pressure side of the turbine blade, and
a second wall portion 20 configured to form at least a portion of a suction side of the turbine blade,
wherein the first wall portion and the second wall portion are configured to be independently deformable so as to move relative to each other proximal the trailing edge of the turbine blade in response to loading on the turbine blade (para. 0010-0012, 0040, 0041, Figs. 4, 5).
Regarding Claim 18, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) a kit of parts for a turbine blade, the kit of parts comprising the trailing edge arrangement of claim 17 (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson in view of Hibbard (US 20110081247).
Regarding Claim 13, Wilson teaches (Figs. 1-9) the turbine blade of claim 10,
However, Wilson does not teach wherein the rigid element is a rigid block filling a volume of the turbine blade proximal the leading edge.
Hibbard teaches (Figs. 1-4) a turbine blade wherein a rigid element 210 between a first 220 and second wall 221 is a rigid block filling a volume of the turbine blade proximal the leading edge (see Fig. 4, para. 0035).
Hibbard further teaches providing such a rigid block so that loads on the blade are transferred or carded over the blade joint providing a stronger blade joint and a blade of more predictable and controllable stiffness properties.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Hibbard to the turbine blade of Wilson to have the rigid element is a rigid block filling a volume of the turbine blade proximal the leading edge, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to turbine blades. Doing so would result in a stronger blade joint and a blade of more predictable and controllable stiffness properties, as recognized by Hibbard.
Regarding Claim 14, Wilson, as modified with Hibbard in Claim 13 above, teaches (Hibbard Figs. 1-4) the turbine blade of claim 13, wherein the rigid block fills a volume of the turbine blade between the leading edge and a quarter-chord position (see Fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See cited references.
/ANDREW THANH BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745