DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/27/26. These drawings are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7,11-15,18,21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Williamson et al. 20120211241.
Examiner Annotated Fig. 2
Examiner Annotated Fig. 3
Referring to claim 1, Williamson discloses (see examiner annotated Figure 2) a fluid flow control device for a downhole apparatus, the device comprising: a body portion comprising a first fluid flow port ( entrance at A) and a second fluid flow port ( 46); a fluid flow path ( 40) from the first fluid flow port to the second fluid flow port; and a valve member (42/48) located in the fluid flow path and configured to be movable from a first, closed position in which the fluid flow path is blocked by the valve member (see fig. 2), and a second, open position in which the fluid flow path is open (fig. 5); a trigger mechanism ( 50) operable, by moving a trigger member from a first position to a second position, wherein when the trigger member is in the first position the valve member is in a secured state, in which the valve member cannot be moved (see paragraph 0049), and wherein when the trigger member is in the second position the valve member is in an unsecured state (see paragraph 0051 and fig. 3), in which the valve member can be moved wherein the valve member is configured to be movable from the first, closed position to the second, open position in response to a valve pressure cycle comprising: application of a positive differential pressure from the first flow port to the second flow port ( see paragraph 0051, increase pressure to shear screw 66); and removal of the positive differential pressure (see paragraph 0052) , wherein the trigger member (50) is movable from the first trigger position to the second trigger position in response to a trigger pressure cycle ( applying force which is a pressure with shifting tool 64 and then removing shifting tool when sleeve 52 has moved to second position, see paragraph 0050) .
Referring to claim 2, Williamson discloses the valve member (42/48) is configured to be movable from the first, closed position to an intermediate closed position, in which the valve member continues to block the fluid flow path (see paragraph 0052 when pressurized to break shear screw 66) .
Referring to claim 3, Williamson discloses the valve member ( 42/48) is movable from the intermediate closed position to the second, open position ( see paragraph 0052 from decrease in pressure).
Referring to claim 4, Williamson discloses the valve member (42/48) is configured to be movable in a first direction in response to the application of positive differential pressure and wherein the valve member is configured to be movable in a second direction in response to the removal of the positive differential pressure (see paragraph 0052).
Referring to claim 5, Williamson discloses the valve member (42/48) is movable from the first, closed position to the second, open position by moving in the first direction and then moving in the second direction (see paragraph 0052).
Referring to claim 6, Williamson discloses the valve member (42/48) is configurable between a first, locked state (see fig. 2 when lock 50 is in place), in which the valve member cannot be moved to the second, open state, and a second, unlocked state (see fig. 3, when lock 50 has been shifted) in which the valve member can be moved to the second, open state.
Referring to claim 7, Williamson discloses the valve member (42/48) includes a valve biasing mechanism (54) configured to bias the valve member towards the second, open position.
Referring to claim 11, Williamson discloses the trigger member (50) is movable from the first position to an intermediate position and movable from the intermediate position to the second position ( the member 50 is capable of moving to a position between the position shown in figure 2 and the position in figure 3).
Referring to claim 12, Williamson discloses the trigger member (50) is movable along a first trigger direction when moving from the first position to the intermediate position and movable along a second trigger direction when moving from the intermediate position to the second position (the member 50 is capable of moving to a position between the position shown in figure 2 and the position in figure 3).
Referring to claim 13, Williamson discloses the trigger mechanism (50) comprises a securing mechanism (58) for securing the valve member.
Referring to claim 14, Williamson discloses moving the trigger member (50) from the first position to the second position operates the securing mechanism (58).
Referring to claim 15, Williamson discloses the trigger member (50) is configured to be movable from a first, locked state (figure 2), to a second, unlocked state (figure 3).
Referring to claim 18, Williamson discloses the trigger mechanism ( 50) comprises a retainer ( see Examiner Annotated Figure 3, sleeve at B) configured to prevent the trigger member moving from the second position to the first position.
Referring to claim 21, William discloses the valve member (42.48) is a hydraulically actuatable piston.
Referring to claim 22, Williamson discloses the trigger member (50) is a hydraulically actuatable piston.
Referring to claim 23, Williamson discloses a downhole apparatus (see fig. 1) comprising the fluid control device of claim 1.
Referring to claim 24, Williamson a method of operating a fluid flow control device, the method comprising the steps of: providing a fluid flow control device for a downhole apparatus, the device comprising: a body portion comprising a first fluid flow port (entrance at A) and a second fluid flow port; a fluid flow path (40) from the first fluid flow port to the second fluid flow port (46); and a valve member (42/48) located in the fluid flow path and configured to be movable from a first, closed position in which the fluid flow path is blocked by the valve member (see fig.2), and a second, open position in which the fluid flow path is open (fig. 5); a trigger mechanism (50) operable, by moving a trigger member from a first position to a second position, to convert the valve member from a secured state, in which the valve member cannot be moved (see paragraph 0049), and an unsecured state, in which the valve member can be moved (see paragraph 0051 and fig. 3); wherein the valve member is configured to be movable from the first, closed position to the second, open position in response to a valve pressure cycle comprising: see paragraph 0051, increase pressure to shear screw 66); and removal of the positive differential pressure (see paragraph 0052); the trigger member ( 50) is movable from the first trigger position to the second trigger position in response to a trigger pressure cycle ; arranging the first fluid flow port (at A) to receive fluid from a source of fluid ( fluid in tubing); arranging the second fluid flow port (46) to receive fluid from another source of fluid ( fluid in annulus at 28); applying the trigger pressure cycle to move the trigger member from the first trigger position to the second trigger position, to convert the valve member to the unsecured state ( applying pressure with shifting tool to move sleeve 52, see paragraph 0050); and applying the valve pressure cycle to the valve member to move the valve member from the first, closed position to the second, open position (see paragraph 0052).
Referring to claim 25, Williamson discloses a method of controlling the flow of fluid from a first region of a downhole apparatus to a second region, the method comprising the steps of: (i) providing a downhole apparatus comprising a fluid flow control device for a downhole apparatus, the device comprising: a body portion comprising a first fluid flow port ( at A) and a second fluid flow port (46); a fluid flow path (40) from the first fluid flow port to the second fluid flow port; and a valve member (42/48) located in the fluid flow path and configured to be movable from a first, closed position in which the fluid flow path is blocked by the valve member (see fig. 2), and a second, open position in which the fluid flow path is open (fig. 5);a trigger mechanism (50) operable, by moving a trigger member from a first position to a second position, to convert the valve member from a secured state, in which the valve member cannot be moved (see paragraph 0049), and an unsecured state, in which the valve member can be moved (see paragraph 0051); wherein the valve member is configured to be movable from the first, closed position to the second, open position in response to a valve pressure cycle comprising: application of a positive differential pressure from the first flow port to the second flow port (see paragraph 0051, increase pressure to shear screw 66); and removal of the positive differential pressure (see pargraph 0052); wherein the trigger member (50) is movable from the first trigger position to the second trigger position in response to a trigger pressure cycle; arranging the first fluid flow port (at A) to receive fluid from a first region of the downhole apparatus; arranging the second fluid flow port (46) to receive fluid from a second region of the downhole apparatus; applying the trigger pressure cycle to move the trigger member from the first trigger position to the second trigger position, to convert the valve member to the unsecured state ( applying pressure with shifting tool to move sleeve 52, see paragraph 0050); and applying the valve pressure cycle to the valve member to move the valve member from the first, closed position to the second, open position (see paragraph 0052).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williamson et al. 20120211241 in view of Fraser et al. 20130292110.
Referring to claim 17, Williamson does not disclose the trigger pressure cycle comprising application of position differential pressure from the first flow port to the second flow port and removal of the positive pressure. Fraser teaches (see paragraph 0170) using as an alternative to a shifting tool applying pressure to shift a sleeve to a second position, an application of differential pressure can be applied to dropped ball or dart which provides a force to move a sleeve to a second position and when the ball is removed there would be a removal of the positive differential pressure. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the device disclosed by Williamson to have the trigger pressure cycle comprising application of position differential pressure from the first flow port to the second flow port and removal of the positive pressure in view the teachings of Fraser with a reasonable expectation of success as this is a substitution on one method to use a shifting tool to move a sleeve for another method of moving a sleeve.
Referring to claim 19, Williamson discloses the trigger pressure cycle followed by the valve pressure cycle opening the fluid flow path (see paragraph 0052).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Referring to claim 20, the closest prior art to Williamson does not teach or suggest trigger member includes a trigger biasing mechanism configured to bias the trigger member towards the second position in combination with the other limitation of the claim nor would it be obvious to modify Williamson to include this limitation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/27/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Referring to claim 1, the applicant argues “The use of mechanical force applied to a locking mechanism to release said mechanism is entirely different from the movement of a trigger mechanism from a first trigger position (in which a valve is in a secured state) to a second trigger position (in which a valve is in an unsecured state) in response to a trigger pressure cycle, as recited in amended claim 1.” The examiner respectfully disagrees. As broadly claimed the forced provided by the shifting tool disclosed by Williamson to move the sleeve from position shown in figure to position shown in figure 3 and removal on shifting tool can be considered a trigger pressure cycle.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 24 and 25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 17 and 19 under Williamson have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Williamson et al. 20120211241 in view of Fraser et al. 20130292110.
Conclusion
/Giovanna Wright/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672